We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for Irish!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Santa Monica Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Monica Playa
Ranked #58 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Athy, Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not for Irish!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I have just come back from 8 days at this hotel and I would not recommed it. Firstly on arrival our room was on the 6th floor and the lift( very very slow) only went to the fifth floor. When we got there we were on the roof with a 6Ft high wall and no view like a cell. We complained and were basically told nothing they could do we didn't specify we wanted a view!!! they were fully booked and we could have our money back!! We eventually got a room at the rear of the hotel beside a cleaners store who start at 6am!!! We were never moved.
Where to start complaining.... Ok the Tv has no English speaking channels! It is supposed to, they tell you it does but none of the rooms do. The bar closes at 12 mn black darkness, gone. Entertainment is terrible. Nothing in the rooms no even a hair dryer, 2 chairs outside on balcony, no table, a light you cannot turn on. There is no switch and the hotel control the floors outdoor lighting and they don't turn them on.
The staff were grand except for the reception, oh my god, rude, short and not afraid to show it.
The food was terrible. The hot food was lukewarm. I eventually found a microwave i used every day. The cool food was warm under HEATING LIGHTS! The salads were not good, It was like they recycled the dinners and the breads were stale. Breakfast was grizzly sausages or mushy ones, fatty rashers, greasy everything. Dinner meat was cheap meat or pasta with a tomato sauce. We were soooo disappointed, We were full board and just got engaged so we were on a budget. We paid €800 for 8 days the sorriest ever. We ate out a lot total waste of money.
At the pool the beds don't adjust. Very uncomfortable and sun was gone from the pool area at 5.45pm due to it being a high rise building. Pool area closes at 6pm and you will be asked to leave.
Please don't book this hotel if you are Irish it is based for tv, food, bar etc based at other European countries.
We were also woken every night with night club next door. We drank most nights in a great spot chaplins club across the road and still were woken.
The only good thing I will say is it was clean and towels changed every day. They never stopped cleaning.
This is a mean, unfriendly spot, your a number and treated as an inconvienence.
Dont book it!!

Room Tip: Dont book it or first floor around pool you might pick up wii fi n lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3ce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    91
    96
    48
    44
See reviews for
104
118
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Arrived at Santa Monica Hotel at 10am Sat June 16th met by very friendly staff, wasn't expecting to book in so early but our room was ready and as requested on a low floor ,level 1.Room size the norm for 3* hotel , 2 comfortable beds with bed lockers, wardrobe, chest draws etc...only 6 clothes hangers between us but not a big prob' .fair sized balcony with patio table -2chairs, bathroom ok with usual refinements and a decent shower with glass panel over bath ( i hate the shower curtains that wrap around you when showering ), could have done with some lighting over the mirror for you ladies applying mackup.Nice reception and bar lounge area leading onto the pool, with smaller pool for kiddies. Stage at end of pool area for outside entertainment, which was varied enough throughout the day and evening . Restaurant was nice and airy and had a good choice for breakfast English or continental, always a good and varied meal menu for evening dinner with fresh sea foods ,carved ham, steaks,pastas, gorgeous mixed salads and loads of choice for sweet deserts and of course plenty of fruits. Hotel location is up a slight incline, one road up from the beach, with a fantastic cabaret club just facing it called chaplins, 4 - 5 different look and sound alike acts on between 9pm -2.30am ,then disco until 5am ; it's a family orientated club and children are entertained in side and outside by 2 staff with face painting , drawing ,colouring and games to keep them occupied, also big screen tv's for sport etc...Nice decor inside with full stage set up and brilliant compare Midget 'Jamie Johns' from channel 4 show 'The Seven Dwarfs'.Noise from this venue is minimal at night if you are a light sleeper. This hotel is in a fine location for the excelent beach ,promonade with its dancing water fountains to music ,its proximity to other cabaret and bar venues and of course the shopping area and restaurants all on the door step. Aquality hotel at the right price .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muzzyman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I stayed in this hotel in 2007 with a friend of mine and her young daughter. It was lovely and clean, the rooms were a good size for the tree of us. We were on a half board basis. The food was nice, with a good selection most night, what you would usually expect at a hotel buffet. The staff were very friendly nothing was too much trouble.
The pool was a good size with a smaller pool for children. Childrens entertainment was run nightly as the parents enjoyed a drink while watching the show.
The beach and main bars and restaurants were only a 5 min walk away, I would however warn that this hotel is up a hill so not very suitable for anyone who is infirm or has trouble walking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol-AnneDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We had our holiday arrangements changed within a week of flying out in October, we were originally booked into a hotel in Cambrils.
The hotel is situated in a good area for local shops, restaurants and the beach, which was lovely (a great water front area).
The hotel itself is somewhat dated in its style, but very clean and some of the hotel staff were friendly. The rooms were basic, but again clean, however the bathroom was a little on the small side and in need of some re-decoration.
The only down sides for us was the nightclub across the road and the hotel food.

There is a nightclub situated just down the road from the hotel, but the noise of people shouting etc at 1am to 6am wasn't great, especially over three consecutive nights and we were only there a week. We couldn't shut the patio doors to balcony as the heating would come on in the room regardless what we did to the temperature gauge. We did complain but the only option was to be changed to a room on the other side of the hotel, which guests were woken early by workmen working on a nearby hotel, so little point moving.

The hotel food was dreadful. It consisted of heated lamp food that was bland or stale and then re-served the following day. No authentic Spanish dishes which was a shame as well as very little fruit. The dining room set was unfriendly, the staff weren't much help either.

Finally, if you are planning a visit with a family, you might want to think again as the pool is too small for the size of the hotel, but then again the beach is only 5 minutes away. There is very little entertainment out of season too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Burtsie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed here for a week in July 2011. This wasn't the hotel we booked we had booked in Jamie1 but when we got there we were told that we were not booked in so our tour company had to get us another hotel. Nice hotel and the rooms are really clean. The pool was very small and not alot of people can sit around it with the sunbeds. The food was rubbish you either had beef or pork stew every night with chips. They didn't do any bar snacks at lunch we had to go out every lunch time for something to eat. Finally there was a nightclub at the end of the street called Kiss really loud between 1am to 6am you could hear everything. The apartment opposite the hotel were loud aswell you had alot of young ones drinking and doing other things at night they started about 11pm. Would not stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMANDA010473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed in the Santa Monica Playa with my boyfriend for a week 23rd July. We stayed half board.
On arrival the reception booked us in very swiftly with no problems and we went straight to our room which was on the first floor with a pool view.
The room was a twin but we pushed the beds together and was perfect size for 2 with a bath/shower room which was well set out. Balcony area had a table and chairs, ideal for sitting out on a night
Food was perfectly fine. Breakfast was either toast, cereal croissants, meats and cheese or bacon sausage beans and eggs.
Lunch had a selection of 3 or 4 meals which are all tasty, even if it looked a little different to what we are used to.
Main meals are the same as lunch really but with a chef freshly preparing something e.g., fish ,roast meats ,pasta dishes.
The room was cleaned every day and the pool area is cleaned every morning before you are allowed out. All the floors are jet washed.
After reading other reviews I can’t complain about the noise from outside, if we went to bed before midnight you could hear the entertainment by the pool area but it never kept us awake. Never heard any noise from the local bars.
Hotel location is perfect if you want to be in the centre of it all. Slightly steep hill up from the bars but it is avoidable if you walk round.
All in all a great holiday and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicki163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

my husband and i have been to this hotel a couple of times and we had a great holiday,rooms are nice and clean ,the staff are freindly ,
the hotel is situated near all the bars and shopping areas ,pool area was cleaned everyday spoilt a little by the mad rush to grab a sun bed ,people actually que up first thing in the morning to get there sunbed so i didnt bother ,but other than thata really nice holiday going back in sept this year cant wait get out of all this rain

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.2 mi away
Jaime I Hotel
Jaime I Hotel
#52 of 94 in Salou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Mediterraneo
1.1 mi away
H.TOP Molinos Park
H.TOP Molinos Park
#70 of 94 in Salou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best San Diego
Hotel Best San Diego
#47 of 94 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.1 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort II (Ex Playa Margarita)
0.3 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Ohtels Villa Dorada
#6 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Monica Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Monica Playa

Property: Santa Monica Playa
Address: Calle Falset 3, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Monica Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Santa Monica Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Playa Salou, Costa Dorada
Santa Monica Playa Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing