We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, fantastic staff and a wonderful holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Festival Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Festival Village
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, fantastic staff and a wonderful holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed at Festival Village for one week, returning today. I traveled with my mum and dad and all three of us are in complete agreement that this was one of the better holidays we have had together. We arrived at around 12 in the day and were delighted to hear that our room was ready for us despite the rep's warning on the bus that we could face a wait until around 4 in the afternoon. Our room was on the 4th floor and upon entering we were shocked at just how spacious the apartment was. The sofa beds were fairly uncomfortable, but we took the mattress off of one of the other sofas to double it up and this proved more comfortable. The apartment's decor was somewhat basic, but the room was spotlessly clean and the maid service each day was faultless. Towels were replaced every day, the sheets replaced after 4 days, the floor mopped when necessary and the toilets cleaned and bins cleared daily. This standard of cleanliness was found throughout the entire hotel.
It soon became apparent to us that the food was of a very high standard. There was a decent choice, with everyone always seeming to find and enjoy at least something to eat. As I suffer a number of medical conditions, and am tube fed, I can only eat liquid or soft foods, and still found something to eat at breakfast, lunch and dinner every day. In particular, the scrambled eggs at breakfast were remarkably good, as was commented by a number of guests! Every person we spoke to had nothing but high praise for the quality and range of choice of food and it was with pleasure that we gave a generous tip into the tips box at the end of our stay. This is the first time we have been all inclusive and not had to go out to eat even once as we never got even slightly bored with the food. There were themed nights, including a Spanish themed night complete with tapas and sangria, a Mexican night and even a Sunday dinner! Overall, I cannot even begin to fault the food!
I must also commend the staff at the hotel! The maids were somewhat grouchy at times, but everyone else was lovely. The reception staff were friendly and very helpful; being able and willing to help answer any queries we had. The bar staff were hilarious and very sociable; taking time to get to know each guest to the point that they were able to tell us what we were going to ask for! The waiting staff were also top notch, and as soon as a dish was empty in the buffet it was quickly replaced with freshly cooked food. In addition to this, the manager was possibly the most hands-on, approachable and friendly manager of a hotel that I have ever come across. He waited at the door of the restaurant at each meal time to greet each guest and converse with them. He also helped the waiting staff with clearing and re-setting tables, which was wonderful to see. He was absolutely lovely and I cannot begin to thank him enough for taking the time and effort to make sure our stay at the hotel was as enjoyable as possible.
As a side note, I would like to point out to anyone considering this hotel that it is probably most suitable for families with young children. The entertainers were absolutely fantastic with children and there were activities throughout the day for kids. The night-time entertainment was a bit hit and miss, but was overall not too bad. The Brazilian dancers/fire-eaters/acrobats were the highlight of the entertainment programme. There was bingo in the afternoon and at night, a comedy adults game-show at night, water-polo every afternoon and often rifle-shooting. There was not a lot for teenagers but plenty for families with children. The resort is only a few minutes on the bus away from Salou for shopping and every night anyone who wanted to continue their evening beyond the 12am curfew was offered a free taxi down to Chaplains for further entertainment and drinking until 2am.
My only big complaint with the hotel is that the swimming pool is too small for the size of the complex. Despite it clearly stating in the rules that sun-loungers cannot be reserved, every morning there was actually a queue of people waiting to put towels on sun-loungers an hour before the gates opened. These people then failed to even make use of the sun-loungers having just put their towels down "in case" they needed them! This meant the people who actually wanted to sunbathe by the pool could not find a sun-lounger.
Overall, this was a thoroughly enjoyable holiday and I would definitely return to this hotel! Even when I took ill at night on 2 occasions, everyone was more than willing to do anything they could to help. There was a lovely atmosphere throughout the hotel, and everyone seemed to be having a great holiday. Thank you Festival Village for a fantastic holiday!

Room Tip: In block A (one bedroom apartments) only rooms of an even number have a view of the pool. Odd number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks a lot for the FIVE STAR review and such a kind words towards the staff they do mean a lot to us.It really is very motivating to our team to read that you and your family had a great stay. Thanks for the comments about the food we score very highly on the quality and variety of our dishes. We are very sorry if you struggled to get a sunbed in any particular day, at the same time we are glad that this issue did not spoiled your holidays, Peak season means a full hotel which means a full pool area. Our staff will remove towels on sunbeds left unoccupied however it is sometimes difficult to tell if someone has gone out for the day or just nipped to the shop. We do hope you will return to the Festival Village sometime in the future.
Best Wishes from all the staff.
Regards
Ivanio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    480
    195
    67
    72
See reviews for
1,034
131
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have just returned from Festival Village and we had an amazing holiday. We have never gone all inclusive before and I would highly recommend it.... absolutely no pressure on me to feed the family and I was able to truly relax. We received a lovely welcome from the manager and Kirstie at reception (all reception staff are very helpful). The hotel has a lovely layout, and the pool is perfect, it was never too busy and there always seemed to be enough loungers too. Our room was very big and had two bedrooms which was brilliant - the décor is dated but who cares. The cleaning staff do an amazing job as do all the staff there - they all work very hard and always pleasant. The lifeguard Manuel is a bit stern but he does a wonderful job and will keep your kids safe. The food was very good, always plenty of variety and fresh - it is not restaurant quality but it is more than satisfactory for a family - not one complaint from the kids! The entertainment team were brilliant - Michael and Amy were fantastic, especially during the daily waterpolo game at 2pm each day, all the kids seemed very happy. This is definitely a place for families - it is really quiet from 12 onwards, one little niggle - the wifi is a rip off, £28 euros per device for 5 days and it doesn't work everywhere. The only other problem was the windows in the bedroom, they opened out fully and I wouldn't consider them safe with small children - I would have to keep them closed and then the room would be too hot. As far Salou - we didn't particularly like Salou, it seemed to be more suited to party people, La Pineda at the bottom of the hill is a pleasant walk with a beach and craft stalls, bars and restaurants. We much preferred going further on up the hill where there is a beautiful secluded cove and slightly further on is the old Cap Salou village, very small but it has a handful of restaurants - there is a little fair ground/amusement place which has a pub on site - it was very nice to sit with a cold drink and watch my kids play. Excellent - the family voted it as our best holiday ever...

Room Tip: We had C522 - it was a bit outdated but very big and comfortable and excellent view of the pool. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emerald1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for the positive review and your kind words towards the staff , We are all about providing great FAMILY holidays so it’s lovely to read that yours had a great stay with us. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.
It makes us very proud to read that you had your best holidays ever at Festival Village.
We look forward to your next visit.
Best wishes from all the staff.
Regards
Ivanio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is our 2nd year at the Festival Village & once again we had a wonderful time.
I'm quite surprised by some reviews on here - were these people staying at the same hotel as ourselves?
The staff provide a first class service & always have a warm smile. Like other reviewers have mentioned the manager is always present in the hotel. The maids do a fab job daily too!
The food is fantastic with a variety of dishes available - most certainly above a 3 star hotel standard!
Great value for money, nice location being just a short bus ride from Salou.
Would certainly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJCP79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks a million for the 5 star review. It really means a lot to the whole team to know that you and your family had a great stay with us again this year. Thank you very much for choosing Festival Village for your summer holidays, We are glad to read that we did not let you down. We hope that you will return sometime in the future.
Best Wishes from all the staff.
Regards
Ivanio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We are just back from a wonderful 2 week holiday, what a very pleasant relaxing time we had at the Festival Village. On arrival we were greeted by the Manager. First impressions friendly and spotless. The hotel used to be self catering apartments so the rooms are big, comfortable and clean, needs a bit of updating but your only sleeping and showering. Cleaners in everyday and constantly making sure all areas clean at all times within hotel. Food superb something for everyone. Entertainment throughout day for all ages. Kids club, bingo and family entertainment a good laugh. The entertainment staff really get you involved. No noise once entertainment over, so peaceful. Staff so so friendly and helpful and we met a lot of lovely people, had a great laugh. Kids all had a ball. My 5 year old couldn't get enough of the strawberry milk shakes. Hotel location is great 10 min walk to La Pineda which has a beautiful beach and fantastic water park and dolphin show. Buses to take you to Salou 10 mins away, bus stops right outside hotel. Barcelona only about 1 1/2 hours on bus well worth visit especially Camp Nou, my boys loved it. We will definitely be going back in the future. Happy days!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks a million for the five star review. Our staff work tirelessly to ensure that guests are looked after and it makes it all worthwhile when customers like yourself comment on it. Great to read that you and your family enjoyed our entertainment program too. Thank you very much for sharing here On this web site such a detailed explanation of the location of the hotel, it will be much appreciated for people looking to book the Festival Village. We look forward to your next visit.
Best Wishes for all the staff.
Regards
Ivanio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I have just been reading the reviews and just had to comment we had a week recently 13 of us 4 of witch we're children the food not a great choice but what there was was lovely. Only thing on breakfast was missed a boiled egg but hey that's not gonna spoil my holiday pool area clean and nice bar drinks plenty full rooms very big staff fantastic and very helpfull so people just anoy me if u want 5 star pay for itttt this was one of the best 3 stars I have been in thank you for a lovely holiday xxx

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank nerakf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for your positive and honest comments about our hotel and for sharing your experience on trip advisor.It really is very motivating to our team to read that you and your family had a great stay here at Festival Village. Thank you very much for bringing into our attention the fact that we were missing boiled eggs at breakfast time, since then we have included them in the menu twice a week.
Than you very much again for your fantastic review, we hope to see you soon.
Best wishes from all the staff
Regards
Ivanio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was my first holiday abroad for around 5 years, and this hotel did nothing to entice me to return.The first thing I noticed on arrival was how small the pool was. The hotel apparently caters for 600 people at a time, yet the pool was only big enough for 100 people MAX. The room I stayed in was fairly large, but basic. The living room had 2 sofas and a table with 4 chairs, which were all uncomfortable. Also, there was a small fridge in the kitchen which had a freezer section (which was broken). The beds were very hard and i rarely had a good nights sleep, often waking up at 3 or 4 a.m. There was air conditioning in the living room, but this did nothing to cool down the bedrooms, which often felt hotter than the outside temperature. Our bathroom had no air vent, and we had to ask the reception to fix our shower at one point. One good point was that the rooms were cleaned every day, although the cleaners sometimes ignore the 'do not disturb' notices. Moving onto the food. Breakfast was nice but it was the same EVERY day. There was not much variety in the lunches either, but dinner was different every night. The paella and tapas nights were the best, with the paella cooked freshly in front of you. The sweet and sour chicken is also the best I've ever tasted. So the food was mixed, good and bad. The same can't be said about the entertainment. It was truly TERRIBLE! the only entertainment that we took part in were the quiz (which we won 5 times in 8 attempts) and occasionally bingo. The children's entertainment was the same every night: dance for 15 minutes to 'gangnam style' (and other terrible songs). There was a so called 'show' on every night, which lasted about 30 minutes and included frozen (with a cast of about 4 people) and many, many, poor tribute acts. There were other problems with the hotel, but i just don't have the time, nor does the hotel deserve the effort, for me to write about them. DO NOT GO HERE!

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review here on trip advisor your comments and feedback are very important to us, they enable us to make changes where possible. I would like to take this opportunity in responding to some of the points you have made.
Firstly please accept our sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your time here in the festival village, we are sorry we did not match your expectations about the hotel.
Thank you very much for your comments about some of our dishes, generally the food scores very high in our questionnaires and most guests are very happy with the selection and quality of our menu, we are glad to read that you enjoyed it too.
The apartments are spacious, and apologies you found them to be basic, if you would like to emails us with ideas of how you would have liked the apartment for future reference this would be much appreciated, so when we are looking at new ideas we can consider everyone’s suggestions, we are glad to read that cleanliness was up to standard.
We are sorry you did not enjoyed our entertainment program or any of our evening shows, our entertainment team work very hard to keep everybody entertained and receive very positives feedback.
Like most hotels in the height of summer, sun beds are limited and apologies this caused you any upset whilst with us, this will be looked into and changes made where possible, the hotel at full capacity, is approx. 400 guests. At Festival Village we do our very best to try ensure everyone is comfortable and has a good time whilst here with us, the management is always on hand and available to help, I can only apologies that during your 2 weeks stay at Festival Village you did not feel necessary to bring any of your issues to our attention.Thank you once again for your feedback and our sincere apologies your time here with us, was not what you expected.
Regards
Ivanio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from a fantastic two week stay at Festival Village.

Location was what we wanted, quiet and out the busy areas but easily accessible by walking, taxi or buses. 20 min walk to Salou, 15 min to La Pineda.

Rooms were clean and great size.

Absolutely no complaints about the food. Never had problem with quality of it or selection.

The staff were fantastic, all of them, from manager, reception, restaurant and bar staff. Special mention for Fidel who we thought was first class.

Entertainment staff we're also good. Shows were always of high quality from RJP entertainment team.

Also have to mention we found the Thomas Cook rep in hotel (Ally) fantastic.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Millarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMarinaSalou, Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you very much for the positive review and your kind words towards the staff, We are all about providing great FAMILY holidays so it’s lovely to read that yours had a great stay with us. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Best Wishes from all the staff
Regards
Ivanio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.3 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.7 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.5 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villamarina Club
1.0 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#6 of 95 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Festival Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Festival Village

Property: Festival Village
Address: Carretera de la Costa 61, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Salou
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Festival Village 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Rating: 3 KeysHotel with 128 rooms, outdoor swimming pool, buffet restaurant, bar, supermarket, laundry room. For children: children’s pool and play area. Sports: pool table, ping pong. Entertainment: entertainment program and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Festival Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Festival Village Hotel Salou
Festival Village Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing