We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to visit Port Aventura”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
Ranked #19 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed for only one night to visit Port Aventura park. The price was great provided that it includes access to the park on all days of stay (including arrival and departure).
All buildings in the hotel are amuzing - you are like in Wild West. And the park is just in 3 minutes with private entrance.
The room is simple, but ok. However the minibar was empty, not even water.
Breakfast was ok, but upon arrival you gey a card stating your time of breakfast. Ours' was at 8.30. So you've got to enter not later than 8.30.
Check-in is quite late - at 3 p.m. But you can go to the park even in the morning leaving your luggage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga_Pskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 2,127 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

We spent a week at the Gold River in August, our second visit to the park after staying at one of the original hotels around 7 years ago. Hopefully this will help you make up your mind which hotel and what package and some tips whilst you visit - if it does click to say it was helpful, it makes the review worthwhile!

Overall the hotel was clean but lacked the FUN out of functional - they need to work at this like Disney or Universal do - the staff wre pleasant and efficient but need to SMILE , especially with the kids, that's what these hotels are all about. The park is good enough to warrant the difference in flight times and price to the USA, especially if your kids are younger. The food was good quality wherever we ate, no problems with that.

There are 4 hotels at the resort and two have direct entry to the park, Gold River and The Aventura. The El Paso and the Caribe are a short walk (or free trolley ride) down from the front entrance. On the half board package you can eat dinner at any hotel or at a few restaurants in the park. We ate at Aventura a couple of times and Caribe once and as we stayed last time at the El Paso have therefore seen all of the hotels.

The Gold River is a nice idea, a main hotel block where we stayed and then a 'town' of western style buildings housing other room blocks, you could find yourself staying in the undertakers...! Our room was clean, average size with two double beds, good air con, flat screen TV, bath with shower, free minisafe and fridge which you can stock with overpriced resort drinks or your own that you buy in Salou :)- The beds are hard, and the pillows very thin, we asked for more and were told NO, should have insisted. There were about 6 hangers for three people - ask for more...

A bug bear of mine is when in hot climates the water is a premium charge and in the hotel or park you pay $1.80 for a 500ml bottle - should be far less. Make sure you keep your bottles and you can fill these up at the water machines in the restaurant at dinner or breakfast, keep them in the fridge and take them to the park.

When we arrived a small queue formed at reception of maybe 10 families and this took OVER AN HOUR for three people to check us in. This was torture and I hope the hotel read this as every day we saw tired faces in the queue, it really should not take more then a couple of minutes. The reason for this is that I guess they are targetted at selling you the fast pass for the park which was about $15 euros for one day, one ride only on the main rides or $49 for the week. We decided to check out the park first and yes its busy during the day but the queues in the evenings were not so bad so we did a few rides in the day, saw the shows, had pooltime then back into the park in the evening after dinner. You can buy the fast pass at any time.

You get allocated a 'slot' for breakfast to manage the very high numbers and these can be different for each day and we were told you can change them - when we asked a couple of days in we were told NO - not available but in reality if you went down before or after they were not too fussed.

There is customer service in reception, where you change your dinner location or ask general questions. Again if there are two people in front of you this can take 30 minute, Gold River you need to improve this, I know I have to queue in the park but in the hotel? They also gave us mis-information on day one when we asked how to get to Salou - they said you can't walk (the park is surrounded by fences which means walking out from Gold River is too long and a taxi was $15. They said we had to go to Reus to hire a car - WRONG on both counts. As we had been before we knew the park entrance was at Hotel Aventura and from there buses go every few minutes and you can actually get the trolley to Caribe and walk to Salou from there in 15 mins. The bus costs between $1 and around $3 to go to Salou or Tarragona or the local beaches. In Hotel Aventura there are car hire desks - did they really not know that? The train station is near the park entrace - you can walk accross the park from the GR to the entrance then out. Trains go to Tarragona (8 mins) and to Barcelona (1 hour) - Barcelona is well worth a day out.

The prices for food in the hotels (or the park) can be expensive so I seriously recommend half board and drinks were more than you would expect for Spain but this is a captive audience and to be fair they are probably pub prices in England. The dining room at the gold river is very large, stone floored and metal furniture so can be very loud especially at breakfast, you can eat outside if there are tables. If you eat at another hotel buffet this is included, if you eat in the park or at one of the 'a la carte' restaurants you get an allowance of $23 per adult and half that for kids and this does not go very far on those menus but actually the buffets had plenty of choice, the food was good and always re-stocked.

The pools are nice - two good sized ones at the Gold River and plenty of sunbeds as residents are generally in the park. We thought it would be mad at the weekend but it didn't seem to be. You can ask reception for pool towels which appear from the back office, when we asked to change these after a few days we were told NO - so we just asked for

We used the waterpark once - last time we went in May and this was included, this time it cost the three of us around $50 for the day and it was OK but personally once was enough.

The park itself has some good scary rides and plenty of smaller ones and good shows - the western show in particular was fun. If you can survive until 11.30pm the fireworks were on each night and there is a laser light show on the lake near the entrance which is worth seeing.

While we were there we visited Tarragon on the bus - not much to see there and the Capellana beach which we felt was overcrowded, Salou has a beach as well.

What about the choice of hotel? The Gold River seemed to have a high percentage of europeans, the Caribe was very 'English' when we ate there for dinner. Closest to the parks are the Gold River and Mediteranee (own entrance gates). Most character - Gold River but its a bit false perhaps.

I hope this helps you plan your stay better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Smaske1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Got back a week ago from this hotel. We had an enjoyable stay, however there were good and bad points. The worst thing to happen was when we were checked in - a mistake by either Expedia or the hotel (neither would take responsibility) meant that our two rooms were in separate buildings on the grounds. When we got to the rooms we found our kids had been given a double bed to share even though we had booked a twin room. The receptionist told us that none of the rooms there had twin beds (?) so they would have to share the same bed for the duration of our stay. The supervisor would only offer a smile as she refused to help us sort something out and Expedia were just as useless! The rooms were spacious enough but dirty - cobwebs, a footprint on the ceiling and layers of dust that I could write my name in (look out for that in room 3228). You could hear everything in the adjoining rooms and we were woken up many times by noisy neighbours and the handle to our interconnecting door being turned (see room tips below!) The farce about the room booking took so long we had to eat dinner in the hotel restaurant and it cost us 25 euros EACH. This was the first and last time we ever paid to eat in the hotel again and opted to go into Salou each night for meals of much more variety and better value for money, I can thoroughly recommend The Dubliner as it was great value for money and the staff were excellent. We had the breakfast only deal at the hotel and found them to be fantastic, it was a buffet service and plenty to choose from. The pools were lovely and we all enjoyed spending time at them, plenty of sunbeds and parasols and well supervised by the lifeguards. The Wild West theme at the hotel was excellent and the theme park and the Costa Caribe waterpark were also excellent. If you can, try to catch all of the shows that are on in the theme park, you won't regret it and definitely try to see the fireworks display and parade that they do every night. Location was good if you want to spend every day in the Portaventura theme park, not much good for anything else though. There was a big supermarket across the road but you can't get to it easily as there is a fence around the entire complex so getting supplies like drinks for the fridge in our room took a while. On our way back from the supermarket one evening a hotel employee stopped and offered us a ride back to the hotel - completely unexpected and restored my faith in the staff after encountering the unhelpful supervisor on our first night. The walk into Salou was through the theme park and took half an hour. Try not to get taxis into or back from Salou as it will cost you between 13-15 euros with a tip. All in all, I would recommend this hotel but bear in mind the points I mentioned above.

Room Tip: All the rooms had an interconnecting door, make sure they are locked because several times the handl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We're a family of 4, (16 and 11 year old daughetrs) and we stayed at this hotel for a week in August 2013 - Half Board. Can honestly say, that we had no issues at all.. Rooms were spacious, extremly clean, and the hotel itself is amazing. There were only a small number of families that arrived at the same time as us, and reception wasn't the fastest, therefore I can imagine it would be busier with more groups arriving. (as previous comments suggest)..

The majority of the hotel guests were Spanish, which was great for us, as they do not tend to use the pool facilities, which meant there was no mental rush for a sun lounger.. The three pools were basically empty all week (in August!).. Also, come 7pm when dinner was served the restuarant was virtually empty for at least an hour.. The food was superb.. We had a different choice every evening, and as we were only there for a week, there was no repeated meals! Whether this is different for a fortnight, I wouldnt know, however we would have gladly ate the same meals again the following week.. All the food was fresh, and even had a section where the food was grilled in front of you..

We have been on All inclusive holidays for the passed two years, and this hotel and holiday was far the best. The main obvious diifference between this holiday and the previous two, is that we spent a fortune on drinks. The hotel isnt the cheapest for drinks, and you can not be with out a drink when walking around the theme park, therefore you will spend a lot on drinks! but that is to be expected!

I would recommend purchasing a fast pass for the theme park, as you will queue for 2-3 hours on Avg for the larger rides without one.. You can buy a single fast pass for 15 euros which gets you onto the 10 major rides, once per ride, or you can pay 45 euros and get an unlimited fast pass, which lasts the entire durtation of your stay. If you can afford the 45 euro pass, its a major investment!

Whilst being in a great location in the theme park, the hotel is very secluded, and you wouldnt know its there, even though its HUGE!. You do not get any disruption from the theme park users!

Overall we would recommend this holiday to our friends! Lots of time and effort has been put into making this hotel part of the 'Theme' and the western Zone that it is located in..

Room Tip: We stayed in teh Central Hall (main hotel) Great part of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simon s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just had 4 days at the Gold River. An enjoyable place to stay, very clean and comfortable rooms and food was fine. The hotel is a really good idea if you want to go to Portaventura, as you're really close and handy. Checking in was good but if you got there as part of a coach, you could be in a queue for some time. Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are going to the theme park, we enjoyed it.
Bad points, not many, the bathroom doors are very noisy, and will wake others in the room up at night.

Room Tip: We had a room by the pool, good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The major problem with this hotel is the staff. Everything is too much trouble, they just don't want to know and roll thier eyes. Thier English is very poor, but my feel on this is that it is deliberate as you are made to feel very unwelcome if you are English. One day I asked the receptionist "Do I show my room key to access the theme park?". She then printed two new room keys. She thought I had said I lost my keys??. Then got really stroppy when I corrected her. This is a lady who wore a Speak English badge. Luckily I speak a bit of Spanish and this helped alot during this trip.

The room was very small and pokey. If I had paid £50.00 at a Premier Inn I would have been dissapointed. Electric plug also hanging off the wall, great for the young kids to play with. The biggest problem was that I was allocated one double bed for me and my 10 year old daughter. I had specifically requested a twin. When i went to reception i was basically shouted at and told NO ROOMS!. I offered to move to another hotel on resort NO NO NO ROOMS!!

They are just the most miserable staff I have ever encountered at any hotel i have stayed at.

Evening entertainment was rubbish. This consited of some women doing a bit a Karaoke for an hour with the kids then turning the speaker off and clearing away.

The rating of two is for the way the hotel is themed which is very good and the location to the park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lcfc_eu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The hotel is basic in that the rooms aren't adorned with lovely things, nor do they provide heaps of toiletires in the bathroom. But it's adequate for the little time you will spend in there. We had a room with two double beds as there were four of us. The link straight through to the theme park is great and theming of the hotel is done very well. The food options are ok with a good buffet breakfast and attentive staff who are happy to help should you have any special meal requirements. We found the buffet good value for money with food for kids and adults. Plenty of choice, although not all of it so healty. If you eat pork, you'll be fine here, if you don't then you may struggle on the meat front. Queueing for answers from reception can be a little time consuming, there never seemed to be enough people on there. You can get pool towels from reception only. The pool areas are great and our kids loved them and didn't want to leave. All in all a great holiday experience and much better than we had anticipated.

Room Tip: If you want to get pool towels and the queue is just to long, ring down and they will get someone to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanamasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
0.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Mansion de Lucy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.0 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.0 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel Gold River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel Gold River

Address: Avenida Alcalde Pere Molas s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#14 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £122 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel Gold River 4*
Number of rooms: 549
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, with direct access to the Far West area in PortAventura, this hotel is the perfect destination for family holidays. It recreates a Far West town in the grip of gold fever, where water is the protagonist with immense swimming pools simulating the twists and turns of a river. Journey back more than 200 years and visit Sullivan, the most flourishing city in the Far West, and enter 1803 when Lucy Callaghan found the gold nugget next to the Gold River. Designed to amaze visitors and provide them with a totally new experience, the exclusive facilities of Hotel Gold River combine history with cutting-edge technology, all aimed at maximum comfort for our guests. With unlimited admission to the park throughout the entire stay! The rooms, divided over different buildings, form a reconstruction of the most important parts of the town: Main Street with wooden bungalows on the outskirts, the main hotel The City Hall, abandoned railway wagons and Lucy's Mansion, a 5***** hotel inside Hotel Gold River itself. In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your PortAventura Hotel Gold River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold River Hotel
PortAventura Hotel Gold River Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing