We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine but very VERY basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tolosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tolosa
Ranked #64 of 95 Hotels in Salou
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fine but very VERY basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I was under absolutely no illusions of grandeur with this property but having seen other positive reviews and just wanting somewhere to sleep rather than stay we opted for this hotel.
The good parts are it is in one of the nicest parts of Salou with lovely bars and restaurants (not over crowded tourist horrors) just down the street. The train station is a few minutes walk and the walk down to the each is not a difficult one. It is on a quiet street and the area generally felt safe.
The hotel itself has a great cleaning policy, the maids were in every day with fresh towels. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very basic but there is definitely something to eat though I would recommend getting down before 10 as the best of the food has gone after that.
On the down side our bathroom was from around 1980! It was so old and out shower just fell off the wall as soon as you turned it on. We were given a triple room if single beds (we are a married couple!) but didn't complain as figured we probably lucked out with space. The beds were comfortable but more like camp beds. Not a problem for us but larger, more weighty guests may struggle with them perhaps?! The room again was somewhere 1981 with a very bad lick of paint to the wardrobes. This is just aesthetic, and everything worked so as a crash pad fine but the room wasn't as nice as some of the pictures we saw. The only real problem was the noise. As many people have said it just echos down the corridors and you hear EVERYTHING! We were prepared and had ear plugs and we STILL got woken up by people talking loudly and doors slamming. If you are a light sleeper this place is an absolute no go.
This hotel absolutely served it's purpose as a base for us to explore Tarragona and Barcelona (trains are a touch sporadic btw) but just be mindful you will be ok to accept the bad qualities. For how much we paid it was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahandRichP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    38
    40
    10
    17
See reviews for
25
48
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

Modern hotel, close to beach in downtown. Aabsolutely immaculate room and bathroom with super breakfast. Plenty of free car parking nearby in the heart of the city. There is an elevator (smallish) and A/C in room. Lucky find.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manocska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Well, from the very beginning we liked the price offer. Wasn't cheap, but it was acceptable comparing to others in the area (we are 2+2kids). When we arrived it was a shock - such a small room, with the 4 beds occupying the whole space. Well, this was the answer for the relatively smaller price - they put 4 beds in one room, hence the lower price. Unfortunately the room did not have a balcony, which is bad because you can't properly dry the towels etc.

Back to the good things - I liked that it was clean, and they even cleaned the rooms on daily basis and brought new towels daily, which is outstanding for a 2-star hotel (even 3-star hotels sometimes don't do that!). I liked that it's located in a quiet neighborhood. The quality of beds was good. Elevator worked fine. Staff was friendly, but you have to explicitly ask for everything and they will deliver it, no problem (towels, remote controls, additional hangers).

The WC was ok, it's joined with the shower, but, hmm, it had no lock and often water was accumulating on the floor from the shower. I definitely did not like the absence of 220V sockets - there's only one for the TV set, and it's located so high on the wall, that we needed a chair to unplug the TV and plug e.g. the phone charger or the laptop in it (yes, there's one more socket in the WC, I must say). What else... the eating (they offer breakfast only) was to say so in between average and poor, but that's again to be expected for a 2-star hotel (just 2 types of cheese and 2 types of ham, and tea/coffee only from the waiter, upon request).

Location is close to the Mercadona supermarket (the best and biggest around), and a few others smaller but even closer. The bus stop and train station is within a walking distance. All this is great, of course. But, on the other hand, it is not so close to the beach (400 meters or so), however, we walked easily.

So, it's GOOD TWO-star hotel, absolutely. But if it had 3 stars, I would have been quite annoyed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank octavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed this weekend just gone at Hotel Tolosa (28th - 30th) and after being a bit worried after reading reviews on here was very pleasantly surprised with with hotel. Upon arrival we was checked in by a guy who spoke very good english and was more than happy to help with anything, received the key and aircon remote the minute we'd checked in and was directed to the room on the 4th floor. Rooms very clean and of a reasonable size for a few nights stay, having a single room I also had a double bed to myself, parents stayed in a double room which again was a reasonable size and very clean. Left the air conditioning on and went downstairs to ask for directions to PortAventura, and was given a map of which he'd marked directions on for me and gave me the map to keep, something which proved very handy for the trip. 30 min walk to the park and about 20 mins to Salou beach it was reasonably located too.

Air con started to leak slightly one night but wasn't an issue and was soon sorted. Friend's stayed in together in a room, although the hotel does not offer twin rooms with single beds so if you're going as 2 guys/girls you'll need to either be comfortable and share the bed or one of you sleep on the floor and then swap the next night.

Breakfast was very reasonable with Bacon, ham, cheese on offer as well as other cold food selections and provided a nice basic breakfast, you could either sit out the front or inside both of which were very comfortable. Breakfast staff were very friendly and offered you a hot drink such as tea or coffee included.

1 euro for a 1.25 litre bottle of water in the hotel was very reasonable.

Obviously not as much selection as other more expensive hotels, and no pool however this was known before arrival and expected.

For the price I paid (£25 a night B&B in peak season) I was very very happy with the hotel and will be looking at doing another short break there very soon, using cheap flights a 3 day trip cost less than £100. You can get a bus that goes to Salou from Reus Airport and back for 10 euros return too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nano556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
152 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

This was the typical situation where a cheap Ryanair flight became an expensive weekend. Salou can be by far the most expensive town in Spain. And having that in mind, being the cheapest hotel in town doesn't give them the right to be so absolutely awful, after all 35 eur per person in Spain is NOT cheap.
At first, they put me in a bedroom with no aircon. I arrived at 1am, tired. On the following morning I went to the reception to complain. It was asked, before booked, whether the bedroom I was reserving had aircon. Then, seeing that I had a point, they put me in a bedroom on the 3rd floor. For my surprise, the Wifi wasn't available, because the signal didn't reach there. And where is the aircon remote control? Wenrt down again, in the afternoon, to ask a different receptionist. She said it was another 5 eur for the aircon. Absolutely jawdropped to know I'd have to pay another fiver to stay in that s--- hole, I was ready to start a scandal, then the lady phoned her colleague from the morning. She finally said then I'd be able to have the remote for free.
The last "courtesy" from them was to say I could leave my bag in the hotel for the last day, after the midday check out. But by no means use a shower before my 9 pm flight, and after a boiling hot day outside. Needless to say how unpleasant it probably was sitting by my side on the plane.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexthecarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salou hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kempten, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

Plus: Friendly staff who on the whole spoke good English.
Clean rooms.
Nicely decorated restaurant in Art Deco style.
Very cheap house wine (4 Euros) that tasted as good as any in the other hotels we stayed at.
Breakfast was adequate and some choice but not as varied as at the larger hotels.
Free mineral water with the menu.

Minus: Small room and bathroom, best if you have your own shampoo and soap because there isn’t much there. Small window, no balcony, "no" view.
Not very good sound proofing and we had neighbours who started a violent argument with each other at 2am. The hotel staff assured me that it was the first time in the season and they would ask them to leave next day. Even without arguing people flushing toilets were a disturbance, but then I’m a light sleeper.
Little choice on the dinner menu. Just about adequate and tasted good but smallish portions so don’t have a huge appetite.
A bit of a problem with parking but that seemed to be the case at most of the hotels on the coast.

In a nutshell. It’s ideal if you don’t want to stay at a large hotel and don’t mind a few of the disadvantages I’ve mentioned.

Value for money? We stayed at various hotels on the coast from 2 to 4 stars and this was probably the best value for money of the smaller hotels, but we didn’t find it as good as the larger hotels. It wasn’t quite what we like so for that reason we wouldn’t recommend the hotel but this doesn’t mean we disliked it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Evenia President
Hotel Evenia President
#49 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Planas
Hotel Planas
#55 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santa Monica Playa
Santa Monica Playa
#56 of 95 in Salou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#10 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marinada Apts.
Marinada Apts.
#51 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Marinada
Hotel Marinada
#34 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tolosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tolosa

Property: Hotel Tolosa
Address: Via Augusta, 18, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 95 Hotels in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tolosa 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tolosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tolosa Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing