We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday August 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Best Negresco
Ranked #33 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family holiday August 2014”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel beginning of August 2014, with my husband and 2 children aged 12 and 10. The hotels location was fantastic!! 2 seconds to the very clean and lovely beach and half hour walk to Salou or la Pineda. Rooms were basic but very clean. Staff were fantastic, couldn't fault them!! However, the entertainment wasn't up to much!! The pool was clean and not overly busy plus it was checked daily by the pool man but you can't have lilo's in the pool or Rambo will get you. You can have really small rubber rings. The life guard (Rambo) should be closer to the pool. A child fell into the pool while were there and he didn't even notice because he was so far away...luckily we did!! The food in the restaurant wasn't very good. The hot food was cold and the salad looked a bit wilted. The taste was there but I like my food hot. Especially chicken etc. The pool bar snacks were fab and HOT. The bar staff were very efficient and friendly. The guests in the hotel were a mix of Brits, Spanish, French and Russians which was not a problem. The cost of the safe was extortionate, 30 euros for one week!! I don't know how these hotels get away with charging so much for something that's already in the room. You don't charge to use the sink or toilet so why the safe!! Anyway, overall it was a fab holiday and if they could sort out the food I wouldn't hesitate to visit again :)

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view...guaranteed a sea view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaO30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotels2014, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Best Negresco, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your time spends on the review of our hotel. We would like to express our gratitude for your visit at our Hotel Best Negresco and for the time you spent to write a review on your personal experience as this helps us to know where we can still improve in our daily work to enhance our guests’ holiday among us.

We really hope that you come back next year and keep enjoying your holidays with us.

Best regards and see you soon!!

Christian Rodriguez
Management
Best Negresco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    409
    237
    116
    70
See reviews for
549
368
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Breakfast and dinner buffet not up to standards for a 4 star hotel, very poor snack-bar menu, only 3 options and none vegetarian. Some members of the staff very rude for guests. No don't disturb signs available on the rooms what means that from 8 am (house keeping duty start time) your room can be invaded any time.

Renovation and redecoration needed especially in Building Negresco II.

The only plus in this hotel is the location, far enough from the busy Salou downtown.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Ricardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotels2014, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Best Negresco, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for the feedback you have posted on the Trip Advisor website. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy all aspects of your experience at the hotel Best Negresco. Please accept our apologies if your stay did not meet expectations; Your constructive comments are appreciated and will assist us in the continual review of the service we provide to help us improve the experience for all our guests. I have since shared your comments with my team and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel. Best Regads, Management of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salou hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at the Negresco for a week in August - myself, my husband and three children (one baby in a cot). The room was on the small side and a bit of a squeeze for the five of us, but we weren't in the room that much and it served its purpose. We got a side sea view which was lovely and we didn't pay extra for. Maid service was everyday and room was spotlessly clean. The hotel is in a fantastic location, close to the beach and with lovely views. A short walk to the main bars and restaurants of Cap Salou, or you can walk along the beach path into Salou itself. Buses run regularly and are around 2 euros per person - you can easily catch a bus at the top of the road which can take you into Salou, La Pineda or up to PortAventura theme park. There is also a land train which runs quite regularly as well. We took trips to PortAventura (a great family day out), Aquapolis water park (based in La Pineda and again a great family trip - typical water park but also has dolphin shows) and Barcelona (takes about an hour and a half to get there, but well worth a visit). The food was good - plenty of choice and they had a few theme nights while we were there as well. Entertainment is on every night in the hotel bar, we didn't go to this a lot but the kids enjoyed the mini disco on the occasions that we did go. Overall I would say this is a good base to visit Salou and surrounding areas and I would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jducky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotels2014, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Best Negresco, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

As to us the vision of our clients is the clue to complete guest-satisfaction, we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent writing this review on your recent stay at our hotel. We are fully aware that this is the best way to achieve superiority and excellence in our daily services. It is also very enjoyable to read how much you enjoyed the stunning views and excellent location. It is always nice to hear that our guests like our privileged position. We hope to see you soon again at our hotel.

Best regards!!

Christian Rodriguez
Management
Best Negresco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in room 010 Negreso 1 at beginning of July for 10 days and enjoyed every minute of our visit. As a couple the room was spacious with the added bonus of having a fabulous sea view. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly, helpful and informative, they couldn't do enough to help you. the staff in the restaurant work so hard and nothing is a bother. Meals were terrific with different choices every night, something to please everyone. the seafood in particular was fabulous. at lunch and dinner it was table service for drinks and staff were over to see what you wanted as soon as you sat down. On all inclusive you could have a bottle of wine with dinner, great value. At the bar you could have drinks and ice-creams. the pool did get busy as the day went on but we still always managed to find a sunbed, we were all prepared to head over to Negresco 2 as other reviews said this was quieter but we didn't find it necessary. The entertainment crew were lovely and did not pressure you too much to loin in they just let you know what was going on. Susannah was amazing so full of energy keeping everyone entertained. Our room was cleaned every day to a high standard. The location is great for the beach too, we loved to pop down in the evening in just our swimming gear and towels for a quick dip and to jump the waves, it was almost as close as going to the pool. The walk to Salou was easy, we walked in bought beach towels, had a drink and were still back within an hour. We would recommend Uncle Sams Diner for a great steak if you fancy a night out and the Red Lion was great pub for a wee stopover, had a great night there watching World Cup final there. Look out for Diana outside she is so friendly and loves the British because they are they friendliest people. Back at the hotel we sat out on the balcony every evening with a 43 (lovely Spanish liqueur in all inclusive you must try it) listening to the waves lapping and completely chilled. Bar staff were lovely too, please remember with all inclusive they miss out on a lot of tips. On our last day we went round the hotel, the restaurant and bar have tip jars on counter, don't forget to show your appreciation they deserve it. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth paying for, if you are lucky you might get a side sea view but if I went back I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotels2014, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Best Negresco, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear guest,

We are grateful for your very positive comment about Hotel Best Negresco, For all of us, as part of the Best Hotels chain, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services and that your family enjoy every moment in our facilities. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Christian Rodriguez
Management
Best Negresco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salou, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed on 3rd floor negresco 1, great wifi room basic but functional fridge was very useful, side sea view we didn't pay extra for, restaurant and pool in 1 can get very busy but negresco 2 is across the road with a quiet pool and restaurant we loved. Staff friendly and helpful, location fantastic bought a plana bus card from the top of the street and for 12€ got ten journeys for a family of four then topped it up, this was great value and allowed us to visit busy salou then come back and relax. Beach has a slope perfect for buggies well lit if you want to relax later when it's not so hot, lots of supermarkets nearby, show cooking a hit with my kids. It was good value for money

Room Tip: Floor 3 is great, and if your side view of the sea as we were this is quieter as you room doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotels2014, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Best Negresco, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay; positive reviews from our customers do wonders to our staff motivation! We sincerely hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you soon again, Best Regards, the Management of the Hotel Best Negresco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Hi Guys well the Morgan Family has just come back after spending 7 nights at this hotel and all I can say is we've had a Fantasic Holiday. After reading all the bad reviews I honestly think them people are very fussy and very rude! We had no problems with any of the staff they were very polite, the food was warm and had a wide selection to choose from we never went hungry. The pool was great we didnt have a problem getting a sun lounger or a seat. Our 4 yr old was enterainted by the lovley girls from the kids club they didnt have a problem speaking to her, she loved it!! The night time entertainment was great she loved the mini disco and the shows after. The hotel is in a great location to the left if you walked long the beech you got to Salou about 10-15mins walk it is hilly but we managed it fine with a buggy, if you went right you went into Cap Salou there was a range of bars and kids stuff to do. The Knights Inn pub does great food as we slept in a few morning so missed breakfast. Honestly had a great time would recommend this hotel to a family as it was great. A must is Aquapolious Water Park we spent the whole day there it was Fantastic and only 10 euro in a taxi there as its only about 20mins away.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotels2014, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Best Negresco, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Nicky, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and had a great time. Your positive comments inspirit us to improve and they help us to serve you better; we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and we are glad to know that you were satisfied with our services and that your family enjoyed every moment in our facilities. We sincerely hope that we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future and once again would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. Yours Sincerely, Cristian Rodriguez, The Management of the Hotel Best Negresco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We just book holiday stay in Best Negresco. We book as a full board . Now We would like to know what is including in full board??? Hotel seems nice. Looking forward to visit Casta Dorada,as we never been before. Thank you

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Oksana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotels2014, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Best Negresco, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Oksana, Thank you very much for entrusting your holidays to our Hotel; we hope that you will have a great time in the Costa Daurada and in the Best Negresco too. The full board option includes breakfast, lunch and dinner ( drinks are not included). If you wish to have the drinks at the restaurant and bar included, you should book your stay on All Inclusive basis. Best Regards and see you soon! Cristian Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Cap Salou
Hotel Best Cap Salou
#49 of 94 in Salou
812 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.3 mi away
Cala Font Hotel
Cala Font Hotel
#31 of 94 in Salou
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#28 of 94 in Salou
603 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 94 in Salou
1,944 reviews
1.7 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#13 of 94 in Salou
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Negresco

Property: Hotel Best Negresco
Address: Carrer dels Replanells, 12-14, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#24 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Best Negresco 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located facing the sea, at only 100m. from Playa Larga beach which is accessible through a new promenade. Comfortable rooms with balcony, fully fitted bathroom with hairdryer, telephone, satellite TV, security door lock, heating, air conditioning fridge and optional safe-deposit box. Outdoor swimming pool for adults and children with a large terrace solarium and snack-bar. Gym, games area, children’s area and kid’s club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Best Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Complejo Best Negresco Hotel Salou
Negresco Princess Hotel
Negresco Princess Salou
Hotel Best Negresco Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing