We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woody Woodpecker Rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel PortAventura
Ranked #27 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Woody Woodpecker Rooms!”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel but our first stay in a Woody Woodpecker room. They were really cute and both my 2 year old son and my 12 year old daughter loved it. There was a small child sized bathroom door next to the normal sized door, there was Woody pictures on the wall and the shower door bathroom and a child sized table and chairs that my son loved to sit on. The only downsize was that we did not have a balcony but we had a beautiful view of the main courtyard and was close to the main building, restaurant and theme park entrance. We loved the perks of the room especially the fastpasses that were a godsend when main queues were 2 hours and we waited 2 minutes! We also had complimentary fruit and bottled water, a woody stuffed toy, choice of pillows, private breakfast with table service and without any queues slippers and dressing gowns. There was plenty of wardrobe space, a fridge and a safe.
If your budget can stretch to this room I would definitely recommend it!
I've also uploaded some pictures :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mollieandspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    964
    519
    215
    145
See reviews for
1,811
304
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Shambhala the 5th highest rollercoaster in the world (at the time of writing) was fabulous - but the queues are very long indeed - well worth the fastpass.

we stayed in the gold river hotel - not great, aircon feeble, food awful, pools nice - but shortage of poolside loungers

advantage of staying is dipping in and out of the park

it is packed with lots of great rides - and open until midnight.

but any kind of decent food is simply beyond them - you are better off eating in the restaurants in the theme park - the italian by Furious Bacco was ok.

You can book in advance (the day before for example) but if you do tell them where you want to sit, we didnt on the first trip , and we were placed somewhere that had a poor view

but the food here was ok

the waterpark was a good break from the themepark, but took a while to walk round through the theme park -

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coxyjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

we came as a last minute holiday, the Park caught my attention so we booked . so far so good the flight here was slightly longer than it to us to book in,the reception seems to go on for ever , the room wasnt ready but dont let that worry as there is secure luggage holding they give you your room keys but wont tell u the number untill its ready so here u r ready to go and play the room keys r your passes into the park.so dont waste time go and enjoy a look around when u come back just nip to reception for your room number and no time has been wasted ...so far we have eaten in their buffet restaurant and the food is lovely plenty of it and a good selection...Salou tomorrow for the day after breakfast...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threewheels_mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

The location was fine, the hotel is spread out but I couldn't even find a lift in our building . The shop and bar seem to open or not open when they want also. The room we booked was two double beds but got a sofa bed and double , good one. Staff are okay , some don't understand manners. Food was decent. The rooms were missing such things as a kettle , or maybe some shampoo? It's evident to me that non chain hotels in spain are at least a star under their valuation in relation to English standards. The park is great, but some of the cliental on the other hand are not so... Some people clearly don't understand the concept of a queue or which lane goes where next to the train!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanthain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Our 5th time to this hotel as our teenage kids love the theme park. Am assuming it is due to the poor economy in Spain that cuts have been made....
- NO free fast passes included anymore. You can of course buy them as an annoying plastic wristband! They are discounted to hotel guests and to be honest vital if you want to actually ride the rides!
- NO use of room key as a fast pass after 9pm (although bizzarly you have to show a room key even though you have a fast pass wristband!
- Water rides (which we think are the best!) close now at 10pm....there is no warning of this in the hotel.
- NO free access to the adjacent waterpark
- No piano player or bar open in hotel
- Outside bar in hotel closed every evening at random times..usually before 10pm
- Only place to sit and have a drink in the evening is the freezing cold cafe...and they had very little choice of alcohol...
- over half the refreshment stands in the theme park are closed which means you queue for ages for a bottle of water or a snack
- The Polenesian show is much shorter and has around half the dancers than before

The air conditioning in rooms was not working well and it was stifling until I asked for it to be fixed...which took 2 hours for an engineer to come who opened a hatch in the bathroom where rancid brown water cascaded down all over the bathroom and out toothbrushes! It was a bit cooler after that but never as cool as previous years; you were unable to turn the temp down like before.
Food was, as usual, excellent..fresh and plentifull...the best part of this hotel. Rooms have been decorated but we still had a huge patch of mould in the bathroom, the hairdryer did not work and the fan in the bathroom didn't work either.
Beds very comfortable.
Life guards around the pools may as well not be there as they play on their phones or chat to each other...and one actually fell asleep in his chair!! Plenty of sunbeds around the pool.
Overall it is a shame that so many cuts have been made so I hope the economy picks up and this hotel is allowed to be a 4* again...for now it is a 3* and the benefits of paying so much to stay in the park have all pretty much gone, so now you pay over the top for no extra benefit. Sad as we love the theme park but will not be back in the near future.
On a nice note, we left 2 bikini's there which the hotel are posting back to me free of charge!! Thank you to them for that :)

Room Tip: If you request ground floor overlooking the pool they will try hard to accomodate you. Pool area is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lerbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We booked the hotel for one night at the end of our holiday. We arrived at about 10.00am and parked in the hotel's carpark which was full already. Managed to find a space then it was a five min walk to reception. Checked in straight away and was told we could not have our room till 3pm but they will call us if room ready earlier.

You are allowed to use the facilities straight away, so we went straight to the pool, however it then rained all day so we had to wait in reception until 2pm when they called us over and told us the room was ready. We were given room 1399, and no word of a lie was literally a 15 min walk from reception through mazes of corridors.

The room was large and clean with two big beds and a large bathroom, It had a flat screen TV with some English Channels. It had no balcony but a rail and when I leant on it it was very loose, thought I was going to fall three floors, so called reception and to their credit someone came and fixed it straight away.

The room was the last room furthest away from reception but overlooked a lovely pool. We bought a fast past ticket for my partner for 12 euros and he was able to get on the main rides straight away. Well worth doing.

Next time I book I think I will ask for a room by reception then you are literally in the park.

At breakfast we were allowed to choose our slot which was 8.45 - 9am, It does get busy, however there was an excellent choice of food for breakfast, full english, pastries, pancakes, cereals, list was endless, it was well cooked and replenished.

We will definitely be booking a longer stay next year. Also I would recommend going half board as the food was quite pricey in the park. We had lunch at Cafe Roma and two large pizzas and cokes was 23 euros which was very nice. Burger and chips x 4 in the park was 30 euros.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near reception as it is a bit of a warren.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath uk
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Had appalling service, am disabled did not get disabled room as promised, no help with luggage or children , staff were rUde unhelpful and told me I wasn't disabled enough for assistance (I am blue badge holder) In theme Park they serve Spanish French etc before English people, they are racist, hate the English, hotel rooms filthy on arrival, corridors and reception dirty and tatty, have complained to universal about appalling service, staff are horrible, food horrible, service appalling do not go there on holiday!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jbb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
0.3 mi away
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
0.6 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.6 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.3 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#14 of 93 in Salou
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel PortAventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel PortAventura

Property: PortAventura Hotel PortAventura
Address: Avenida Alcalde Pere Molas, s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel PortAventura 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, with direct access to the "Mediterranea" area of PortAventura Park, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a replica of a quaint fishing village, with splendid sweeping gardens and magnificent lake. De-stress after a hectic day at PortAventura Park and forget everything in this charming hamlet, very close to the sea, with its little villas surrounded by exuberant plant-life and two fantastic outdoor swimming pools. At Hotel PortAventura you will find all the necessary ingredients for a few days of relaxation, peace and, at the same time, escape and fun. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and there is a wide range of typical authentic Mediterranean cuisine. In this hotel you feel the vitality, quality of life and healthy customs for which the towns of the Mediterranean are so famous. An authentic Costa Dorada villa where you are able to keep in shape at the gym, use the saunas, steam baths and jacuzzi and enjoy a pleasurable massage, your biggest allies after an intrepid day out at PortAventura Park. Access to PortAventura Park is unlimited and admission is included in the price of your stay. In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your PortAventura Hotel PortAventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portaventura Hotel Salou
Port Aventura Salou
Port Aventura Hotel
Hotel Portaventura
Aventura Hotel Port
Hotel Port Aventura Salou
PortAventura Hotel PortAventura Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing