We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4* hotel at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aparthotel SunClub Salou
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We arrived and first impression on walking in was fine. Once in our rooms my impression changed straight away, the rooms were very old fashioned and not very clean. Arriving early morning we all noticed the sun was not on the pool, you do not get any sun until 1pm, this was a pain as you have to find other things to do until then as no one wants to go in a freezing pool. Lucky for us we were self catering so we didn't have to spend a lot of time at the hotel. We were a family of 5, 3 being children, 7, 9, & 11, there was not a lot for children, entertainment was for more younger children.
The hotel itself was not cleaned enough, the same bundle of hair in the public toilets was there all week just moved around!!! The drinks were very flat, not good value at all, food was ok when we had something at dinner time. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone it states 4* but I would say more of a 3*, this hotel needs modernised and a bit of TLC to make it more appealing, the tables and chairs are plastic and not comfy to sit on, along with the sunloungers. Would not visit again if somebody paid for me!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunClub S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Aparthotel SunClub Salou, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback of you stay with us on Trip Advisor, because all your comments, good or bad, are very important for us for improving day by day all our services and facilities.
We will send your review to management and all the departments involved.
kindest regards
P.Potenza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Sun Club. Staff absolutely brilliant from Craig and Paula on Reception, Sue, Rosa, Alphonso and Stilion in Bar/Restaurant and not forgetting Eddie and Paula for the entertainment. Sue and Rosa even remembered us from last year (hope it was for good reasons!!). Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Restaurants and beach within easy reach. Quiet area but if you want it a bit livelier Salou centre is only a 5 - 10 minute bus ride away. Quite cheap if you buy a bus card from the Reception.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunClub S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Aparthotel SunClub Salou, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Dear Diane,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are proud to be your ideal hotel for holidays and we promise that we will continue working hard to continue providing the best service to you, our customers.

Thank you for choosing us, trust us and loyalty, and we hope to welcome you again many times more!!

Our best regards
from all SunClub Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

It's supposed to b a family hotel. Every thing in hotel is closed by 12:30am all told to leave and go to bed. Staff are very very rude.....extremely over priced. Wud never reccomend this kip to anyone. But on upside the little entertainment that is provided is grand Eddie tries his best for the kids

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunClub S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Aparthotel SunClub Salou, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

It’s very disappointing to know that you didn’t enjoy your stay with your kids. It´s because that we are a family hotel that everything in here closes at 12:30 to respect the rest of all guests but reception its open 24 hours so you can go and return whenever you find it better. All comments are welcome, and we take note of them all and little by little we do everything possible to improve what our guests suggested.
Kindest regards
P.Potenza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Excellent staff, especially Eddie ( the singing man ) as our daughter called him, he got everybody involved in the activities, there was no kids club but I believe that you do things with the kids during the day, had a great time, we were above the stage on the first floor and the noise of the entertainment did not affect us as we spent every night being entertained in the bar with juggling and dancing girls even a parrot on a bike, all for under £550 for a family of 4

Room Tip: Poolside gets the sun most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunClub S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Aparthotel SunClub Salou, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

On behalf of the management and all SunClub’s team, we would like to thank you for this nice review. A a family destination hotel, it's amazing to hear that you have enjoyed your holidays with us. he hope to see you again
Best regards,
P.Potenza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We arrived at Sunclub in August this year and at first the hotel appeared great if not a bit small (there were 5 of us in a small 1 bedroomed apartment with not much space at all) within our party were 2 adults, 1 teenager and 2 children. The room appeared basic but generally clean so we were happy to use it as a base. The pool is absolutely FREEZING and the water does not warm up until late afternooon, this is because the design of the complex does not allow the sunshine to hit the pool terrace until approximately 1pm so it is impossible for the water to warm up. When we were a couple of days into our holiday we discovered the cleaning of the room was appaulling, in our opinion there was no cleaning done at all, the cleaners were merely occasional towel changers and bin emptiers. We did not get our sheets changed at all during a 12 day stay, we ended up buying our own cleaing products and cleaned the room ourselves as we felt quite dirty. There were also hairs and dirt in the corners of the room from previous guests. The female staff member at the poolside snack bar was very rude and unhelpful and when we asked for extra onions in a spaghetti carbonara she looked at us like we had 3 heads and continued to question our request in a rude manner. We also complained that our drinks were a bit flat and instead of offering to change them she basically told us that it was all she had so like it or lump it! Very poor customer service which put us off eating there again. On a positive note, Paula on reception was very helpful and told us about the bus card which cost 15 euros 50 cents and gave us 10 journeys and additional top ups for the same amount of journeys was only 12 euros. We thought this was great value as it is good to travel into Salou due to Cap Salou being extremely quiet with very little bars/restaurants/childrens entertainment. Beware though as you can't use the cards after approximately 10.30pm so additional charges apply (we found getting a taxi late at night was better value to get back to the apartment). When we ate in Cap Salou we found the best restaurants were The Smugglers Inn, The Knights Inn and The Paddock. All offered great food and friendly service, good value for money too with entertainment for the whole family, especially in The Knights Inn. In Salou, we found the beach restaurant La Sal a lovely family restaurant with amazing food and great service, spectacular views of the beach also made this one of our favourite places to eat.
All in all we enjoyed our holiday to Salou, however we would not recommend Sunclub and would not choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TonyChrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunClub S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Aparthotel SunClub Salou, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Thank you very much for your comment on Trip Advisor. We sincerely appreciate the comments from all our customers. We are sorry if SunClub has not reached your expectations in some ponits. We are constantly working on improve all the services offered for our guests, we make notes on all suggestions and try to do then all also we work daily to offer the right training for all the staff. But I’m glad that despite of that, you enjoyed your stay.
kind regards
P.Potenza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Visited in June 2014.
Two children aged 3 and 6 and two adults.
Throughout the week stay the hotel was clean, pool clean, staff helpful and friendly.
We had a 1 bedroom apartment which was clean on arrival and located on the rear side of the hotel and quiet in the evening.
We ate lunchtime snacks in the hotel and they where enjoyable. The shop located on site is handy and average prices.
The pool is cold and the sun only hits the pool after 11am. Our children loved the children pool it was the exact height for them to play independently and have hours of fun.
The location of the hotel is the only downside. Cap salou has limited facilities. We often got a taxi into salou and found that the cheaper and less stressful option. The buses are unreliable and the train sometimes never turns up.
The thomson rep was there if needed and seemed to have a lot of local knowledge.
We would visit again.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunClub S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Aparthotel SunClub Salou, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Just would like to say a big thanks for your 5 stars comment :), we appreciate it all staff work hard to make all holydays specials.
Hope to welcome you here again soon

Kindest regards from Spain
P.Potenza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Looks nice from the outside and the reception area is nice looking too only downsode is the state of the rooms. We came in and it was absolutely filthy, dirt on the floor no duvet for the beds and the bathroom was just disguistung. A bit misleading I would say.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Divia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunClub S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Aparthotel SunClub Salou, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Thank you very much for your comments on TripAdvisor. All suggestions are welcome for the management we are focused on improving all services for our customers we will end your review to management and all the departments involved.
ps:Any problems regarding your stay, could be solved just by dialing 9 (reception) and our team would be grateful to help you as soon as possible.later is a ittle difficult to help ...


Best regards from Salou
P.Potenza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.8 mi away
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre
1.3 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Les Dalies Apartmentos
Les Dalies Apartmentos
#43 of 93 in Salou
287 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
1.5 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel SunClub Salou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel SunClub Salou

Address: C/ Ginesta 3, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#17 Family Hotel in Salou
#30 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £45 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel SunClub Salou 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunClub opened its doors in May 2002We have a total of 113 apartments, 94 one bedroom and 18 two bedrooms.The SunClub is situated in the privileged area of Cap Salou, and you will be ...- 5 Minutes from La Pineda and Salou center. -20 Minutes from the beautiful fishing village of Cambrils . -10-15 Minutes from the PortAventura theme park or the water park . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aparthotel SunClub Salou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Sunclub Salou Hotel Salou
Aparthotel Sunclub Hotel Salou
Salou Aparthotel Sunclub Hotel
Aparthotel SunClub Salou Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing