We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
Ranked #19 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hotel was incredible and the easy access to the park is great, however the staff speak very little English which makes asking questions almost impossible, nothing is ever explained to you so it means you have to make a lot of guesses. Rooms are not ready until 3 which was never explained to us before we arrived at 12, none of the staff seemed to understand where you left your luggage until the rooms are ready which meant we had to find it ourself. Breakfast and lunch was always cold and food was poor. Pools were freezing which meant the pool areas was always empty. Rooms were very good but television only has two English channels which are Disney channel and discovery. However you have to change the language on the menu every time you turn the TV on as these channels are in Spanish. Would recommend buying drink etc from a shop and taking to your room as the price for drink is very expensive.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building as this is the only place with a wifi connection and it also has the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Ross. We truly regret that your experience in one of our hotels wasn’t fully pleasant. And we regret that our customer service didn’t meet your expectations as is one of our main priorities. We take your comment in consideration in order to improve our job and be able to offer you a more satisfying service next time. Best regards, PortAventura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 2,131 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Arrived here for a weeks stay. Got to hotel at 9 am after flight from UK. Reception area backed with people buying tickets for the parks and slso trying to check in. Took an hour to be told come back at 3pm as room not ready. When we got to r room it was fine. Plenty of room with 1 double bed and 2 singles. Fridge, cooker etc. Hotel thyme very very good. 3 swimming pools on site. Few good places to eat and drink. Half board basis we were. Breakfast and evening meal always good with a good variety. Entrance to park included and as always great fun. Water park also very good. Would we stay again. ... definitely. ...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Ian55Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We are a family of four with two boys age 13 and 8 years old.After staying in the El Paso and Costa Caribe hotels before we thought we would try the Gold river. We went with Jet2 holidays and I have wrote down some tips for English guests.
Pros: lovely hotel with the Wild West theme done superbly.
Pool area great and bar snacks nice but not a lot of choice.
Excellent excess to the park.
Rooms cleaned everyday.
Cons: food, not a lot of choice, many of the hot dishes were only warm and it's the same food on
On the buffet every night.
Waiters constantly hovering over your table as soon as you finish your last mouthful your
Plate is instantly whipped away, we found it very intimidating.
No sky tv, only English TV channel was BBC world news.
No English newspapers to buy, only Spanish guests catered for.
€15 to go to Salou in taxi and €15 return so very expensive holiday if you want to travel to
Salou every evening.
Hotel entertainment poor.
Lots of Spanish school groups staying so hotel Restaurant very noisy and busy can be bit
Intimidating if you don't like crowds.
No balcony so nowhere to dry wet swimwear and towels.
All in all we enjoyed our holiday but felt that the costa caribe hotel is the best of the Portaventura hotels that we have stayed in, we wouldn't return to the Gold River.

Room Tip: We stayed in the city hall main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulac1Chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear paula1Chester. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience at PortAventura was less than you expected. We understand from your review that your visit was not as it should have been due to the quality of our restaurants and its service. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused.
We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions and we look forward to see you again. Regards, PortAventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Travelled with my husband and 3 teenagers 18, 17 and 15 yrs . Hotel ok but lacks my atmosphere. Pools freezing cold hence they were empty all week . Weather was ok but not brilliant. Nothing to do do in the evenings and all three teenagers seemed bored . Food really boring we were pleased at quality the first night but was exactly the same menu every night. Got fed up with it and list my appetite towards the end. We did use find around and are at porteventura hotel. This was good And we were given 24 euros each to spend drinks were included in this , which was a bonus only cost us 8 euros more and we had 2 rounds of drinks...not included in buffet but were included at restaurant. Overall park was ok but a day visit would suffice . Otherwise pretty boring week nothing to do and no entertainment provided. Kids were bored and so were we. Not normally one to post on tripadvisor and usually take reviews with a pinch of salt but take heed . A weekend visit would be ok bit not a whole week you will get bored especially of the food. Seriously every might the same.... Veal casserole. Nice but 6 nights in and it's becomes tedious and unappetising . Hold river you can do better, more entertainment and more food choices. Definitely not worth the money paid and would not visit again! As good as Disney .... Not even close.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Rosie. We truly regret that your experience at Hotel Gold River wasn’t fully pleasant. We regret that our restaurant ans entertainment service didn’t meet your expectations as is one of our main priorities. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions. Regards, PortAventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great hotel for its location
Food is typical junk food where breakfast you have selection of fruits, pancakes and fry ups.
Dinner was pricey for what it was... Felt it was all from packet. Quick dine and go. No room service at allllllll ..... So your tired and feel like having a cup of tea on your room .... Sorry there isnt a kettle or even menu to order from.

The hotel staff are very friendly and also helpful, although i felt there was no bond whilst on bfast. All guests were running like savages for the meals. Quite a sight in the morning.

4* for its location only .... The rest feel like 2*

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobGasparo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear RobGasparo. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience at PortAventurawas less than you expected.
Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions. Regards, PortAventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

No wash cloths, no alarm clock, no English TV channels, dangerous bathtub/shower (slippery, no grab bars, high side, and a pane of glass), hard beds (like sleeping on bare wood), dark rooms, not enough plugs, no place comfortable to sit . We were booked here because our group of 800 was using the convention center. It is far from everything, so you are a virtual prisoner unless you pay taxi fare to go into town. They also closed the restaurant facilities on Sunday, which is a big deal for people that have to be at work at 8 a.m. Monday morning and can't wait until 9 p.m. to eat dinner (which is typical for Spain). Also, the Wild Wild West theme and the constant loop of grating western music over and over and over again. If I hear the theme from 'The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly' ONE MORE TIME.......

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else! All the rooms in Gold River and its sister hotel - Port Aventura Hotel have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cajunpeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Gerente at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear cajunpegg...!
We truly regret that your experience with us wasn’t fully pleasant. Coinciding with your stay we had a problem with the Satellite that normally permits to visualize channels in English, but it'll be solved before the reopening of the park. It should be taken into account that the hotel offers optional service of laundry and alarm from the reception. As you probably know, Hotel Gold River is themed to transport a visitor to the Far West, it means that every detail, music is included, helps to get this sentation.
However, we will definitely take in account your comment, we will do our best to improve in order to see you again.
Best regards, PortAventura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Hi As visitors to Florida for the theme parks(twice in 4 years) Thought we would try this in 2012 only booked a week in case it didn't match up to Florida, It was easily matched and a lot better value. The hotel is very well organised and the Food in the evening restaurant has something for everyone. The Portaventura Theme park is great and the fact that you are just a short walk away is a bonus. You also have the use of 2 lovely outdoor pools to relax after being in the Park. We went as a family of 2 adults and 1 12 year old. and returned again last July 2013 along with Grandparents who also thought the holiday was excellent. There is loads of things to do for all age ranges from 2-80 which includes shows, firework display and parade( every night) I would definitely recommend as a cheaper alternative to Florida and it's only a 2 hour flight from the UK and if you an fly into Reus airport it's only half hour transfer to the hotel/park, You also don't have all the driving to do as when visiting Florida. My Son who is now 14 wants to go again this year!! The Hotel Gold river is a wild west themed hotel with some great buildings. but I think the other Portaventura Hotels are as good, from talking to other guests round the pool last year. Can also get free child places for kids under 12 when in same room as parents. Try it. you'll love it!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 4th or 5th floor overlooking the park as then get a great view over the theme park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank worrall99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
0.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,086 reviews
0.1 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Mansion de Lucy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.0 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.0 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel Gold River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel Gold River

Address: Avenida Alcalde Pere Molas s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#14 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £118 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel Gold River 4*
Number of rooms: 549
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, with direct access to the Far West area in PortAventura, this hotel is the perfect destination for family holidays. It recreates a Far West town in the grip of gold fever, where water is the protagonist with immense swimming pools simulating the twists and turns of a river. Journey back more than 200 years and visit Sullivan, the most flourishing city in the Far West, and enter 1803 when Lucy Callaghan found the gold nugget next to the Gold River. Designed to amaze visitors and provide them with a totally new experience, the exclusive facilities of Hotel Gold River combine history with cutting-edge technology, all aimed at maximum comfort for our guests. With unlimited admission to the park throughout the entire stay! The rooms, divided over different buildings, form a reconstruction of the most important parts of the town: Main Street with wooden bungalows on the outskirts, the main hotel The City Hall, abandoned railway wagons and Lucy's Mansion, a 5***** hotel inside Hotel Gold River itself. In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your PortAventura Hotel Gold River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold River Hotel
PortAventura Hotel Gold River Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing