We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but terrible sleep quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 4R Playa Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
4R Playa Park
Ranked #9 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Oxon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good hotel but terrible sleep quality”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I fully concur with all the positive comments written on here about this hotel as it is a really nice place with friendly staff. Very clean. Staff were very helpful. Location wise there is a couple of small beaches right on the doorstep and I fully recommend a snorkel as there are some fantastic and plentiful species of fish to see. It was very easy to get a sun bed which I put down to people going elsewhere as for most of the day the pool area is covered in shade unless you move your bed from one side of the pool to the other. Breakfast had plenty of choice but I did not find the cooked options too appetising. Dinner again saw plenty of choice and having been to numerous Spanish hotels in the past I would rate this much better than most. One thing I do look forward to on holiday is a good rest but sadly as soon as I saw my room I new I was in for a world of pain and so it was to be. Located on the 1st floor next to the lift and stairs one side and immediately above the entrance and road the other side. All night long was noise from people and the buses that were dropping off and picking up. I did ask twice for a move and was disappointed that we could not be sorted out as there were so many comings and goings on a daily basis it should not have been too difficult. So whilst I did like the hotel the lack of sun round the pool and the lack of sleep will mean I wont return.
Would also recommend trying to find the Palm Tree which is close by as this is a modern, clean and friendly bar that serves a lovely home made burger.
My final tip is if you are flying into Reus airport is don't bother with a transfer and get a taxi as it only takes 15 minutes and cost £30 each way

Room Tip: The higher the better and away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HorseOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula A e, Customer Service at 4R Playa Park, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear HorseOxon,

We appreciate that you have dedicating a few minutes of your time to tell us your experience at our hotel Playa Park.

Thanks for your kind words about our staff. All your comments help us to improve our services for future ocasions.
We apologize not having the opportunity to offer a more quiet room to enjoy a holiday as you deserved. Sorry for not covering your expectations.
Above all we hope you continue choosing Salou as a tourist destination because it has many things to offer you and welcomes you.

Thank you very much for your comments because We learn much with all of them.

Salutations
Paula. Customer Servie. 4R Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    294
    109
    36
    18
See reviews for
373
248
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lurgan, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed here for 11 days half board. Rooms extremely clean and serviced daily. Food in restaurant very good and great value and restaurant staff and bar and reception staff very good. Children's entertainment brilliant. Will definitely return and recommend to friends

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula A e, Customer service at 4R Playa Park, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Joanbanz,

Thank you very much for your review.
It is a satisfaction for us you enjoyed your holidays in Hotel Playa Park.

We will be here welcome you and your friends. Thanks to recommend us.

Salutations.

Paula. Customer Service. 4R Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Been back two days from Playa Park. Travelled as a family of five Very nice rooms, shower especially!! x All the staff were very nice and nothing was too much trouble. The waiters and waitresses did a fantastic job, Paula in the restaurant especially. Michel the waiter in the bar was fab, nothing too much trouble and he was very friendly and polite. We were full board and the food was good, plenty to choose from. This hotel is a fantastic base and close to numerous beaches, Portaventura park and shops. This hotel is perfect for families. A fantastic road train that stops outside the hotel that will take you more or less anywhere. Animation team did a fantastic job. The maids did a really good job, rooms cleaned to a very high standard every day. The Plana buses do fantastic trips. Went to Barcelona and Nou Camp which was organised really well and well worth a visit. If you go to Portaventura Park buy the chuppa chup sweets as you will save a fortune. Each person needs three bags each and instead of the cost being 45 euros it is only 25 euros ( a massive saving) the bags cost 1 euro 50. You can buy them from most supermarkets. Overall this was a fantastic holiday and well done to Playa Park , we will definately be returning to Salou again and would choose this hotel every time.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice. We emailed the hotel before we went to see if the two rooms could be next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie-Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula A e, Customer Service at 4R Playa Park, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Julie-ann,

First of all thank you for dedicating your time to send us your review.
It is very satisfying for our team to know that their work is rewarded with such wonderful words. Your comments encourage us to move forward always thinking of our customers and provide excellent service.
Thank you very much from Paula, Michel from all animation staff from the maids and so on.

We would be happy to have you back on your vacation. We will be here to welcome you again.

Paula. Customer Service 4R hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Me and my partner and my 4 year old daughter returned from here last week. It was mine and my daughters first proper holiday abroad, however my partner has been to Salou before and stayed in a hotel down the road.

I was actually quite surprised by the hotel on first arrival, as I was expecting something much worse from reading some of the reviews. It was nice and clean and very modern. We got room 334, which must of been newly refurbished as we had a lovely bathroom suite. The shower was amazing. A great change to those ones you get that just drip or can't decide whether it's hot or cold. Our room was cleaned every day and towels were also changed every day.

We decided to go half board, just so we weren't tied to the hotel every day and being given the option to change your meals, a day before, was a great added bonus. So if you didn't want to stay at the hotel for dinner the next night, you could change it to lunch. We did this once and found the lunch buffet to be the best. Breakfast was OK and dinner was OK but me and my partner found the food just repeated itself. My daughter only really ate chips so she was happy. Also, the queuing on a Friday and Saturday night was enough to bore you to sleep, but most days, you'd get seated straight away. I did think drinks should of been included with your meals, but they weren't to expensive, so didn't really matter in the end.

The entertainment was boring for us all. We didn't want to play bingo, but I guess it must be a big hit as they had it on every night. Most nights it was dancing, which it all seemed to be the same, however one night there was a fire show and that was pretty cool.

The staff were friendly enough, my partner dealt with them more than me and he never complained about them.

The hotel also offered Wifi, but it was pretty much useless.

Overall, I think for the price we paid, you get a fair deal. The hotel is well kept. I would probably go back in the future.

Room Tip: If you overlook the pool, the entertainment/music doesn't stop until midnight, so no early night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine04121987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula A e, customer service at 4R Playa Park, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Customer,

Firstly thank you for having dedicated much of his time to share with us your experience in our hotel Playa Park.
With comments like yours, customers can see first hand the services we offer. It is true that the high season we are full and above all weekends. We can only ask for patience and tranquility for all guests to enjoy well-deserved vacation and to inform that they have two long hours buffet open.
About entertaiment, we usually include some different shows but those who likes more we repet.
And as for wifi is a service we try to improve, and that due to the number of customers who use it is sometime insufficient.

From the Playa Park hotel we appreciate your review and we hope to see you soon.

Best Regars
Paula. Customer Service. 4R Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keele, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Got back from Playa Park hotel recently, very good rooms, cleaned every day, all the staff were nice and polite, we were bed and breakfast only, breakfast was fine, plenty of options. Entertainment is good, no problems getting sun beds, lovely close to the shops, bars etc and beaches..all in all very good experience, bathroom was particularly nice and modern. Buses to other places good and regular if you want to go somewhere else for a day. We also went to the Guinness Tavern recommended and yes would also recommend a visit for a meal there. We would happily go back.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room, 6th floor, very nice view and no noise from the entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula A e, Customer Service at 4R Playa Park, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Customer,

Firstly thank you for having dedicated part of your time sharing with us your experience in our hotel Playa Park.
Our main goal is that you enjoy your stay with us and have a desire to return to spend your holiday in our hotel.

It is a great satisfaction to have succeeded.

Kind regards from all our staff.

Best regards
Paula. customer care service 4R Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Came back last night from a wonderful holiday at this lovely hotel.
Set in a quieter location but within easy reach to everything this hotel is perfect for families.
Food is good, plenty of choice will certainly miss the desserts.
Drinks a little expensive however make the most of happy hour.
Animation team are lovely and great at getting people of all ages involved, the only criticism I would have is play less bingo and have a longer mini disco with more cheesy English songs.
The best entertainment was the Mister Playa Park as more audience involvement, the Polynesian show is not to be missed.
The maids are fantastic clean really well even pull out the beds, clean towels and bedding everyday.
I requested a sea view and cot and was given this the entertainment finished at 12 and it was really quiet afterwards with really comfy memory foam beds. Lovely modern bathrooms with massive powerful showers.
Thank you for a very memorable holiday Playa Park keep up the good work and very high standards, we will be returning.

Room Tip: Request sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anarobin2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula A e, Customer Service at 4R Playa Park, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Client,
First of all thank you to share with us your experience at the Playa Park Hotel.
The greatest satisfaction for all our staff, is that customers, like you, have enjoyed the most their vacation. We all work hard to make your stay unforgettable and when we get it we know that we are on the right track.

Thank you for your encouraging words. We hope you can visit us again in the near future. We will wait delighted.

Salutations
Paula. Customer Service. 4R Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

had an enjoyable stay here,rooms were good with comfortable beds,lovely shower,nice balcony overlooking the sea,fridge and safety deposit available for a small charge,pool area is good with sections for adults,children and toddlers.pool does not get much sun till about 1 in afternoon so might want to head out and about in morning.bar area is fine with cheap prices.food I found very good but for fussy eaters might struggle.entertainment at night starts with bingo with good prizes,then mini disco for kids,then a themed show.hotel is good base to get out and explore the area.make use of plans buses or train bus which takes you anywhere for a few Euros,beaches were superb,lovely sand and very clean,town is packed with restaurants,bars and shops.portaventura was the highlight,huge theme park with some of the best and scary rides I have ever seen,if you have young kids sesame street is a must,so much fun.aqua parks not great but worth a visit.overall ideal base hotel wise to explore all areas.had a great and enjoyable holiday.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula A e, Customer Service at 4R Playa Park, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Robert P,

First of all thanks to share with us and the rest of the people your experience in Hotel Playa Park and in Salou. Thanks to dedicate a few minutes writing it.
It is a pleasure for us you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you can repite your holidays in a future. We welcome you again.

salutations
Paula. Customer Service. 4R Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.7 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.9 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.7 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 94 in Salou
1,885 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#6 of 94 in Salou
902 reviews
0.2 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#30 of 94 in Salou
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4R Playa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4R Playa Park

Property: 4R Playa Park
Address: Calle Vendrell 1-3, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#5 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#7 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 4R Playa Park 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The 4R chain Hotels welcomes you to the Costa Daurada, where you can relax, have fun and enjoy a wide selection of leisure activities to spend your vacation. 4R Regina Gran Hotel 4* and 4R Salou Park Hotel 4* and 4R Playa Park Hotel 3* and 4R Playa Margarita Hotel 3*, are located in privileged areas of Salou, near the beach or Port Aventura, with its great novelty 2015: Cirque du Soleil 'Ama Luna'. Salou is the tourist town par excellence, known as the "Beach of Europe". Cambrils, 6 km, is the gastronomic and fishing Center on the coast. Reus 8 km is presented as the nerve centre of the region so that your purchases become an art while walking surrounded by modernist buildings raised by the disciples of Gaudi (birth City). Tarragona, located 15 km away, is a Roman city that still retains its amphitheatre and circus, among other elements. Its fabulous Ramblas become a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Hospitalet de L'infant, 24 km south of Salou, has a great Marina and our charming 4R Meridia Mar Hotel 3* is there. If you are looking for a relaxing stay, this proposal is most accurate. Our last incorporation has been the 4R Miramar Calafell Hotel 3* in this coastal town. It is located in first-line of beach, in the Centre of the town and on the seafront. Our hotels, in ideal environments by the sea, have well-maintained facilities, Spa centers, an excellent Buffet service with which you will enjoy the national and international cuisine, animations for big and small, and our support in whatever way you can advise to you know our corners: wine (Priorat, Montsant, Penedes and Terra Alta), the Cistercian route, Delta del Ebro and the Barcelona magic capital of our community. We offer you all our diversity and artistic, cultural and social plurality less than 100 km from our establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your 4R Playa Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Park Salou
Hotel Playa Park
Playa Park Hotel Salou
4R Playa Park Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing