We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall nice hotel but not 4 star.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
4R Regina Gran Hotel
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with RallyTravel.com for WRC Rally Cataluña. First impressions were good. 20 odd people arrived at once with only 1 receptionist, but she was pleasant and friendly. Room was a reasonable size, 2 single beds together, sofa, table etc. Nice balcony. Bathroom decent size and most importantly clean . Good maid service No tea or coffee making facilities in room and no information about hotel. Nice outdoor pool area, pool not heated though, so a bit cool in October. Outdoor bar closed in October. Bar was good and staff friendly and not overpriced. Large restaurant with set times for food and buffet only. Food generally not up to standard I thought, but everyone has different tastes. Salad selection OK. At breakfast tea & coffee out of machine wasn't drinkable.
Evening entertainment was interesting. It was catering for the older generation and mainly Spanish seniors who loved it, they danced the night away! Not for younger people or families. Generally quietened down around midnight. Rooms above bar can be noisy. Hotel about 10 min walk into Salou and location for the rally was excellent. Quite a few extras to pay for e.g. to use room safe, deposit of E25 and then 2,50 per day. Overall, nice clean hotel,(although more could have been done to remove the vomit stains from the hall carpet on the first floor). Friendly staff. Not really 4 star as I understand it, food very average, but good base for the rally.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of hotel above the bar can be noisy before midnight. Lower floor rooms don't...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (972)
There are newer reviews for 4R Regina Gran Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Very nice hotel, location was ok, 10minute walk to the beach and 15min walk up to Port Aventura. Pool was great but a bit cold, once you were in and used to it, it was fine! Staff were very friendly. Rooms were spacious and kept very clean, air con wasn't the best and i would imagine the rooms would get very hot during the summer, beds were also a little bit hard but overall i would reccommend this place and i would stay here again!!

Room Tip: Pool room views are the best, the view out of the front of the hotel didn't look like it was tha...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnM1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Well when we booked it we wasn't expecting it to be amazing! We had read some reviews before going and some people said the staff were not helpful one bit! Food was rubbish and pool too cold! WELL what a load of rubbish. Staff were really friendly and helped us out. Want to specially thank Maria (sorry if that is wrong or spelt wrong) you were very helpful with us girls and recommend the best place to eat!
We had bed and breakfast which was more good. Food is great and you have plenty of it. Rooms were very clean and we had a fab walk in shower. The hotel it's self is Massive and very well looked after. The swimming pool outside is cold but after sun bathing in the hot sun it's perfect to jump in :) we didn't use the indoor pool or gym but we did have a look and it looked really nice. We were very lucky with the weather too as it was boiling so we spent most of the day by the pool drinking sangria. Would defiantly recommend this hotel and I would go back next year too with my children this time. They would love it. We went as a Hen do this time but it is a hotel that caters for an age. Hope this review helps! Thank you once again to all the staff! My holiday was AMAZING!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 84sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Regina Gran on the 7th-14th Sept 2013. We stayed next door at the costa dorada the previous year and enjoyed it but rate this hotel slightly higher for the following reasons:
Reception staff were very good, helpful and friendly
The room was fantastic with walk in modern shower and large balcony
The room was very clean and had a lovely scent
Room well soundproofed and had no noise disturbances during our stay
Food was excellent at lunch and dinner, very authentic. Breakfast was adequate but could do with a bigger selection. I liked how the chefs come out and talk to the guests you can see how enthusiastic they are about the dishes they prepare
Loved the pool area. This was the decider for us to return in future. Lovely and clean, never over crowded. Lovely bar terrace next to the pool. Very nice relaxing area. Liked how no loud music was playing!
Entertainment actually blew us away but I think this was due to the horrendous experience we had the year previous. Had Spanish/African and Brazilian dancers/ gameshows. Everything generally finished by about 11:30 which was perfect for us.
Free wifi is provided at the main bar which was very fast
Located near the parks which is why we go to salou (you have got to go the theme park it is fantastic for both children and adults)
Check out is 10am and we had an evening flight do we used the complimentary showers and room to freshen up throughout the day- this could do with a spruce up.
We paid for full board but the day we left we paid for lunch at 12euros pp.

Thank you to the staff for making our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jinksyjenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Rooms were spacious and comfortable, except the cleaners could have been a bit more attentitve with the cleaning. Food was good, waitress's were pleasent, except food needs to be explained better rather than pictures of animals. Pool area was good, no rushing for sunbeds, always kept tidy. Pool bar area was also good, foods and drinks. Entertainment was aimed more towards local tourists and children. Bit nosey at nights with other guests slamming doors, and also nosey in morning due to cleaners. There is a train line across the road from hotel but no noise was heard in rooms at nights or mornings. The situation is good, 5minute walk from pubs and shops. Overall a good hotel to stay in and would recommend to others, worth the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raymond F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Rooms are on the small side , huge selection of food and dinner and breakfast , nice hotel , a small walk to the beach , in a nice safe location , just a short walk away is loads of shops and restaurants

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hollie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

23/08/13 - 30/08/13 - 2 adults and children aged 9 and 13.
Nice clean hotel just outside the main shopping area. Rooms are a good size although the balcony is a tad small with no table (2 chairs only). Everywhere is kept clean and tidy and the staff are generally helpful, however they speak basic English only but this doesn't really cause any problems. Pool is small for the size of the hotel. Daytime entertainment such as shooting, archery etc. is fun although one of the entertainers does not speak English which can make things slightly difficult! There were a lot of French and Spanish holidaymakers who all interacted well and our children played all day in the pool communicating as best they could. They had the best holiday making lots of friends! The town is vast and has an array of shops with fountains and lights at night along the promenade. The local market on a Monday is just 5 minutes from the hotel and is well worth a look. Evening entertainment ranges from flamenco dancing to the entertainers putting on a show. Not overly exciting but gets better the more you drink!! My only criticism is that I didn't feel the food was as good as it could have been. We have stayed in 3* hotels with better quality food. Having said that, there was a lot of choice with fresh bread daily and fantastic seeded croissants at breakfast.
Although we wouldn't return to this hotel, it is perfectly situated and we did have a great holiday.
I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.8 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#23 of 93 in Salou
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,056 reviews
0.5 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort II
0.5 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#15 of 93 in Salou
444 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4R Regina Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4R Regina Gran Hotel

Address: Joan Fuster, 3, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Salou
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#18 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £55 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 4R Regina Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The 4R Hotels welcomes you to the Costa Daurada, where you can relax, have fun and enjoy a wide selection of leisure activities to spend your vacation. 4R Regina Gran Hotel 4* and 4R Salou Park Resort I 4* y 4R Playa Park 3* y 4R Salou Park Resort II 3* (x Playa Margarita), are located in privileged areas of Salou. Free Wifi and Premium (paid) in all the hotel. Close to the beach or Port Aventura, with its great novelty 2015: Cirque du Soleil 'Ama Luna'. Salou is the tourist town par excellence, known as the "Beach of Europe". Cambrils, 6 km, is the gastronomic and fishing Center on the coast. Reus 8 km is presented as the nerve centre of the region so that your purchases become an art while walking surrounded by modernist buildings raised by the disciples of Gaudi (birth City). Tarragona, located 15 km away, is a Roman city that still retains its amphitheatre and circus, among other elements. Its fabulous Ramblas become a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Hospitalet de L'infant, 24 km south of Salou, has a great Marina and our charming 4R Meridia Mar Hotel 3* is there. If you are looking for a relaxing stay, this proposal is most accurate. Our last incorporation has been the 4R Miramar Calafell Hotel 3* in this coastal town. It is located in first-line of beach, in the Centre of the town and on the seafront. Our hotels, in ideal environments by the sea, have well-maintained facilities, Spa centers, an excellent Buffet service with which you will enjoy the national and international cuisine, animations for big and small, and our support in whatever way you can advise to you know our corners: wine (Priorat, Montsant, Penedes and Terra Alta), the Cistercian route, Delta del Ebro and the Barcelona magic capital of our community. We offer you all our diversity and artistic, cultural and social plurality less than 100 km from our establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 4R Regina Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Gran Salou
Regina Gran Hotel Salou
Salou Regina Gran Hotel
4R Regina Gran Hotel Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing