We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Best Sol D'Or
Ranked #37 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed at golden donaire in may and fancied a change in August we came here because it was about £400 cheaper. We where all inclusive which is definitely worth doing the snack bar around the pool has lovely toasties, chips and burgers and hotdogs. Being AI you can also get certain cocktails which are really nice and certain ice creams and ice lollies are included. The restaurant is abit over crowded and the food could be better but it was ok. In the restaurant you can get bottles of wine and Asti which tastes really good. The entertainment isn't that good but that's because am comparing it to golden donaire the hotel across the road BUT that is a lot more expensive. So you get what you pay for the hotel is clean and the rooms are nice and get cleaned everyday and fresh towels every day .The staff in the resturant aren't very friendly but the men at the pool bar are friendly .They wasn't a lot of English staying at this hotel it was more Russians, Germans and French that didnt bother me much. There is also a jacuzzi and sauna room that's not advertised but if you ask in reception you can use it to yourself for half an hour which is great :). The best bits of the hotel I would say is the snack bar and the cleaners that clean your room do an excellent job :) but I wouldn't come back because the dining room was to over crowded the food wasn't that good and at night the music was really loud till 1am in the morning it was like the speaker was in the same room which isn't good when you have a 3 year old

Room Tip: Don't get a pool view because the music blasts out till 1am
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Sol D'Or, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Oliva,
First of all we would like to thank you for your kind comments about Best Sol D'or compared with our neighbours. We consider our customers´ feedback very important to improve the service of our hotel. On another occasion, if you have any problems (restaurant or noise) , please contact our reception, and we will try to do anything to improve your satisfaction
Best regards from Salou and we hope to see you again for your next holiday

Sandra Lazaro
Directora
Best Sol D’or
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    172
    117
    42
    27
See reviews for
273
121
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

One night during the middle of our three week stay at the Sol, as part of the animation there was a Beatles covers band performing some of their best known songs. They were actually quite good and did a convincing job of imitating the fab 4. At the end they asked for requests and it was with great restraint that I resisted shouting ' Back in The USSR!'

As other reviews have already mentioned, this hotel is almost completely occupied by let's say 'citizens of a certain nation', in fact over run with them. Now this wouldn't normally be a problem and to be honest going abroad and not interacting with foreign cultures would be pretty narrow-minded. The problem lies with the fact they are the rudest, most ignorant and obnoxious culture we have ever encountered.

It seems that these 'citizens of a certain nation' have no idea of how to queue so this makes all of the meal-times at the Sol D'Or an experience and at times an ordeal. They will literally barge their way through to the front in a panic as if someone is about to take all the food away (more on that later!) This makes things particularly awkward at the Sol D'or as the buffet has a narrow section dividing the seating areas where the food is served. You really have to grip your plate in fear of a: someone stealing it from you or b: tipping any of the food you've managed to collect all over the nearest unfortunate 'comrade!'

Watch how they try to push past you as you patiently wait to enter the the restaurant. I'm surprised there aren't fights breaking out in the corridors. They seem to have a habit of staring at you too as if you are some kind of alien species. We found the best way to combat this was to stare back. In fact we invented a game called 'Staring Back' and timed our best attempts at getting them to look away which they always did eventually!

While we're on the subject of the restaurant, let's say the food was ok but nothing special. They did attempt to mix it up a little with the themed nights but the quality was at best average. The breakfasts were particularly disappointing as they didn't serve proper bacon - not even the nice streaky Spanish stuff. Instead you get some luncheon meat type imitation with the sausages were of similar poor quality.

If you decide to visit the restaurant late to avoid all of the commotion be aware because at times the chefs get anxious to finish early and reluctant to replenish items or take things away. One evening we arrived at 8.45 pm (service finishes at 9.15pm) and saw a chocolate fountain, but by the time we came to actually getting our dessert about 15 minutes later it had gone!

One last thing about the restaurant, they ran out of butter at breakfast for 3 days and Vincente (the restaurant manager who was really nice) had to go out and buy some from the shop. A mention also for Milton the show chef who was also a great guy and very hard working!

Anyway, on to the rooms. We were staying there for three weeks so requested a nice room on arrival. What we got was a grubby cave at the side of the pool on the ground floor which had hardly any sunlight for most of the day. The room was very tatty even for a three star with grubby shower curtains and worn furniture which had seen better days. We were so disappointed we didn't unpack, however to be fair we did complain and two days later we got a lovely room on the top floor (albeit with broken lock on patio door.)


The rooms are cleaned daily and the maids do an excellent job. We wouldn't say there was any particular problem with noise coming from adjacent rooms as others have reported. One minor irritation was there was no control over the patio light which went on and off thorough out the evening to no discernible pattern.

The pool routine was a pleasant surprise. The beds were stacked away every night and there was never any problem getting the spot you wanted the next day. You could go down at 10 in the morning and always guarantee a good spot in the sun or in the shade. The pool itself was pretty cold and quite shallow so good for kids. The real hazard was the endless procession of teens (of a certain nation) bombing, diving and throwing balls. The lifeguard tried to keep them all in check and dished a few stern tellings off, but usually gave up after half ten after losing control.

The two lively animation girls ran aquerobics sessions everyday and bingo in the afternoon however as a bit of advice they really don't need to say every number in 6 different languages!

The pool area is on the whole quite nice if a little tired. Far nicer than over at the Golden Donaire where they are packed like sardines on a boring slab of concrete. The Sol has some nice shady pine trees, lots of space and a good pool bar served by great staff.

A tip for using the pool: if you wait till about 2pm ish the 'citizens' go for lunch so you have about an hour or two all for yourself along with the other English family to enjoy a bit of peace.

At night there is a kids disco run by the tireless animation duo followed by the occasional turn of cheesy cabaret acts, The Beatles and the flamenco act being the best.

The hotel is in a pretty good location and the nice beach is only a five minute walk. Across the road is your typical English bar served by Martin who is busting a gut to make something out of a bad location and the turning tide of declining Brits at the resort.

La Pineda itself is a clean and fresh resort with something for all ages and far nicer than neighbouring Salou. There's some classy high standard hotels, great restaurants and even a Pacha disco. The area is served by a great bus service which offers a good selection of local and further afield excursions including the fantastic Port Aventura. Its annoying that there is a bit of a Russian bias, but if that's what the Spanish want here then so be it.

The best restaurants we found at the resort are Mix and the fantastic La Tagliatelle. Both very reasonably priced with great menus.

Nearby Tarragona is well worth a visit - there's plenty to see here and some great shopping. In the other direction you'll find the lovely Cambrils. It my be worth avoiding Salou in-between unless you're looking for something that resembles a sunny version of Skegness.

Although we did enjoy our holiday a great deal, it was marred by the guests 'of a certain nation' at the Sol D'Or and their generally poor behaviour. This hotel may 'respect' certain nationalities however by doing this they might find they will drive their more respectful guests away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisLox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Sol D'Or, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear ChrisLox
First of all we want to thank you for your opinion posted on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure for us to now the comments and their feelingsof our costumerswhile staying at our hotel. We regret that you and you familie not feeling comfortable with the other mentioned nationality. At Best Sol Dor there is a wide range of products at the international buffet and showcooking, and also the theme dinners wide a timetable published and reported to all our customers, and we feel sorry if you where not satisfied because our average satisfaction with our customers is on a very high level.

Kind regards


Sandra Lazaro
Directora
Best Sol D'Or
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Arrived at the hotel and noticed straight away how old fashioned it was. Reception staff are very nice and friendly and made check in easy and painless. Our room was a great location on the ground floor looking straight out to the pool, the room was clean but very very outdated and old fashioned, they had nothing but two beds a wardrobe and a dresser.The bathroom was average but could also do with an updating and new shower curtains, Maids came every day and changed bed sheets which was good. Irish and British people beware, this hotel is completely taken over by Russians who are rude and would run over the top of you at the buffet. One night I was putting some food on my plate at dinner when a rude Russian man snapped the tongs out of my hands, there is no concept of lines at the restaurant and attempts to line up only result in waiting longer. the staff at the restaurant had no choice but to stand by and watch chaos most nights. As we stayed all inclusive snacks were included, this was a joke. the snacks were cooked by busy bar staff... when they had time to serve you that is! when we tried to order a snack at 10pm we were just told no which was a joke as the snacks were supposed to run on later than 10pm! not all bar staff were rude, there were a few nice staff members. Entertainment was poor at the hotel also with acts lasting only an hour and mostly speaking russian and spanish. Did not feel comfortable at all in this hotel as it took us a week find other Irish/British people and the Russians seemed to stare a lot as if we should not have been there. I think the staff have a way to go to improve the hotel and make other nationalities feel welcome. Would not stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishgirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Sol D'Or, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Best Sol D'or is a family beach hotel with a very good value for money that differences us from others hotels in the area.
Spacious and clean rooms, and a international buffet for everyone, special dinners and show cooking and daily theme dinners with a wide variety of choices.
We are not a hotel that select which nationalities we accept in the hotel, and we fortunately or unfortunately during your stay having a litlle more clients of the Russian nationality, but we always received and respecting other nationalities.
We regret not having fulfilled your expectations when going on holiday and respect your opinion not to visit us, we welcome your comments and try to take advantage of them.
Thanks and regards.

Sandra Lazaro
Directora
Best Sol D'Or
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

The Sol D'Or is a 3 star and the facilities and the experience we had reflects that. The main advantage of staying in this hotel was the location. It was 5 mins from a lovely beach at La Pineda. The hotel is not in Salou which is a bus ride away or a 30 min walk. The bus stop near by goes to Barcelona, Tarragona, Salou etc. In terms of the hotel's facilities, the swimming pool was great for kids. There was a toddler pool and the larger one was mainly shallow. Not great for adults wanting a proper swim but really safe. The hotel kids club was low key in terms of facilities but there were many activities that the children could join if they wished. Mine hardly ever do but the oldest did participate in the water polo and enjoyed it. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the bedding changed daily. Food was average but plenty of fresh fruit which was good. We enjoyed our stay, not many English speaking families in the hotel but not an issue for us. The staff were efficient rather than friendly. We loved the area and had a great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Sol D'Or, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Fiona,

Thank you very much for writing your comment on tripadvisor, the posted opinions are very important to us.
We will continue working hard to provide our best services to customers like you.
Thanks a lot and hopefully we see you soon again with your family in hotel Best Sol D'or.

Kind regards


Sandra Lazaro
Directora
Best Sol D'Or
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Just back from sol dor la pineda great hotel. Kids club and entertainment aren't the best as is hotel run.. This hotel seems to be very popular with Russians some aren't very nice . The next time I go back will be a big family holiday we will try out number the Russians!! Food is good everytin you need not much of a selection of alcohol drinks.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Carly15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Hotel Best Sol D'Or, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Carly

Our satisfaction is knowing that our guests have enjoyed their holidays with us and like to come back in the future. We will keep working on the animation and children programs to asure that your next holiday will be the perfect one.

We hope to see you and your family soon in the Best Sol D'or hotel.

Sandra Lazaro
Director
Hotel Sol Dor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Very bad experience. The hotel is very old fashion.There is music very loud outside in the pool every night until late, impossible to sleep.
The worst is the dustbin location just under the rooms (see pictures), the door stay open all day, it smells very bad (I cannot imagine in July/August with the hot!, It's also full of cats looking for food.
The bins are so full that when the garbage truck comes, a lot of rests fall in the street and stay there all day. It looks very dirty and you cannot open the windows.
I don't know how the people living in the street can afford that.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bendeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTHOTELS2013, Directora Hotel at Hotel Best Sol D'Or, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Google Translation
“Ante todo agradecerle el tiempo utilizado para poner sus comentarios en Tripadvisor. Lamentamos el no haber conseguido satisfacer sus necesidades como cliente a la hora de realizar sus vacaciones.
Intentaremos que sus críticas sean un punto más para mejorar de cara a nuestros futuros clientes.
Sentimos mucho que su habitación estuviera ubicada en el lado lateral del hotel, y si nos hubiera hecho saber su malestar, le hubiéramos ofrecido una habitación con otra vista y poder así disfrutar de las buenas vistas que el hotel ofrece y que usted se merecía”.

Saludos cordiales.


Sandra Lazaro

Directora
Best Sol D'Or***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salou hotels

Wirral
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay there. Never have we had a bed like this! Two double beds pushed together-was fantastic! There is a hair dryer in each room so don't bother packing one.Pool was lovely with plenty of sun loungers to go around. We stayed half board. breakfasts were OK-streaky bacon, scrambled and fried eggs, croisants, toast, selection of cheeses, breads - lots to choose from. Dinners were great. Good selection and something for everyone! We usually always eat out but never felt the need to in this hotel. Kids entertainment was superb. All day supervised and kids mini disco of an evening. Beach was only down the road where we paid 5 euros for a sun bed all day and you got a free drink at the beach bar included. The lucky lucky guys and women were a pest though and used to run when the police patrolled. Staff at this hotel were very friendly and there is 24hr reception. One bad thing was the room cleaners coming and wanting to clean your room at 9am every morning! Sorry but when on holiday I don't want to HAVE to be up and out at that hour and they should alternate where they start their room service so the same people don't get disturbed at that hour every day. Also the hotel was full of Russians. Just annoying that they try and push their way in front of you at meal times and you would think they were in a prison camp as they never showed a smile -shame really that you felt over ran by them. All in all I would definately stay here again-great hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sminters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salou
1.2 mi away
Hotel Best Mediterraneo
0.8 mi away
Hotel Best Cap Salou
Hotel Best Cap Salou
#47 of 94 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Best San Diego
Hotel Best San Diego
#46 of 94 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Donaire Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#9 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Best Negresco
Hotel Best Negresco
#28 of 94 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Sol D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Sol D'Or

Property: Hotel Best Sol D'Or
Address: Cami del Raco s/n, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Best Sol D'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Best Sol D’Or is located only at 50 m. from Playa del Racó (La Pineda), at 300 m. from Aquopolis Water Park and 3 km from Port Aventura theme park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Best Sol D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Sol Dor Hotel Salou
Sol d Or Salou
Sol Dor
Hotel Best Sol D'Or Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing