We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great family hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MedPlaya Piramide Salou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
Ranked #39 of 95 Hotels in Salou
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great family hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

After seeing the reviews we were concerned that it wouldn't be as good as it turned out to be. The hotel has plenty of facilities for young and old alike. We are a young couple with a 6 year old boy.

The pools is an adequate size and the majority of activities are centred around this area throughout the day. We had a great time relaxing round the pool watching our son play with all the other children even when he joined in with the kids activities. Its ideal as you can actually keep an eye on them at all times but even as an extra plus there is a lifeguard on duty everyday. There was also plenty of activities for adults which my partner regularly joined in with. There is no pressure from the entertainment team if you want to sit and relax. The only downside to the pool area is that you have to be up early to get a sunbed.

The rooms were regularly cleaned and we had plenty of space. We was on the top floor (6th) but the lifts were very slow and there was only 2 working out of the 3. The hotel itself was clean and all the staff were friendly. The food options for all inclusive were great as there was plenty of variety each day. There was a kids corner just in case you had any fussy little eaters. Nothing was undercooked and everything was fresh. The snacks from the pool bar was also ideal, lovely pizzas, hotdogs, toasties and cheeseburgers made to order. Plus crisp and ice cream.

The main thing that makes this hotel stand out is the hardworking entertainment team. Daniella does a fantastic job of organising the team to provide a variety of activities throughout the day and organises some great shows and activities in the evening also. All 4 girls (Daniella, Tara, Isabella and Mariya) definitely work hard to make your holiday as enjoyable as can be. Daniella and Tara were a pleasure to meet. There constant friendliness and enthusiastic effort certainly shouldnt go un-noticed. They will always go the extra mile with and it would be a huge downfall to the hotel if they had to move on. The friendless and helpfulness can not be faulted, very lovely girls who work so hard.

Location of the hotel is handy, as not far from the beach and shops. However we didn't venture out much as the entertainment was so good in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gems-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    264
    156
    92
    70
See reviews for
373
251
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I recently stayed here with my partner and 4 yr old daughter, i agree its not really 4* but very clean hotel, food is the best i've had compared to previous all inclusives i've been on, lots of variety and the staff are very friendly. I wanted to leave a review because I read some before I went which put me off a bit but I was very pleased with the hotel. People who say the rooms are too small, the staff are not helpful and the food is awful must be comparing the place to the Ritz because I had no problems whatsoever, if you thought the staff were useless then I don't really know what you expect from your holiday because the reception, restuarant and entertainment staff were all brilliant, and the rooms... well there is a bed for everyone, a bathroom and a balcony what more do you want from your room? i don't expect to spend my entire holiday in my hotel room, its just there to sleep in surley? Overall we had a great time, only a 5 minute bus journey from portaventura which is brilliant and well worth the money, 10 minute walk to the centre and the beach. I would definately go again and reccommend to friends

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Piramide Salou, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Hotel Piramide.
We are pleased to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us and made the most of the theme parks too!
We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Rooms were really nice and cleaned daily, food lovely always plenty of choice and something for everyone, pool was freezing but very clean. staff were friendly enough, All in all a good time was had by all

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emzy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We are a party of 2 adults and 2 children. We had a great time at the Piramide. We were a bit disappointed that we were in a double room and just had 2 extra fold out beds in there, leaving not much space, but we make the best of things, and the rest of the holiday more than made up for it. The entertainment team led by Daniela is amazing they work so hard and constantly strive to make your holiday enjoyable, the evenings entertainment was always good. The food and beverage team led by Jordi are brilliant they work really hard (the food was lovely) and we found the more pleasant we were they responded and appreciated our conversations with them each day. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would consider going there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkesfamily4498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Def not 4*

Reception: On arrival the reception area looked nice clean and bright. We waited for 10/15 minutes to be seen by receptionist to be checked in ( 2 on reception one working and the other staring into space). Eventually got checked in after finding out that we had to pay a duty tax ( 15 euros for 2 people) this was not made clear on booking. Was given our key and sent on our way.
On other experiences with reception staff we found them to be rude and unhelpful. For example the lift was broken down with someone inside screaming for help we informed reception staff of this and we got a shrug of the shoulders and a reply of ‘’it’s the lights are not working we know this’’ after highlighting the fact that the person inside the lift was screaming for help and it was the lift not the lights that we were informing her of she just gave a blank stare and said ‘’its fine someone will get lights back on and lift will work’’

Room: on entering the room the room was a good size for the two of us with a good amount of storage for clothes and cases for example a wardrobe when you came in the door. The balcony was a good size although nowhere to hand washing. We asked for a pool view and a sunny balcony and we got a view looking onto a tenant block which wasn’t very appealing. We never got a nice view or a sunny balcony.
The bathroom was clean enough only issue would be the curtain screen which had mould on it and also when you were having a shower the water would go from the set temp to extremely hot which would scald you.
The bed covers never got change during our stay. The bed would be made but if you left any items on the bed this was not done.
The fridge was terrible it was roasting hot, items in the fridge was hot and not cold. It also could have been done with a good clean. Was informed midweek that it was a cool box type fridge that it should keep things that were cold at the same temp, this was not the case.

Pool:
It looked a lot bigger in the pictures. One our first day we got towels and put them on our lounger while we went to get breakfast from the restaurant upstairs. About 10/15 minutes later we arrived back down stairs to find our lounger that been used by someone else and our towel were missing. Turns out the life guard uplifted them. When we went to retrieve them the life guard said “ after 5 minutes if you have not arrived your towels will be removed”. I informed him that we were having breakfast upstairs in the restaurant and the reply we got was a shrug of the shoulder yet again and repeated again that they are removed after 5 minutes.
We the informed out rep the next day and she said that this was not the case they should have been left for 30 minutes then removed but only after 10am (so if u arrive after 1030am your towels will be removed). There wasn’t enough loungers for all the guests and the condition of them were terrible the legs were broken the arm rests were broken (which i scratched myself on). The parasols were very limited there must have been about 4 for the whole pool area.

The pool didn’t have any sun until very late afternoon which resulted in the pool being freezing. The toilet at the pool side were horrible they dark, dingy and they were stinking. The pool bar was very minimal with not enough staff, long queues, and only aloud 2 drinks per person. The ice creams that available are like pots of yoghurt and there was not a variety of other icicles. There was no slush machine which is nice on hot days. The food was ok but on some occasions some foods weren’t available eg hotdog.
There was plenty of entertainment for the kids which adults could join in on as well. The only issue would be is that the entertainment was too close to sunbathers for example darts thrown by children nearly hut a guys head that was bathing next to us.
While sunbathing we heard a smash on the ground not far from us didn’t think anything of it until another bottle was thrown from the balcony of someone and smashed and pieces of glass hut my head. The Next day I was finding bits of glass on my lounger. myself and my partner both got piece of glass on our feet
The whole pool area surrounding could have been done with a good clean up. But i think that the visitors could have helped as some people would leave their rubbish to blow away instead of putting in the bin. Sometimes the bins were too overloaded and not big enough to accommodate

The play area was nonexistent the toys were stuck behind a tree in the corner (looked like they needed a good clean).there was weeds growing through the play area and the grass all around it and the fencing was all ripped as well. I would have let any kid of mine play there as with the fence being ripped any little kid cud have got through the fence which then lead onto the path of walkers by (it was a high enough drop that they cud break something).

Entertainment: This was good the dancers that done dirty dancing, broadway were really good. At evenings the bar was really small and busy there was constant queues to get drinks only 2 members of staff sometimes only one on at one time. Also with being limited to 2 drinks per person was a nightmare as you were just going back up to the bar to queue again. Only one person could go to the bar as your seat would be taken if use would both leave.
The entertainment during day was also good ant the staff were helpful especially the 3 regular girls who when not there the atmosphere was non existent they defiantly made an impression when they were about.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I recently stayed here with 4 adults and 2 children I did have a great time but i do make the best of everything.
The entertainment crew who kept my Grandchildren happy were fab, and i can honestly say that Daniella had done a great job on planning the entertainment for young and old. The girls who were working on entertainment were a credit to the hotel and this is what made my stay most enjoyable.
Rooms were good and spacious and always cleaned each day with fresh towels, but the cleaners are so overworked as there is not enough staff. Fridge was a waste of time did not work.
Food was lovely but could have had a bit more selection for children. Their not enough bar staff and was big queues to get drinks )another place were more staff was needed).
Pool area was minging (filthy) it got cleaned once during our 2 week stay and that was cos we complained, this hotel should really employ someone to just manage the pool area, as this is were people spend most of their time and it is badly neglected. You cant even leave your bed unattended to go for meals as they remove your towel an you lose your bed it was a joke. Unless you were spanish your towels were untouched, if you approached the life guard with a complaint he acted as if he could not speak English.
The Manager and Staff were helpful and freindly .
Overall experience of hotel was a great stay but wont be returning cos of the pool area and entertainment crew will obviously not ne around next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

On booking this with jet2 my partner and I are appalled at paying adult price for my 14yr old and only to be put in 1 room with 2 fold out beds for my 2 girls and ourselves in 2 single bed, having to cra to end if beds to get out as there was jo room to swing a cat, the reception staff were extremely rude, pool area appalling with glass being thrown from balcony a into pool and the life guards swam to get all glass with no luck they then cleaned half the pool, no towels to rent,towels moved off beds if put down to secure a sun Lounger, not enough of them either to cater for all holiday makers, 1 bar open an staff working there guts out (2), lifts kept breaking down, rain pouring in reception area through roof...I have lots to say about this hotel and it certainly is nowhere near 4* more a 2*.the entertainment staff worked fantastic to make a good holiday for all, shame other staff didn't put there paying customers 1st seems the Spanish got everything before u Brits, ad better service..far too many Russians and rude also but I have all this for jer2 also to hear. Defo need a holiday to get over this one and I've only been home 4days but 1 thing for sure defo won't be entering those doors ever again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Piramide Salou, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with various aspects of your stay with us at the Hotel MedPlaya Piramide.
This hotel is a popular hotel with various nationalities, and many of our guests return year after year to stay with us.
All of the rooms at the Hotel Piramide are twin rooms with two single beds. It is possible to add up to two supplementary beds in the rooms but this obviously reduces the space in the room. We are sorry that this was not pointed out to you at the time of making your reservation.
The Hotel Manager and his team do their very best to ensure harmony between different customer groups as ask that our guests behaviour does not impact on the enjoyment of other guests, and we are sorry to hear that the behaviour of some of the other guests in the hotel might have affected your overall enjoyment.
We sincerely hope that in spite of some disappointment in the hotel, your overall stay in Salou was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salou hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
0.3 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#31 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.6 mi away
4R Regina Gran Hotel
4R Regina Gran Hotel
#24 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#23 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Piramide Salou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Piramide Salou

Property: MedPlaya Piramide Salou
Address: C/ Viladomat, 9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#27 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Piramide Salou 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Onthebeach so you can book your MedPlaya Piramide Salou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Med Playa Piramide Salou Hotel Salou
Sol Melia Salou
Sol Piramide Hotel Salou
Sol Piramide Salou
MedPlaya Piramide Salou Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing