We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but had a great time !!”
Review of Festival Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Festival Village
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Hello there , we went 2nd of June through to the 9th of June, well let me start by saying what a fantastic holiday we had and each one of us enjoyed it. We are a family of 8, 2 grandparents, 2 parents and 4 children aged 15, 13, 9 , 8. My initial thoughts were that the hotel looked a little tired which given it is the beginning of the season i thought was a little worrying.

We checked in ok and Natalia on the desk was both friendly and efficient, we stayed in block B with 6 of us in a suite and my parents stayed in the main hotel in block A. Our room was spacious , very spacious infact with a huge balcony. It was however like stepping back into a 70's film !!! the beds were hard and very rarely did we have hot water not enough cups etc. BUT you dont spend that much time in the room so to us it was acceptable and no problem. The food as others have described is simple but plentiful and our children eat likes horses and they were very happy indeed as were all of us.

The restaurant was never overly busy and had a good selection of sweets etc and also some lovely bread. The restaurant is a little grubby but the staff seemed to work very hard in keeping it all running . The entertainment was a good laugh and kept us all entertained with the quizzes and bingo etc all good family fun and we won over a 100 euros so that helped. The pool was ok again with some good entertainment laid on with a very keen lifeguard on duty whilst we were there. The only downside with the pool was it was a real fight to get enough sunbeds , we are a family of 8 but we only wanted 3 sunbeds as most of us spent the day in the pool but even then 3 beds took some getting and quite often we had to get a couple of chairs instead. Some people seemed to get a bed then bugger off for the day..not on at all...

The bus stop outside the hotel took us right into Salou which is a great , clean resort, we had some good days on the beach , the sea is shallow and warm and the kids loved it as did I !!!

One place that was outstanding was Cambrils a fishing village about 2 miles from Salou and well worth a visit its a great place.

In summary the hotel is old and tired with some grubby areas and you may struggle for a sunbed, however the food is plentiful and a good choice and we got served with drinks at the bar very promptly, i have to say we had a great holiday and the deficiencies never stopped us having a great time. The staff are helpful and hard working and it is a good cheap family holiday

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,080 - 1,086 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

Having not been on a package holiday since 1974, I was not sure what to expect. Travelled in mid-June to avoid school holidays. Accomodation is in one bedroom apartments, very roomy although the beds are getting past their sell by date as the springs on my bed had 'gone'. Bathroom also a good size and water pressure was always ensured at any time for day. Pool was hopelessly overcrowded and I cant imagine what it will be like in a few weeks time one the school holidays starts. We booked all incluisve and were given a blue wristband to identify us. Meals were all buffet style and they catered for a mostly British clientele. No shortage of choice but very little in the way of local dishes. Expect English cooking from the breakfast onwards. It is hard to believe that people claim there was nothing for their children to eat. They must be getting duck a l'orange or caviar at home! Even vegetarians would have little to complain about.

The drinks were free as well. The local beer good, the wine less so and I avoided the spirits as they were local brands. The room had a small television and it received BBC one, ITV and Channel 4 More.Entertainment was abundant with a sort of Butlins type atmosphere with bingo, quiz nights etc. The Euros football competition was on during our stay and there was some friendly banter between the various guests as the competition progressed.

The flight was with Thomas Cook Airlines. Very cramped seating but this is a holiday flight not my usual type of trip.

There were bus stops in front of the hotel which would get yopu to local spots or as far away as Barcelona. Another attraction near the Resort is Universal's monster rollwe coaster park and also a water park.

For those not on the all inclusive package, there are not too many restaurants or watering holes nearby

All in all good value for money and a nice break from the seemingly endless rain back in UK. Weather was glorious. But I dont think I would want to be there in high season when the schools are out. A lot of the staff are English not local (except the reception desk).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road are away from the noisy pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiangmaijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I went to this hotel with two girlfriends for a cheap week away and a bit of sun. The hotel was nice enough, a little out dated but clean and the staff were all friendly and helpful.

This is definitely more of a family hotel as there were a lot of children around during the day and at night.

The bus service is fantastic and although the hotel is a little out of the way there are plenty of ways to get about.

The rooms were very spacious and cleaned every day with fresh towels when needed. The food in both the restaurant and smack bar was lovely, much better than we have experienced before in similar hotels!!!

All in all a nice holiday. If you are after a no frills stay in a clean friendly hotel then this is the place to go!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jen1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

we stayed at festival village for 5 nights on arrival we we given our all inclusive bands even though we arrived 3 hours before check in so we could get some breakfast, the staff were very friendly and couldnt do enough for us , , the meals were the best we have ever had at all inclusive catered for english people full english for breakfast cereals, toast etc. plenty of choice for the kids too. location is not bad either there are plenty of bars and shops a short walk away and plenty entertainment in the hotel of a day and evening too. location may not be the best for people with walking dificulties as is quite hilly but there is a good bus service which stops right outside the hotel and a pre bookable free bus is available to the beach. pool activities are amazing and they have inflatable trampolines atc in the pool one day a week which all the kids loved. all in all amazing holiday and would go back

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DianeJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Very pleasant hotel,rooms spacious,cleaned daily cant fault the maids. Food average but could always find something.Many of the sunbeds were broken and nowhere near enough umberellas. Plastic cups around the pool area which i can understand and in the Luna bar,but in the main concert room,no!! You were lucky if you did get one so keep hold of it.Many kids were just out of control but that was not the hotels fault. So as i say if you have no kids keep away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

i have just recently return(19th june) from a family holiday and we all had a great time..there were 4adults,7yr old and a 2yr old..when we arrived we were made very welcome by the reception staff and checked in within 10mins of arriving.the rooms were very big and also clean,the only problem we found with the rooms was the so called sofabeds that were just a sofa with very thin cushions that you could feel the bars through.my nephew refused to lye on it..(hopefully others make this point to so hotel can improve the sofabeds)..the first thing we done after that was going to the pool,the water was a nice temptature and the kids didnt have any problems with it either,the kids pool was at a good depth for my 2yr old son also.the only problem around the pool area is it hasnt enough space to put more sun loungers which didnt bother me to much..we all thought the food was outstanding,so much varitey for breakfast,lunch and dinner for all the family.we found the kids werent hungry when we were and thats were the snackbar came in handy,kids loved the burgers,hotdogs and pizzas from there..we didnt use the daytime entertainment so couldnt comment on that but nighttime seem to be good anynight we went down..(after the bingo was over.haha).anyone unwilling to walk up and down hills or travel bit on buses might find this hotel a pain but we were happy to walk up and down to la pineda and cap salou most days,we also got bus cards to travel into salou and portaventura..buses stop outside hotel every 10mins or so and we hadnt any complaints about that..with so much to do around salou i wish id have booked it for two weeks now..:(:(

all in all a great family holiday and a big thank you to all the staff at the festival village that made our holiday a pleasent 1 and hope to see them again in the future when we return.also a thank you to our thomas cook rep ryan who was there to help us with anything we needed.

Room Tip: the rooms over looking the pool had better view than the front of hotel but at night the rooms overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rabm85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My husband and myself [both pensioners] arrived for a 7 night stay on the 21st May not sure what to expect have never had an all inclusive holiday before,We were very pleasantly surprised by it all.We had an early flight and were delighted to find on arrival at the hotel at noon our "room" was ready, Room is really a misnomer, 2 bedrooms a kitchenette and large lounge area all spotlessly clean. The food was outstanding with plenty of variety constantly being topped up and always hot. Having read other reviews about the difficulty in getting a sunbed around the pool I can honestly say that we never encountered a problem although that could be because it was early in the season. As for the staff nothing was too much trouble although I must single out for extra praise Hector on reception and Sam in the dining room. What Festival village lacks in luxury is more than adequately compensated for by the staff's attitude and helpfulness.The friendliest hotel I have ever stayed in, can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Had a top floor room in block c which got the sun until about 4pn daily
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.3 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villamarina Club
1.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.8 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
1.5 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Festival Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Festival Village

Address: Carretera de la Costa 61, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Salou
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £64 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Festival Village 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Rating: 3 KeysHotel with 128 rooms, outdoor swimming pool, buffet restaurant, bar, supermarket, laundry room. For children: children’s pool and play area. Sports: pool table, ping pong. Entertainment: entertainment program and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Festival Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Festival Village Hotel Salou
Festival Village Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing