We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was disgraceful.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cala Font Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cala Font Hotel
Ranked #31 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Warrenpoint, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food was disgraceful.”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

All in all, hotel was good for price we paid. Wasn't expecting much but it was clean and closeby to beach/bus services. 2 major issues during our stay though, firstly, the food was just terrible. We were half board and used this service twice. I'm not sure whether it just didn't suit Irish/English diets, because other Europeans seemed to enjoy it, but both nights I found myself eating chips, salad and bread.
Second issue is the rule that only goods bought at the hotel can be bought on the premises. Therefore if you buy something at the local supermarket etc you cannot eat in the hotel/ at the pool, which I though was unfair as we were not all inclusive. Bar woman at the poolside bar was extremely rude concerning this, and threatened to take the bottle of Sprite if it was not removed in '8 minutes'... stupid really.
Aside from this, if you are just looking somewhere to stay this hotel is fine. Would like to see the hotel have free Wifi for all guests in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for seaside, and higher up the building. First 2 floors suit families, and walls are thin so can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregoryR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    215
    122
    44
    29
See reviews for
278
185
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

just back and only good things to say... lovely quite area pools excellent and hotel spotless rooms spacious very clean ..very close to beach and bus to salou perfect for family or couples nice pubs short distance away

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 200mitch61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

July 2013 was our 5th stay at the Cala Font - first since regrade to 4 star, so a new review.

Restaurant excellent revamp - good variety of food for all tastes at all meals.

For us the staff make this hotel
a) remember us from visit to visit (every 2-3 year)
b) work tirelessly to keep the hotel/rooms/pool/ grounds immaculate.

Despite hotel being full the sun terrace was the least crowded we have seen it - stacks of sun bed not required. More guests are going down to the adjacent beach it would seem - very crowded. For a quieter beach discover Cala Crancs up over the hill behind Mar e Mar supermarket.

Came out with Jet2Holidays and stayed full board.

In-house entertainment crew has changed since our last stay - not a patch on the previous team. Only slight down side of our recent stay.

I reinforce C B and Dibsie recent reviews.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SparkLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Just spent a week here. Simply great, place is spotless, food good value (half board). This place is far enough out of Salou but near enough by a excellent bus service if you want it. Exceptional access to pool and beach, you don't often get the two together. Lots of Russians visit here too but they are decent. Entertainment on a night in hotel is a bit naff. Rest was great.
We went by jet2, no fuss airline, no silly baggage allowances, no check in on line, hand luggage no issue, free transfers and the flights where in normal hours, they where great two.

This was a last minute deal for us that we just booked on net. It was brilliant, we've paid a lot more for less in the past, well done jet2 holidays you didn't take the mick.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband and I booked a v last minute deal (7 days before) to stay at this hotel for the first week in July. I was sceptical at first as the price seemed too good to be true but when we got there I felt relief that it was just what we were wanting.

We went for a holiday to just completely relax and enjoy doing nothing and this is exactly what we got. For the first 5 days we just went by the beach (which you can see from the pics is right next to the hotel) or pool area.

I've read a few reviews about the Russians at the hotel, it was fine for us as we were prepared for the lack of friendliness. I didn't find it too bad at breakfast or dinner with them taking loads because the food is v v quickly replenished. I did how ever find it a little bit strange that they don't like sharing lifts with people or even try and jump in front of you for the lift then tut when you get in after them!

I would highly recommend the nearby waterpark, we spent the day there and it was so much fun. Loved the Dolphin show so much we stayed to watch it twice.

We also did a luxury catamaran boat rip. Even though we made the most of our day, I wouldn't recommend as it was too crowded (over 100 people) and once you fight for your space, you don't want to move to go and get any drinks (which are included) as you have to balance your way around and you'll end up falling over someone. Not worth the 50 euros each that we paid!

Tips -
• Door to toilet is Strange, it's see through and doesn't shut Close properly or lock. Fine for us but some people may not like this.
• You have to pay just under 20 euros a day on the beach if you want a umbrella and 2 sunbeds. Go to hotel shop and buy 2 bamboo mats and 2 umbrellas for 15 euros.
• Really enjoyed the food, good verity but it can be cold. There are 2 microwaves in the corners to use.
• For water at breakfast, use the fruit machine. Sounds silly but found out so many people didn't realise there was a small H2O button which when you press, water comes out if the Apple juice part if the machine.
• Walk the coast way to Salou, not the Road way. This adds on 20 mins to your walk and is much hotter!

All in all we had a wonderful holiday, its not pure luxury but for what we paid it was pretty amazing and just what we needed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dibsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Cala Font Hotel in Salou.We were a party of seven including my two grand-children aged 5 and 7. We had a brilliant time the two pools were
kept spotless ,cleaned every day.The smaller of the two pools has a waterfall and tends to be quite cold .This is my only complaint about the whole Hotel.The rooms were a good size and again spotless, cleaning service is exellent. The front rooms have a great view but the back rooms are cooler.I could not fault the food it was very good. Yes there were Russians who were very rude and piled their plates with watermelon but this was replaced very quickly.The beach was only a few yards away from the Hotel and was cleaned also every morning the water was crystal clear. My grand-children were delighted to find a small amusement park about 200 yds away from the Hotel. There is also a pub called the smugglers Inn which serves exellent food and has very friendly and helpful staff. Everything was so close to hand you would not need to go very far, the transport to the park is by taxi which are very cheap or by local bus or our favourite was a little blue and white train which not only the kids loved.I will without a doubt be going back next year it was a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a better view but the back rooms are cooler all the rooms have air condition bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I have just returned from a 4 day break at the cala font and couldnt fault it...except as metioned before the paper thin walls! food was nice and we most days swapped dinner for lunch as we liked to eat out on the evenings, i strongly recommend the smugglers inn in cap salou where i had the most AMAZING chicken gyros :)

rooms in the hotel were lovely and looks like they have not long had a refurd. the pool area was readlly nice and the pool wasnt too cold!

all in all had a lovely time at the hotel and i would deffo return and as a travel agent i would happily send my customers to this hotel in good faith.

ps...dont go near the watermelon the russians take your hands off for it!!

Room Tip: email in advance and ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndacooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Negresco
Hotel Best Negresco
#27 of 94 in Salou
1,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Cap Salou
Hotel Best Cap Salou
#46 of 94 in Salou
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#9 of 94 in Salou
764 reviews
1.1 mi away
Las Vegas Hotel
Las Vegas Hotel
#12 of 94 in Salou
675 reviews
1.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Salou
Acqua Hotel Salou
#28 of 94 in Salou
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Font Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Font Hotel

Property: Cala Font Hotel
Address: C/ Les Dunes 2, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cala Font Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cala Font Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Font
Cala Font Hotel Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing