We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cancun(Salou)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,205)
Filter reviews
2,205 results
Traveller rating
747
845
366
142
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
747
845
366
142
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild west themelucy's mansionwestern themethemed hoteltheme parkgrand operaprivate accesspark entrancewater parkfar westel pasofamily roomthe main hotel buildingfurious bacoport aventuradine around optionexpress pass
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 2,205 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hotel was incredible and the easy access to the park is great, however the staff speak very little English which makes asking questions almost impossible, nothing is ever explained to you so it means you have to make a lot of guesses. Rooms are not ready until 3 which was never explained to us before we arrived at 12, none of the staff seemed to understand where you left your luggage until the rooms are ready which meant we had to find it ourself. Breakfast and lunch was always cold and food was poor. Pools were freezing which meant the pool areas was always empty. Rooms were very good but television only has two English channels which are Disney channel and discovery. However you have to change the language on the menu every time you turn the TV on as these channels are in Spanish. Would recommend buying drink etc from a shop and taking to your room as the price for drink is very expensive.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building as this is the only place with a wifi connection and it also has the breakfast and dinner area.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Ross. We truly regret that your experience in one of our hotels wasn’t fully pleasant. And we regret that our customer service didn’t meet your expectations as is one of our main priorities. We take your comment in consideration in order to improve our job and be able to offer you a more satisfying service next time. Best regards, PortAventura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Arrived here for a weeks stay. Got to hotel at 9 am after flight from UK. Reception area backed with people buying tickets for the parks and slso trying to check in. Took an hour to be told come back at 3pm as room not ready. When we got to r room it was fine. Plenty of room with 1 double bed and 2 singles. Fridge, cooker etc. Hotel thyme very very good. 3 swimming pools on site. Few good places to eat and drink. Half board basis we were. Breakfast and evening meal always good with a good variety. Entrance to park included and as always great fun. Water park also very good. Would we stay again. ... definitely. ...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Ian55Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We are a family of four with two boys age 13 and 8 years old.After staying in the El Paso and Costa Caribe hotels before we thought we would try the Gold river. We went with Jet2 holidays and I have wrote down some tips for English guests.
Pros: lovely hotel with the Wild West theme done superbly.
Pool area great and bar snacks nice but not a lot of choice.
Excellent excess to the park.
Rooms cleaned everyday.
Cons: food, not a lot of choice, many of the hot dishes were only warm and it's the same food on
On the buffet every night.
Waiters constantly hovering over your table as soon as you finish your last mouthful your
Plate is instantly whipped away, we found it very intimidating.
No sky tv, only English TV channel was BBC world news.
No English newspapers to buy, only Spanish guests catered for.
€15 to go to Salou in taxi and €15 return so very expensive holiday if you want to travel to
Salou every evening.
Hotel entertainment poor.
Lots of Spanish school groups staying so hotel Restaurant very noisy and busy can be bit
Intimidating if you don't like crowds.
No balcony so nowhere to dry wet swimwear and towels.
All in all we enjoyed our holiday but felt that the costa caribe hotel is the best of the Portaventura hotels that we have stayed in, we wouldn't return to the Gold River.

Room Tip: We stayed in the city hall main building.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulac1Chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear paula1Chester. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience at PortAventura was less than you expected. We understand from your review that your visit was not as it should have been due to the quality of our restaurants and its service. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused.
We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions and we look forward to see you again. Regards, PortAventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Travelled with my husband and 3 teenagers 18, 17 and 15 yrs . Hotel ok but lacks my atmosphere. Pools freezing cold hence they were empty all week . Weather was ok but not brilliant. Nothing to do do in the evenings and all three teenagers seemed bored . Food really boring we were pleased at quality the first night but was exactly the same menu every night. Got fed up with it and list my appetite towards the end. We did use find around and are at porteventura hotel. This was good And we were given 24 euros each to spend drinks were included in this , which was a bonus only cost us 8 euros more and we had 2 rounds of drinks...not included in buffet but were included at restaurant. Overall park was ok but a day visit would suffice . Otherwise pretty boring week nothing to do and no entertainment provided. Kids were bored and so were we. Not normally one to post on tripadvisor and usually take reviews with a pinch of salt but take heed . A weekend visit would be ok bit not a whole week you will get bored especially of the food. Seriously every might the same.... Veal casserole. Nice but 6 nights in and it's becomes tedious and unappetising . Hold river you can do better, more entertainment and more food choices. Definitely not worth the money paid and would not visit again! As good as Disney .... Not even close.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Rosie. We truly regret that your experience at Hotel Gold River wasn’t fully pleasant. We regret that our restaurant ans entertainment service didn’t meet your expectations as is one of our main priorities. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions. Regards, PortAventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great hotel for its location
Food is typical junk food where breakfast you have selection of fruits, pancakes and fry ups.
Dinner was pricey for what it was... Felt it was all from packet. Quick dine and go. No room service at allllllll ..... So your tired and feel like having a cup of tea on your room .... Sorry there isnt a kettle or even menu to order from.

The hotel staff are very friendly and also helpful, although i felt there was no bond whilst on bfast. All guests were running like savages for the meals. Quite a sight in the morning.

4* for its location only .... The rest feel like 2*

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobGasparo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear RobGasparo. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience at PortAventurawas less than you expected.
Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions. Regards, PortAventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews