We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but very busy!!!”
Review of Jaime I Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jaime I Hotel
Ranked #52 of 94 Hotels in Salou
donegal, Ireland
1 review
“Nice hotel, but very busy!!!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at Jaime 1 hotel, its a huge hotel in the centre of Salou. We had 2 triple rooms for our party of six we were assigned adjacent rooms which was handy. Rooms are quite small and very basic, they were well kept though, the maid came around every day to clean and change towels.
The 2 main pools in this hotel are excellent and we never had any problem getting a sun lounger.
The entertainment was very good, mainly Spanish but we enjoyed this!
We paid for half board but ended up eating out most of the week due to the chaos at meal times, this was the biggest downfall of this hotel in my opinion, There was plenty of variety each day we ate there but the queues were terrible and often had trouble getting a table together.
The location of this hotel is excellent it is just around the corner from the strip and a short stroll to the beach.
The size of this hotel was quite off putting for me, it was just so busy all the time and could be very noisy at night time, for this reason I would not choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    472
    416
    195
    261
See reviews for
924
258
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We have just returned from a week in this hotel and after reading some pretty awful reviews (after we had booked it) i was slightly anxious. I need not have worried. The location was great, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was varied and there was always lots of choice, the rooms were clean and big enough and the enterteinment was continuous throughout the day, with something for everyone. There were 19 family members in our group celebrating my Dad's 70th birthday, with the youngest members of the group aged 3. I can honestly say that the hotel catered for everyone of all ages, nationalities and preferences. We have travelled to a variety of places and done many different types of holidays, and this hotel offered great value for money at the height of the season. Some people are obviously never satisfied......but luckily we ALL were!

Room Tip: The ones with a pool view are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel is very good, spacious rooms, very helpful staff. The hotel is very near the sandy beach, town Centre and the main theme park of port ventura and other areas of interest. The hotel has two swimming pools,day and night entertainment kids play area min gulf, etc. Great on half or full board

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Watson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Jaime 1(2 Adults, 4 kids), and after reading mixed reports on TA before we arrived, thought the overall experience was rather good!
After seeing some of the complaints on here, all I can say is these people shouldn't expect 5 star, when this hotel is only 3 star, and at around £240 a head for a week(hotel only) you can't go wrong.
Admitidly it does have its bad points, namely the food(though breakfast is ok, and they have an outside BBQ twice a week if you get your name down in time)which wasn't so good, but we ate out most evenings, and there are a multitude of excellent restaurants nearby, including some excellent Tapas near the beach front. The hotel was clean spacious and found the staff, bar the odd misery very polite and helpful, and the pool bar staff great fun too. There is entertainment on every day for all who wish to participate, and it boasts 2 excellent pools, and an indoor pool & Gym if you want to get out of the Sun. Overall well worth what we paid, and would go again for cheap getaway. PS. best Air conditioning ever in the rooms!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool, some of the other aspects are a bit glum!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoney43_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

myself and my partner stayed in jaime 1 in 2012 for 4nights, we were pleasantly surprised at how well the hotel was run and catered for considering the size of the place, we had a thoroughly enjoyable short stay here and would definately return and recommend to friends and family,

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bev1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

After reading the reviews we weren’t really sure what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very clean and spacious. Yes, the restaurant was very busy but the hotel was huge, one of the biggest hotels I have ever stayed in - everyone has got to eat haven’t they…?? If you want a quiet restaurant then don’t stay in a hotel with 1500 rooms…!! I have a 9 year old son and thought the hotel grounds were very safe with excellent facilities and so much to do. I woke up each morning at around 8.30 to put towels on the sun loungers as this is what others did. You only had to do this though if you wanted the sun loungers directly around the pool (this was to keep an eye on the children) the loungers situated further back were always free. I read a lot of reviews with people saying that there were a lot of Russians staying at the hotel and that they were very rude, yes there were a few Russian family’s there but they have to holiday too don’t they?? We never found them rude and all the children got on great. The evening entertainment was O.K. and yes mostly in Spanish, but then again we were in Spain. If we wanted English entertainment every night then we would have gone to Butlins…..!!! Overall we had a really fun week. The location of this hotel in Salou was fantastic with very easy access to the beach and to the Port Aventura parks.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 116 and had a great view of the main pool and entertainment stage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

just came back from an 11 day holiday at jamie 1,can not express how unwelcome you are made to feel,the food is very poor,evening meal is from 19.30-20.20,thats 50 mins for all the guests,this creates long queues and a lot of pushing inn.the restaurant staff are very rude,make you feel very rushed.if you like to sunbath by the pool you will need to be up before 7am to get a sunbed,we got to the pool at 8am and their was not one sunbed free,no one on the sunbeds only their towels???says at reception reserving sunbeds is not permitted ??? i would strongly not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: if you have young children i would not have a pool view, as the evening entertainment can be quite l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salou hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.2 mi away
Santa Monica Playa
Santa Monica Playa
#58 of 94 in Salou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Best Mediterraneo
0.4 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#8 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#11 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#5 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaime I Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaime I Hotel

Property: Jaime I Hotel
Address: C/ Logrono 16-20 (apartado de correos 139), 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaime I Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 775
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with a large capacity, situated in the centre of Salou, five minutes away from the beach and near Port Aventura. Equipped with a buffet restaurant, three bars, a solarium, a child play zone, open air swimming pools for adults and children, two open air whirlpools (1.200 m2 of water area), souvenirs shop, an entertainment program for children and adults, 15.000 m2 of garden areas, etc. Optional: gymnasium, minigolf, squash, heated swimming pool,sauna and Turkish bath, limited parking, etc. All our rooms give on the outside with terrace, telephone, fully equipped bathroom, satellite T.V. and air conditioning from 15/06 to 15/09 (approximately). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jaime I Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaime Hotel Salou
Jaime i Salou
Hotel Jaime i
Jaime Salou
Jaime I Hotel Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing