We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare!!”
Review of California Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
California Garden
Ranked #61 of 93 Hotels in Salou
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nightmare!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Myself, partner and 2 year old stayed at this hotel from 20th-27th july and the air con was terrible and didnt make the room cold, we was placed with a pool view overlooking the nightclub which was banging from 12-6am, kept us up! The hotel didnt provide no cot had to buy a readybed, the reception staff was rude and dosey, on the day before we left i had a bad cough and cold, when we returned to the UK i went to the doctors 4 day later as my cough got worse, to find out the air con that smelt like rotten air had infected my lungs and narrowed my airways, this was because the air con was not cleaned as there supposed to be an not fully operational i had to have 14 tablets a day and an inhaler, if your going here dont use the air con word of advice!
Good points is that the room was cleaned daily and the food wasnt bad!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melc1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    284
    288
    115
    130
See reviews for
339
344
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
warrington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

we have just come back from this hotel,and having read the reviews thought here we go again a rubish hotel but once again were pleasantly surprised,we were away from the main hotel in the annexe ,so no pool view BUT NO NOISE either from the nearby nightclub or a few stupid people who like to be seen .We have been in some higher rated hotels than this and found the food to be better than some 4 &5 star hotels weve been in,for a hell of a lot less money .Everyone we came into contact with working there were very friendly,and went out of their way to help if you had any problems,our room on the 6th floor was facing the road which was also pedestrian walkway so sitting on the balcony gave us quite a few giggles people watching,and we could see the fortaventura theme park which gave a lovely firework display every night.IT was our first time in SALOU but it wont be the last and will be the hotel california gardens

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dotparfitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

First of all it was a decent hotel for the price, 3 star as advertised. Good points - clean, friendly staff apart from one or two, plenty of food albeit repetitive, good location with a steady ten minute walk to the seafront, rooms cleaned daily, good pool area, average entertainment

Negative points - drinks expensive compared to pubs nearby, dining room a little small for demand leading to large queues at certain times, don't exchange money at reception the rate is poor compared to town, lack of sun umbrellas, if you need the shade there are only four large umbrellas at poolside and these soon get snapped up,

if you have a pool facing room you are adjacent to a loud disco which starts about midnight and the music booms until about 6 a.m. the management will change your room if another is available do don't hesitate to do so

I am trying not too sound too negative, we had a good week and it was worth the money but next time in Salou we will probably stay at a 4 star in the same area

Room Tip: rooms away from the pool are quieter due to being further away from the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

stayed here from 9th to 16th july 2012
rooms great modern and cleaned daily food very poor,could be that 90% of guest are spanish or french so food caterd for them,pool view rooms are about 20 meters from a very very large nightclub,that starts about midnight every night and the music from it is so loud that you will not sleep and it goes on until 6am then you have the noise of singing and shouting as they leave
i have never done a review before,but felt i had to with this hotel,will go back to salou great place but different hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carvallea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salou hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week at California gardens hotel, and to be quite honest we were dreading what we were going to find because of all the negative reviews! We were on the 3rd flooring facing away from the pool and out onto the road.

When we first arrived, the reception staff were friendly and got us served quite quickly (even when there were many new arrivals) Our room was immaculately clean and the cleaners did a fantastic job everyday always making sure everything was sparkling!

The food was very nice and typical of a all inclusive hotel (pasta and chips every night to suit the fussy) The restaurant staff were friendly enough and the bar man was amazing trying to speak as many languages as he could! The bar men in the main bar were lovely, served you straight away and nothing was ever too much bother!

The pool area was clean and tidy, however as always its always a battle with the sun beds! Due to our room facing away from the nightclub- we never heard a peep through the night! The beach is a 10 min walk through the popular streets full of shops, however these can be bypassed to avoid hundreds of flyers!

Overall, we both enjoyed our holiday at California Gardens Hotel and for the money it really is worth it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LoobyLoo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

came back 29th june.very big appartment first floor nice balcony overlooking quiet little street 129 food v good staff v nice..pool bit to busy for us but ok for kids don t be put off by bad reviews ex value for money don t know how they do it. .would go back and we can be fussy peta and wayne

Room Tip: apartment 129 first floor. excellent space. nice balcony overlooking quiet little square. excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

me and my partner went for a week arived back last night , hotel was grate apart from the noise very loud ,our door had a gap under neath it so could hear people walking back and late at night wich were very noisey early hours but can not complain as it is a holiday at the end of the day and people go to enjoy but annoying as traveled late to get to the hotel and couldnt sleep. not much choice of food and fruit ,waiters were good and helpfull . cleaners came round 3 and done good job clean towels every day . theres one lady behind reception which is very ignorant and gives you stinking looks which wasnt welcomeing at all she could of cracked a smile to welcome you ,. the entertainment is good for kids. mostly spanish people when we were there so there was a a spanish entertainer . over all the hotel was grate just a few downfalls but not major its worth the price ! ..oh ye we didnt have to be out untill ten and we were laving hotel at 7 30 in the evening and me down to underweare due to sooo hot woke to a cleaner opening my door at 8.00 telling me i had get up which i did not like found it rude i wouldnt of minded at half 9 salou is a beautifull place its my favorate of all loads to do thousands of shops if you dont like noise this hotels not for you ,

Room Tip: we went half board and our room was small but nice , very nice set out with nice barthroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsty186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.9 mi away
California Palace
California Palace
#44 of 93 in Salou
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaime I Hotel
Jaime I Hotel
#54 of 93 in Salou
1,587 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Best Mediterraneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
1,966 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#6 of 93 in Salou
1,624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Monica Playa
Santa Monica Playa
#58 of 93 in Salou
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Garden

Property: California Garden
Address: Autovia Tarragona a Salou, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — California Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 469
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your California Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Garden Hotel Salou
California Garden Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing