We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Blaumar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blaumar Hotel
Ranked #22 of 93 Hotels in Salou
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We left in such a rush that I didn't get a chance to fill out one of their response cards so I thought that I'd feedback this way instead. We stayed in the family apartments which aren't part of the rest of the complex but are just a few steps away. They were kept spotlessly clean, kitchenette was ok but a kettle would have been useful, also as their we're only 2 tv channels we could program in English the addition of an integrated DVD player would have been good. Also the wi fi reception in the family apartments was awful. Apart from that it was compact but lovely and lovely view of the seafront. Pool was very clean and the kids loved the inflatable pool parties. The food was excellent! We stayed half board and initially I was concerned about what the food would be like especially as we had a very fussy 5 yr old with us, but even she ate really well for breakfast and dinner (we stayed half board - but after this stay i happily consider all inc). A massive selection of very fresh food, we were really spoilt for choice and it was all delicious! The girls who ran the kids club were particularly lovely and both the 5 yr old and my 11yr old felt really welcome and came back with lots of things they made (aprons, ice lollies, biscuits). The service was really good, we could always eventually find members of staff who spoke English and they always tried to accommodate our requests and were very efficient. The location was good, just across the road from a lovely safe beach and a very short walk to a train ride to Barcelona (1 and 1/2 hours by train). we only saw the evening entertainment a couple of times but it was great (brazilian dancing and a fireworks display), the kids disco was really good as well and my girls loved the music a learning the dance routines. We had a lovely relaxing holiday. I would note that guests of the hotel tended to be Russian, French German and Spanish with only a couple of other English families however we never felt left out and as I said staff would always find an English speaking member of staff so this was never a real problem and I always consider a hotel where locals are willing to stay in is a good sign. Also i think its worth mentioning that we are a british caribbean family and on previous holidays we have had difficulties with the way people have treated us abroad however here, we we're treated excellently and just as well as all the other guests at the hotel. Thank your blaumer hotel for a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MW34EI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvarela, Guest Relations Manager at Blaumar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Malaika,
we are great to hear that you enjoyed your holidays with us, and thank you for your kind words.
We hope to see you again if you return to Salou in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here in late june in one of the hotel apartments with my 12yr old daughter. Apt was very clean, great view of the sea, small kitchen area which we didn't really need but always handy to have a fridge! The whole hotel was spotless, including the pool area, daily games for kids and adults if you felt like it. Noise was never a problem, staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast served buffet syle every morning was mouthwatering.Would love to go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yvonne74x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Nice, clean hotel in the center of Salou.
Good food, helpful staff. Very clean pool, small spa.

Try to reserve rooms in the second building, less noisy, especially if you are with kids. We had club family room with kitchen, but never used it. For dinner restaurant Arena is right under the hotel, lunch is better to have in the hotel, less expensive then in other places and much better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazmanyan_FA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife and two teenagers stayed in this hotel in the last week of July in a superior room which had a double bed and two sofa beds, This was fine for a week. Room was reasonable bathroom had been recently improved and had a lovely shower which was regularly cleaned as was the rest of the room on a daily basis inc. beds being made.

You do not need to take towels as these are changed daily in your room if you leave them on the floor by the shower, and you can get towels of the lifeguard for around the pool and we used them at the beach again you can change these daily.

We stayed on bed and breakfast basis and i must say the standard of food was good, fresh and plentiful. The waitresses worked hard and were very helpful and friendly we were always seated very quickly and there were no big cues for food, in fact on 4 nights we stayed and ate in the restaurant.

For us the location of the hotel was excellent opposite the hotel was the beach which was spotlessly clean beautiful and sandy and a clear warm sea. The area around the hotel was quiet so at 12.30am there was no loud music so you got a good nights sleep, but if you like the Knick nack shops and bars this was within a 5 - 7 min walk.

There is a Carrefour supermarket about 200m from the hotel where you can purchase cheap bottles of mineral water, fanta, coke and food. This is not on the main strip but round the back road reception desk will guide you.

We went to the portaventura water park which is about 10 mins by bus which you can get outside the McDonald's. The park was great and the kids loved it, LITTLE TIP in the carrefour supermarket they sell bags of sweets with two for the price of one entry tokens to the park, on a family of four this will save you 52 euros.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Nice pool, big rooms, huge balcony....would of been nice to have some washing equipment for the kitchenette as they make such a big deal that you will be fined if you leave the maids to do. But overall a great stay, the breakfast is big but fairly basic but for 2 nights was fine. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelsj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I stayed in the hotel this week .July.. and got bitten by bed bugs on the couch bed at 4am . Not happy !!! . Booked basic room ... ok for students .not family ... so I up graded next morning to sea view . For 15 euro pn extra after a small chat with hotel frontdesk staff at 4.30 am .!!!!:(...totally different room .... modern clean . Bright . Good bathroom . Aircon that works and no bed bugs ..... food buffet. ... dont bother .. no english or irish style food worth eating . Unless u want rabbit or rice dishes .... .try getting kids to eat rabbit and rice and see what happens .... so we found a good restraunt down the side streets and half the price .... . Breakfast in hotel . Ok . Not worth the euros .... finally .... hotel prices for 3 adults .and two kids under 12 440 euro per night one room . 3 single beds and two couchs -7days at 2900 euro !!!! .. dont think so .... they must look at there star rating first before charging that kind of money .... all im saying is im glad I got a 7 days for 800 euro room only .. less a few leg bites .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hysterxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvarela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blaumar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear histerxl,
We regret to hear about your bad experience and we keep your comments in mind.
About our menus, we try to offer varied healthy and Mediterranean cuisine and always something special for kids, so we are sorry to know that it was not according your expectations.
And regarding the insects, we have immediately checked it with our Housekeeper and maintenance staff, and we have not detected any presence of insects in the rooms.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for any other thing you need if you retorn again to Salou.
Best regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Very helpful reception staff. Room was good size, double bed (2 singles joined together properly), with folding shutters to partition off the sleeping area from the living area (as the sofa was a sofa bed), with small but functional cooking facilities/dining area and large balcony. Air conditioning took some fiddling to get it to work. Hotel public areas looked nicely kept. Only problem for me was the room was on 2nd floor with an outlook onto a side road. Consequently it was quite noisy. Wifi/Room safe available for payment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.2 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#19 of 93 in Salou
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#15 of 93 in Salou
461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#23 of 93 in Salou
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Les Dalies Apartmentos
Les Dalies Apartmentos
#44 of 93 in Salou
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ona Jardines Paraisol
Ona Jardines Paraisol
#43 of 93 in Salou
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Salou Princess
H10 Salou Princess
#14 of 93 in Salou
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaumar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaumar Hotel

Address: Passeig Jaume I, s/n | cantonada C/ Joan Miarnau Ciurana, 4, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Occidental)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salou
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#16 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £49 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blaumar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blaumar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salou Blaumar Hotel
Blaumar Hotel Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing