We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what you need in the summer!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of PortAventura Caribe Aquatic Park

PortAventura Caribe Aquatic Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$51.66*
and up
Costa Caribe Entrance Ticket with Round-Trip Transport from Barcelona
Ranked #8 of 48 things to do in Salou
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Come and discover the PortAventura Costa Caribe Aquatic Park and enjoy an unforgettable holiday with the children in one of the best water parks in Spain. Installed in the heart of the Costa Daurada this amazing water park will plunge you into a refreshing trip that will transport you to paradise in an aquatic adventure. At the Costa Caribe Aquatic Park of PortAventura you can practice rafting, go down trepid slides or relax on a lounger indulging yourself with a mixture of the sound of the waves that reach the sand and the tasty reggae rhythm that runs through every corner of this amazing water park. During its more than 50,000 square meters you can see its more than 4,300 tropical plants that are all carefully looked after to the smallest detail to make your holiday an unforgettable experience in PortAventura. In the Costa Caribe Aquatic Park of PortAventura you can feel like a real pirate in search of hidden treasure that this colonial island hides.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“what you need in the summer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

i have never really been interested in water parks but the family pushed me into going and i can say i am throughly glad i went. the park is so well designed for all ages and really friendly staff team.

we managed to find a place on the beach and good it felt great just sun bathing then walking yards in to a blissfull pool! of course not forgetting the dreaded (for me) waterslides! i worked my way through them slowly with much pushing but the kids and family. my favouite was the mad river i found it really enjoyable and the kids loved it! the even made me do the king khajuna which was once in a life time only for me but my husband did it 6 times!

great fun!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,083
    812
    498
    168
    176
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I was very surprised at the water attractions here. We only went because we got in free as we stayed at the onsite hotel. The Lazy River is always my go to, and my partner loves all the slides and waves. It was so much fun and can't wait to go back next year with my teenage daughter she will love it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank leesdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Ten tips to surviving Costa Caribe waterpark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

1 Pre-book tickets via the attraction’s website before going on holiday, or pick up the discount vouchers (40% off!) from local tourist offices. Two-day tickets were available but based on consecutive days; it’s not possible to buy a two-day ticket for use on say a Monday and a Wednesday. It was also possible to buy tickets for entrance on three different days for the price of two, but two of those tickets had to be for the theme park rather than the waterpark and the other way round was not allowed.

2 If planning to buy tickets on site by credit card, take photo ID with you or you’ll be refused. Note however that cards cannot be used to buy food & drink in the park, it is cash only.

3 The bus from Cambrils to Portaventura costs just €1.90 but takes typically 40 minutes door to door since its route goes along the main coast road. Alternatively a taxi costs €30 but takes just 15 minutes or so.

4 If arriving at peak times, expect queues; you’ll have to wait for your bus, car or taxi to pass through the car park “turnstiles” and get to the parking areas – this took another 20 minutes in the bus when arriving mid-morning for the waterpark but we passed straight through when arriving off peak for the theme park on a different day.

5 Queues inside the park for lockers are horrendous – who wants to waste half an hour in the heat when there are rides to go on? Instead, buy a locker from the kiosk outside the entrance.

6 A small locker costs €5 plus a €3 deposit, and a large one costs €8 plus the same deposit. Take plenty of notes and change as you’ll need it.

7 Arrive early – i.e. well before the waterpark opens. We arrived early-ish but so had everyone else, leading to one long slow queue for the tickets, another long slow queue for the lockers and then a long hunt for somewhere to sit down; for a while, we thought we’d be putting our towels down on bare concrete.

8 Eat lunch early; we left it late and our daughter spent at least 30 minutes queuing for her lunch.

9 At the end of the day, buses leave from the South car park – on exiting the waterpark, veer to the right as you pass the water fountain. On most buses you pay the driver, but on one we were told to get off and buy tickets from a kiosk, whereupon the bus set off without us. No idea why but be warned.

Turning to the rides themselves, El Torrente (4-5 people on a raft down a looping course) was excellent although had another long queue. Mambo Limbo was twisty and fun, the crazy river was long and enjoyable, Barracudas was good and the wave pool was excellent. We did though feel that we ran out of time to try all of the ones we wanted, which was a disappointment.

For that reason and because of the queues everywhere, our tenth top tip is

10 Consider Aquopolis instead. We had a genuine choice to make between Aquopolis and Costa Caribe. When reading the literature before going, we felt that Aquopolis might have the better rides but Costa Caribe might be the better “attraction” being part of Portaventura. On reflection, Aquopolis might have been a better choice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank GeorgieChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Had a splashing time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I was very surprised to have a great two consecutive days here. We got in free as we stayed at the on-site Hotel. Loads of attractions to enjoy and it wasn't packed, we walked onto most of the slides/attractions (no queuing). The Lazy River is brilliant, stay in as long as you want, it was so much fun, I haven't laughed so much in ages! My Partner cut their arm on one of the slides (the one where you have to go down head first) and the on-site First Aid was brilliant. They got patched up and on we went to enjoy the attractions. Brilliant days out, I would recommend this place to anyone, with or without kids. We got in free but I would certainly have no objection to paying the entrance fee if we had to.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank _Collie14_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Better for families”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We went here is September so lines were tiny, Great slides and attractions. However after about 2 hours we had run out of things to do, I think it would be better with those bringing children

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PortAventura Caribe Aquatic Park also viewed

 
Salou, Costa Dorada
 

Been to PortAventura Caribe Aquatic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing