We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD, Just what we expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of PortAventura Hotel PortAventura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel PortAventura
Ranked #25 of 95 Hotels in Salou
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“GOOD, Just what we expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I read loads of reviews before I traveled to Salou, and was concerned about some poor reviews. I hope my review will be helpful!!!
- free wifi throughout the hotel (also some places in the park).
- rooms where large, with a flat screen TV (which had the Disney channel in English for children), hair dryer and safe deposit box.
- 2 pool, 2 hot tubs, sauna and gym facilities which are all maintained very well.
- Has a direct entrance into the park, our room was quite far away and it was only a short 5 minute walk, and all the ground where clean and tidy, we also seen the pool getting cleaned every morning
- reception staff where very very slow and the Spanish guests where pushing in front, however we only used reception to check in because guest services dealt with everything we needed.
- I recommend using the bell boy service, who take you from each hotel. You might want to visit another hotel because they have different food buffets. Hotel gold river has a Italian buffet and the Hotel Craibe has a Mexican buffet.
- From the hotel you can have discount fast passes and tickets for the waterpark. A fast pass for your entire stay is only €54 and they are 100% worth it because ques can get very big. Waterpark tickets are €19.95 for an adult and slightly cheaper for children which is also a discount price.
- we bought 2 bottles which held 1L of water from the shop in the hotel. These where prices at €2.90. Each day at breakfast and dinner we filled the bottles up so we never ran out of water. If you run out in the park during the day there are drinking fountains, the water was drinkable but slightly warm. €5.80 for water for the whole week isnt bad at all.
- If you arrive in the morning rooms are usually not ready until 3pm like most Spanish hotels, however you get your room key immediately so you can go into the park. There is also a secure room for suitcases and hand luggage.
- There was always food to eat, although there wasn't as large of choice as I have had in other hotels.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a particularly bad room. The closer to reception the more likely you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    891
    473
    192
    128
See reviews for
1,652
288
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

A lovely hotel, good service, friendly helpful staff, nice clean room. Excellent buffet both breakfast and evening. 5 mins walk to the theme park and water park. Lovely grounds, well maintained. Pools very clean, sauna and steam rooms clean, although at times over run by teenagers. Gym cannot really be described as a gym - only 5 pieces of equipment! Our only complaint was that there were no kettle/tea making facilities in the room!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north shields, newcastle
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel is worth a visit, we stayed at the end of May. Firstly it does what is says as you have direct access to the Aventura park which is great while the hotel is kept as tidy as the park itself. we were lucky on the Saturday night the park was open until 2 am it was called White Night and riding the coasters in the evening was a bit special. Main positives are the food,rooms and hard working friendly staff. The other side is that this hotel is definately geared towards the younger children with not much in the hotel itself for teens at night, it would also have been nice to have tea and coffee facilities in the rooms which are by the way of good size with nice bathrooms.
All in all i would visit this hotel again due to its postion, food and courteous staff thank you for this.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank briwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Based on some of the more recent reviews we very nearly rang Falcon and asked them to change our booking. Am so glad we didn't!

Food is buffet for breakfast and dinner. So far have been very happy with selection of foods. Buffet isn't usually my first choice but this so far has been lovely with plenty of choice. We are staying half board and you can eat in other hotels in the group by visiting guest services. It's not Michelin star but for a buffet after a day in a theme park it's great.

Hotel is busy and have seen some queues for reception alright. But staff are very friendly and in fairness have seen queues for check in no matter what hotels we have stayed in on a package holiday as everyone arrives together of the bus.

Room is very spacious, clean and bed is very big and comfy. Checked in yesterday morning and room was cleaned today.

Plenty of sun beds most if them unused! Everyone must be in the theme park today..!!

As one person said there are no toiletries other than soap. So just bring your own. We normally would anyway.

Hotel is right at the entrance to park. Have a very 12 year old who got to do the front row several times of the tallest coaster in Europe!! Can buy a weekly fast pass in the hotel. Superb value at I think 54 euro per person but valid for whole week.

Off now for a pre dinner drink!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AISMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed for a week last week, had a great time.

Initially were told we would not get into room until 3pm, after travelling overnight with a 6yr old we were tired, got room key though and as it doubles as park entrance ticket we went to explore. Park is joined onto hotel grounds so access is easy.
Parks are beautiful, well maintained, gorgeous flowers everywhere, plenty staff around. Is layed out into different areas of the world, each area well themed and fun. My son enjoyed sesamo land as it plenty of rides to suit his age/height. They are very strict about height restrictions and measure everyone.
Resort is very Spanish and can be difficult to understand sometimes what's going on, each area had a show on, the bird show was fun but completely in Spanish, couldn't understand a word yet host was amusing so enjoyed anyway,
In far west there is a stunt show, the two warm up guys were hilarious, really had us laughing.
In china land there is a magic bubble show - everyone was mesmerised - no talking in show, just bubble tricks, was great, thoroughly enjoyed.
Lots of big roller coasters, was only brave enough to do one. The queues were huge at weekends but much less during the week, we tended to sit by pool for a few hours and go into parks in afternoons as was quieter then, maximum 20 min queue, compared to over an hour at weekend. On the whole the park was quiet, my son got on all the rides he wanted to without queuing for more than 5 mins.

Hotel grounds were well laid out, greenery aplenty and numerous pools throughout, had plenty choice of sun loungers, and pools were clean and well tended to, lifeguards about all the time and closely monitoring everyone .

Food was buffet style, we stayed half board, plenty choice for all meals, loads of fresh fruit on offer always,
Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, cold meats, pastries, toast, crusty rolls, scrambled egg, sausages, tomatoes, beans, bacon, pancakes, churros, fried eggs, potato tortilla

Dinner had choice of soups, crusty bread, cold meats, pate, cheeses, fruit, numerous hot dishes, beef, chicken, seafood, pork, potato sides, plenty veg, and choice of puddings.

Sometimes food wasn't as hot as I would have liked and plates were cold which didn't help.

Found all staff, cleaners, waiting, reception staff pleasant, not everyone spoke great English but a try at ola and gracias went a long way. Rooms were clean and cleaned every day, ample size family room with sofa bed for my son,

Went to water park one day as free entry for hotel guests in May and sept, was beautifully laid out, loads for kids to do but water was absolutely freezing!!!,

Would recommend to anyone, any questions please ask and I'll try to help

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room, or one away from outside main doors, they bang shut all hours and wake you up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 days after 4 days in barcelona. Greeted by a 45 min queue at reception to check in which is the norm, couldn't get into our room till after 3 pm though this was a plus as we could enter the park and the porters took our bags to the room in our absence..
Finally got into the room after an endless walk.. . We always stay in 4* hotels and this one is most definitely not a 4*.
The carpets on the way to the rooms are threadbare and filthy with huge stains everywhere. We were greeted in our room by dirty cotton buds behind the bathroom door. Half a roll of toilet paper for 4 people. Didn't see the maid again so next day had to go looking for her for toilet rolls and clean towels!!
The little "extras" you normally get in 4* was a bar of soap !!, no extra pillows just a bolster pillow, on the double bed., no tea and coffee.
After just staying in a 4* in Barcelona and arriving at this hotel was a let down.
Great for its access to the park, breakfast was good, pool area really nice,
Won't stay here again but will return to the park and stay at the Gold River hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LellySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel PortAventura, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear LellySurrey. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience at PortAventura was less than what you expected. We understand from your reported that your visit to the park was not as it should have been due to the quality of the cleaning service. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions. Best regards, PortAventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
380 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The 'hotel' is not really a hotel at all but collection of 14 two and three storey accommodation blocks, there is a lift to the upper floors, each room has a small balcony.
The reception area is where the restaurants and bar area are situated, there are also a small kids area with three computer/games machines, a pool table, several 'air hockey' tables dotted around and two internet computers (all payable).

Pros.
Pretty gardens and pool areas, one each end of the resort with plenty of sunbeds and shade.
The food in the El Bohio restaurant was good, plenty of choice but tea and coffee are only available at breakfast.
There is a free mini 'train' to the park entrance which is about 20 minutes walk if the train is full, which it often is by people not staying at the hotel but parking nearby and just hopping on for free ride as not every driver checks ensure you are entitled to ride.
The staff were helpful and friendly.

Cons.
Rooms are quite shabby especially the bathroom, we stayed in the Curacao block.
No kettle in the room, a small fridge which wasn't working properly, soap and shampoo dispenser in the bathroom, was broken and didn't have either soap or shampoo in it.
The whole hotel complex was not particularly clean, litter was often about for several days before being picked up and the room floor was never swept whilst we were there (7 nights)
Often a long queue for the dining room.
Ridiculously long wait at reception almost every time we went there, some people said they had to wait two hours when checking in, it's that slow. We had 20 minutes and there was only three people in front of us.
Drinks expensive.
Little to do on an evening for children and no entertainment for adults at all.
Children are not allowed play with a ball in the outdoor pools, even though they were the only ones in the water!
There are lots of lights out along the paths to the rooms which makes it hard to see where you are walking.
Finally the beds are the most uncomfortable that we had ever had, the children's sofa bed was even worse, and with it down there was little room to move.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, we would never use this hotel again, it's only 2 star at the most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackoMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel PortAventura, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear JackoMiddlesbrough. We truly regret that your experience at hotel PortAventura wasn’t fully pleasant. We appreciate your comments as they will allow us to improve our services and we will make sure you have a nice experience next time. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. Best regards, PortAventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
0.4 mi away
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
0.6 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.6 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.3 mi away
Ona Jardines Paraisol
Ona Jardines Paraisol
#42 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel PortAventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel PortAventura

Property: PortAventura Hotel PortAventura
Address: Avenida Alcalde Pere Molas, s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel PortAventura 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, with direct access to the "Mediterranea" area of PortAventura Park, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a replica of a quaint fishing village, with splendid sweeping gardens and magnificent lake. De-stress after a hectic day at PortAventura Park and forget everything in this charming hamlet, very close to the sea, with its little villas surrounded by exuberant plant-life and two fantastic outdoor swimming pools. At Hotel PortAventura you will find all the necessary ingredients for a few days of relaxation, peace and, at the same time, escape and fun. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and there is a wide range of typical authentic Mediterranean cuisine. In this hotel you feel the vitality, quality of life and healthy customs for which the towns of the Mediterranean are so famous. An authentic Costa Dorada villa where you are able to keep in shape at the gym, use the saunas, steam baths and jacuzzi and enjoy a pleasurable massage, your biggest allies after an intrepid day out at PortAventura Park. Access to PortAventura Park is unlimited and admission is included in the price of your stay. In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your PortAventura Hotel PortAventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portaventura Hotel Salou
Port Aventura Salou
Port Aventura Hotel
Hotel Portaventura
Aventura Hotel Port
Hotel Port Aventura Salou
PortAventura Hotel PortAventura Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing