We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family hotel”
Review of Sol Costa Daurada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sol Costa Daurada
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent family hotel”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights with my husband and had a really good time. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms and public areas are all kept spotlessly clean. I had booked half board and the choice and quality of food was excellent; I defy anyone to say they could not find something they liked on the breakfast and dinner buffets. You could stay a fortnight and not eat the same thing twice! A lot of Spanish people stay here so there is a good selection of local food as well as the usual international stuff. Pools and pool areas are all well kept and there are plenty of sunbeds - even though some sad people had to bag theirs before breakfast! Salou is much better than I expected it to be. Not too many British bars etc which suits us, though plenty to do if you want that kind of thing. The beaches are lovely, again, really clean and tidy. Entertainment at the hotel was OK - quite noisy as our room overlooked the pool, but it finished at about midnight and then everything was quiet all night long so no complaints there. Will definitely try to go back. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't overlook the pool if you have young children and need quiet when they go to bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BedfordshireLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    725
    418
    141
    98
See reviews for
1,117
498
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Not long back from 5 nights stay with our 2 children 10 & 6. Flew into Barcelona - hour and half transfer, checked in at midday (no queues) room wasn't ready until 2, but stowed our cases in the luggage room and took the opportunity to find our bearings and sat at the pool bar. Room was on first floor room 120, overlooking the pool area. First night we were in bed before entertainment ended due to our early start that day, but the noise was not too bad at all. Rooms very very clean and seen to every day. Air con noisy at night but works a treat. Bed was as hard as nails and was a relief to get on the sun lounger the next morning! We did discover that the kids sofa bed was More comfy so I slept better in there with the smaller one. This hotel means that you don't have to rush around at all - breakfast was open until 10.30. Didn't have to reserve sunbeds unless you wanted a specific spot. there were sunbeds available all day long and never all used but we wanted to be around the shallow end of the pool to watch the kids. Entertainers were fantastic and my little girl loved them. 5 min walk to Spar supermarket and about 10 to the beach front. All staff very friendly and cannot recommend this hotel enough :) Food was excellent, we all ate loads even with 2 fussy eaters.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool could be noisy until entertainment ends at 12 but not a problem if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My family stayed with four of us in a family room with a 4yr old and 7 yrs old. This is our second visit and stayed for 10 days from 26th August. firstly the room is a comfortable size and even though the second bed is a pull out the mattress is thick enough to feel like a normal bed and therefore kids slept very well. our room overlooked Port Aventura as the pool side room are a little loud late at night if you have children. The service is excellant and some of the restaurant staff and in the courtesy bus driver go out of their way to assist. Im amazed how many of the staff speak multiple language!

I have seen some reviews putting down the food etc and all i can say is some of the Brits need to get out more. The food was varied and replenished often, for the money paid it is very good value. if you only like badly cooked bland english food then dont go full or half board, stick to english pubs and McDonalds!!

Pool area wasnt so busy as some people have stated and the happy hours BOGOF drinks were a nice bonus!

My Tip: if you go from July to end of august, Port Aventura is open until midnight and was only 20 euros from 7pm and much less people in the park and not so hot.

Room Tip: for families ask for not pool side room at time of booking, dont wait until you get there as it may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

just had 7 days at this hotel,cant say a bad thing about it ,the rooms were clean and tidy and done so every day, clean towels everyday,no going down early to throw towels on the sunbeds(although some did),there were more than enough ,the staff were friendly and helpful,you think when your dropped off you might be stuck out in the sticks somewhere but its in the ideal position,15 min walk to the centre and another couple of minutes to the beach,im glad we had a room at the back as poolside got loud till about midnight but only because of the shows that were on,plenty of selection at the buffet breakfast/dinner(we went half board) always fresh fruit and veg on offer,never been to salou before and if and when we go back we will certainly be going back here,,,loved it.ps try to get to the free laser and light show ,its up beside the marina not far from carrer de barcelona,starts about 9,30,be early as it attracts hundreds of people,,its stunning(see pics)

Room Tip: use the back door at the swimming pool,takes you to a spar grocer for the morning papers,,also takes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robboaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Overall the hotel was great accommodation. the room itself practical for 3 girls sharing for the week, and the bathroom had lovely interior. the staff at reception, the bar and spa were friendly and always willing to help.

a drawback we found however was that there was only 2 seats on the balcony in our 3 person sharing bedroom, so we had to bring a stool inside out or not bother.

location wise the hotel was situated nicely to the market apx. 10 min walk tops! it was also within walking distance of the theme park and train platform which we used going into barcelona.

the hotel was a good 15/20 to the beach/strip. however if you use the back gate in the pool area and go left, right and follow the roundabouts, it can cut the journey down because going to the strip from the hotel's main entrance can be lengthy. BUT, there is a transfer shuttle bus that runs around salou and stops right outside the hotel that can take you to the beach for around 3 euro.

there was plenty of food options for breakfast; cooked food, cereal, pastries, juices, hot drinks etc. so you couldnt go wrong. however us 3 personally didnt like the look of many cooked items so stuck to the safer options. but im sure they were fine.

overall a great hotel, clean, and plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby the strip.

we recommend danny boy, a traditional irish pub with a great menu and drink offers as well as live entertainment at night. we went here a couple of times over our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ndgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed for a week with my two sons mid August. Reception was good, few queues at times as the hotel was obviously busy. Staff were friendly (excluding the miserable so and so at the spa) and mostly efficient. Room and facilities were very clean and looked after. The pool is nice but a bit small for the number of people using it at this time of year. The food was fine, it's all buffet so typical fare. There was plenty of choice and service good even at peak times. There were queues for breakfast between 9:30 and 10:00 but the staff kept things moving. Only problems were lack of cereal bowls, long queues for toasters and the coffee comes out of a machine. At least serve decent coffee, and why can't someone invent a toaster fit for hotels that doesn't take 5 mins or mean toasting bread 3 times before it's ready.
Found the hotel convenient for both Salou and the parks with both about 10-12 mins walk. There is a bus at various times but it's not often enough and stops before 6pm. The entertainment seemed good but was in Spanish and was a bit loud so many rooms are affected as it goes on til nearly midnight.
Overall I'd say this hotel deserves a good 3 star but I'd expected better facilities for a 4* and there seems to be a lack of 'on the floor' management when things are busy but the staff did well to cope.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed here in August with my 3 children, ages, 19, 10 & 9..Did alot of research on choosing our hotel in Salou to make sure all our needs were covered and Sol Costa Daurada did not disappoint!!
It took us 10 minutes from airport..Cost €28, we took the bus on way back to airport which cost us €24, the journey takes about 50 minutes on bus as it goes right around Salou. We enjoyed this though as we got see salou at its highest point, amazing views.
The staff at this hotel are truely amazing..There is no language barrier that you sometimes experience. And they went out of their way to make sure we had all the necessary information we required. One tip..when you leave the hotel, take a left - turn and this will bring you to the nearest & cheaper supermarket(SPAR)..Alternativly, Michael Angelo Supermarket) is a good 15 minute walk..not a good idea in the heat!!

Portaventura is right beside the hotel and our room gave us great views of the Fireworks each night.

Can't understand anyone who would complain about the choice of food here, as the selection was just amazing and covered every dietry requirement and trust me I have fussy kids!!

Like a previous review, our accommodation was booked through Travel Republic and stated that Wine/Beers & Water were included in our half-board package, unfortunately, the restaurant staff did not honor this, but wasn't a big deal to us so we did not complain to Front Desk.

A special mention to Alex and to the very patient Night Manager who's name I forget (french guy) who made sure to get our keys working each night.

Great Hotel, Great Staff, great Location..Would definitly return!!!!

Room Tip: Elevators are very busy all the time, so if you're on higher floor you could be waiting awhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patricia86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.2 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.7 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.7 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#16 of 93 in Salou
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre
0.3 mi away
H10 Vintage Salou
H10 Vintage Salou
#10 of 93 in Salou
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Costa Daurada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Costa Daurada

Property: Sol Costa Daurada
Address: Avenida Paisos Catalans s/n, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Salou
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#15 Family Hotel in Salou
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Costa Daurada 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the hotel has located in salou, with easy access to Port Aventura and the finest beaches on the Mediterranean Coast. The hotel has sunny outdoor swimming pools for adults and a separate children´s pool with free sun longer, towel service and a snack Bar. There is also a full, profesionally-run entertainment programme incluiding live music and shows. Mini club for children, games room, etc.Our four star hotel has 300 rooms with terrace, fully equipped bathroom, hairdryer, airconditioning, heating, desk, safe, satellite television.You can enjoy moments of rest and relaxation in our indoor swimming pool and spa centre with gym, jacuzzi, sauna Turkish Bath, Uva rays and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Melia, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Costa Daurada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Costa Daurada Salou, Costa Dorada
Hotel Sol Costa Daurada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing