We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good experience :) Happy with the San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Best San Diego
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Well myself and my wife ( and inlaws) have just returned today from the San Diego hotel in salou.
We flew with BMI which are chartered by Thomas cook, to fly from Aberdeen to Reus. Overall good experience with BMI on the outgoing flight. No entertainment though but it is only a 3 hour flight so not to bad and the meals were nice to.
it also seems if you book online on thomas cook and dont opt for meals you still seem to get your meals from BMI ? so this could save you some money lol !!!
Arrived into the San Diego after a 20 minute transfer time and first impressions were " its nice" went into reception about 12-30pm and was prompty checked in by the friendly male receptionist who allocated our room 345 on the third floor and the inlaws on the 5th floor.
First impression of the Foyer was it was nice clean and cool which was nice as it was very hot outside.
Got the lifts up to the third and fifth floor. Granted that day the lifts did break down but this only happened once in our week there and it was quickly fixed.

First impressions of the room was that it was quite small for the two of us, but to be honest we have been spoiled by 4 or 5 star hotels over the last couple of years so it was an unfair comparison. After an hour of unpacking the room quickly seemed more than adequate and our first impression was unfair.
The room was clean the bathroom was clean, although i say clean it was clean towels and the floors were swept mopped etc but i dont really think they clean the miidew or dust of the bath and tv etc etc but och overall it was a clean room and nice balcony.
Our view wasnt fab was of the back of the hotel and we didnt really sit out there much so didnt affect us to much. But doesnt matter were you are located you can sit and people watch from your balcony hehe.
So overall room was good air conditioning very good ! that was a life saviour and wasnt loud like folk have previously said ?? unless they had a different system but were were more than happy with it.
The biggest complaint i could say about the room was the paper thin walls. Not something that really affected us but admitly at night time you could hear folk talking if they were drunk and not watching the noise level and you could easily hear folk walking past the outside of the door when heading to there rooms, so ye i can understand why some folk mark this on the review as the walls are thin.
The Tv didnt have any english channels but to be honest we rarely found a time to watch tv.
So you know as well there is no fridge in the room and no hair dryer :)
Went down to the bar and pool etc. overall experience was good. Was always able to get a sunbed and a parasol for me as i burn really easily and im a big moan in the heat !! the staff were also very smiley and friendly. But i find they respond in the manner you treat them ! i.e I smile at them, they smile at me ( for the most part) so do treat the staff with respect and friendliness and you should have no problems !
The pool was good although probably a bit small for the size of hotel, but was kept clean and the drinks kept flowing between 10am and 11pm :)
Went down for our 3 meals a day being all inclusive.
Breakfast mmmmmmmmmm pancakes made fresh in fromt of you were lovely
The show chef Marcelllo was fantastic and i think i made a good friend with him ! i always smiled and gave him a cheeky wink when going up to get my burger or chorizo etc and he would give you an enthusiastic smile and welcome. Fantastic guy !
The things he tended to have to cook from morning to evening were, burgers, hot dogs, tuna, calamari, chorizo, chicken breast, steak , pancakes, omlettes. And this is to name just a few ! Great choice !!

We found the choice for breakfast lunch and dinner to be fantastic. Ok sometimes it was samey but you have so much that you can easily avoid something you had the night before.
Foods offered were anything from soup to pasta to indian delicacys, to mexican to chips to veal etc etc.
They also had theme nights which was fab ! they had a mexican night and a night were the ladies got roses etc so nice wee touches.
overall fantastic array of food and was always well stocked and replenished.
The staff were also very friendly and would usually be quite quick in taking your drink order and being all inclusive it was fantastic having the lovely bottles of glass pepsi and a full bottle of red wine. Amongst other drinks :) all included !!

Helpful information about the hotel and area
Safety deposit box available - 29 euros for the week and you get 10 euros back.
Worth checking out the offers from the reps. Usually i never do this but they actually had a good deal were port aventura tickets was 2 days for the same price as 1 day ! so this was well worth booking. Holly the tour rep was lovely and always very helpful.
Internet is available at 2 euros for 20minutes.
Taxi price from hotel to Port aventura is about 8 euros
Recommend the Plana bus tour to barcelona ! Good trip for as little as 20 euros per person.
Nearby spar is just round the corner , we found this good to stock up on juice if we needed some over night etc and any other bits n bobs.
The small beach cove is just 3 minute walk away. fab wee beach and is lovely and warm and usually quieter than the main beach of salou about 10 minutes away.
I suggest you ask for a pool view. You get more of the sun ! and good to watch the entertainment from your room !


Overall we were happy with this hotel and would visit again.
We might though choose its neighbour the Oasis park which is run by the same company Best hotels.
It did seem a bit nicer looking but its just because we like to try different places.
This is a good 3 star hotel !

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN_TAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2010

read a few reviews before departure and I think some people expect 5* in a 3* hotel, On our arrival, was given 5th floor room with family, overlooking hotel across way pool, although I had requested pool view for this particular hotel, however helpful staff at reception stated if I waited a day they would transfer us to 2nd floor, which they did, rooms basic, no hairdryer, iron or coffee/tea facilities, which would be useful since breakfast diner did not open until 8am, food of great quality, something different every nt, to suit all, however staff not too friendly in the diner and the plates and cutlery not to clean either, in need of a new dishwasher,.... Pool bar opened at 10am and closed at 11.30pm which was not of use for the people on all inclusive, since after 11pm they had to pay for drinks, air conditioning unit great in 5th floor room, not great in the 2nd floor room, 19euro for use of safe for a week plus 10 euro deposit, entertainment at nt, only geared around small children, nothing for the teenagers, 1 daytime activity for the pool, which was ok if you didnt want disturbing whilst sunbathing, location of hotel was good, near to beaches, main shops and bus routes, anyone visiting on half board can upgrade to all inclusive for 16 euro per adult and 10 euro per child, which is quite worth it if you are intending to chill around the pool all day and see the evening entertainment, overall my first impressions which were oh my god, where have I booked into, where overcome over a few days, mainly for the quality of the food, if your not too fussy and can deal with a basic room, which was cleaned daily and clean towels, not a bad hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busybeeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Start with the good things, the staff were very good, the rooms were very clean and the food choice and quality was better than anticipated. However, the rooms were too small for a family room (2 adults plus 2 kids), the walls tissue thin which is ok if you know the other guests won't swear every other word. But the type of client this hotel gets means our kids learnt new words every day AND not the ones we have opted to share with them! The pool was on the smallish side but adequate.
The entertainment was ok but for a family hotel went on too late, rarely finishing before midnight and far too loud. The staff were tremendously helpful and efficient and deserve better clients than they get. We are an ordinary family working hard to have a few weeks in the sun, but made a big mistake booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wob64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

we just came back from a week at this hotel and the negative reponses had me worried. me and my 12 year old son really enjoyed ourselves, the hotel was clean and the food was plentiful and varied every day. yes, some of the staff were miserable but that is the same wherever you go. the only thing I would have improved was the size of the pool - little for the size of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruby186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We have just returned from a week long stay at the Best San Diego Hotel in Salou and we thought it was a very good hotel for the money we spent. It was very clean which was a must, with towels changed and beds made everyday - no matter what time we rolled out of bed.
It is a five minute walk away from the beach which is also lovely. A little further along is a larger beach with water activites to do too.
We only stayed bed and breakfast but the breakfast was brilliant and really catered for everyone - even me who is really fussy!!!
I would certainly recommend this hotel if you don't mind basic but expect clean and friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smellychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

just come back from san diego ,reading this before i went i was nervous to see what awatited me but hotel itself was great ,hotel was so clean couldnt fault it,food was brilliant ,loads to choose from ,the only thind id say negative about the hotel was the bar /restaurant staff ive never met so many miserable people ,if you a smile you would be lucky ,but recption + cleaning staff were lovely,i would go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkprincess5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We arrived on 30th july. the hotel is small but very nice, our room was on the first floor, i did think "oh the noise is gonna be bad" but it wasnt, there is a bar/club over the road and didnt hear any noise from that either.
the food was very nice in my opinion there was always a good choice, and the bar/grill was great, we went all inclusive and i would recommend this to every1, even if u miss meals u make up in drinks and snacks. not all the icecream is free just the little tubs, and the slush puppies and crisps werent free.
9 days into the holiday we had a problem with our room, my husband went down to sort it and we were moved within the hour, the manager was lovely and very professional.
All of the staff were friendly and helpfull in particular manuel, jordi, and raul and also the bar manager, the 2 girls who worked behind the bar werent so friendly.
the second week we were there we noticed it was busier and the sun loungers were all gone by 9am.
all in all we would go back again but as it was our first time abroad we want to see more places first.
A very nice hotel we had a great time, i would suggest the haggle splash day out, port aventura was very busy and the waiting times were quite bad. the aquapolis was a good day out too, its best to hire a yellow ring then you dont have to wait in the ques so long, the new camp day out was very good but you spend half the day round barca and half a day round the new camp, it is a long day they didnt get back till 7pm.
We were also about 2 minutes from the beach (not the main 1) a little cove where you could go on the banana boat for 6 euros, the sunbeds were 4 euros and to sit in the shade 6 euros.
Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerryclarke01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Mediterraneo
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best San Francisco
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oasis Park
Hotel Oasis Park
#31 of 93 in Salou
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#7 of 93 in Salou
875 reviews
0.1 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#25 of 93 in Salou
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Playa de Oro
Ohtels Playa de Oro
#8 of 93 in Salou
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best San Diego

Address: Calle Penedes, 23-27, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £30 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Best San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the tourist heart of Salou, only 200m. from Playa Levante and Capellans beaches. Comfortable rooms with fully fitted bathroom, balcony, telephone, satellite TV, security door lock, heating, air conditioning and optional safe-deposit box. Buffet restaurant with show cooking, national and international cuisine, bar-cafeteria with play area and TV lounge. Terrace with swimming pools (for adults and children) outdoor jacuzzi and children’s area. Day and night entertainment program. Optional services: parking, internet corner, gift shop and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Best San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best San Diego Hotel Salou
Hotel Best San Diego Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing