We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break at the calafont”
Review of Cala Font Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cala Font Hotel
Ranked #27 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“short break at the calafont”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I have just returned from a 4 day break at the cala font and couldnt fault it...except as metioned before the paper thin walls! food was nice and we most days swapped dinner for lunch as we liked to eat out on the evenings, i strongly recommend the smugglers inn in cap salou where i had the most AMAZING chicken gyros :)

rooms in the hotel were lovely and looks like they have not long had a refurd. the pool area was readlly nice and the pool wasnt too cold!

all in all had a lovely time at the hotel and i would deffo return and as a travel agent i would happily send my customers to this hotel in good faith.

ps...dont go near the watermelon the russians take your hands off for it!!

Room Tip: email in advance and ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndacooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    248
    138
    50
    33
See reviews for
310
223
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
armagh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed one week in the Cala Font and found it overall a nice hotel. Positives of the hotel were the views over the beach which is literally on the door step, rooms and the hotel in general are kept clean and tidy and the bus stop into salou/portaventura is a short walk away. And we never had a problem getting a sunbed at the pool as the doors out to it werent open until 9 so people couldnt reserve them from the early hours with their towels. Negatives were the service in the dinning room which was slow and at times you had to wait for ages not only on a table but on plates, spoons,cups and the food itself.To be fair the staff did their best but there just wasnt enough of them for the volume of guests. Something I never comment on or notice but the walls in the rooms really were paper thin and I mean in both the bedroom and bathroom! Plus the bathroom had a glass frosted door which wasnt great for privacy and had no lock so could open either way which was a nightmare with a 1 1/2 yr old and not practical for people with small children.
The food was fine, not the best Ive had in a Salou hotel but had what you would expect from a half/full board hotel.We did'nt bother much with the entertainment so cant comment on it. People have commented on other hotel guests but I wasnt bothered by them, just ignore rude people and enjoy your holiday. Plus watching the amounts of watermelon people were stacking up on their plates was funny to watch!
All in all a great setting for a hotel especially if your lucky enough to get a sea view, it has easy access to local areas and attractions with the bus services but the noise in the rooms from neighbours and the bathroom door were an issue especially with a young child and would probably put me off going to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool uk
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just returned from salou. we stayed at the cala font hotel. we were told by jet2 holidays that it is a good hotel with a full entertainment programme for both children and adults... well ive never been so bored..the hotel seems to cater for mainly russian tourists. its a nightmare trying to communicate with people. the food was the worst we have experienced very basic. and thats after you have found a plate to eat it off. very little meat available mainly proccessed food and tasteless.the beds are hard and one bolster type pillow was supplied. each room has a flat screen tv but theres only one channel in english cnn news. The entertainment consisted of a movie on a large screen which was in spanish. the large entertainment room was used occasionally for the children to dance along with some outdated pop music. everyone just seemed to wander about as not much was going on. the drinks are over priced. and if your not fit the hill this hotel is on is a killer.. the good points. its clean some of the staff smile occasionally it has a nice pool but at 4pm the shadow from the sun means everyone packs up and leaves overall a dissapointment. we walked up a hill from the hotel then down a hill and found a pub with some live country and western music. woopeee.. we aint going back.

Room Tip: choose a room on the south side atleast you will have something to look at when theres nothing to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wafoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

my sister, myself and her daughter aged 8 have just returned from this hotel which was a last minute break for ourselves, this hotel and much of cap salou is on steep hills so not for anyone with walking difficulties, the bus stop is five minutes walk away which will take you to salou, tarragona, portaventura or la pineda, there is also a tourist train to all of these resorts. my advice is to buy a bus card which means each journey works out about 1.40 euro a fifty percent saving, these cards initially have ten trips on them and then you top them up. the hotel is beautiful and the brochure pictures are very accurate. check in was quick and the room spotless, i admit to being one of these people who almost use a magnifying glass to look for dirt but even i couldnt find any! we were half board but were told that if you wanted to go out for tea the hotel would let you use the dinner ticket for lunch which was excellent and i dont think there are too many places that let you do this. there is a gate beside the large pool that opens at the bottom of the hill which is right at the beach and to get back in all you do is swipe your room card, really handy due to the steepness of the hill not easy in flip flops.
food in the hotel has the standard, salad, fruit, bread, chips, chicken nuggets, pasta each night however there is always a different roast being carved and a different meat being grilled, there will be different potato dish and rice dishes too and two varieties of soup each evening. the only downside to dinner is the speed with which tables are cleared staffwise there seems to be very little organisation and they are a sour bunch, hardly smile,
the bar area is the floor below reception and the dining room the floor below that so there a lot of steps inside the hotel, lifts can be slow
the reception staff are really nice and the bar staff are excellent especially elizabeth who kept the pina coladas coming. the lounge and bar area is large with an outside terrace, at one end inside there is a large screen tv and at the other the kids entertainment which if you speak english is a disgrace. the childrens entertainment is carried out by what i can only describe as a buffoon in a kilt and tam o shanter, i dont know why she wears this, i know she is not scottish and if i were, i would be offended by this get up. games were played in spanish the hokey kokey was the height of the mini disco english music and when we were there a third of the kids in the room were english speaking. throughout the week the english kids were ignored, i know that thompson etc only have a few rooms in this hotel and are trying to get more because of the quality of the hotel but this childrens entertainment needs addressed, someone else mentioned the empty kids pool also, the childrens pool has a waterfall as a backdrop which you can walk behind and is a fair sized pool, the reason it is empty is it is absolutely freezing, i mean really cold something else to be fixed before peak season as the other pool can get quite crowded.
when the kids entertainment? has finished there is the usual family entertainment show, parrot show, dancers etc and after this most of the hotel goes to bed so this a family hotel not for anyone looking to party, this suited us fine
over all we had a great time and i would return, this is a great place to go and recharge your batteries and a safe beach for children what more could you want

Room Tip: ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisburn
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We went to Cala font hotel in Cap Salou and it was one of the best family holidays I ever been on:-) The beach is a stone throw away from the hotel and its lovely and the hotel was gorgeous. Enterainment was super and the food was too...we even had turkey ham and roast beef with all the trimmings:-) there is food to cater for everyone I even enjoyed some dishes I never had before. You do get ppl to complain but I guess they r the ones that look thru a magnifying glass at the tiny bit of dust in the corner:-/ Anyway rooms r lovely very spacious and spotless thank you to the hotel staff that got us HP brown sauce lol.... One bad thing is we had only booked one week and not 2 (or more) Thanks to all the staff at Cala Font Hotel :-)xx

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roisin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Cala Font in Cap Salou, on the 7/6/13 to 14/6/13. And overhaul had a lovely Holiday. We stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the bay & the pool.The room was Clean, & the cleaners came in every day.We had bath with an over shower. the water was always hot. The tv only got CNN & I like at least the news when on my Hols. The meals were Buffet style we was full board, We enjoyed our meals not fantastic but better than some places we have stayed. The Reception was ok but not over the top.To get to the local bus stop you had to walk up a small steep hill,It cost about 4 Euros for 2 on the bus to salou. The Hotel has a 4**** Rating. Now for the down side The Hotel had a Very Very high amount of Russians, & They are not nice Human beings. They would rather walk through you than go round you, So anti Social. & Waste they stock there Tables up like food is going out of fashion, & Then Leave most of it.So Rude to the staff, They Really make our old Foes the Germans look angelic. So you have to ride above it, As for Sun beds you Get whats Left. We would go to The Cala Font Again. I hope this Helps if you have Never been. Also its on a 20Min Transfer from the Airport. One more Thing the Room Walls are a Little thin.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pugsey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We have just returned from a 10 night holiday at the Cala Font Hotel, Cap Salou and would recommend it to anyone. It is very clean and the food was very good with plenty of choice. The staff were very friendly and nothing was any trouble when asked. It's on a quiet cove a mile from Salou but close to some shops and restaurants if you need them. A bus stop is also just up the road. You can get a bus card which makes getting around easier and a lot cheaper. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: we emailed the hotel direct before staying to request a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t1germk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
1.8 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Negresco
Hotel Best Negresco
#37 of 93 in Salou
1,188 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Cap Salou
Hotel Best Cap Salou
#51 of 93 in Salou
853 reviews
1.6 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
2.0 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#16 of 93 in Salou
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Font Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Font Hotel

Property: Cala Font Hotel
Address: C/ Les Dunes 2, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cala Font Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cala Font Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Font
Cala Font Hotel Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing