We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 4R Salou Park Resort II

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
4R Salou Park Resort II
Ranked #52 of 95 Hotels in Salou
Sheffield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We paid roughly £35 per night for 10 nights at the end of September for 2 people half board through hotels4u. Now you can get a Travelodge for the night room only in the UK for £35, but with the meals thrown in this has to be cheap. Do not expect the Ritz. The hotel is well located just up the road from the Burger King on Carlas Buigas. I requested high floor and got an end room on the 5th floor, which apart from half a dozen rooms on the roof is at the top. Being an end room we got a huge L shaped balcony that wrapped around the end of the building. Only downside was some aircon plant on the roof above the room which was a bit noisy but liveable with.
The hotel is mainly full of Russian tourists and you may not hear another English voice. There were a couple of French coach tours towards the end of our stay.
Typical spanish 3 star hotel room. Nice and clean. Towels changed every day. Comfy but firm twin beds pushed together. Plenty of wardrobe space. Nice bathroom. Old fashioned 14" tv. The aircon was on even though it's not advertised as being available late September.
Breakfast. Well if you want a good English breakfast with English sausages and Back bacon then you will be disappointed. On the hot tray there was Spanish streaky bacon, party sausages, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, baked beans and potato scraps (small chips of fried potato). In addition there was cold meats and cheese, bread, toast, some salad, trays of freshly baked croissants, sweet breads, cakes, fruit and yogurts. The main issue at breakfast was the queues at the two coffee vending machines. They need more machines or come around with jugs.
Evening meal. Plenty of choice. Always a roast joint carvery, plus fish and meat fillets from the plancha, Sometimes these can be done to death but here they were usually quite moist. There was usually a stew of some kind (the beef stew on Sunday is excellent). Also a fish of some kind in a tasty sauce, plus chicken legs, mussels or something similar. Usually something aimed at kids such a nuggets or pizza. Always chips plus some veg. Now the Russians seem to like their melon and they took it away by the plate load. Usual fluorescent coloured cakes for desert, but if you were lucky they had rice pudding or lemon tart. For a hotel buffet we thought this was very good for the price we paid.
We didn't have lunch, but if you go full board this is served in the hotel next door.
We always had a friendly welcome at the restaurant. The staff are there to clear tables so don't need to interact much, apart from offering drinks for sale with the evening meal. No complaints.
We really enjoyed our stay here at this hotel and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tintin100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    127
    78
    31
    36
See reviews for
139
99
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Initial impressions were that this is a well placed hotel and looked good for what we payed (inexpensive and convenient). The staff on reception are friendly enough, but don't expect a smile from the restaraunt staff as you won't get anything remotely like a word out of them, just a grunt and a point. The pool area is clean, but the water is freezing cold, mainly down to being in the shade all day. Though guests staying here do have use of the pool next door (as they are the same hotel chain, just this is 3* and Salou Park is 4* - can also use their wifi too)

The main thing going for this hotel is that it is spotlessly clean, the rooms, corridors and public areas always being cleaned and the food is not bad either. We made use of the spa in the basement, whic I think has to be the best feature of this place - 6 euros for 2 hours which I think is well worth it for a relax.

The one big thing that let this hotel down were the beds. We booked a double room, but it was just 2 single beds made up seperately but pushed together and they were as solid as a rock (was more comfortable when I was lay on the sand at the beach) If you like a hard bed then it will be great for you, but it was just too hard for my likeing. On the upside, the shower in the bathroom was one of the best I've ever had in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaufort
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Good Hotel, very near to the beach, bus stop and walking distance to centre of salou. Hotel was clean and restaurant had good wide selection of food which suited all of famiy. We had a family room which was a good size as family rooms go. The only let down was the unhappy staff. Apart from the cleaners who always had a smile, and the entertainment staff, the restaurant staff were miserable and grumpy. They certainly hate their jobs. Would definately suggest the hotel invest in some kind of customer service training for them! Its a shame because they were a real let down to what is a good, well located hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We were given this hotel through a sports company as part of a school trip.
It was comfortable, clean and the staff were friendly even when there were 40 girls being quite loud at dinner!
The food was fine, 2-3 meat dishes available each meal with vegetables and salad available as well.
Pool area was fine but water was freezing in May.
Good location to the main and smaller beach.

However, I did not get much sleep that week as the corridors are tiled so any noise echoes so loudly. Even one person walking down the corridor sounds like a thunderstorm. My room was also unfortunately placed next to the staircase for the first floor so I heard everyone walk up and down the stairs throughout the night. I'm sure I could have moved rooms if I had asked but I needed to be near my students. It still would not have removed the noise from the corridor though. Carpet would be recommended for this hotel in the corridors!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Good Hotel, tidy, near to the beach and main Salou, but it was a shame that the staff in the hotel apart from the cleaner,receptionists and spa attendant could of been a bit more cheerful, it seemed like we were constantly in their way,the staff were not that helpful at all and never made us feel welcome, also the bar in the hotel could of been open later than midnight as it seemed a little like an hostal than an hotel, also there was only one bar outside and it seemed a lot of people smoked the cheap Spanish cigarette, as we are none smokers we both had sore throats because of this, it was shocking to see how many people smoked when children and babies were around even around the pool area, I am seeing the doctor since we have returned home for my sore throat has worsened, the bar inside was always closed and would have been better for people that didn't smoke, otherwise there was no where to sit and relax so most of the time we could not use some of the facilities in the hotel such as the pool, bar and entertainment area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

This hotel has gone downhill since our last stay here in sept 12,apart from the reception/cleaners the staff are miserable and unhelpful like you are in the way?, the new pool last year is great but the pool bar staff are unhelpful, rude and walk around like they are rambos cousin,the rooms are basic but clean,air con is very poor so don't stay here in july/august cos it is very uncomfortable,location is great,close to capellans beach bus/land train stop and the fab rio grande bar over the road!,if you want a cheap holiday with average food and miserable staff then this hotel is just right for you!!!!

Room Tip: corner rooms are the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodyWestMidlandsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here from Tuesday to Saturday last week. The hotel was in a perfect location for the beach, shops, pubs and restaurants. The hotel was pretty much the same as any other that I've stayed in abroad, not the best but not the worst. The food was plentiful unless your a veggie same as myself but for you meat eaters out there you had loads of choice. One negative point was that the bed was very very uncomfortable. There was entertainment every night but if you don't like it there's loads more round and about you. I found the staff helpful when approached.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.0 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#31 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.2 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#6 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best San Diego
Best San Diego
#46 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Sol Dor
Best Sol Dor
#37 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Monica Playa
Santa Monica Playa
#56 of 95 in Salou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Los Angeles
Best Los Angeles
#45 of 95 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4R Salou Park Resort II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4R Salou Park Resort II

Property: 4R Salou Park Resort II
Address: Calle Amposta 4 - 6, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Playa Margarita)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Salou
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 4R Salou Park Resort II 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Playa Margarita is located in the hotel zone of Salou, 200 meters from the Capellans beach, just meters from the shopping area. It also has easy access to the Port Aventura theme park. The hotel has 199 rooms in two different standard and familiar types. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and heating, satellite TV and a safe. In addition, Playa Margarita develops plenty of leisure activities, both day and night and has a swimming pool for adults, one for children and a spa. The facilities are completed restaurant, buffet service and show cooking, tropical poolside bar, coffee bar, mini club, playground, parking and аccess adapted for disabled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your 4R Salou Park Resort II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Margarita Salou
Playa Margarita Hotel
4R Salou Park Resort II Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing