We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 week stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
4R Regina Gran Hotel
Ranked #25 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 11 August 2014

in my opinion the photos of this hotel dont do it any justice, it is much bigger when you see it for real, i have just stayed here for 1 week with my boyfriend and 9 year old son, i must say he absolutely loved it, the hotel felt very child friendly and safe, there was a crazy golf course, tennis courts and football cage which he loved, he was in the football cage more than he was in the pool, the pool was lovely and the lifeguard was there constantly and he didnt take his eyes off the pool which i thought was really good, the evening entertainment was good, some of it was a bit cheesy but was very spanish, which i suppose is what you get when you visit spain, the clubs wer good, they played polo with the kids everyday and even some games for the adults which my boyfirend enjoyed haha.

Room was lovely and was very spaciuos with the 3 of us, we had a pool view which was lovely, the food was a little dissappointing, there seemed to be more fish than anything and me my boyfriend and son dont like fish so we ate out couple of nights, it wasnt bad food just was really only over 2 or 3 meat options.

all that aside i would definately stay at this hotel again, only 10 minutes from the main strip and beach,and only 10 minute walk from port aventura which my son loved, we booked night time tickets for this so we could see the fireworks and it was alot cooler and alot less waiting time for rides so i would reccommend this hotel to anyone visiting salou.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynda1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula A e, Customer Service at 4R Regina Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Lynda 1985,

First of all thank to share your review about your staying in Hotel Regina with us.
It is a pleasure for us that our hotel there was a pleasant surprise and we have covered your expectations. Our hotel is ideal for families as you have proven. We love your child has enjoyed the most and that you have felt at home. For all our staff, clients are the most important so all your reviews and experiences are much more important for us.

We are pleased that you liked your room and sorry for no much more variety of meat. Hopefully next time we try to satisfy you at all.

We would be delighted to see you again in our hotel to enjoy your stay with us.

Thank you very much for your words. They encourage us to go on the same way.

best regards.

Paula. Customer Service. 4R hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I felt I had to leave a review as I'd read all the negative reviews before we left and it left me very worried about visiting this hotel.

Negatives -
Rooms are small and we were travelling with a baby. Space was limited with cot in room
There is no kettle in room nor is there one available in hotel. For hot water for baby we had to use coffee machines and worried if it was bottled water being used. We ended up hiring one locally at a hire shop
A lot of staff only spoke broken English which was hard at times.

Positives
Rooms were cleaned and new towels left every single day
Hotel communal areas including pool and dining rooms were immaculate.
Food was good! Excellent variety every day was different. Be open minded you always get enough to do. We did struggle a little for our toddler but we just bought out for her.
Every night had a disco 9.30-10 for children and show straight after which was excellent.
We had no problems getting a couple of drinks at a time from bar. All inclusive covered proper ice cream cones, slush puppies and bags of crisps. Snack bar served food until 11.30pm.
Location of hotel was fab! 5-10 mins walk to salou beach and centre.
There is a market 2 streets away on a Monday morning definitely worth a visit.
We visited the aqua polis waterpark in la Pineda twice it was so good for children. There is a dolphin show also. Money off vouchers can be got by stand at beach. Taxi is 12-14 euros or buses run direct every 30 mins costing 2 euro each. When you visit the first day you can return a second day within a week for 5 euro! Amazing offer and such good value.
We are in Danny boy irish bar a couple of times and it was fab!
Transfers from airport cost around 30 euro (reus) be careful as it's so small you could be hanging around up to 90 mins waiting on other flights arriving before your transfer departs.

All in all we had an excellent holiday at this family friendly hotel and would stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EllieCountyDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia_4RHotels, Guest Relations Manager at 4R Regina Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear EllieCountyDown,

Thank you so much for your amazing review and for taking time to inform us about your experience made at Regina Gran Hotel.
We have taken note of your comment about lack of kettle in the room.
It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed our perfect location, superb food and excellent entertainment.
Our Executive Housekeeper will be happy to hear that you found the rooms to be very clean and communal areas immaculate.
Please, let us know if you have any special requests for your future stay with us.

Best regards,
Katya, Customer service, 4R Regina Gran Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Have stayed in salou many times, went in October weather and hotel fantastic, food top quality. The spa and indoor pool top notch, didn't like not having a table on the balcony. Great location for the Monday market

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janehello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia_4RHotels, Guest relations manager at 4R Regina Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear janehello,

Thanks for having chosen Regina Gran Hotel.
We appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I am delighted to hear that you thought the location was excellent, food was superb and you really enjoyed our indoor pool and Spa.
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your future visit to Spain.

Best regards,
Katya, 4R Regina Gran Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Were only just back from salou, we went to salou for my husbands 30th and we were advised by our travel agent to stay in hotel regina. From the moment we arrived we had friendly smiling staff who were only to happy to help! We were on the b&b plan and wow the amount to choose from at breakfast was unreal, hotel regina have done there very best to accommodate all cultures and all shapes/sizes and ages. The bar staff were always lovely and had food out to us in a matter of minutes all freshly prepared too! There is a different entrainment every nyt and there is a kids club in the morning and evening and although our kids weren't with us I witnessed the hard work of the kids entertainers and all the songs etc it didn't matter if the kids didnt speak spanish either the girls were able to get them all to be involved. Mairsa (possibly spelt wrong) on the reception was an absolute delight, she was so funny and full of the craic but was very professional and so efficient. There was never a long line when she was on thr front desk! The shop on site is a definite perk and so reasonable with price. The amusement arcade was a hit with us both and tye pool was great also. A life guard on duty right into the evening and the air conditioning in all rooms well I was in my element. Only holiday where I didn't have to leave the patio doors open, no moskito bites it was heaven. I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christinatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia_4RHotels, Customer service at 4R Regina Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Christinatel,
Thanks for having chosen Regina Gran Hotel to celebrate your husbands 30th and for your amazing review.
I am pleased to learn that you appreciated the care and attention our friendly staff has shown to you; I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of our team, especially to Marisa.
We feel very happy and glad that we are successful in providing a comfortable and satisfactory stay to you and we would aim to keep up the good work at all times & at all levels.
Regards,
Katya, Customer service, Regina Gran Hotel, 4R Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just returned from the Regina Gran for the second time and we were not disappointed. We could see improvements and updating of the hotel had taken place since our first visit in October 2013. On this occasion we decided to go All Inclusive and it was definitely worth it; even for children who maybe fussy. A nice walk to the beach and centre if you like and the hotel had good entertainment. Relaxed, friendly, helpful staff on reception. Hope to see you all again soon.

Room Tip: We have always stayed at the front of the hotel and not experienced any problems with noise. Rememb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula A e, Customer Service at 4R Regina Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Sue O,

First of all thank you for sending your review about your experience in our hotel Gran Regina.
It is a great satisfaction for us you have chosen our hotel for the second time for your vacation.

As you have been shown, every year we make some improvements in response to suggestions from our customers, which are the most important for us.Thank you for recognizing our work.
Thank you as well to give us your opinion about All Inclusive. It is the first year we include this option and it is a great information for us knowing your opinion.

Thank you for your nice words and we will be a pleasure having you in our hotel next time.

Best wishes.
Paula. Customer Service 4R hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have literally just arrived back home from the gran regina after a great holiday. On arrival we were late for the evening meal but were told of places to go for a meal and offered lunch in lieu the next day as we were half board. The entertainment was top notch and there was never a problem swapping dinner for lunch or postponing it to three meals the following day if we were venturing out for the day. No problems or complaints with extra towels, sheets etc from house keeping which was great and the young housekeeper with the pony tail was just lovely. Reception staff very helpful with directions, maps, taxi ordering for going out to sightsee salou and couldnt help enough. The bar staff were always attentive and the animation team were absolutely fantastic with the kids and really seemed to love what they do. Entertainment was good and really enjoyed the polynesian show but didnt go on late into the early hours which we liked as everything closed down at 12am which suited us fine. The shower flooded the first night we were in the jnr suite but was promptly fixed the next morning with minimum fuss. The room was spacious and nicely decorated and clean. Food was okay. A good selection all very no frills but we prefer that and always found something to eat. The only gripe was that one night the burgers were undercooked so I took them off the children and we and got something else, also some fruit had fallen behind the dessert table and gone mouldy which you could see through the glass partition as you were eating if you sat behind it which put me off what I was eating. It can get very busy in there and like anywhere else you see people piling their plates high but that happens anywhere you holiday in a buffet style dining area. The hostess was always pleasant and was lovely about swapping our meals about. Games always going on for the kids through the day, ring toss, kids clubs, water polo etc. The water polo could get rowdy which spooked my youngest two boys who are not confident swimmers but overall apart from that we couldnt complain as the rest of the time it was fine. You could always get a sun lounger no matter when you went down and I really like that there were lifeguards on duty. Overall a fantastic holiday, great staff and a nice hotel with lots to do. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia_4RHotels, Guest Relations Manager at 4R Regina Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

It was our great pleasure taking care of you on your recent visit to Regina Gran Hotel and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on the site on your return home.
We feel very happy and glad that we are successful in providing a comfortable and satisfactory stay to all our guests and specially for your family.
We thank you for your excellent feedback which will be shared with all our team.

Kind regards,
Katya, Customer service, 4R Regina Gran Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Went here in June with my partner for our first holiday and would say it is a nice looking hotel and the rooms are good (apart from requesting a double bed three times and getting two twins together and the rooms being abit dusty). This hotel is defiantly a retreat for old people even the entertainment is for the old so if young would not recommend The buffet was okay for the first day the rest of the days it wasn't very nice and had to pay for water! I ended up wasting my all inclusive and going out for meals( waste of over £100). The staff are friendly and helpful. But my partner is black and and all through the week there he was getting stares ( not friendly) like he was and animal especially from the old folks in the hotel and he did get very uncomfortable even at the pool, I can tell they don't get much black people there and was very sad to see. The hotel is only 10 mins from the beach and the shops which was wonderful.. Salou is a lovely place and will come again but Won't be staying at this hotel!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Iona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia_4RHotels, Guest Relations Manager at 4R Regina Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at Regina Gran Hotel and your detailed review. We always welcome constructive feedback as an opportunity to improve our service standards and facilities.
I regret that we were unable to fulfill your request about double bed . We always trying to do our best for our clients, but there are not a lot of rooms with double bed in our hotel, thats why we never confirm it.
We are looking forward for your next visit to offer our best service that we hope will leave you satisfied.
Katya, Regina Gran Hotel, 4R Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.8 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#24 of 93 in Salou
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,077 reviews
0.5 mi away
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#15 of 93 in Salou
453 reviews
0.8 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort II
1.0 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#8 of 93 in Salou
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4R Regina Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4R Regina Gran Hotel

Address: Joan Fuster, 3, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Salou
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#19 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £48 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 4R Regina Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The 4R Hotels welcomes you to the Costa Daurada, where you can relax, have fun and enjoy a wide selection of leisure activities to spend your vacation. 4R Regina Gran Hotel 4* and 4R Salou Park Resort I 4* y 4R Playa Park 3* y 4R Salou Park Resort II 3* (x Playa Margarita), are located in privileged areas of Salou. Free Wifi and Premium (paid) in all the hotel. Close to the beach or Port Aventura, with its great novelty 2015: Cirque du Soleil 'Ama Luna'. Salou is the tourist town par excellence, known as the "Beach of Europe". Cambrils, 6 km, is the gastronomic and fishing Center on the coast. Reus 8 km is presented as the nerve centre of the region so that your purchases become an art while walking surrounded by modernist buildings raised by the disciples of Gaudi (birth City). Tarragona, located 15 km away, is a Roman city that still retains its amphitheatre and circus, among other elements. Its fabulous Ramblas become a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Hospitalet de L'infant, 24 km south of Salou, has a great Marina and our charming 4R Meridia Mar Hotel 3* is there. If you are looking for a relaxing stay, this proposal is most accurate. Our last incorporation has been the 4R Miramar Calafell Hotel 3* in this coastal town. It is located in first-line of beach, in the Centre of the town and on the seafront. Our hotels, in ideal environments by the sea, have well-maintained facilities, Spa centers, an excellent Buffet service with which you will enjoy the national and international cuisine, animations for big and small, and our support in whatever way you can advise to you know our corners: wine (Priorat, Montsant, Penedes and Terra Alta), the Cistercian route, Delta del Ebro and the Barcelona magic capital of our community. We offer you all our diversity and artistic, cultural and social plurality less than 100 km from our establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 4R Regina Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Gran Salou
Regina Gran Hotel Salou
Salou Regina Gran Hotel
4R Regina Gran Hotel Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing