We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“girls holiday”
Review of Ohtels Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ohtels Belvedere
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“girls holiday”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Visited the Belvedere on 20th June to the 2nd July 2014 with five of my friends. We requested rooms next to each other and this was fulfilled but we were unable to get a pool side room requested, which would have been much better as my room was facing the road which was noisy in the morning.
Check in was slow and they charged us 10.50 euros for check in for some reason which was not explained to us!! Not all receptionist were confident with their English so were difficult to understand.
The room was very clean and nice. Cleaned everyday with new sheets and towels but the maids came very early in the morning knocking on the door waking us up. This was around 8-9 am.
Breakfast was very pleasant, fresh pancakes available and full English as well as pastries. Chips were also served in the morning which is a bit strange. Dinner was not as good, everything was a bit flavorless and there was lots of veal and rabbit which was not for me. The freshly made pizzas were nice and i had to stick to them and chips most nights.

Pool was a nice size with plenty of sunbeds and they were replacing them with new ones on our last few days. Activities in and around the pool for children e.g. water polo.

Excellent location, 7-10 minute walk from the beach and 10-15 minute walk from Port Aventura.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms should be requested and only stay bed and breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your visit and sending us your comments. We are sorry if we could not fulfill your entire room request but mainly in high season with high occupancy even if trying our best is hard to reach them.
We do apologize if we do not correctly explain you in what consist the payment you did on your arrival. In order to avoid any missunderstanding just let you know that It was the local tax that all guests arriving must pay; hotel is just collecting 0.50€ per person per night staying with us with maximum of 3.50€ per person, and is sending it to the authorities, this tax is stated as not included in all ttoo brochures when clients are buying their holidays but sometimes is not correctly explained in origin, sorry if it confused you.
We are satisfied you find our breakfast and entertainment activities as well the pool area very convenient unfortunately you did not enjoy our dinners the same way, let me point that we try to offer a plenty variety trying to satisfy all our clients that's why there are always served per meal 3/ 4 types of meat and at least 2 of fish, 5/6 side dishes , salads, just made pasta, soups and desserts buffet with up to 10 different types trying to satisfy every single wish.
Once more we thank you for choosing us for your holidays, we will be glad to welcome you back whenever you decide to enjoy again Belvedere.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    535
    262
    92
    68
See reviews for
976
377
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL!

We are very open minded people and considered the previous reviews on tripadvisor to be created by snobs who just wanted to shun off the Belvedere for their own enjoyment....how wrong we were.

These 'snobs' are truly just disappointed customers.

After a delayed flight we were transfered to the hotel successfully, however when we approached the receptionists we immediately faced a language and communication barrier. We accept we traveled to another country but we expected the 'security' of a Thomson package deal to remove these types of challenges. We later found out only 2 receptionists spoke some English and lucky us checked in on the day they clearly were not present.

After struggling to check in at 11am we asked for our keys and were informed that our room would not be ready till 2pm. Our cases were put in a store cupboard, but we kept our handheld luggage for security as they contained our passports, money and documentations. After 3 hours of sitting at reception with unsuitable clothing for the weather we returned to the desk only to be informed the room was still not ready. It was about 3:20pm when we finally got our keys.

We reached our room and it was nothing special, a small space with beds, however we were met with lipstick stained sheets and bizarrely leaves in the bed accompanied with hairs. The sheets had clearly not be changed.

We tried to inform the cleaner and complained to our Thomson rep when we met him (little did we know this would be the only time we would be able to meet him) We also didn't get our requested pool side view, we knew of this chance, however it didn't help matters.

We had to pay taxes as soon as we got to the hotel and had to pay 20 euros deposit to receive the TV remote - we were overjoyed when only 4 channels were offered - Spanish news, Spanish news, Spanish news and one inappropriate channel.

The entertainment was awful! In fact there was a lack of it, but when it did reveal itself (the last 2 nights we were there) it was a complete joke. We assumed that booking through Thomson there would be some sort of nightly entertainment, some sort of cheesy cabaret act, just like the ones we were cranning our necks to see from our balcony as the opposite hotel offered it.

The entertainment offered was the "kids club" coordinator thinking she could sing, dance and be Michael Jackson. We were all relieved when she attempted to moon walk down the stairs and the act concluded, sadly she didn't moon walk off the actual stage earlier. On the topic of kids club, though we are 18 year old travelers we spoke to many families who assumed Thomson offered a kids club of their own, sadly they were disappointed when our rep pointed out about the small print saying they didn't. As a result families clung to their children for dear life instead and let the Spanish families send their kids off to play in the bar, throw about objects near the pool, which were plucked from a box full of improvised props the hotel had clearly gathered over the years they'd been allowed to provide services.

Policies and procedures concerning hygiene and food should be a priority for any hotel, regardless of how many stars they have been awarded. However this is where the hell-vedere hotel truly let me down. The food tasted disgusting, was cold, undercooked and there was a lack of tongs at each serving station which consequently meant small children (and adults) were using their hands to pick up food, observe it and place it back in its tray if it didn't meet their expectations (at least we all seemed to agree the food was disgusting enough to be placed back, but we certainly didn't share the same values concerning touching food and putting it back) The tables were constantly dirty and the waitresses and waiters seemed to have a back log of duties. As a result we had to sit down as a two on a four table area as it was the only clean place to eat. However we were asked in Spanish to move to the dirty 2 table and assumed she was being helpful and would clean it......she kicked us off the clean 4 table to give it to a family....she never came back to clean our table. (Oh and by the way anyone who has paid for half-board or all inclsuive, don't expect any sort of free drink at dinner, bring your wallet) We had upset stomachs for a day or 2 for pushing ourselves to try the food. (Another side note, don't worry if the chicken is undercooked, you and your children will love the squid, venison and cat or dog or whatever road kill they were serving, can't knock them for providing a range.)

Due to this disgusting buffet of wrong-ness we were forced to eat out most of the time. Being young we had saved up money for ages and this was meant to be a relaxing escape from our final exams. We had to cancel planned excursions as we worked out we would have no finance at all if we carried on protecting our immune systems by eating out. It's so sad to think that the money could have gone towards university provisions and university shopping over the summer - it's literally been dropped down the drain.

The language and communication barrier carried on to all aspects of the hotel. On our first day we asked the barman for some 'food'. We were met by a tilted inquisitive head and a frown. He then gave us the cocktail menu and showed us which ones we could have...wrong. After feeling like a performing animal using gestures to explain how food was consumed, he finally got the idea and we were met with a 'no'.

One bar member (Who displayed several name badges during our visit ranging from 'Hector' to 'Jesus') made my traveling companion feel very uncomfortable, addressing her constantly and possessively as 'my princess' and was very inquisitive about her relationship status and was generally creepy. She didn't return to the bar after these occasions and I instead went to retrieve drinks - perfectly understandable.

After complaining to our Thomson rep and being assured our dirty room and shaky check in would be dealt with we waited for him to contact us back....oh he forgot us. He disappeared to Barcelona and was replaced with a Thomsons 'kids rep' hmmmm thought they didn't offer them, oh she explained they did but not for this particular hotel. How inclusive. She couldn't deal with complaints and just gave us a talk how she would get drunk in the bars...bet you'd want to send your kids to her. We then cancelled our excursions with her and paid for a cheaper one.

The hotel did not offer non-smoking areas so if you try to read a book or listen to some music by the pool, or eat some food outside don't be surprised if someone sits right next to you and puffs fumes into your face. We assumed they would have a designated smoking area outside. The pool was quite dirty with bits of mud and leaves floating around with a few insects. One time dipping was enough for us from then on. We were kicked out of the inside pool (again through the Spanish language) and obliged. We later found out it was because we had to wear hair nets/shower caps....which they provided...great...for a price....oh no.

The Port Aventura trip we were sold by Thomson didn't live up to expectations, nothing to do with the hotel but it put a damper on the whole experience, we had to wait 3-4 hours per ride. Also a lot of excursions and places Thomsons highlighted were not a 10 - 20 minute walk. We found ourselves walking forever to find one excursion.

When we came back from this particular excursion it was almost 1am in the morning and we had to walk back to the Hell-vedere hotel. Lets just say it wasn't the tourist centered, market type and local atmosphere we expected which the travel agents description hinted. We were hit with night-life which could challenge the BBC program "Sun, S*ex and Suspicious Parents". There were "lads" bellowing brawling and picking up tarty locals clearly prepared to sell themselves.

Finally this really enraged me. We were woken up at around 1:20am by a banging knock at the door (this happened before, but this time we decided to get up and open it, quite petrified) We were met by the night guard/staff who leaned in and went "Shhh" and scurried off. Totally bemused we laughed a little and then got back in bed, then it dawned on us how rude and random this behaviour was. We heard several loud knocks that night and assumed he had done the same to other rooms. Whether it was a colleague prank or whatever it really annoyed me. So I guess this justifies sleep quality.

We were totally missold both at the hotel itself and at the UK travel agents. Thomson say this is a "hand-picked" hotel....I just wonder whose hand they used - it was a disgusting hotel without any of Thomsons package features and there were no points that justified the price. My traveling companion went on a teletext last minute holiday to Majorca the week before for half the price and it was much more superior.

THE MANAGER SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF THE SERVICE HE/SHE IS PROVIDING, THE STAFF NEED SERIOUS TRAINING IN MANNERS, DECENCY, AND POLICIES AND PROCEDURES SUCH AS CUSTOMERS SERVICE, HYGIENE AND A STRONG ORGANISATIONAL CULTURE NEEDS TO BE FOUNDED.... however they shouldn't even be given the time to change, close it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ceprsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear sir,

We thank you for all the time you dedicated to us on your review.

We do not agree on your comments as well the majority of thousands clients that we are lucky and happy to host each season as everyone can read in most of the reviews.

The management directly does not agree your insulting version of our establishment which is not fair to true with unacceptable serious allegations which are absolutely dishonest.

The management of this hotel and more than 70 experienced and professional employees who daily work hard to make our clients holidays unforgettable will still working the same way and with the same hope we have been doing with success for years, always improving and adapting ourselves and services as per our clients requests and needs based in constructive opinions, comments and suggestions.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We are currently here at the Belvedere and hate the place. As we are British we are treat like dirt. The Europeans also staying here have no respect for you, they push in front of you in a queue, if you cause a scene and shout and swear like I did your just ignored and they including staff don't even acknowledge the problem. The staff are ok but should take note that the English are treat like dirt! The food is not great, edible but we have decided it's not the standard we expect as brits. The rooms are very small and you don't get enough wardrobe space for 2 people. Cleaners do come daily but we're still yet to have a bedding change. We feel very unwelcome and want to move hotel. If your English and don't mind having the p**s taken out of you and you can ignore the dirty looks everybody gives you and you can put up with a tiny room then come to this hotel. Plus we have noticed the management here only respond to the positive reviews on trip advisor, take a look. This proves they don't give a monkeys about the complaints and bad reviews or maybe they can't answer them because they know this place is a joke.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, surprise me you sent this review while still staying in our hotel and you have not come to me to let us know what worries you or what does not fully satisfy you. We are close to the guest all the time and we worry about all the issues could affect a pleasant guest stay. We are an international hotel with many years of experience, which means there are clients from different countries as stated is every brochure of any travel agency in which you can book your holidays with us , we are used to it and for us all the guests independently where they come from our clients who are looking for a good holiday and we try to fulfill their expectations the way they can enjoy their wished holidays.
The management of the hotel is answering every single review our guests sent independently if they are good or they bad, for us all the comments are welcome and we treat them with respect and analyze them carefully always with the purpose of still improving. We always tries to satisfy our guests and we strictly follow our quality program which brought us to be rated very positively in Thomson rating, main British ttoo, which shows the hard work done for years with the British market in our hotel.
Going individually to your main complaints, let us inform you that all brochures includes also the rooms sizes the way you can check it before buying your trip and also the rooms sizes are according to the national legislation for 3 stars hotel: Secondly about the bedding is changed every third night as per hotel category standards. The food variety and quality are following some internal program which we have been improving during years of experience with great satisfaction results for the majority of nationalities, based in Mediterranean food offer we weekly offer two thematic dinners, Spanish and Italian one, and the always expected Gala dinners on Friday.
I hope i would have the opportunity to personally talk to you during your stay the way we can have a pleasant chat and I'm sure we will agree in many things, we will still working hard to make you change your opinion for the rest of your stay.

Thanks

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

1week stay was enough.
Rooms very small.
Restaurant staff that cleared tables extremely rude with the exception of Pedro.
The gym was a joke, on wet tiled floor, no air con with 2 bikes from Noah's ark and an old rowing machine. There was a weights bench too but no weights to lift. Kids entertainment & most evening entertainment mostly in Spanish although the team seemed really enthusiastic & friendly and the Spanish kids loved them.
Reception staff helpful and most bar staff friendly especially Jesus, but a few had poor English.
No English channels on television in rooms.
WiFi connection very slow in room.
Location is excellent. 10mns to Portaventura & 15mns to centre of town.
Cleanliness of hotel & pool good although some parts could do with a fresh lick of paint and upgrading.
Food in restaurant is good especially breakfast. If you can put up with rude poker faced Europeans that don't know what it means to queue/general manners then you'll be ok here. This isn't the fault of the hotel but just let the restaurant staff know we're not all rude guests so don't treat us all as if we are. It would've been nice to see them smile or acknowledge you. Not just swipe your plates away.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and in second place for sending us your comments which will help us to improve although there are some points i would like to clarify and do not bring confusion to potential guests. Our entertainment is completely bilingual at least spanish, english even depending on guests also in russian and french speaking staff there's in the team. About the tv channels since this week we are offering again after solving some technical problems the following english channels in our rooms BBC1, BBC2; BBC3, ITV.
We will carefully read your comments and still working to make your stays the most comfortable possible, thank you.
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahoghill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

we stayed in this hotel last year and had some issues with it. Keen prices took us back again this year and I have to say Im glad I did. It just felt a better run hotel this year. Staff very friendly. Very quick check in. Rooms perfect for three..pool view good. Toiletries now supplied in rooms and our maid was in every day. Animacion staff are great, not just with the kids but adults too. Food was good, no matter what was on we always found something to eat (im a fussy eater). Whatever changes you guys done since last year are for the better. Definately be back next year
..ps wifi in ALL areas really helped too x

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear family,

Was nice to have you all back in our hotel and even nicer verify that you are fully satisfied with your stay, we are glad that the improves made during this season are appreciated. Thank you for your comments, we look forward to welcome you again next year.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel is fine if you just need a place to sleep near the beach. Our room faced out onto the street so it was noisy all night long-I guess pool facing rooms would be quieter. Most nights the corridors were full of children running along knocking on everyone's doors. There was a distinct lack of parasols by the pool, although always plenty of sunbeds. The food was much the same every night, if you like chicken and fruit this is the place for you. The hotel was within a 5-10 minute walk to the beach, and around a 20-30 minute walk from port Aventura which was convenient. I don't think this is the sort of place I will return to but it served a purpose while we were there.

Room Tip: Road facing rooms are very noisy so ask for one to the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadridAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Salou, we are glad you positively valuate our quality/price relation.

Thank you, we wish you a nice summer.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

hi we are staying in your hotel end of July I previously emailed but haven't received a reply yourself regarding the possibility of a room with a pool view is this the best procedure as I have been recommended these rooms? looking forward to our visit

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank leanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Director Hotel at Ohtels Belvedere, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear guest,

We look forward to welcome you soon.

As per tripadvisor policies we can not inform you this way about any contact details or web address we kindly ask you to look for our official web site in the net where you will find the way to send us your request.

Enjoy your holidays with us.

thank you

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.3 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
1,972 reviews
0.0 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
1.5 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Belvedere

Property: Ohtels Belvedere
Address: C/ Terrer, 7 | Alcalde Pere Molas, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#10 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohtels Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ohtels Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Salou
Belvedere Hotel Salou
Ohtels Belvedere Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing