We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suffient,clean and central location.”
Review of Ohtels Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ohtels Belvedere
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 4 and stayed at this hotel 27th Aug till 3rd Sept 2013.
It was a very last minute booking and for the price we paid we would not complain.
We were in room 3511 which was in the second block which overlooked the main road, it was noisy at times but no problem as we didnt spend enough time in th room to be bothered by it.

The location was ok about 15 minutes from the beach which was a nice little walk with loads of little shops, bars restaurants along the way.It was about a 20 mins walk to portaventura depending speed of walking.

The swimming pool was nice a little of the small side bu tmany people tended to sunbathe rather than swimming anyway. The activities around the pool were fun my girls particuarly enjoyed the inflatables and the foam party is a must too!! My only concern was that it is labelled as a family hotel yet I complained twice to the entertainment staff as music was heavily based on swearing which I deemed inappropriate for my children.

Evening entertainment was a little hit and miss the bingo
Starts way too early especially if you have to wait for a table at dinner. Some evenings entertainment looked a bit boring but others such as ones involving audience participation were really good.

Portaventura is a must we brought the evening ticket which worked out cheaper, we had a fab time! This hotel is the perfect location!!

Food was what you would expect at peak times there would be queues at various stations such as omlettes /pancakes and pizza/roasts. But it is to be expected. Food varied as there were themed nights, we stayed half board drinks are very expensive in the hotel generally and in the restaurant. I saw people sneak their own in which I dont condone. The hotel would probably do well as a all inclusive hotel all round as I dont think I saw anybody buying drinks.

There is free wi fi in the reception area when the strength is strong enough to connect however personally I felt this should either have been all over the hotel or not at all as the main reception area seemed to be full of people standing ,sitting on the floor, on chairs all trying to contact with ipads laptops etc. It was a little off putting and much of the time it was a very poor connection signal.

Would I visit again? Yes

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank toni15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Toni15,

Thank you very much for your comments. It is a pleasure to see you had a good time, and we will take into consideration your comments in order to improve for next season.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

location fantastic pool is good rooms are cleaned every day and to a high standard, food is ok nothing special, breakfast id fantastic down point is getting a table is a nightmare as its a free for all and never once got served drinks at the table yet I was not aloud to take drinks in from the bar either which I thought was bad, the chefs are really friendly but waiters are awful very rude, the bar staff are lovely but atmosphere in bar is awful and the entertainment was for the Spanish and awful, the spa is dirty unfortunately as this could be rather nice if it wasn't so unclean. I would stay here again but would never pay 1100 for 2 people again only way I would stay is if the prices reduced dramatically.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emagre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear emagre,

Thank you for your comments. It is a shame you didn't enjoy your stay with us as much as we all had expected. However there are some aspects I disagree with.

Regarding the point of getting a table and drinks in the buffet, let me say that depending on the time people decide to come (we open from 18:30 untill 21:30) it may be difficult to find the table we all want, but if the maître or me let you in, it is because there are tables available. I have to apologise for the point of the drinks, but if your have been waiting too much, it is as easy as telling me or the maître, because we are always there, and we order one waiter to serve you. Obviously I do not agree either with the rudeness of the waiters, mainly because I am there with them and because in most of the comments you can read in thes website, most people say that the Belvedere staff is very friendly.
Another aspect is the spa, it is not dirty at all, but there is a lot of hummidity. We are working on this point and looking for a solution.
The last point is the atmosphere of the bar, you say it is "awful" which I don't understand, how can an atmosphere of a hotel be "awful"? The staff is friendly, the entertainment is a personal opinion of every guest,...

Finally, I hope you can change your mind and come back again, because we try to improve season after season.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Hi just back from 8 days at the Belvedere with my wife and son. Hotel was great food was great always something different on menu at dinner. Rooms were ideal not that big but fit for purpose and cleaned daily with fresh towels plenty of toiletry's and hair dryer. Hotel is in a great location 10 minutes walk from Port Aventura and close to all shops and beach. Found a great little bar called the Bell Tavern close by which was great so all in all a great holiday spent in a great hotel thanks.

Room Tip: If possible request a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scottbaillie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your words. We are proud you had such a good time in our hotel and in Salou. We hope this enjoyable holidays make you choose Salou and Belvedere for your next days off.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just got back from a fantastic family holiday our room was on the first floor over looking the pool area, two double beds plenty of space well stocked bathroom (towels/toiletries) including free hair dryer rooms cleaned every day by friendly staff.
First time in this hotel as we have been to salou over 11 times try a different hotel each time but think ive found the one for a 3star top of the range and was very happy with our stay from start to finish.
The pool was cold but hey ho october but refreshing loads n i mean loads of sunbeds so no need to put towels out at daft oclock but did watch a few first thing in morning placing them, down stairs there was a gymnasium with a Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room all at no cost. The sauna and steam rooms were quite small but very good. We loved the jacuzzi have to wear swim hats so funny.
Food was amazing plenty of choice if any one say different then what do they eat cos this dining room had the lot apart from brown sauce, think ive gained a stone but worth it, i carnt comment on the hotel evening entrainment as we didnt stay for any always out trying a different bar or having a walk down the fabulous front promenade, salou has some thing for every one of all ages
Thank you hotel Belverdere for a great holiday will be seeing you again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank s0nic28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much. We try our best for all our guests, and meals is one of the basic points. Not much more to comment on your review but thank you.

We'll be waiting for you next year!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic week. The food was good, plentiful and fresh; my only negative would be that there wasn't much choice of mains for vegetarians - luckily I like salads, veg etc so I was fine though!

The rooms are small and basic but adequate and clean. Not the hotel's fault but we were woken by other guests a few times despite signs in the corridors asking for silence.

The bar prices were a little steep, but the staff were friendly and helpful. Some other guests commented on the speed (or lack thereof) with which they serve but as I pointed out - this is the Mediterranean. What's the rush?!

The pool is COLD but once you're in it's nice, refreshing and clean.

While sometimes the daytime entertainment outside was a little loud when we were trying to relax by the pool, it was still lighthearted and we smiled to know people were having fun.

We were absolutely overjoyed with the Spanish Dancing put on one evening, we didnt always stay for the entertainment and admittedly the bingo and quizzes may not be for everyone but they are certainly fun and Nuna & her Team are outstanding! SO friendly, helpful, skilled and entertaining!

In all I can't fault the Belvedere, it's no 5 star but it's very very very good for the price!

One other thing - please if you go - sneak a sausage, some bacon, ham and cheese out of breakfast and go to the far left side of the swimming pool . . . There live Huey, Duey & Luey the cats! They're not particularly friendly and watch your fingers but they're cute and we enjoyed having a coffee and cigarette after breakfast while feeding them theirs! :P

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hevskitronic82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. It is always a pleasure to read opinions like yours detailing all the points with such detail.

Thank you again and we hope to see you next year.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was my first time in Salou and i have to say i was very pleasently surprised.The hotel we stayed at was the Belvedere which is only a short walk from the resort center and beach. This hotel only has a 3 star rating but in my opinion is at the top end of that, and could be a 4 star.The room we had was on the 1st floor, with a pool view. It was very clean, very good beds, hairdryer and TV. The room was cleaned every day throughout our stay and fresh towels were always offered and the beds were made everyday.There is a decent sized swimming pool outside although at the time of year we were there this was a little cool, not the fault of the hotel. There was plenty of sunbeds around the pool as well and a first aider/ lifegaurd on duty whilst the pool was open. There is also a small gym area in the hotel and sauna and a jacuzzi but no indoor pool.We stayed at the hotel on a half board basis, so had, bed, breakfast and evening meal. The food on offer was superb and if any body goes hungry then they must be really fussy. Breakfast was amazing, the choice unbelieveable. From coffee and juice, 5/6 sorts of cereals, salamis, ham, cheese, salads,bacon and eggs, sausages,tomatos, omlettes,toast and jams, croissants and cakes and always tons of fresh fruit, truly outstanding.The only thing that spoils it is the greed of some people and the amount of food these pigs take out of the restaurant, very sad to see, not the hotels fault though. Dinner was just as good with even more choice, with soup, salads, pickles, roast meat, fish, pasta, pizza, rice, chips ,veg etc. The desserts were amazing to, with a choice of cakes,rice pudding, set custards, jelly, creams ,yougarts,ice cream, and always sliced melon and trays full of grapes and other fresh fruit, all washed down with a choice of local wines if needed at a very good price.The hotel staff we found to be on the whole all very friendly and helpful despite some guests being somewhat rude, although the reception was a little slow but hey ho i was on holiday, no need to rush about.While in Salou we did 3 trips out with our holiday company(thomsons).We did a full day to Monseraat, including the funicular ride to the very top, this was a lovely day out and well worth a look and our rep was the wonderful Shirley.Our second trip was a morning out with the guys from Downhillbikessalou and i have done a seperate review on this, surfice to say i would highly recommend this to anyone. Our third and final trip was on our last day and we went to Barcelona.This trip was to give us a taste of the city and some of its sights, from the Sagrada familia, to guell park, the olympic stadium and the thronging crowds of La ramblas, an excellent day out. Our guide/rep for this day was the very knowledgeable and ultra patient Susanah. A lovely day to finish our week.If i may i will make a special mention for our in resort Thomson rep HANNAH. This lovely young lady was there to meet us at the airport, to explain what was what and where things were. She went out of her way to help and answer any questions we had. Thankyou Hannah.I will fininsh this review with a few words on Salou itself.The resort i found to be very clean and tidy, with a lovely long beach with really good clean sand and crystal clear water.There is loads to do and see in Salou and the surrounding areas,from bars and nightclubs, restaurants, play areas for kiddies, shops and even one of europes largest theme parks just 10 mins away. All in all we had a wonderful time in Salou and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If like us you like an early morning cuppa then take a travel kettle and tea bags/coffee as no facil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mick n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Mick,

Thank you for your comments. Opinions like yours help us keep working hard on the same direction.
There is not much I can add because your explanations have been perfect and very detailes, the only thing is that we hope to see you back next summer.

Hope to see you back soon,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was my first holiday with my special girlfreind so i/we wanted it to be special and it didnt disappoint. We went for a week at the start of Oct and found the whole experience good fun. The staff were as freindly as they could be considering the language barrier, the food was great, yes a bit repetative but who cares as long as there is food there to be had. Our room on the 5th floor was just to our needs, clean, spacious, well maintained, could be a little noisy at night with the other guests and the hotel over the way with their entertainment but hey if you want silence then maybe a monestry up in the mountains is what you need. This Hotel is perfect for Portaventura theme park which is well worth a visit but is also a short walk to town and the amazing beaches. All in all a great part of the world, a great hotel and i hope we can return to beautiful Salou in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frigo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your opinions. It is a real plesaure to read comments like yours.

Thanks again and we really hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.3 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,077 reviews
0.0 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
0.8 mi away
Ohtels Playa de Oro
Ohtels Playa de Oro
#7 of 93 in Salou
668 reviews
1.5 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Belvedere

Address: C/ Terrer, 7 | Alcalde Pere Molas, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#10 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £37 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohtels Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ohtels Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Salou
Belvedere Hotel Salou
Ohtels Belvedere Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing