We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pensioners day out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
4R Regina Gran Hotel
Ranked #27 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 3 June 2013

to be honest, when we arrived we thought we had struck gold, 7 people in our party, 2 adults and 5 children, two adjoining rooms, we arrived very late on the 22nd june, and when we came down to breakfast, I thought I was in a retirement home, 99% of the guests staying were elderly Spanish, now I love the elderly, but come on, they took over the pool area, sat round fully dressed, my kids being told not to splash, in case they got their best cardigan wet, being told to be quiet , and stop enjoying themselves, having fingers waved at them. this is not a family friendly hotel, as the pool bar was closed, no entertainment laid on, unless you call , Spanish bingo, line dancing and a Spanish disco which finished at 11pm, where all the music was Spanish. my children were physically pushed aside in the dinner queue's, and when I approached the male who pushed my daughter, I was verbally abused also. its a nice hotel, but it was ridiculous to call it a family hotel, unless you are 70+ and Spanish.

Room Tip: do not book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank darren m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

We arrived middle of march not expecting to stay here, the hotel we were meant to be staying at was shut for another week and this was not confirmed to us before arrival! Regina hotel kindly helped us in this horrible situation and put us up for the week, Marisa on reception was very friendly and accommodating to our needs.

The rooms and hotel itself was fine and spotlessly clean. The hotel entertainment was non existent and we sat in the bar watching the Spanish pensioners dance every evening after dinner! Luckily we ventured out and did find a lovely chilled bar near the centre that made us up some tasty cocktails.

We were half board and found the food to be yummy and definitely not druel like some people have described, we are fussy eaters at the best of times as well. What I will say though is the hot breakfasts we had weren't up too much....bacon that hadnt even seen a pig, grilled tomato and slimey eggs. No beans, mushrooms, hash browns or sausages the whole time we were there bit disappointing :( The dinners however were a different story, always a nice selection and something to suit everyone, desserts were a big hit with my sweeth tooth boyfriend....creme caramel, ice creams, fruit, mousse, yoghurts, you name it they had it and all very nice too. English people take note you will be asked to sit on the opposite side of the restaurant to the Spanish pensioners, it suited us fine but we found it slightly rude and also the waiters were a bit miserable!

Overall we had a lovely time and despite the circumstances of not even booking this hotel we would consider returning in the future.

Trips I would recommend - Barcelona by train (took about an hour and 20 mins to get there) and portaventura theme park :)

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayhappy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We booked 7 nights as a get away holiday for me and my partner, looking for peace and quiet from our busy London lifestyle. We did get a relaxing break, however this was mainly due to the fact that the hotel was swapped with elderly people. As for the catering staff, very snappy, rude, and a terrible attitude. We were disgusted by the way we were spoken to and found all te reception staff rude except one lady called Marisa who really helped us. Frankly overall, we found the service rushed and staff moody. However, we had some fab days out in Barcelona! And the hotel is on a great location to the town, only a 10 minute walk from beach. Rooms were very clean and modern, but wouldn't come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robeche01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed at the Regina Gran in April 2013, must say we was very impressed with the hotel. clean and tidy the service is okay but would be better if they could speak more English. the ladies on the desk were sooo polite but the men are a little grumpy and moody. Large variety for breakfast, lots of old people lol pool was too cold to go in :( shops and beach are all soooo close by. we walked to Port Aventura and it took us like 15 mins not for at all. had a overall good experience. beautiful hotel must say.

Room Tip: Defo need a room with the pool view. you can see beach, pool and port aventura from view! Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaimaHaqqqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I have just come back from the Regina Gran Hotel. And lets just say I think that you would get better food in prison!

We arrived at about 11:00 pm and were tired, a short 15 minute taxi to the hotel started the holiday on a high. At reception we checked in and because we had missed the evening meal we were given a free lunch for the next day. The next morning we went down for the breakfast and got a shock! The breakfast consisted of: Fried eggs floating in oil, Mushy pancakes and cold beans! And not much more! During the day we went to Portaventura, one of my favorite theme parks in Europe. That night we went for the evening meal hoping it would be better but it was worst than the breakfast. GRUEL! Is the only way to describe the food and i wouldn't give it to my dog!!!

The evening entertainment was RUBBISH!!! from 7:00-12:00 the "dance floor" was filled with 60-90 year olds ballroom dancing, no fun for kids and certainly not family entertainment! The indoor pool was a good facility apart from the face that it cost €6 to swim even if you were a guest at the hotel! And an extra €4 for a swimming cap if you didn't bring your own! My children also tried to use the vending machine outside the indoor pool, it took their money and when they went to reception the male staff just sighed and said " come back tomorrow!" The only helpful people in this hotel were the female receptionists.

The over all holiday was not good and I will not be returning to the Regina Gran!!!

Room Tip: Go to the Sol Costa Durada down the road instead, we ended up walking there and paying for a meal at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZaraBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I booked this hotel for my partners 50th bday as a surprise in the feb half term. When we arrived our room was ready but it had 2 single beds pushed together plus a double pull out bed which was made up and looked like a hospital bed we asked to be moved in which we were but we had no english speaking channels on the tv a broken remote no tea or coffee making facilities. I had booked full board which only included food we couldnt use any of the amenties on site such as the pool etc as this was all extra charge whiich i think is wrong. All enternainment in the bar was in spanish so didnt understand the prices in the bar were very high nothing was open off site. Food wasnt bad but the same things served everyday so boring after 4days. Had alot of elderly local spanish people staying in the hotel so alot of ques etc at lunch time etc. Arcade on site had missing balls from pool tables etc. Would not return again not even in the busy season.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathp728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed here for a half term family holiday in late October 2012 and whilst we thought we had bagged a bargain, what transpired could hardly be described as a "holiday".

We e-mailed the hotel ahead of our stay asking for a pool view which would also be on the sunny side of the hotel for our stay. No-one replied, not even the courtesy of advising us that it would not be possible.

Check-in took forever despite there only be 2 families checking in, and, to cap this, the room wasnt ready

We stayed half board but could only endure 4 days after which we saw that nothing would change - we would still receive low quality dog food so decided to eat out thereafter.

Throughout the week, at breakfast, large queues formed for the drinks machines which were ever so slow at serving, thats when they actually worked!

The residents of the hotel seemed to forget their manners at meal times and food was often strewn on the floor as a tripping hazard, where upon the staff merely walked by ignorantly.

The indoor pool which was part of our decision process would cost us, a family of 3, 18 Euros every day of our stay - a total rip off, and thats evenwhen we had brought our own swimming caps.

The walls between the rooms are made of cardboard so you get to hear most conversatsion, coughs, passing wind from all of your neighbours.

Save your money and find yourself a 1 star hotel in Knott End!

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PaulJudithLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.8 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#22 of 93 in Salou
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#24 of 93 in Salou
2,104 reviews
0.8 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#15 of 93 in Salou
461 reviews
1.0 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#8 of 93 in Salou
872 reviews
0.5 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4R Regina Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4R Regina Gran Hotel

Address: Joan Fuster, 3, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Salou
#9 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#19 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £47 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 4R Regina Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The 4R Hotels welcomes you to the Costa Daurada, where you can relax, have fun and enjoy a wide selection of leisure activities to spend your vacation. 4R Regina Gran Hotel 4* and 4R Salou Park Resort I 4* y 4R Playa Park 3* y 4R Salou Park Resort II 3* (x Playa Margarita), are located in privileged areas of Salou. Free Wifi and Premium (paid) in all the hotel. Close to the beach or Port Aventura, with its great novelty 2015: Cirque du Soleil 'Ama Luna'. Salou is the tourist town par excellence, known as the "Beach of Europe". Cambrils, 6 km, is the gastronomic and fishing Center on the coast. Reus 8 km is presented as the nerve centre of the region so that your purchases become an art while walking surrounded by modernist buildings raised by the disciples of Gaudi (birth City). Tarragona, located 15 km away, is a Roman city that still retains its amphitheatre and circus, among other elements. Its fabulous Ramblas become a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Hospitalet de L'infant, 24 km south of Salou, has a great Marina and our charming 4R Meridia Mar Hotel 3* is there. If you are looking for a relaxing stay, this proposal is most accurate. Our last incorporation has been the 4R Miramar Calafell Hotel 3* in this coastal town. It is located in first-line of beach, in the Centre of the town and on the seafront. Our hotels, in ideal environments by the sea, have well-maintained facilities, Spa centers, an excellent Buffet service with which you will enjoy the national and international cuisine, animations for big and small, and our support in whatever way you can advise to you know our corners: wine (Priorat, Montsant, Penedes and Terra Alta), the Cistercian route, Delta del Ebro and the Barcelona magic capital of our community. We offer you all our diversity and artistic, cultural and social plurality less than 100 km from our establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your 4R Regina Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Gran Salou
Regina Gran Hotel Salou
Salou Regina Gran Hotel
4R Regina Gran Hotel Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing