We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Very sad the hotel is lovely clean the food is great but the staff let it down rude bad manners had to pay to rent a cot never heard of this before over 30euro on top of expensive holiday kids club and pool for inflatables down steps no ramp for buggies entertainers spent more time practicing dancing on stage than entertaining guests wifi poor code changes every 15 hours life guard on duty senior life guard excellent junior life guard spent all day looking at his phone staff surly did not interact at all shows not in English so we just went out in the evening. Security man on door very rude won't be back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 651Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and the ones of all the TripAdvisor community, because they help us to improve.

We are sorry to hear that you have decided not come back to the hotel.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    675
    267
    101
    63
See reviews for
1,230
312
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

When we arrived at the hotel it gave a great first impression as it was clean and bright in the lobby this quickly changed as there was only 2 people on reception to deal with the crowd of us that arrived so we were waiting at least 25min before we got checked in...we were handed a list of rules which i found odd...during the duration of our stay i found the reception staff rude and unhelpful and not at all friendly..the rooms were very clean and i had a lovely view..the pool was very clean also..the hotel was very busy when i was there and the pool bar had only 2 staff on which left us waiting ages to be served..the bar staff here never smiled or interacted with us they looked like they hated their jobs to be honest..they are very strict with no smoking policy i dont smoke so it didnt affect me but i spoke with an elderly couple who were givin a writin warning for smoking on their balcony i understand if they smoked inside the rooms but it was on the outside balcony..the couple were on the 3rd floor which meant they had to go up and down the lift every time they wanted to smoke they too felt intimidated by the reception staff....the shows for the children were all good pity it was always in spanish...there was a group of us having a few drinks one night by the pool when we were asked to take the drinks inside to the hotel bar because the bar would be closing in 25min which would have been 1.00am closing..when we went inside i orderd a drink from one of the most ruddest people i have met in my life he grabbed the money from me then started shouting something in spanish to his co worker..he then slammed my drink and change on the counter...we ordered a last drink at 12.55 as the bar was closing at 1.00am and at 1.04am the bar staff turned off the lights and we were left sitting in the dark until asked to leave and finish our drinks in the lobby...why on earth would they serve us drinks at 12.55 if the were turning off the lights at 1.04 it was an absolute disgrace how we were treated..salou is a great place to go on holidays and i will visit again but never to this hotel..the staff need to do a course in hospitalty they we so ignorant and rude they are the ones who will give the hotel a bad reputation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melw3479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor Community.
We regret that your feelings about our staff are not good.

Our main goal always is the satisfation of all our customers.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel staff fab! Pools clean food was lovely! If you ask nicely the chef cooks you fresh eggs! Entertainment was excellent some thing for every one! You do have to make a walk to the beach and shops! We stayed a couple of years ago but it only goes back 12 months x

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2012MrsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you so much 2012MrsB for your 5 star review and for your loyalty.

We hope to welcome you next year again!

Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Just back from a 2 week holiday at this hotel! First impressions was good checked in nice and quick but by a rude staff member named Tina which I didn't see her smile for the whole duration of my holiday.
Arrived to my apartment which was lovely, really spacious and sleeps up to 5 people. I was travelling with my partner and our 9 year old son so we had plenty of space. Balcony was huge! Only bad thing I can say about the room is the showers were terrible went from burning your back to being freezing and it leaked into the bedroom every time we showered.
I had looked up the hotel website before arriving and saw they done a towel service which was a €10 deposit per towel which was great it saved me bringing towels with me and you were able to change the towels for clean ones every 2nd day. They also advertise a iron service but they only have 2 iron between all the apartments and hotel rooms so they never have it available when you need it and you can only hire it for 1hr with a €10 deposit!
Pool area was lovely but didn't open to 9am. Senior Life guard was great with the kids but the younger one was useless seen 2 incidents were children were saved by people passing, while he was checking out his phone all day.
Mini club is on twice a day and when we went to pick up the kids they were sat in front of a Spanish film with sub title and all night time discos for kids was in a foreign language so we never stayed at the hotel any of the nights.
Children have to be bone day to return to the apartment from pool area or else get into trouble by the security.
No smoking allowed on your own balcony.
Amination theme were crap all the done all day is dance on the stage rehearsing for the shows all day. Water polo was meant to be a junior activity and when I took my 9 year old son over to play there was 40 people playing and only 10 of them were children. My son was only playing 2 mins when he got injured by the adults jumping on top of him to get the ball.
Wifi is really slow might as well not have any at all.
Can not fault the hotel for the cleanness they were always cleaning the hotel and cleaners were in every day with fresh towels etc.
Will not be returning to this hotel ever again due the rude staff. This is meant to be a four star hotel and cost us a fortune not to get treated like dirt from the hotel staff. The made us feel so uncomfortable. Hotel was just full of Russians and if u were not Russian the staff treated you like dirt!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chelle2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Customer,


Thank you for leaving your review on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear that it hasn't totally reached your expectations.

We really appreciate your opinion, and write down your comments , but there are points that are National laws (like the non smoking in rooms and balconies) or the security rules of behaviour to ensure good relations between all guests. All the customers are the same for us, our mail goal is that all our guests finish their stay with us with good feelings.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My family and I have just returned from a relaxing and beautiful holiday at the Dorada Palace!

At the hotel you will find a mixture of nationalities along lines of - Spanish, French, English, Scottish, Irish, Russian... the list goes on!

This year was our 5th year and every year we come, we always see that there has always been an improvement on something that is, quite frank, AMAZING!

Where do I start... Well as soon as you walk into the hotel - you are greeted with big welcoming smiles. Every member of staff that you speak to will always do their very best to help you and 10 times out of 10 they do! The restaurant and bar staff are full of enthusiasm are always happy to help you! As this was our 5th year - the staff recognise you and they are all the same - no one seems to change, they are so nice!

Entertainment - This is the life and soul of the hotel. Everywhere you go around the hotel people are talking about the entertainment team. My family and I have know 3 of them for around 4/5 years now and they always pull something new out of the hat each year. This year live singing - which was amazing!! They are a credit to the hotel (Cristina, Isaac, Eva, Gema, Teresa)

The restaurant. Every night there is a different theme to the food that is laid out. One night it is Special night where there is live music from a piano and a free glass of Champagne!! There is a wide range of choice of foods that caters for everyone's needs - including a children's counter. If your self catering, I would set a side a day where you have breakfast and dinner in the restaurant as it is where you will find some of the best food in Salou.

All of the staff at the hotel are a credit to them!!

The hotel is situated about 15 minutes walk from Port Aventura - a great theme park that caters fro everyone's needs and styles of rides. Also a 10 minutes walk from the beach front, with amazing restaurants ranging from Tapas to Chinese to British.

We are hoping to visit again next year, and have already filed interest. Please don't take any notice of all the bad reports that people have posted because they are quite frankly just looking for excuses to insult the tremendous work that goes into the hotel!

We thank the hotel for a lovely stay and see you next year!!

Room Tip: All rooms are cleaned to and excellent standard!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamC080296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Sam,


Thank you for your very nice review about us. We really appreciate your loyalty.

We really appreciate that our improvements year by year reach your expectations.


It's nice to hear that you will return next year!

Best regards from all Dorada Palace' staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My family (two adults and two children, age 10 and 8) arrived in sunny Salou on the 26th July and stayed for two weeks. I was extremely apprehensive having read some of the reviews on here, however in our experience the hotel was great. It was clean and convenient. There was a mix of nationalities but that is to be expected in a foreign country! Our girls enjoyed the kids club, the entertainment was a little hit and miss but overall it was good. We were staying in the apartments and we had a view of the pool which was great. There are three pools to choose from, we opted for the smaller pool at he bak of he hotel because there were shaded parts. Salou is quite expensive compared to other holiday destinations we have visited but we really enjoyed our holiday, including Portaventura, Decades and the House of Illusion.

A great hotel - perhaps not equivalent to four stars here but surely everyone knows that you are not comparing like with like.

Salou as a resort is central with lots of nice places to eat.

Don't let poor reviews put you off I have never written a comment before but wanted to put the record straight! I think some people may have unrealistic expectations.

Room Tip: Pick a pool view but it is noisy until 12!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank kmactyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear kmactyrone,


Thank you for your sincere words and your constructive review on TripAdvisor.
We are happy hearing that your family enjoyed the stay with us!

Dorada Palace hopes to see you back here!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcudbright
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We were another group of travelers who after reading reviews titled "Avoid at all costs" more than dubious about staying in this hotel. Thankfully it was once again another very false review which we all felt was very unjust! This hotel has everything you would expect and look for from a hotel in Spain. It is very clean, the staff were always very pleasant and the dining room has a very relaxed air about it. All in all we had great holiday here and would have no hesitation to recommend this hotel! Just goes to show you shouldn't believe everything you read on here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_kirkpatrick986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear guest,


Thank you for your sincere review on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your kind words, and your recommendation!

We really look forward to welcome you again soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.2 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.4 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
1,968 reviews
1.3 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre
0.3 mi away
H10 Vintage Salou
H10 Vintage Salou
#10 of 93 in Salou
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace

Property: Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Address: Carrer del Cami de les Pasquales 6, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#11 Family Hotel in Salou
#12 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dorada Palace, a 4-star complex built in 1999.The hotel-aparthotel offers standard, king zize and superior rooms, also it has apartments with kitchen. Breakfast is always included. The establishment is located in Salou, close to Llevant beach, the golf courses and theme park PortAventura. Is the ideal hotel for families and couples who want to enjoy the sun and beaches of the Mediterranean sea, and the wide variety of entertainment, relaxation and fun you will find in the Costa Dorada. Free wifi in all the hotel-aparthotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace**** Hotel Salou
Dorada Palace Salou
Hotel Dorada Palace
Club Dorada Palace Hotel
Club Dorada Palace Salou
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing