We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel great theme.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
Ranked #16 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel great theme.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We arrived at the hotel at 8 am and the man at the reception was very polite and helpful and even though check-in is after 3pm we were able to book in and even get our room at the time. Not only that, the man informed us that we had made a mistake in booking and we should have specified that of our group of 4 persons one was aged 12 which classified as a child and we were reimbursed with 97 euros.
By this time we were more than happy to have chosen this hotel. When we walked out of the main hall we walked into a town in the far west, it looks like a movie set. Everything looks authentic and the hotel is divided into two floor units. From the outside they look like cowboy buildings but once you walk in the corridors and rooms they are very well decorated.
Our room was large and had a large plasma tv. The beds were comfortable, and a small kitchenette with a fridge and the bathroom was a good size and clean.
Breakfast was buffet and catered for all tastes and was plentiful and on checking in you can opt at what time you want to attend so we never had to wait more than 5 mins to be seated.
Your card can be used as the door key and as the pass to enter portaventura which is included in the price.The hotel has its own private entrance to the park for clients of the hotel. And it only take a couple of minutes walking to get to the park from the hotel.
There are three swimming pools and there were always enough sun beds to go around.
I highly recommend this hotel and will without a doubt return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DennisGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    704
    312
    113
    82
See reviews for
1,251
283
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very enjoyable 3-night stay this week. 6 of us in total, 2 seniors, 2 adults and 2 kids. Our rooms were in the main City Hall block, which were comfortable and well air-conditioned.

The hotel has a great wild-west theme, which places you in the centre of your favourite Western movie set.

The pool area is particularly nice, with three large pools, which never get busy (as most guests are in the them park, most of the day).

The breakfast buffet was adequate but slightly disappointing by large Spanish hotel standards. I would like to see a better choice of cheese and fruit, and in particular better coffee! (I expect to have flasks of coffee and hot milk on the table in Spain, not to have to queue up for terrible coffee from an office-style Lavazza coffee machine!)

The Express wristbands are great value at just Euro 54 per person for the duration of your stay. This gave me and the kids 4 days of queue-jumping, which is essential to properly enjoy the busy park.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We traveled as a family with teenagers and selected this hotel as it was suppose to be the best with direct access to port aventura. We booked the executive VIP rooms with "special concierge" to skip the lines, but it was not as advertised.

The positive:
Location, good location with direct access to park.
Pool area is beautifully.
Sorry but that is it!!!

The negative:
The hotel looks old and purely maintained.
I booked a double room and got a twin room. When I complained I was told the hotel does not have double rooms.
Rooms are purely decorated and narrow.
The "special VIP no lines service" had long lines as only one person was working to service all the VIP rooms.
Food was horrendous, worst even of a hostel. Do not book HB and don't eat in the park low quality is across the park. Apart of Spanish food in the Spanish restaurant.

I talked to some locals and was told that the hotels and park have change many owners lately and they have cut on personal. You can see it al across the pot aventura park and hotels.

Simply disappointing.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelerMX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear RubenMexico. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience at Hotel PortAventura Gold River was affected by the reported circumstances, mostly with the customer service received. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We take your comment in consideration in order to improve our job and be able to offer you a more satisfying service next time. Best regards, PortAventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My daughter (16) and I stayed at the Gold River 19th - 22nd July 2014. Check-in wasn't too painful - 20 minutes - and we were given an upgrade ... to a room for 4 in a separate building (room 3343). The room was actually very nice - perfect says my daughter - with kitchenette and wardrobes which acted as a divider (and provided some privacy) and all in keeping with the western theme. LCD TV .. beds pretty comfortable .. Bathroom fine and dandy.
Sullivan City .. Setting for Gold River .. was much larger than we expected. Facades incl shops in keeping. We used the pools .. Both nice for a dip in the hot weather. Breakfast was good - no complaints. We tried the buffet one evening - relatively expensive but not bad at all.
Staff were generally friendly.
Having previously stayed at the Portaventura Hotel, we much prefer the Gold River. The great thing is that 4 minute walk and you are in Wild West area of Portaventura Theme Park - and of course with free pass to the park. My daughter really liked going into the park of an evening .. Shambala in the Dark !!

Room Tip: 3343 was excellent Main building is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidmhughes007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed one night in Gold River and there is nothing bad to say about the hotel itself. The rooms were nice and spacious, bed was extremely comfortable, air conditioning was great as it was really hot when we were there. Breakfast had so many things that for sure there was something for everyone. The hotel is right next to the theme park with its own entrance, so that was great as well.
All in all, the hotel was awesome and it had cool little details from the wild wild west, which always made us smile.
Now, the few negatives.
Check in. We were at the hotel at 10 am but you can't actually get the room until 3pm. Check out is at 11 so it makes me a bit confused why it takes so long to get the rooms ready. 3pm check in is really late in any standards.
The lady who served us at the reception was utterly useless. We had never been to the area, we had no idea where things were, we were complete tourists that needed guidance. She didn't give us a map or timetable of the park, didn't offer us a place to keep our luggage (still don't know if there is such facility) and in general did not do anything except take the payment for the tourist tax. We ended up going to the Aquapark for the day and kept our luggage in the lockers there, but jeez, we really shouldn't have to do that.
Having said that, when we came back to the reception in the evening to get the number for our room, the woman at the reception (different woman) was a lot nicer. She seemed very surprised that we didn't have the time table etc. for the shows in the park. So maybe it was just the one woman, but sadly it was the 1st person we met in the hotel, which made a lasting impression. If she had been more helpful, we probably would have bought the express ticket for the 2 days we were at the park as well, but sadly, we knew nothing about it until the day we were leaving.
I would go to the hotel again now that I know my way around and what things are available for me, but this one woman really made our 1st visit a bit less what it could have been. Great customer service goes long way, but as we saw in this case, it also goes the other way.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsjk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Tsjk2010. We truly regret that your experience in one of our hotels wasn’t fully pleasant. We regret that our customer service didn’t meet your expectations at the check-in service as is one of our main priorities. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions. Regards, PortAventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Hotel Gold River is such a great hotel to stay in, the rooms were bright and clean, the pool area was relaxing and not too busy, the food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was excellent and the location was awesome, because it was next door to the theme park (which is such a great theme park), and there was easy access to the train station (if you wanted to visit Barcelona). I would definitely return to the Hotel Gold River, as it is an excellent hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the theme park and water park have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Gold River for 1 week from 8th June, still early in the season so it was a bit quieter which worked well for us and our 3 year old son.
The hotel itself is fantastically themed with so many little details to discover it is an attraction in itself.
We stayed in Lucy's mansion, check in was quick and the receptionist spoke great English and could not do enough to make sure everything was OK.
The room was a great size with an amazing view, checked/cleaned twice a day. Only down side would be the walls were a bit thin and there were plenty of children making their presence known (no fault of the hotels).
We really enjoyed the food, Breakfast was a vast choice which suited us individually, the buffet style dinner never disappointed us; some 'favourites' show up every day, which may not be ideal for some but when there are children involved, I couldn't be happier to stick to what we know!
Access to the park is instant, we went there every day and loved every minute of all it had to offer. The water park (extra cost), was worth every penny and we went twice, again being out of season works well here as I can imagine it gets packed.
The pools at the hotel were clean and well maintained, we loved the pool side bar for a drink at the end of a long day.
All in all I am so happy we made the choice to stay here, we were the only people left on our bus at the end of the hotel transfers and were worried this was a bad sign, I have no idea why this was but would encourage anyone who is undecided to stay here... You wont regret it!

Room Tip: We stayed in Lucy's mansion, the rooms are nice and big, although the walls are a bit thin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elainefletcher2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
1.0 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#20 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.1 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Mansion de Lucy
1.0 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel Gold River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel Gold River

Property: PortAventura Hotel Gold River
Address: Avenida Alcalde Pere Molas s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#14 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel Gold River 4*
Number of rooms: 549
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, with direct access to the Far West area in PortAventura, this hotel is the perfect destination for family holidays. It recreates a Far West town in the grip of gold fever, where water is the protagonist with immense swimming pools simulating the twists and turns of a river. Journey back more than 200 years and visit Sullivan, the most flourishing city in the Far West, and enter 1803 when Lucy Callaghan found the gold nugget next to the Gold River. Designed to amaze visitors and provide them with a totally new experience, the exclusive facilities of Hotel Gold River combine history with cutting-edge technology, all aimed at maximum comfort for our guests. With unlimited admission to the park throughout the entire stay! The rooms, divided over different buildings, form a reconstruction of the most important parts of the town: Main Street with wooden bungalows on the outskirts, the main hotel The City Hall, abandoned railway wagons and Lucy's Mansion, a 5***** hotel inside Hotel Gold River itself. In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortAventura Hotel Gold River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold River Hotel
PortAventura Hotel Gold River Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing