We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apartamentos Doramar
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Hitchin, Herts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Spent 1 week s/c at Apartamentos Doramar in September. Nice rooms, very spacious with a small kitchen. One minus point is there is no balconies. On the plus side it has the most fantastic air con I have ever felt!! Pool area is small but really friendly staff and entertainment every night! Restaurants and bars are close and good value for money. It's quite a hilly area so not too suitable for wheelchairs or people with walking difficulties. The beach is ok nothing special. Rating would be 8/10 would def go back!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HertsTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    51
    46
    18
    39
See reviews for
46
62
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Just returned home from a mini break at the Doramar, recieved a nice warm welcome when we arrived, altough that turned sour when they asked for a 50 euros deposit, which we wernt told when we booked through our travel agent, our room was 603 on the top floor, the room was nice and clean, air con worked fine, no balcony which we knew when we booked, but was shocked when the sheets were on the bed, meaning we had to make the bed ourselves, although we didnt use the kitchen, it was well equipped, the walls were quite thin, so you could hear the rooms next door, altough the hotel is situated half way up a steep hill, its in a really good location, a 5 minute walk from the beach, and the main strip with the pubs and restaurants on, the swimming pool area, could do with a makeover, half grass, and half crazy paving, there are a few sunbeds, but there pretty close together and some tables and chairs aswell, we didnt use sunbeds, but apparently they are 3 euros a day to hire, the pool itself is nice and clean, not massive but big enough for a quick swim, all in all had an enjoyable few days, its a basic hotel, but as they say you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigy_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We decided on a last minute trip to Benalmadena for four nights (Fri to Tues) and although we were booked into different apartments we were changed to the Doramar instead.
After reading the reviews we were not happy about it at first but thought as it was only for a short break we'd get through it. On arrival late evening on the Friday the 6th Sept we were checked into room 204, went up and were not too disappointed with our room, it was clean enough and had everything including kettle, toaster, pots and the usual kitchenware you'd need for a self-catering break. There were a few issues, the first was when the air con was switched on (and almost every other time we did this) black dust came out covering the sofabed below, it was also very noisy which didn't help when trying to sleep. In the bathroom the water wouldn't clear quickly enough down the drain so during your shower you had to switch the water off and let it go before continuing, also, the bed pillows have seen better days, sheets were reasonably okay though. We went out for a couple of drinks and something to eat and after travelling most of the day we were tired and looking forward to some sleep. After a short while our worst fear happened after reading reviews....drunken antics in the corridors, shouting, singing, banging doors etc which, on and off, carried on throughthe early hours and the air con wasn't helping either. Thankfully though from the Saturday night on we had decent sleep with no noisy guests.
The Bar downstairs was reasonable, entertainment on every night, this led onto the pool terrace which wasn't in good condition with uneven crazy paving and limited space round the pool for sunbeds (which you pay 2e anytime you wanted to use them), water in pool was clean though and not too cold. This hotel really is very basic but everything worked fine, fridge, cooker (you pull out the overhead fan above the cooker to cook, we didn't as we couldn't find a button to switch it on and the smoke alarm sent a signal to reception, someone came up to check and showed us how to use it). You have to buy your own toilet rolls etc and if you want a maid to change bedding there will be a charge, you sweep up and keep the place clean yourself.
The hotel has a small shop for essentials and all the staff were very pleasant to us from reception to bar. We had a late flight back and hoped we could keep the room 'til 6pm on the Tuesday evening instead of having to leave at the 10am check-out time, no problem and cost only 20e to do so.The building doesn't have balconies which wasn't too much of a problem and it's also uphill (quite steep for less able people) but ideally positioned for the beach (10 mins walk and through the underpass outside a bank round to the right at the bottom of the street), 15 min walk up past the Embassy Bar to the Ibensa centre with lots of bars including the Euro Bar (1e any drink!), also not too far from 24hr square or the many bars and restaurants along the road and excellent restaurants along round the very smart marina.
We had a really good(surprising) stay at the hotel after reading reviews and with the noise the first night and also despite the aforementioned problems with the aircon and shower, Benalmadena itself was brilliant, we'd only came here twice previously at nightime on two holidays to Torremolinos and couldn't find much with the limited time we were there so being in the actual resort was a better experience for us, we'll definitely come back. This hotel? Not 100% sure we'd actively choose it but if we were allocated it on self-catering again on a very late deal (usually always go All-Inclusive holidays), especially for a long weekend, I reckon we could live with that, for us it was not as bad as others have experienced.
Jambonian.

Room Tip: Bring your own toiletries/toilet roll. You must buy your own food/drink for room. Remember it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jambonian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

For a budget appertment it's not even that cheap. Yes the staff were very nice and it's quite close to the 24 hour square but an awful walk up a steep hill every night was not fun. If your unlucky enough to get room 302 your holiday will be a lot worse.
Fridge broken.Toilet didn't flush by itself we ended up having to empty 5 litre bottles of water down the Toilet everytime we wanted to flush. The TV was the funniest would randomly switch channels between BBC World news and a random Spanish station but the worst thing was you couldn't switch back so it was left to the TV to decide what we were watching.
You have to pay 3 euro to sit by the pool such a joke.
Towels and sheets were never changed as promised. It says self catering but all it has is one hob ring.
The lift is also a joke,if you press the button and are waiting for the lift and somebody else on a higher level presses it after you the lift will come down to your level not open and go back up to the other level dropping them off but not stopping for you .
It does have a handy mini mart though and free wifi along with a good value bar
I will definitely be returning to benalmadena as the people and night life are incredible but I will never be coming back to this hell hole again.

Room Tip: On the lower floors as the lift is awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Surelyirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I know you can't expect much from a budget hotel but for the same price there is much better out there.
Positives include: friendly enough staff, proximity to beach and nightlife (24-hour square etc.). Negatives were: shower was dodgy and randomly switched from freezing to scalding hot; the toilet flusher was very loose and didn't work properly; the fridge didn't work at all; the hotel is situated on a steep hill; you have to pay for anything extra (such as clean towels / sheets) and to sit beside the pool); the TV consisted of a static BBC World News which then switched to an awful Spanish station in the evening. We stayed here for 9 nights yet our sheets were not collected after the 7 days as expected.
Ultimately I would suggest finding somewhere better. This place is pretty shabby and I won't ever be returning. I think it's terrible.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

First of all, as I always do say, why do people slag off budget apartments....surely you know you've booked a budget apartment - this is what this facility is!! READ BEFORE YOU BOOK!
Anyway....so arrived here on the 19th of April, was a bit sceptical after reading some of the less than impressive reviews. Well all I can say is that those reviews, as usual, are dramatised to the extreme.
1. Our room was clean.
2. The staff were friendly.
3. The apartments are in a brilliant location, close to restaurants and nightlife.

True that if you want clean towels or extra toilet rolls you have to pay, I was a bit annoyed at this, but it really is self-catering with no added extras. I asked the woman at reception about this and she explained, no problems there. If your looking for a clean and cheap place to stay, stay here! If you are expecting luxury apartments you will be disappointed. If I'm in Benalmadena again, I'll stay here :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewShig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

stayed for 5 nights, all the staff really friendly, rooms are clean the essentials are there to clean, no kettle. you have to pay for clean towels etc.. great location close to shops and beach. the pool was freezing but had a laugh with the mate. for what i wanted i think the place is good, friendly, its cheep, clean. was glad of the extra pillows in the wardrobe . i deffo stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nilaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
MS Alay Apartments
MS Alay Apartments
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,019 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
136 reviews
2.8 mi away
Vista de Rey
Vista de Rey
#39 of 45 in Benalmadena
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Doramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Doramar

Property: Apartamentos Doramar
Address: Calle del Siroco 6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Doramar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apartamentos Doramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Doramar Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing