We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest hotel to theme park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel PortAventura
Ranked #30 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Went here for 7 nights from 18th October. Firstly the room was fairly large with 2 double beds, the mattress was ok but not great & I really did not like the pillows one was hard and another lumpy and overdue being replaced. On a good note the room was clean with modern décor and contains a fridge, in room safe, flat screen TV; but only BBC 1 & cbbc in English though. Nice large bathroom, bath with overhead shower, plenty of hot water.
The grounds are really lovely and there are great looking pools; but too cold for me this time of year although I saw a couple of people braving it; in the summer it would be really good. The hotel is in a great location next to the theme park and your room door card is also the park entrance card.
Restaurant for breakfast and evening meal if on half board is good although it can get busy at times and the food reasonable with a fair amount of choice. You are given time slot cards for breakfast when booking in that range from 8.00 -10.15am we had 8.00-8.30am which seems a pretty good time to arrive for breakfast.
In the evening there was a mini disco 9.15 – 10.00pm for children and Woody was often around the hotel. No adult entertainment though.
If you wished to walk into Salou it only takes around 15 mins, lovely beach, great ice cream parlours, market day is Monday.
Would visit again maybe a different time of year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJVADorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 2,760 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Having stayed at the El Paso three times previously and noticed it deteriorate each time we wanted to try somewhere different and we weren't at all disappointed with the PortAventura. Hotel was clean, room was fine, staff were always helpful, plenty of food choice and excellent location for the Theme Park (entrance straight in from the hotel grounds). My only gripe would be the lack of an inside bar at the hotel. Would definitely recommend and stop at the PortAventura again and but after walking around the new Wild West themed Gold River Hotel in the resort that might be my next choice. All in all a great stay though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from possible from the lifts to avoid the noise from people coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

4 Children aged 1, 3, 10 and 12 not one day did one of them say what shall we do now iam bored . Great htl plenty of activities after evening meal in safe surroundings in a village styled sq kids could play adults could chill . Plenty of breakfast and evening meal choices . We asked for and got 2 connecting rooms overlooking beautiful gardens and 1 of the many pools . Rooms cleaned every day . Staff always had a good morning and a smile for are family . From reception park wasnt even 2 min walk away great with are 4 grandchildren , on the last day to be picked up at hotel it only took 15 mins to stroll down from shambalha to reception ! great .all this without mentioning salou with all the great beaches and all thats going on there .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackodanapoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We bought a package deal online for the park and the hotel for two adults and three children, it was excellent value. Our room was huge and felt luxurious, large bathroom and all spotless. The only negative were the children`s beds were not that comfortable. The breakfast was a HUGE buffet, really brilliant for the children, they ate so much. The buffet option in the evening is expensive but a huge variety of food and a lot of fun again for the children. This hotel is in the park so you just go through the barrier to get into park, particularly useful when you have children desperate to get in the park as soon as it opens! The park itself is just awesome and we had three amazing days of fun. Can`t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoopBagneresDeLuchon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We recently went on holiday here and would highly recommend it. The staff were friendly and very helpful, nothing was to much trouble, the guest service's were extremely helpful, the amenities were very good, the food was well cooked and plentiful, the mealtimes were well organized and the rooms were first rate, clean, well furnished and we had a great location too. We met my son and his family there and as he got there before us he requested a room for us close to his, they did this for us and it couldn't have been more convenient, right next door.The position of the hotel is great for access to the port Aventura park, just a short walk, and there's no fuss, just show the pass and you go straight in. All in all a very good hotel and we would definitely stay here again if we visited the park again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the centre of the complex, its close to everything and not at all noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polly082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here recently for 7 days. Arrived at 10.30am and check in was painless, no queuing! I was so relieved after the experience I had at the Hotel Caribe earlier in the year. We were given our passes and asked to come back at 3pm for our room number.

Room was excellent, massive comfortable bed, huge bathroom, free safe and a small balcony with a pool view. Room was cleaned every day and fresh towels left for us. Walls are quite thin, we could hear next door coughing, laughing, yelling, snoring but we classed them as inconsiderate, knowing the situation. They should have kept the noise down.

The pool area was lovely and picturesque, loads of sunbeds to choose from. The Pool itself was the coldest I have ever experienced from years of going to Spain! It took your breath away and took me half an hour to gradually edge myself into it inch by inch. It's ok once you are actually in it and your body adjusts but boy is it an effort to actually find the courage to get in!

We where half board so breakfast and evening meal included, all buffet style. Plenty to choose from, all lovely. How anyone can complain about the food here is beyond me.

The bar was reasonably priced (for a Hotel) but the main bar was only open at the weekends (low season) so you had to go to the Café if you wanted a drink. What this Hotel lacks is a bit of entertainment for the adults at night. Maybe a singing act or something as all activities stop at 21:45 and all activities before that time are for the kids (Mini Disco, Face painting, Balloon modelling etc). We did have a few laugh with Burt and Ernie later on though when Ernie stole my drink!

I would definitely stay at this Hotel again, maybe in a few years time when we are back at Salou.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _Collie14_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were looking for a short break away with some added Sun! and that's what we got. We booked though a online tour operator (but will not use them again,but that's a different review)and had 3 nights half board at Hotel Portaventura with park access.
Could not fault the holiday itself, after a muck up with the flight, then a delay we arrived at the hotel for check-in at approx 10.15pm, reception were great (Vanessa was always very helpful) quick check-in then shown though to the restaurant as it closed 10.30pm, reception held onto our bags. Once inside there was no rush, our drinks order was taken and then we helped ourselves to food. Food was normal buffet style, good choices, nice fresh bread, and always something different, but again we were only there for 3 nights.
When we checked in we were asked what breakfast time we wanted, we opted for an early breakfast (8-8.30) and glad we did as 9/9.30am there were queues. I guess with the park opening at 10, most people thought grab breakfast then into the park. Access to the park was great, it's nice to be able to come back to the hotel for a swim in the afternoon, then head back into the park.
Our room was on the ground floor nearer the smaller pool, we missed not having a balcony but rooms were spacious and clean,so couldn't fault them. The pools were freezing!! Nice to cool off but very cold to start with (the water park too) not sure if this was because we went end of September, but a shock to the system.
All in all a great little getaway...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
0.6 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ona Jardines Paraisol
Ona Jardines Paraisol
#43 of 93 in Salou
261 reviews
1.3 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#15 of 93 in Salou
468 reviews
1 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#19 of 93 in Salou
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel PortAventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel PortAventura

Address: Avenida Alcalde Pere Molas, s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £131 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel PortAventura 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, with direct access to the "Mediterranea" area of PortAventura Park, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a replica of a quaint fishing village, with splendid sweeping gardens and magnificent lake. De-stress after a hectic day at PortAventura Park and forget everything in this charming hamlet, very close to the sea, with its little villas surrounded by exuberant plant-life and two fantastic outdoor swimming pools. At Hotel PortAventura you will find all the necessary ingredients for a few days of relaxation, peace and, at the same time, escape and fun. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and there is a wide range of typical authentic Mediterranean cuisine. In this hotel you feel the vitality, quality of life and healthy customs for which the towns of the Mediterranean are so famous. An authentic Costa Dorada villa where you are able to keep in shape at the gym, use the saunas, steam baths and jacuzzi and enjoy a pleasurable massage, your biggest allies after an intrepid day out at PortAventura Park. Access to PortAventura Park is unlimited and admission is included in the price of your stay. In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your PortAventura Hotel PortAventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portaventura Hotel Salou
Port Aventura Salou
Port Aventura Hotel
Hotel Portaventura
Aventura Hotel Port
Hotel Port Aventura Salou
PortAventura Hotel PortAventura Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing