We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY HERE. YOU WON'T REGRET IT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Best Sol D'Or
Ranked #41 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 2 September 2010

After travelling for years with my family to Majorca and Cambrills, i can honestly say that this was the best holiday, hotel and staff that i have ever come across. From the moment we arrived til the moment we left i can hand on heart say that this was an wonderful place to stay. Firstly you have to pay for a safe no matter what hotel you stay in so i can't understand why other people have gone on about it. Next the rooms and bedding are changed daily, i didn't have to pay for my air-con so i can't comment on that. If you are going half board you can hire a good size fridge for 30 euro a week. Big help in the restaurant staff work non stop to get tables and keep the food supplies turn over. Vicente was one of the most pleasent and helpful Restaurant Managers i've ever come across the food was excellent and plentiful so don't worry if you're queuing for your table.. Bar staff work quickly and are always polite. Luis and the boys work well and try to make sure they serve who is next. Entertainment was good very enjoyable. The entertainment staff at this hotel work their wee socks of morning, noon and night to entertain everyone so to Mikey, Samantha and the other guys CLAPPY CLAPPY for all your work. Go to the Hotel Sol D'or and relax and just let everything happen trust me you'll enjoy yourself. P.S. For those people who cant comprehend that this hotel is full of different nationalities well guess what? They are allowed to go on holidays too, imagine that.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaddyHarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2010

If you want a hotel with an international flavour-then come here ...french ,spanish ,german to name a few. Located 2 mins from La pineda which is a lot smaller and quieter than Salou this hotel is good value for money if you consider that most of the touristy hotels are much the same with buffet style food and the usual rush to get a sunbed then this ticks the boxes.Restaurant staff were surly and the queue for a table each meal was frustrating but there was plenty of food to choose from and freshly grilled meat each evening. Swimming pool quite small and shallow-ideal if you do not want a tan as surrounded by trees and bird droppings.The usual medieval cheesy entertainment although bar prices were quite cheap so it tempting some nights to brave it as bars in La Pineda were pricey.Bedrooms clean with tiny T.Vs-they work without a remote,so spending 10 euros for one is not needed. Safe deposit boxes...steep at 50 euros for 2 weeks but you get 10 euros back when you return the key...wow. We had to stay in Cambrils for the first night as the hotel was overbooked and we were'nt the only ones. The hotel was all Spanish and we paid 33 euros upfront for the taxi fares.We booked half board so we got upgraded to full board for the inconvenience although how anybody managed lunch as well...god knows ,as breakfast was filling and lunch mirrored the evening meal. All in all no better or worse than any usual 3 star spanish hotel..no frills but clean, adequate and well run as there are a lot of guests here. Trips.....go to Barcelona, football stadium is a good trip-book on the seafront and Port Aventura good for any child over 10 - buy tickets in England then walk right in with no ticket queues but be prepared for up to 2 hour queues for some rides. A good hotel and holiday if you are not too fussy and reasonably flexable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We are just back from spending the week in Sol D'or, with half board. The buffet was ample catering for most tastes especially if your are a fish and seafood lover with a different theme every night, I myself am a vegetarian and there was plenty of choice for me(though little protein options for vegans). Mexican night was particularly good. The rooms were exactly as in photos, though to our disappointment we didn't have a balcony and the room looked a bit boxy, then again we didn't complain! they were cleaned everyday which was great. the bar staff were very friendly and the drinks good value. though we didn't have kids with us, it appeared to be very family friendly with the evening entertainment very family orientated and a lot of dancing for the kids. The hotel is very close to the beach, and bus stops to Salou, Tarragona, Barcelona, and the excursions pick you up right outside the door. Its is also only ten minutes walk along the prom to the Aquapolis water park which is great!- the boomerang is very scary!:) La pineda is a quiet resort and that suited us. yes the industrial area dictates the northern view of the prom walk, but it won't ruin it for you! All in all, we paid 440 euro per person half board including flights, which was good value for what we got. the only negative I have is that the walls are paper thin so it gets very noisy around 6am with people coming and going from their rooms, cleaners cleaning the stairs every morning(which I suppose is a good). and noisy with evening entertainment until about midnight at the latest. The Staff for the most part were efficient, though there was one member of staff that could perhaps learn some manners and how to be courteous,but all in all the hotel is three star quality and we had a good holiday. if you want something more luxurious the grand palace is just across the road!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mynox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

La Pineda, a few miles from Salou is a lovely, clean family resort. No idiots or lager louts. The beach and resort itself are awesome, although don't be surprised by the price of the sunbeds and the pedalos as they are very expensive. You'd be advised to buy your own parasol from one of the abundance of local shops. The sea is calm and shallow and perfect for kids.
The hotel Sol D'Or is only a minute walk from the beach and is situated opposite a Tapas bar, Irish pub and local (SPAR) shop.
On our week's hols there was a mixture of clientelle including Spanish, Russian, Dutch and British / Irish. The vast majority were families, and kids of all nationalities played together in the sun. The pool accomodates everyone and sunbeds are available freely. No need to reserve your favourite spot with a towel. Sadly, no lilos or do-nuts allowed in the pool but this didn't seem to spoil anyone's fun.
Food was awesome. Best selection I've seen. This may change week by week but our week had a large selection of Spanish, Italian, French and British cuisine. So you could have bacon for breakfast, paella for lunch and grilled steak for dinner.
A poolside bar opened for most of the day whilst the kids club ran a few poolside games... all good fun although mainly Spanish speaking (didn't seem to bother the kids though).
The entertainment went on into the evening with everything from the hotel's own shows to karaoke to magicians to cabaret.
Bar staff extremely friendly and quick to serve.
The rooms were cleaned daily and although not large, had all you need for a hotel holiday..... Shower, bidet, Air conditioning, TV, balcony, telephone.
Aquoplis water park is in the resort centre on the prom and is a great day out. Here you can opt to hire your own do-nut ring to avoid the queues and this is recommended.
Don't forget to haggle in the little tourist shops, they expect it (and you can halve the asking price)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Stayed in the Sol D'or at the end of June with my boyfriend. We were really surprised by the hotel as we had paid very little for a package holiday. The hotel and rooms were clean and tidy and the staff were really helpful. There was loads of entertainment, especially for children, but the evening performances were well worth a watch, especially if you fancied a giggle. The bar was stocked with plenty of spirits, beers, sangria, wines and cocktails and the bar staff were excellent. The restaurant could get busy, but we made sure we were there at the beginning of breakfast and evening meal and didnt have a problem. The food was excellent, I am a vegetarian and never had a problem with meals. Freshly made omlettes and pancakes are available to order at brekfast and steaks, kebabs and other meat cooked in front of you at tea. Plenty of variety and choice of food!

Had a really enjoyable stay and as the hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the beach and the centre of la Pineda where there are plenty restaurants, cafes and shops. We really enjoyed it and wouldnt hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamsin97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stayed one week July 10th to 17th and had never been to the area before so were a bit wary about the location and hotel we'd chosen - we are quite fussy travellers. We couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised by the entire experience. We booked All Inclusive and it cost us £850 for 2 adults and 2 kids (aged 11 and 9) for the week.

The rooms are basic but extremely clean and serviced every day, there's a safe (20 Euros + 10 deposit), TV (basic channels, one 2 english speaking channels eurosport and disney), A/C and balcony which is really very very good for a 3* hotel.

The restaurant is very, very good - I just couldn't believe the quantity, quality and choice for each and every meal sitting. The kids loved it and they are FUSSY! The highlight for me was the grill and the wife and kids loved the cakes and pastries. Breakfast catered for everything from full fry up to bread, cheese and ham. Lunch and dinner were similar but there was always a very varied choice - you could have about 3 separate types of 4 course meal at each sitting. The only fault I could find was that the grill chef sometimes undercooked the meat but simply ask him to cook it more and there's no problem.

The pool and bar were great, you could miss lunch and get a burger or hotdog and drinks from the poolside bar. I found there to be plenty of sun loungers as long as you claimed one before 10 to 11am. The entertainers kept the kids going all day and night and the adult entertainment was really quite good. Very relaxed, family atmosphere and entertainment shut down at 11:30pm ish so of you have a pool view you won't get to sleep before then.

Breakdown is about 60% spanish (always a good sign for me if a hotel atrracts locals). 20% French, 10% russian and the rest a real mix of Brits inc. Irish. I've travelled a lot and it's easy to think people are rude when it's simply the languauge barrier. The staff are mostly spanish but most understand some English and a few speak fluently so it's always possible to make yourself understood. It can leave you feeling foolish sometimes though!

Reception could have been more organised and explained everything regarding what you can and can't have on All Inclusive but if you ask at the bar and snack bar they will tell you. In the restaurant Olga explained everything there the first time we went.

The beach is a 2 minute walk across the road and the mile long promenade is very nice and 100% family oriented (ignore the oil terminal at the other end of the beach from the sol d'or). The Sol D'or end of the La Pineda beach is definitely the best location in my opinion.

Buses are very frequent and very easy to use and there are official helpers to explain the bus services all along the route to Salou/Port Aventura.

We booked this as a cheap week away and were very pleasantly surprised, so much so we'll most defintely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottishtraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Clean hotel, looks a bit dated but that didn't spoil anything.
Good quite location, not far from the beach and shops. Food was very nice a good selection. Does get very busy in the restaurant at times but just go in a busy period. Alot of Spanish, Russian and Germans.... Some which can be very rude but we didn't let that spoil our holiday. Good entertainment for the children and a kids club. Enjoyable holiday overall.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salou
0.8 mi away
Hotel Best Cap Salou
Hotel Best Cap Salou
#51 of 93 in Salou
913 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Best Negresco
Hotel Best Negresco
#39 of 93 in Salou
1,259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Best Mediterraneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palas Pineda
Palas Pineda
#7 of 8 in La Pineda
883 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,077 reviews
0.7 mi away
H.TOP Molinos Park
H.TOP Molinos Park
#72 of 93 in Salou
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Sol D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Sol D'Or

Address: Cami del Raco s/n, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £49 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Best Sol D'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Best Sol D’Or is located only at 50 m. from Playa del Racó (La Pineda), at 300 m. from Aquopolis Water Park and 3 km from Port Aventura theme park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Best Sol D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Sol Dor Hotel Salou
Sol d Or Salou
Sol Dor
Hotel Best Sol D'Or Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing