We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a theme park hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel PortAventura
Ranked #30 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just got back from a weekend away with our young daughter. We had stayed at the Hotel Caribe before, so knew how things work in a theme park hotel. This hotel is perfect for this time of year when the weather is colder and you don't need to go outside to get to your room. We stayed in Can Garbi, which is the wing to the left of the reception and had a lovely view of the pool. It was about 5 minutes walk to the room and not the easiest to find the first time, I would suggest they have more signs to the lifts.

The room was spacious and clean and the bathroom was very large. The soap dispensers was the same idea as in the Hotel caribe, and although it's not very 4 star it is more environmentally friendly.

People should realize that stars are given on facilities all round and not on bathroom freebies!

The dinner and breakfast buffets were good, not perfect, but then again, it's not a-la carte. The desserts have to get a particular mention as they were superb.

The mini disco and entertainment for kids was lovely, our child enjoyed it very much.

The check-in was as usual in these hotels, with a long queue, although there were 7/8 receptionists and the queues went relatively fast, we waited for about half an hour.

An added bonus was that our rooms were ready to move into straight away, I'm assuming that this is because of the time of year.

I have to mention that the staff were marvelous and very helpful, there were plenty of waiters in the restaurant and everyone was great with the kids.

I like how the hotel has a little 'village square' with cafes and shops, the lady in the shop in the evening was very nice.

The gardens were nice although it was raining a lot and we couldn't fully explore the hotel.

We would return.

Room Tip: Can Garbi is ideal for families as it is quieter but not too far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxserg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 2,766 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Poor room cleaning, poor service, bad brewed coffee.... THE BEST is FRUIT at breakfast. Just only one tipes of cheese and boiled eggs was not good. Danone yoghurt aparat is not working.... TV channels was poorly, no any tv list!!! Personnel speak just Spanish at restaurants.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Yüksel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The Hotel is mainly for families with small children who want to visit Portaventura Park. It was good, we had free admission to the park but on every attraction you have to wait approximately one hour, so it is horrible to stay in line almost all day to try something... The Hotel is not 4 stars but 3 stars with cold swimming pool and cold jacuzzi. The sea is long distance so only think you can do there is visit Park Portaventura. The hotel is factory for tourists. Very big and not so much friendly. The room is little bit old and dark. But if you do not wait some luxury, you will be satisfied. It is typical product of mass amusement but quite ok. The main bonus is very friendly staff who are cooperaive if you need somehing. And problem is that wifi does not work at the evening.

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist that you want to be near the reception becouse the hotel is so big that is like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel and theme park. Highly recommended
Staying on site made park enterance so much easier and ride queues were virtually non existence. Buffet breakfast included in the price was good value

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel 25th Oct - 1st Nov 2013. The theme park was all done up for Halloween and it was really good.
We stayed half board and the food was pretty disappointing. There is 2 Buffet restaurants which serve Breakfast and evening meal, the breakfast was okay and the norm for a Spanish hotel, but the evening meal consisted of Hot Dogs, Pizza, Burgers and Chips everyday! it was okay for a couple of days but did become really boring.
There is one other prebookable restaurant which was Italian and the food wasn't to bad only thing was it offered Pasta dishes and more Pizza!!.
There is one bar area in the hotel but it is only open for a few hours 7pm - 11pm, everything within the hotel and theme park is over priced .
The room was clean but the balcony on the room was filthy throughout our stay, there is system where you insert a do not disturb card into the card lock on your door, but people where walking past our room and taking it out. Therefore every morning the cleaners woke us up letting themselves into our room!
Salou centre restaurants and bars where mainly closed too because of time of year, Salou itself is quiet a distance you can walk It in 20 mins ish or it costs 10euro in a taxi. I would recommend an Irish bar called Danny Boy, the breakfast and dinners are very good and not too expensive.

Room Tip: Try not to get a ground floor room as the balconys are overgrown
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Overall a good experience, with problem free check in, good client service facilities and access to park included. It allows you to drop in and out of the park without having to stay for the full day. Breakfast was part of the price and a large selection on offer. Buffet in evening, good but pricey. Would recommend if you are planning a theme park holiday. The resort of Salou is an easy walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJDIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is our second visit to this hotel visited October last year but weather not so good but this year from 18th October the weather was lovely and hot yet again the swimming pools were CLOSED and they have a smaller pool that could have easily been opened for a few hours a day, the hotel was full so I am sure they could have afforded a life guard, I felt this let the hotel down and it should have considered the guests as it is not a cheap hotel to stay in. Other hotels in Salou had their pools open

The rooms are a good size and clean no tea and coffee facilities ,t v main English programmes BBC 1 and 2., they have some interconnecting rooms.

The food is basic but good and you can eat as much as you want, plenty of fruit and salads There are two restaurants but second only open if other one full, you can also eat outside, and choose the time you have breakfast.

Entertainment tin the evening for children but none for adults this did not worry me but may not suit some people.

Access to the theme park is direct from this hotel about a minute from reception so its brilliant and also good for popping back in the day to relax by the "pool"
About 20 minute walk to the town and lovely beach and promenade to walk along and also where you will find McDonalds and Burger King if required.

Overall a good hotel maybe a bit pricey but so close to the park.
Would I return again yes at some point but shows in the park more or less same as last year and they need updating, the rides are the same and the reason for this hotel is the Theme Park.
It was a good holiday, travelled with family and friends
Sue f

Room Tip: : Rooms by the large pool would be good in the summer some ground floor rooms yards from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
0.3 mi away
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
0.6 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ona Jardines Paraisol
Ona Jardines Paraisol
#45 of 93 in Salou
265 reviews
1 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#20 of 93 in Salou
639 reviews
1.3 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#14 of 93 in Salou
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel PortAventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel PortAventura

Address: Avenida Alcalde Pere Molas, s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £120 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel PortAventura 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, with direct access to the "Mediterranea" area of PortAventura Park, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a replica of a quaint fishing village, with splendid sweeping gardens and magnificent lake. De-stress after a hectic day at PortAventura Park and forget everything in this charming hamlet, very close to the sea, with its little villas surrounded by exuberant plant-life and two fantastic outdoor swimming pools. At Hotel PortAventura you will find all the necessary ingredients for a few days of relaxation, peace and, at the same time, escape and fun. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and there is a wide range of typical authentic Mediterranean cuisine. In this hotel you feel the vitality, quality of life and healthy customs for which the towns of the Mediterranean are so famous. An authentic Costa Dorada villa where you are able to keep in shape at the gym, use the saunas, steam baths and jacuzzi and enjoy a pleasurable massage, your biggest allies after an intrepid day out at PortAventura Park. Access to PortAventura Park is unlimited and admission is included in the price of your stay. In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your PortAventura Hotel PortAventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portaventura Hotel Salou
Port Aventura Salou
Port Aventura Hotel
Hotel Portaventura
Aventura Hotel Port
Hotel Port Aventura Salou
PortAventura Hotel PortAventura Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing