We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you get a cheap week go, but it is basic 3* hotel. Realistic review.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ranked #8 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you get a cheap week go, but it is basic 3* hotel. Realistic review.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

To summarise:
Hotel needs upgrading all around especially the public bathrooms but its generally very clean. Rooms are good (two double beds). Staff were good (apart from the older man at the restaurant who takes your card - he was rude if you don't take your paper part of your card when you arrive for breakfast, lunch, dinner). Pool cleaner works his socks off, so does entertainment staff.
Food is varied hot and plenty of it but the meats weren't great quality but we always found something to eat. Wine was bad so I would avoid that. All inclusive drinks were good, beer, spirits, coffee etc.
Wifi was good. Not a lot of sun loungers and parts of the pool didn't get the sun until afternoon but we just went a walk around or to the beach after breakfast. Pool view rooms during the day, and in the evening hear very loud dance music which we didn't mind but if you have young kids it might be an issue.
On our last day they cooked paella and had sangria by the pool which was nice. Twice they had inflatables in the pool.
Watch out for the rude eastern europeans and its fine.
All in all - ok for a cheap 3 star week away and if you know what you are going to then its good enough no real complaints.
If you go to Port Aventura then definitely buy fast track passes. We were 2h wait for the 2 main rides.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lewis181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard C, Hotel Manager at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your recent stay with us. We try to do the best for our clients everyday, and we appreciate so much your comments.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    355
    221
    77
    65
See reviews for
650
311
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Food was ok and varied for a week, bit boring after that. Bar staff not very happy to serve and restrict how many drinks you can get at one time, 2, which isn't any good to us when we are a family of 6! Short walk to the beech, jeep safari was a good trip to go on.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard C, Hotel Manager at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest,

First, thank you very much to leave your feedback in Tripadvisor.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just returned from a week All inclusive at this hotel with Thomsons. The staff were mostly friendly and they had a good entertainment programme. The rooms were cleaned daily and had good air conditioning. The food was average in the restaurant but you could always manage to find some think. The snacks were poor compared to other All Inclusive hotels I have stayed in, you only had a choice of pizza and chips which was one small slice of pizza and about 10 chips, hot dog and chips, burger and chips, crisps, nuts or a sandwich. Nice coffee and got bottled water. We liked the indoor pool which I took my 1year old grandson to a few times. The hotel is very tired and is in need of refurbishment. We pick up the wifi you have to be in reception area or around the pool area. No wifi in the room unless you hung over the balcony. Overall we had a good holiday but went out into Salou a lot. I don't rate it good value for money and would not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: As for a pool view room but if you want an early night the entertainment music goes on until midnigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thegreenparty46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard C, Hotel Manager at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your recent stay with us. We try to do the best for our clients everyday, and we appreciate so much your comments.

We hope to see you again!!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Went to hotel villa dorada 13th august for 1 week. We arrived at the hotel about 11.30pm with my husband and 2 daughters 11 and 3. It was my daughters 11th birthday that day too so what happened next was not on at all! Went to check in, all very tierd! Sorry no rooms left you have to stay in a hotel down the road! WHAT????? Got to stay in a different hotel for the night! We asked when can we check in tomorrow and he said anytime! To tierd to argue so of we went! Now midnight we tried to check in mediteranian best hotel, man on the check in desk didnt really know what we were on about but eventually we got our small horrible room. I was so upset especially as it was my daughters bday. Trying to rummage through the case to find the kids something to wear for bed when the music started! Im not kidding you the music was so load that I thought the patio doors were open boom boom boom screaming sirens smashing glass till 7 in the morning!!!! By this time I wanted to go home! About 9am we went back to check in at villa dorada to be told that we cant until midday, even though they said anytime!!!!! they promised they would give us a poolside view room. We didnt want to waste anymore time so we stored our luggage and went to caribe water park for the day ( which was brill ) about 5.30pm we got back to the hotel, of we went to our room, lovely room but no pool view! Went down and told them and they said they are all gone with a pool view! Come back tomorrow! Another night not being able to unpack but eventually the next day everything was sorted. This is when I started enjoying our holiday. Hotel is very big and spotless. Great pools and kids park ( better looking than the photo impressions ) staff are really friendly too but the best part was the food, the standard is defo more than a 3 * it is fantastic! The chefs and staff in the restaurant are brilliant at what they do. Everything is fresh and always lots of it. The man who does the melon carving is so talented. There are fresh eggs omlettes pancakes made to order and the men who do that are brilliant. It was a lovely hotel just such a big shame about the start!!!!
T

Room Tip: Level 5 rooms have been renovated but the others have not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard C, Hotel Manager at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First, thank you very much to leave your feedback in Tripadvisor.

I'm so sorry about this problem that you had, and I hope the rest of your stay were great.

Thank you also for your comments about the food and the staff!!!!.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I have just returned from my holiday staying at the Villa Dorada.
There were many issues that you should be aware of.
If you need a cup of tea, coffee or even water for taking medication, you will NOT be allowed any before 10:00 A.M. at the bar area (No facilities in rooms for this) The rooms look nothing like they do on their website.
The rep was not very helpful and often gave misleading information.
The pool side is treacherous. I slipped and injured my knee twice, I saw many people slip and fall around the pool as the floor is very wet and not cleaned up often enough.
The pool itself does not have any signs telling people where the shallow and deep end is and as a result I saw a young child gash her chin in the shallow end. (Pool is very small)
You will need to start to queue by 8:00 A.M. at the latest to acquire a sun lounger or you will not have one all day. The staff is meant to remove towels from sun loungers when people acquire one and then go out for the day and they don’t.
The bar area has a sign stating footwear should be worn at all times. Kids were running in and out soaking wet with no footwear and I slipped in there on the second occasion.
The food was the same every single day, however, if you like veal everyday then you will be okay.
On several occasions, I had to ask for bath towels in the room. You will need to give a deposit of 20 euro’s for each an iron, T.V. remote and a deposit for just about anything you need. You will need to pay to weigh your cases. The only nice staff was the two upstairs bar staff and the rest do not speak English which is bad considering 90% of tourists are British. There are many more disappointments to mention.
I would not recommend this hotel at all as there are plenty of others that other people were raving about.

Room Tip: Try booking one closer to the beach with a larger pool and English speaking staff to help with any q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bingo_nut_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard C, Hotel Manager at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your recent stay with us.

We must to accept all opinions, of course, but let me tell you:

The bar is open at 10 am until midnight..., if it is not enough for you, the restaurant open at 8 am until 10,30 am for breakfast, 13 hrs to 15 hrs for lunch and 19 hrs to 21,30 hrs for dinner. Why you cannot take a water for your medications or a cup of tea? .
Usually in swimming-pool area is wet.., maybe you had a problem with your footwear to slip twice. I'm sorry, but there are signs everywhere, in swimming-pool area, in the entrance of the bar and also in the playground area.., really you need more information and signs?.
I think is understandable that you cannot to book a sunbed, leave your towel and don't use it during more than one hour, the rest of guests have the same right as you to use the sunbed and umbrella.
About the variety of the food, this is your point of view very particular, but I'm sure you didn't saw the show-cooking that we change everyday, the cutting meat or poultry also different every day, 3 composed salads, 10 different fruits, thematic buffets 3 days a week (spanish, italian and seafood), 12 different desserts, buffet for the kids.., etc.... you can see the photos in tripadvisor. One day a week we give paella (free) in the swimming-pool and we show how to do it, and also the fresh fruit free.
I can't belive that you had problems with your rep., I receive congratulations everyday!.
It is not fair, that you say false things to reinforce your opinion, all the staff work very hard to get the satisfaction of our guests, sure that we make mistakes everyday, but...., this is too much.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We have just returned from an all inclusive holiday and have had an amazing time. All the staff were fantastic especially the entertainment staff who were great with our children. The rooms are all you need to rest in, with both bath and shower. The food was good with a big variety every day, both for adults and children.
The location of this hotel is perfect as it is just 5 mins walk from the main shops and bars and also a small walk from the nearest beach.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisadee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard C, Hotel Manager at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your recent stay with us.

We work hard to ensure a best service is provided to all our guests.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed here in August with my ten year old daughter. It was our first holiday abroad with just the two of us so as you can imagine I was slightly apprehensive and rather stressed.

Good points:
There is 3 pools at the hotel, 2 outdoors and a beautiful cold pool inside.
We were half board and the food was plentiful and delicious. There is plenty of choice, even your fussy eaters will find something to their liking.
You really are only a few minutes walk to the centre and the bus stop to bring you to all the attractions is only a 2 minute walk away.
The people in the local shops outside the hotel are lovely and very helpful. I recommend the russian supermarket at the front of the hotel, the woman there has very little english but she is such a lovely woman and was very kind to my little girl giving her sweets and making her laugh. It is the little things that make someone special.

Bad points:
The room really did smell!! (I see another reviewer made the same point). The only way I can describe it politely is to say it smelled as if the room was filled with urine. It was disgusting. The cleaners were in every morning and they did their job but the smell just wouldn't go. My room number was 332.
The reception staff. Well what can I say, they are rude, ill mannered and have no business being the front of house in any hotel. I must say there was one woman that was lovely and I am sorry to say that I cant remember her name now, but the rest of them need to learn how to talk to people. Checking in was a nightmare. After travelling for 14 hours and arriving at the hotel I was stood at the reception desk for twenty minutes while the two ladies enjoyed their conversation laughing and ignored me. When I said excuse me to one of them she put her hand up to my face to shush me and carried on laughing with her co worker. When one of them finally decided to deal with me she was taking her time with checking us in. I asked her what the problem was and she replied that she couldnt find my room, obviously this didnt seem to bother her because she walked away and started a conversation with one of the other hotel workers from the bar. All in all, just to check in took about 45 mins!! Like I said, the reception staff are incredibly ill mannered.
The lifts. If you are anyway impaired and unable to use the stairs, this hotel is not for you. The lifts are are very slow and unreliable. They really could do with a service. One of the few times we actually waited for it to arrive, hopped on board and waited for the doors to close... and we waited... and we waited.. no the doors wouldnt close, but I rather that, than them not opening while i was in it. I went down to reception and told one of the girls that the lift was stuck on the third floor but because the reception staff have no manners she didnt even say thank you for telling me, she didnt say anything and just walked away. Charming.

I wouldnt recommend the hotel, but other than the staff and the smell, it was fine... but that is all, just fine. I wouldn't go back.

I hope this was some way helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loulou2577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduard C, Hotel Manager at Ohtels Villa Dorada, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your recent stay with us.

We work hard to ensure a best service is provided to all our guests.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.9 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Playa de Oro
Ohtels Playa de Oro
#5 of 93 in Salou
604 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#7 of 93 in Salou
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.7 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.1 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Villa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Villa Dorada

Property: Ohtels Villa Dorada
Address: Vendrell Street, 11, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Hotel Venecia Park)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#3 Best Value Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohtels Villa Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barely 200 metres from the spectacular Llarga and Capellans beaches, 10 minutes from PortAventura, in the heart of Salou's tourist area and next to the unique Masia Catalana (a traditional farmhouse), the Hotel Villa Dorada enjoys a privileged position in the capital of the Costa Daurada. Spacious terraces next to its spectacular swimming pools, with aquatic parties and inflatables for all ages, an outdoor bar, a children's playground for the most demanding members of the family, an entertainments team and live shows - everything you need for an unforgettable holiday. International cuisine, gluten-free dishes, varied show cooking, themed dinners and a children's buffet will delight guests of all ages. The Villa Dorada and its attentive staff are a guarantee that you won't want your holiday to end. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Ohtels Villa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venecia Park Hotel
Venecia Park Salou
Hotel Venecia Park Salou
Ohtels Villa Dorada Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing