We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more 3 than 4 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Regente Aragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regente Aragon
Ranked #12 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“more 3 than 4 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

We have just returned from a 2 night trip at this hotel. Location was 3 mins from the beach and 3 mins from the train station. Down a little side road, the rooms looked out on to other bulidings. The standard rooms are basic, more 3 star than 4. Only one bath towel per room so we had to ask for more or take them off the maids trolley. The AC was turned off in the whole hotel for the season, which meant the rooms were very hot and stuffy. Sleeping with the windows open cooled the room down but meant all the outside noise was heard as it echoed off the surrounding buildings. The bin men do the main collection round at 2am. There is a small roof top pool and 3 pieces of gym equipement. There was also a good view of the Khan ride at Port adventura from here. Breakfast was a basic buffet service. There are upgraded rooms at a suppliment which may be more 4star value.
As it was October half term week the town had mainly closed after the summer season so there were a minimal number of basic places to eat. We spent most of the time at Port Adventura getting a taxi there (€6) and a bus back( €1.75 pp).The beach looked clean and the water fountains gave a good display in the evening. Location good for a summer beach holiday with the AC turned on.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WGfamilyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    180
    53
    17
    11
See reviews for
100
161
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kerry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2008

Just returned from Regente Aragon in salou, must say i had a great time here. Booked hotel through booking.com for €54 per night, outstanding value. It was a standard room...and yes they are standard by all means but cosy. One thing i would fault about the room was that instead of a double bed it was 2 single beds pushed together and there was no seperate shower from the bath. Had a decent sized balcony and room was made spotlessly every day, no knocking on door to hurry you out of the room so they can remake beds or anything. Staff on reception were helpfull, especially the night porter he was extremely friendly and ordered us taxi's, looked up train times for us etc.. The swimming pool was fantastic, so relaxing after a long day in the sun, really warm water that you just wont want to get out of. Showers in pool area leave a lot to be desired though. Spa was closed at this time of year. Overall great trip would highly recommend taking a trip on the ocean fly catemerang, well worth the money, jet skiing on the beach €50 for 2 ppl for 15mins was well worth it though some views from both of these. Food in salou...not great, eat in El Toro on the promenade the 1st night, staff rude, quality of food was awful, There is a lovely cocktail bar at the end of the beach huge cocktails for €9.90 with sparklers on them, they relly make the effort.

  • Liked — Location and proximity to beach
  • Disliked — twin beds pushed toghter as a dbl
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrygirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2008

We have just returned from an autumn break.
The welcome from the staff was very good, they were pleasant if they spoke english otherwise we were ignored without even a smile.
Our room was basic but pleasant although we looked over the street where there were builders next door working on appartments.
The breakfast area was excellent and clean and there was very good variety ranging from bacon and eggs to fresh fruit and pastries.
The dissapointing pool area on the roof of the hotel was tiny, it was not worth us putting our swim suits on and there were no loungers available, this may be due to the time of year but still it was very warm. The roof apparently opened but the reception said it was not worth it this time of year so we had to go onto the beach (only a 2 min walk). The "gym" consisted of a very old grey bike and a couple of old weight machines, again not worth the bother of putting your trainers on.
The website certainly makes the hotel look a lot grander than it is.
I would not suggest this as a beach holiday hotel but more for city travellers. We would not be dissappointed at all if we were on a sight seeing trip. couple 29yrs

  • Liked — The breakfasts
  • Disliked — The fitness facilities - pool and gym
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LalaWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westmeath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

Recently returned from a stay in Regente Aargon Hotel,what a dissapointment,no way is this a 4 star hotel. Not even a pot of coffee or water on the table for breakfast. Small pokey room without a balcony,Swimming pool a tank on the roof,with no effort to even add a few pot plants.Next door was a dodgy apartment block which over looked the back of hotel and local police were always visiting same. I paid top price for a poor quality no service,poor food, glum hotel. Never again.

Helpful?
Thank WestmeathHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2007

Although there is building work going on around, this is a nice, clean small hotel. Its situated in the old part of Salou near to the shops and of course the lovely sandy beach.

Rooms:

We had booked 3 twin rooms for the Hen Weekend (3 nights half board) we actually ended up with 3 executive rooms. They were very modern with a king size bed, aircon, TV, safe, hairdryer and a lovely bathroom with a bath, bidet and power shower. All in all they were very nice, comfortable rooms (a little echoey though!) The balcony view was just of other parts of the hotel and it could have done with a couple of chairs for those warm evenings waiting for dinner!

Breakfast/dinner:

If you are vegetarian like me then there really isn't a lot to choose from!

There was a nice selection for breakfast - fruit, yoghurt, toast, englishish and continental breakfast and even iced dougnuts and cakes.

Dinner was ok - beware the translations!! My advise would be to take a spanish dictionary with you and translate it yourself!!! The meat turned out to be fish and anything that sounded remotely vegetarian (ie stewed lentils) had bits of ham and chicken sticking out of it!!! The waitresses did not speak or understand any English even when reading from a Spanish phrase book and are quite rude and abrupt. I ended up eating omlette and chips every night! However having said that my fellow meat eaters did enjoy most of their meals - the "asparagus and scum of onion" being one of their favorites!!! There is a nice selection of wine to wash it down with too.

Swimming pool/sun terrace:

Swimming pool looked a nice size on the roof. Needed to go to the first lift or set of stairs to reach it. Not much up there - a few sun loungers and an excersise bike. To get to the sun terrace, you needed to go to the furthest lift or set of stairs. I think it was on floor 6 and it is basically 4 sun loungers on some astroturf. The beach is only a 2 minute walk away...

All in all, I think it was a nice hotel for the money. Its not a child friendly hotel and as such I would not return with my children for a holiday. If you are looking for somewhere quieter then maybe this is the one for you! We found that everything in this old part was shut at 10.30pm so If you want a bit more night life, get in a taxi and ask for "Charlie Chaplins". The bars round there will shut about 5am and the taxi costs about 6 Euros each way. The cafes nearby are still open at 1am too.

  • Liked — It was a very short walk to the beach and shops
  • Disliked — everything echoed!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mymatek8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
runcorn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2007

hotel down a side street next door building work happening facing front of hotel two carparks breakfast very limited they just put enough out like there on a budjet evening meal waitress service very poor attitude and rude three choices of main meal to choose from i ordered a fancy sounding chicken meal that turn out to be chicken and chips out of 4 nites stay igot same meal twice both had different fancy names they tried to give us legs instead off chicken breast they then tried to pass it on to some one else a man near us complained got rude response i did not see him dine again hotel mosly spanish pool area nothing like photo about 8 to 10 sun beds all i can say is i wont be going back to this hotel and there are better places to stay for the money you pay as for salou lovely place and will definately go back there

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank MARLEYruncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2007

TRAVEL
We flew from Stansted to Reus with Ryanair (as usual, a pretty apalling experience!) Reus is a very quiet regional airport with no delays for formalities or baggage reclaim. The taxi from the airport to the hotel took about 15 minutes and cost a rather hefty 30 Euros.

LOCATION
The hotel is situated in a quiet side street near the shops and five minutes walk from the wide sandy beach.

CHECK-IN
We arrived at the hotel at 10am, but were advised that our room was not yet ready. The receptionist offered to lock our luggage away and advised us to return at 11am. We returned at 11am and checked in to our room which had obviously been previously occupied by a very heavy smoker. The housekeeper was in the corridor and offered to help by opening the windows and spraying air freshener. I decided to ask reception if they had a non-smoking room available. They quickly allocated us a new room, which was acceptable.

BEDROOM
The air conditioning and safe did not work, but were very quickly repaired. The room was very modern and minimalist with grey furnishings, a laminate floor and LCD TV mounted on the wall. We both found that the mattress was rather hard, resulting in a stiff back in the morning. The bathroom was nicely appointed, but there was only a shower cubicle and no bath. There was a small balcony with 2 plastic chairs and a clothes airer with pegs that overlooked the street.

HOTEL FACILITIES
The hotel is small and has limited public areas for relaxing. There is a bar with a few seats and a TV and some seating in the lift lobby/reception. There is a small roof-top pool with a few sunbeds, which was not well-used by guests.

MEALS
We had booked on a half-board basis and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the evening meal. There were three choices for each course, with the main course having at least one fish option. Our only observation was that there were no vegetables served with any main course. There was a good choice of wine, with a mid-priced bottle costing a very reasonable 10 Euros. The breakfast buffet was served in a different room and offered the usual spread of continental options, including sausage, bacon and scrambled egg. Due to the design of the breakfast room, it was rather noisy and not especially relaxing.

STAFF
We found the staff to be generally very friendly and obliging. The barman, Gerardo was particularly amusing and hospitable and spoke excellent English, as he had worked in London for many years. Not all staff spoke English, but there was usually someone available to assist with any language difficulties.

RESORT
Salou is a modern, clean and friendly town that is not over-commercialised. The resort seems to be popular with Spanish tourists, with other nationalities being very much in the minority. There is a wide palm tree lined esplanade running adjacent to to beach. If you want a sunbed on the beach, the cost is 4 Euros, plus 6 Euros for an essential parasol. The beds and parasols were in very good condition and the beach was cleaned every night. There were small kiosks on the beach selling coffee, beer, ice-cream and hot dogs etc at very reasonable prices.

RETURN FLIGHT
The hotel receptionist booked us a taxi to the airport (30 Euros again). The check-in process seemed a little slow, as many travellers were being advised that their bags were over the 15 KG limit. The check-in agents don't accept payment, so weary travellers were despatched to another desk to pay the excess baggage fees (8 Euros per KG.) These travellers were then permitted to rejoin the front of the queue. Once at the gate, there was the inevitable crush when the flight was called, which generally seems to cause minor conflict amongst the passengers! I wish Ryanair would follow easyJet's example of allocating passengers a letter and calling forward the letters in order of check-in. I would advise Priority Boarding at £2 per passenger each way to reduce the stress of the scrum.

SUMMARY
We enjoyed our four nights and would happily return in the future for a short-break.

  • Liked — Moder, clean and well-presented.
  • Disliked — Pool area and few areas to sit and relax.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpha_Delta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.7 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.7 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#20 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
1.9 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#18 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
0.7 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regente Aragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regente Aragon

Property: Regente Aragon
Address: Carrer De Levante 5, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#9 Best Value Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Regente Aragon 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Regente Aragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regente Aragon Salou, Costa Dorada
Regente Aragon Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing