We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value hotel, lovely pool.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marinada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Marinada
Ranked #34 of 95 Hotels in Salou
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value hotel, lovely pool.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

14 ladies went away for a birthday celebration. We have been to Salou a few times before and this is the best hotel we have stayed in. It is very clean, pool was lovely with plenty of sunbeds and the bar staff were extremely accomodating. Breakfast was more than adequate, although hours could be extended! The location is great, short walk to beach, bars and clubs. We will be rebooking for next year.

Room Tip: We got interconnecting rooms, which was fab. Make sure you are not in rooms above the kitchens, 3 of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bardfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    194
    101
    25
    22
See reviews for
236
117
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

I came here with my girlfriend and really enjoyed staying at the marinada ! The rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels and cleaned to a very good standard. From looking at another review on here we were not expecting much with the food, but always found something nice to eat and very much enjoyed it. Breakfast was not great but tea time was always different, we just went out for a breakfast to jacks bar on the same road. Everything is close by too. The only thing we could fault was we were probably the only English in the hotel but it's Spain we are on holiday so we weren't to fussed. Go to the rovers return bar , friendly English bar just down the road. Over all great hotel. Jason and Lisa 22 year old couple.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaycb2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed in the hotel Marinada for 3 nights in June 2012. I was on a short break with a gang of fortysomething lads just to catch some sun and enjoy a few beers and lazy days by the pool.
The hotel Marinada was perfect.
It's a quiet family oriented hotel. The pool and poolside are good. There were no louts or noisy neighbours. A most enjoyable spot. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Myself, husband and our 4 year old Daughter stayed here for 7 nights last week. can't fault the hotel at all except it is really not for English speaking guests! the reception staff especially have very poor English, we struggled all week trying to get any information from them, in the end we just gave up! Couldn't make use of the mini club either as no other kids spoke English so our daughter felt lonely the whole week really as she struggled to make friends with the language barrier!!!
Now for the positives......................

The food is really good for a 3 star hotel, especially breakfast. alot of choice from different breads, cereals, fresh fruit, biscuits,croissants, buns and hot food. the fried eggs were lovely and the beans didn't taste cheap. Don't know what the tea was like but the coffee wasn't great.
lunch and dinner was fine too, the wine is awful though! u can taste why its only 5 euro a bottle!the paella on a Sunday was beautiful. plenty of choice for dessert too. we requested a picnic lunch to take with us for the 2 days we went to Portaventura and it was lovely,
rooms basic but spotless and the housekeepers were in everyday! hard workers.
The hotel is centrally situated and there is lots to do and see in and around Salou, the beach is only a 10 minute walk away.
All in all we had a lovely holiday, the Marinada is a great hotel, but not if you have English speaking kids! i would def stay here again though if it was just me and my Husband!

Room Tip: The bus to portaventura is every 30 mins and leaves from just around the corner from hotel. it is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roz-Lb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Me and my partner stayed for one week could not fault the hotel at all nice and clean food was okay but more variety would of been great! Hair-dryer was in bathroom which is a bonus didn't have to take mine :). Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Good spot if you want to just walk into the noise or walk to the beach. I would defiantly go again may try the Apartments.....

Room Tip: If you go as a couple and you want a big room don't ask for a double bed its very compact but wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I have just returned from the marinada hotel after 4 nights there with my partner to celebrate my 40th birthday.As I used trip advisor to choose this hotel I thought it only fair to share my views.
We arrived at Reus airport at 10pm after a 2hour flight from Liverpool.We had upgraded to a taxi transfer from the airport which is definitely recommended.Within 15 mins of landing we were on our way to the marinada via a 12 seater minibus of our own whilst other people were jostling to find their coaches before no doubt endless drop offs at numerous hotels.After a 15 min drive we arrived at the marinada.
The Marinada is a mainly Spanish hotel although there were a number of Brits there as well.The rooms although basic were very clean,beds made and towels changed each day.Dont bother with the tv(only bbc world news in English)nice sized balcony overlooking the pool and plenty of wardrobe space.The worst thing about the room was the shower,if you are under 5ft 8 you will be ok but at 6ft you've had it.The shower head was fixed that low that I had to crouch down every time I wanted a shower.
Although we had booked bed and breakfast we never ate breakfast in the hotel.We decided to go out each day for full English.Can recommend Lunattic on the beachfront,great full English and great views of the sea to start the day.
We spent every day at the pool which was great.The sun doesn't descend on the pool area till at least 10am and the cleaners tend to be there cleaning until then.There are a couple of large trees around the pool which can leave you in the shade at certain times of the day so pick your spot carefully.The pool got busier in late afternoon as all the Spanish guests and their kids seemed to turn up.
The reception staff in the hotel were very friendly although their English wasn't great,bar staff were good but the bar manager was a bit grumpy.Be careful if you order a coffee to take up to your room.The take away cups were that thin that they burnt your hands.i actually dropped a cup on the way up the stairs because of it and that was with napkins wrapped round them.
The nearest supermarket was 100 yds away(right turn out the hotel)but do not go there unless you want to be offended.The staff were rude and offensive to everyone.There is another supermarket less than 100 yds round the corner which is bigger,better and cheaper.
Salou itself is a lovely place.Great shops bars and restaurants.One restaurant you have to try is la palmera(The palm tree).turn right at the end of the road then first left.This restaurant is run by John who is originally from Liverpool.An authentic Spanish restaurant it has the best tapas in Salou as well as fantastic pizzas pastas and steaks.We ate there every day for either lunch or dinner.
Overall we had a great holiday and would definitely return and I certainly would consider staying at the marinada again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjduf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

This hotel is in a good location and the rooms are okay. Pool area is perfectly good too.

Rooms are cleaned daily, even when you put the 'do not disturb' sign on the door. A maid came in to our room twice when we were having a lie-in, despite the sign and being told no when they knocked.

The food is revolting. Don't bother upgrading to full board. The chicken was either bright pink or actually raw. My partner was violently sick one night after eating the chicken. The desserts are all sickening looking multi-coloured custards and mousses. Breakfast is a joke. There are so many great places to eat in the area though, so save your money and eat out instead.

Staff are curteous, but speak very little English. The entertainment is aimed at Spanish tourists and is of very poor quality. And don't order a cocktail from the hotel bar. I don't think the waiter actually had a clue how to make one.

I would suggest staying at the Calypso Hotel across the road, as we had a look around it one day and it was so much nicer and more lively than the Marinada.

Salou itself is lovely. Port Aventura is well worth a visit. We got tickets from 365tickets.com and got 2 days in the park and 1 day in the water park for £55! Also, because our entry tickets were so cheap, we paid an extra 25 euros for Express tickets and this saved us waiting in any hour-long queues. Totally worth the money. We would also recommend Christy's Irish pub and Oliver's and Uncle Sam's restaurants.

We had a fantastic holiday, shame about the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't pay for the food here. Stay at the apartments and eat at local restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.0 mi away
Marinada Apts.
Marinada Apts.
#51 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
1.2 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#10 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#9 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Dalies Apartmentos
Les Dalies Apartmentos
#35 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jaime I Hotel
Jaime I Hotel
#53 of 95 in Salou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marinada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marinada

Property: Hotel Marinada
Address: Fra Juniper Serra, 3, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marinada 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Marinada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Marinada Salou
Aparthotel Marinada Hotel Salou
Hotel Marinada Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing