We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy my week stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Best Sol D'Or
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Just back from sol dor la pineda great hotel. Kids club and entertainment aren't the best as is hotel run.. This hotel seems to be very popular with Russians some aren't very nice . The next time I go back will be a big family holiday we will try out number the Russians!! Food is good everytin you need not much of a selection of alcohol drinks.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Carly15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Hotel Best Sol D'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Carly

Our satisfaction is knowing that our guests have enjoyed their holidays with us and like to come back in the future. We will keep working on the animation and children programs to asure that your next holiday will be the perfect one.

We hope to see you and your family soon in the Best Sol D'or hotel.

Sandra Lazaro
Director
Hotel Sol Dor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Best Sol D'Or
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Very bad experience. The hotel is very old fashion.There is music very loud outside in the pool every night until late, impossible to sleep.
The worst is the dustbin location just under the rooms (see pictures), the door stay open all day, it smells very bad (I cannot imagine in July/August with the hot!, It's also full of cats looking for food.
The bins are so full that when the garbage truck comes, a lot of rests fall in the street and stay there all day. It looks very dirty and you cannot open the windows.
I don't know how the people living in the street can afford that.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bendeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Sol D'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013
Google Translation

“Ante todo agradecerle el tiempo utilizado para poner sus comentarios en Tripadvisor. Lamentamos el no haber conseguido satisfacer sus necesidades como cliente a la hora de realizar sus vacaciones.
Intentaremos que sus críticas sean un punto más para mejorar de cara a nuestros futuros clientes.
Sentimos mucho que su habitación estuviera ubicada en el lado lateral del hotel, y si nos hubiera hecho saber su malestar, le hubiéramos ofrecido una habitación con otra vista y poder así disfrutar de las buenas vistas que el hotel ofrece y que usted se merecía”.

Saludos cordiales.


Sandra Lazaro

Directora
Best Sol D'Or***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay there. Never have we had a bed like this! Two double beds pushed together-was fantastic! There is a hair dryer in each room so don't bother packing one.Pool was lovely with plenty of sun loungers to go around. We stayed half board. breakfasts were OK-streaky bacon, scrambled and fried eggs, croisants, toast, selection of cheeses, breads - lots to choose from. Dinners were great. Good selection and something for everyone! We usually always eat out but never felt the need to in this hotel. Kids entertainment was superb. All day supervised and kids mini disco of an evening. Beach was only down the road where we paid 5 euros for a sun bed all day and you got a free drink at the beach bar included. The lucky lucky guys and women were a pest though and used to run when the police patrolled. Staff at this hotel were very friendly and there is 24hr reception. One bad thing was the room cleaners coming and wanting to clean your room at 9am every morning! Sorry but when on holiday I don't want to HAVE to be up and out at that hour and they should alternate where they start their room service so the same people don't get disturbed at that hour every day. Also the hotel was full of Russians. Just annoying that they try and push their way in front of you at meal times and you would think they were in a prison camp as they never showed a smile -shame really that you felt over ran by them. All in all I would definately stay here again-great hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sminters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

There are two main problems with this hotel:

[1] The walls are super thin and absolutely no noise isolation. Admittedly, we only used our room for sleeping - so if you are a heavy sleeper this might not be an issue.

[2] The hotel is made of 3 separate buildings (north, east and west) around a very pleasant outside pool area. The problem is - the pool is not heated and doesn't get enough sun during the day to heat up. Consequently, our kids didn't enjoy the pool as much as I'd hoped. On the other hand - if you can tolerate cold water - you could have the pool to yourself!

The mini disco eventually got going with the usual kind of stuff after a somewhat slowish start...we thought the start time was a little late, 9pm, but that may not be an issue for other families.

The food was ok - you are not going to go hungry, but don't expect high cuisine.

The staff were ok - no problems there.

Would i go again.....probably not, because of reasons [1] and [2].

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomatesbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Hotel Best Sol D'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear customer,

First of all we would like to thank you for your kind comments about our staff, hotel and food

On another occasion, if you have any problems (Noise) , please contact our reception and maybe by changing the rooms the problem could be resolved. Abouth the temperature of the swimming pool i agree with you that because of the season temperature at that time the poolwater was cold. (The pool is not heated)


Kind regards from Salou

Sandra Lazaro
Director Hotel Best Sol ´Dor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Where do I start? The hotel had only just opened for the season the day before we arrived & wasn't ready. How has someone posted a review in April?i arrived late at night I could see how run down it was with no entertainment room,the bar area was the only space for it. The bar was s few wicker chairs & dimly lit. A Spanish singer screeched out some terrible song so I headed to my room.My bed felt damp & the room cold (at the end of May). No sooner had i dropped off (after midnight) than i was woken up by a bin wagon outside ,people talking loudly, tv's & i could even hear snoring through the wall. I had an old striped blanket which looked like it was from the 70's but I still had to ask for another as it was so cold.woken at 6 by the noisy plumbing system sounding like a drill which went on for at least 5 minutes.Breakfast was horrible. Cold Bacon&eggs covered in grease, one choice of cereal? There is a microwave hidden away which I spotted later on. i knew i could do a LOT better so asked to be moved but between the travel company & hotel they delayed it for days so in the end I moved myself. The kids club was totally missable until I saw a girl starting to spring clean there. I had thought it was just a store room. It was a small uninspiring room with a few balls & rackets.There was no sign on it to say what it was & it never seemed open. A few days in they got the sound system to stop crackling but then left it on all afternoon & early evening playing nightclubmusic. Hardly relaxing after a couple of nights with interrupted sleep. Bear in mind the rooms either look over the pool & animation or the road so either way its noisy. i asked the reception to turn the loud music down or off because no one was sat by the pool & they refused. Totally not interested!! the entertainment board was a joke because some of the things on it didn't happen.The final straw came when three schools turned up with kids aged 12/15 who were unsupervised running around up to midnight. The hotel is occupied with at least 50% russian. I really don't have one good thing to say about this place. La Pineda is a nice resort & there are other hotels here so don't waste your time &money.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homesmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

We are at the hotel now & feel so disappointed that I'm writing this now because I don't want others to have such a miserable time as me. The tour company 'on the beach' are ignoring my calls & I am here on my own with a child. We arrived late at night so went straight to bed but was wakened but noisy parties through thin walls. I could hear not just voiced but snorring & tv past midnight. I was woken up by the hot water system making a prolonged banging noise at 6am. The hotel was only half open so no kids club, in fact the kids club looked like a closed up store no bigger than the room, no disco. Dreadful. I want to leave but I am stuck here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brickbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel last month during a business trip and really enjoyed a lot. Throughout my stay I felt that I was in my own home. No issues regarding food, cleanliness or anything else. I would greatly recommend this hotel for its wonderful location, cheap price, lovely staff, amazing food and all the friendly guys there. I loved the place and will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JakLipnicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salou
0.8 mi away
Hotel Best Cap Salou
Hotel Best Cap Salou
#51 of 93 in Salou
884 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Best Negresco
Hotel Best Negresco
#39 of 93 in Salou
1,231 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Best Mediterraneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palas Pineda
Palas Pineda
#7 of 8 in La Pineda
867 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,056 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
#5 of 8 in La Pineda
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Sol D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Sol D'Or

Address: Cami del Raco s/n, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £40 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Best Sol D'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Best Sol D’Or is located only at 50 m. from Playa del Racó (La Pineda), at 300 m. from Aquopolis Water Park and 3 km from Port Aventura theme park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Best Sol D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Sol Dor Hotel Salou
Sol d Or Salou
Sol Dor
Hotel Best Sol D'Or Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing