We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ranked #6 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
preston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel last week with my wife and 5 year old grandson, what can I say this hotel is top notch I really can not fault it, the food is amazing with a great selection for eveybodys taste including the children who have a great selection to choose from the selections are massive and are very good standard, the rooms are a little dated but still very good with nice cool air con a 32inch flat screen tv etc, the one thing I would have liked would have been tea making facilities but I do like a cuppa in the morning the beds are large and quite comfy overall good quality,the hotel is spotless, this hotel is completely aimed at the children having a good time and so the entertainment is aimed at the childrens happiness which I think is great the entertainers work very hard and seem to love the kids having a great time, my only complaint which is not a fault of the hotel is the complete lack of manners or any respect of the east Europeans who are very rude and super greedy the amount of food they waste is a sin, unfortunately the hotel is about 80% of them 20% the rest but as I say this is not the hotels fault, overall this hotel and indeed the resort of salou can not be knocked go and enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cammy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard C, Hotel Manager at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your recent stay with us.

We work hard to ensure a best service is provided to all our guests.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    320
    196
    66
    57
See reviews for
534
290
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We actually went here in July 2013. I have been to better hotels, but this definitely was not the worst. Location was good, excellent little walk around to the beach, where we spent the majority of the time as we preferred this over the hotel pool. We used the hotel more as a place to sleep really, even though we were all inclusive the food was quite bland and average so we ate out a lot. However breakfast was amazing! could not fault that! They had a pancake station which was great, my boyfriend loved the egg station they had which cooked eggs to exactly how you wanted. I think we would stay here again if needs must, but I think we would try out other hotels in Salou first. Oh and out balcony door was busted on arrival, so we asked the handy man to come up to fix it, he arrived to fix it in the hour.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smartles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard C, Hotel Manager at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your recent stay with us.

We work hard to ensure a best service is provided to all our guests.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Positive: Our overall all inclusive holiday at this hotel and resort was an enjoyable and positive experience. The staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the food, the pool area, wonderful beach and vibrant location. Good entertainment around the pool in the day time and a high standard of entertainment most evenings. Very close to the town centre and all outside amenities, such as the water and theme park (the 4X4 safari day trip was enjoyed by all). Negatives: Would have preferred one double bed and two singles in stead of two doubles. On arrival had to to report a broken patio door handle, faulty light switch and plug socket, faulty electronic key cards, cracked and chipped bidet and toilet basins. cracked, chipped and dirty tiling around the bath area, rough and frayed towels and stained bed sheets.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard C, Hotel Manager at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Susan,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your recent stay with us. We try to do the best for our clients everyday, and we appreciate so much your comments.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanden, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

very good hotel,everything was neat and clean and there was much choice for eating staff was very friendly and helpful, next year I'll be back I hope that I can get next year a room overlooking the pool

I would like to thank all the staff at villa dorada for this happy holidays

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard C, Hotel Manager at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Patrick,

First, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post on the site following the recent stay with us.
It's really incredible to read your comments, and I'm sure that all the staff will be very proud to know your opinion.

Thanks again Patrick, and we hope to see you very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Some reviews for this hotel are quite unreasonable to say the least!
We had a lovely time, the Hotel was spotless, the staff were friendly and, being a short walk from the beach and the town centre, the location can't be faulted either. We chose the hotel quite last minute because of it's low price, and we were pleasantly surprised by how good it actually was for the price.
The food was OK - plenty of choice with the occasional themed evening.
A lot of the poolside is in the shade until mid afternoon - and this can be a problem or a blessing, depending on what you prefer!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard C, Hotel Manager at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear ceri,

Is a pleasure for all of the staff to read your review, and also we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about your stay in the Hotel Villa Dorada!!.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked the holiday nearly a year ago to celebrate Ruby wedding anniversary and took sons and grandchildren so age range was 19 months to 64 (10 of us). Rooms had 2 double beds, which caused a bit of an argument as one of the children didn't want to share a bed with uncles so slept on lilo on floor. Halfway through the holiday we noticed that the bathrooms were different. One had a shower and the other had a shower over the bath. Had we realised sooner it would have been better for the room with 2 of the children to have had the room with the bath. Storage was also different in both rooms. Rooms were clean. Food was plentiful and nice and even 5 minutes before closing if a tray was empty it would be replaced. Sons would have liked a gym and there was a large area in basement which would have been ideal in between restaurant and indoor swimming pool. Could have done with more sunbeds or the no reserving sunbeds rule enforced. Most evenings there was some sort of act on if you didn't want to take advantage of the local amenities. Bit of a slope to the beach so quite tiring coming back if you have walking difficulties. Dean, the Thomson rep, was very helpful as were the reception staff that I dealt with. All in all a good value for money family hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbWarrington_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard C, Hotel Manager at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First, we would like to say thank you for take the time to leave your review on this web, and we're proud to have achieved that your holiday was a success. For sure, our reception team and Dean of Thomson will be very happy about your opinion.

The last winter we started to renovate the bathroom, and that's why there are two different types of bathroom.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you very soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

we are mid fifty couple who planned the holiday with the help of Thomsons, all the reviews were positive, the short 2 hour flight was a tempting offer, so we booked the holiday, 22 07 14 to the 02 08 14, after a 20 min tx,first to be dropped off. we arrived at lunch time, we were given a full run down on the hotel, its reception clean tidy, well presented, staff helpful, all inclusive,
the room looked clean tidy, flat screen tv, plenty of storage space. 2 x double beds, top floor as requested, shower, side street view,room 544, even number side, they clean the room and change towels every day, food was good, plenty of choice, food trays continued to be filled up, every one commented on how nice it was, always empty plates, i would say it was a good sign.
the entertainment team very friendly,they had plenty of time for every one as individuals, all staff interacted with the guests, i could not fault any of them, from the cleaning team, dinning room/bar staff, Dean the travel rep in the hotel was really helpful, and gave honest updates for you to decide the best option, the location near town centre of salou, nearby bus/train stations, clean beaches, good area for walking/running,

Room Tip: take hair dryer, none provided, hotel tax now in place we paid 7 euros for 11 nights,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard C, Hotel Manager at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Brenda,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your recent stay with us. We try to do the best for our clients everyday, and we appreciate so much your comments.

We hope to see you again!!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.9 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.8 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.7 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ohtels Playa de Oro
Ohtels Playa de Oro
#5 of 94 in Salou
542 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#8 of 94 in Salou
1,539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Villa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Villa Dorada

Property: Ohtels Villa Dorada
Address: Vendrell Street, 11, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Hotel Venecia Park)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohtels Villa Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barely 200 metres from the spectacular Llarga and Capellans beaches, 10 minutes from PortAventura, in the heart of Salou's tourist area and next to the unique Masia Catalana (a traditional farmhouse), the Hotel Villa Dorada enjoys a privileged position in the capital of the Costa Daurada. Spacious terraces next to its spectacular swimming pools, with aquatic parties and inflatables for all ages, an outdoor bar, a children's playground for the most demanding members of the family, an entertainments team and live shows - everything you need for an unforgettable holiday. International cuisine, gluten-free dishes, varied show cooking, themed dinners and a children's buffet will delight guests of all ages. The Villa Dorada and its attentive staff are a guarantee that you won't want your holiday to end. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ohtels Villa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venecia Park Hotel
Venecia Park Salou
Hotel Venecia Park Salou
Ohtels Villa Dorada Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing