We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avarage hotel”
Review of Santa Monica Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Monica Playa
Ranked #61 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 23 September 2013

good points hotel is in a good location 5min from beach, staff very helpful ,free Wi-Fi, bad points rooms needs updating paint peeling, mould in bathroom,But bedding and towels are changed every other day. pool floor tiles are lifting and cracked but area is cleaned daily. Food breakfast was good but not a lot of variety lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mark1961London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Santa Monica Playa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Lovely staff, couldn't fault them at all, receptionists were so helpful, ask them for a map once you get there. The pool area was clean. Breakfast was nice, good variety although the evening meal was not great. Rooms were clean and comfortable with the air conditioning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank louisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

well where do i start ...good points...lovely looking hotel quite posh for abroad. pools nice....erm yeah thats it!!!!!! BAD POINTS.....spot the english person its full of russians there rude pushy ignorant.FOOD horrible unless u like spam in gravy!!! we were woken at 5 am each morning by gangs of russians shouting!!!! me id go back to salou but not there ever again hated it but thank god we only stayed the weekend! i consider myself to be quite chilled person i eat most things even brussel sprouts and im loud and ive stayed in really bad basic hotels but this is terrible

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rachaelwivsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was my first trip away with my son and we chose to stay in the Santa Monica Playa. The hotel staff are very friendly, I cannot fault them at all and the Kids loved the swimming pool area. That is as good as it gets, the air condition was not great in any part of the hotel, the food was poor, there was not much to choose from and the standard was not great. My biggest problem was the flood of water that ran into my bathroom every time someone in the room above took a shower. The floor was a puddle and I advised the reception staff who didn't seem bothered in the slightest. Getting to the hotel from Reus wasn't a problem the taxi ride cost around 38 euros and took about 15 mins which was fine, although the taxi on return was a lot cheaper. I will definately go to Salou again but I will choose a different hotel as I have been advised where to stay in future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tracie_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My friend and I have just come back from this hotel. Without exception, all the staff from the cleaners to the hotel managers were so very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble for them. We asked for a room over the pool which we got and were so pleased to sit on the balcony in the evening and watch all the people enjoying themselves in the pool which was a beautiful shape. Whatever we asked for was promptly delivered.

There was always a big selection of salads, meat and fish and the staff quickly fill up the trays when they are empty. My one gripe was the toaster wasn't very efficient but that was the only thing i would change.

Room Tip: Ask if you want a quiet room, receptionists helped us.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeMo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Booked flight, transfer and flight with Travel republic as have used them a couple of times before with not too much by way of problems.This time was different.there wasnt too much info on Travel republics website regarding the hotel and the transfer ( i.e mealtimes, entertainment, transfer times), so we used Tripadvisor to find out about the hotel and used various forums for the transfer times.

the fligh with monarcht was on time and straight foward ( no problem here)

The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. The food was average ( but not bad). but there was very little by way of entertainment at night. Also there isnt much English spoken here, mainly due to the nationality of the other guests ( yes i know it is a foreign country, so what else would you expect).This is more noticable when you have spent a decade going on package holidays with Thomas cook!

The flight and transfer was fom Barcelona ( not Reus airport ) as the flight was a lot cheaper and the transfer was with a2b transfers. AA/RAC route mapper said it should take 55 minutes. Various forums say 1 hour. no! 1hour 30 minutes wait for the coach and then a further 2hours to the hotel in Salou ( approx 50 mile trip).

Dont get me wrong Travel republic is great for a cheap getaway, but if you have kids, the last thing you want is a transfer time that takes longer than a trip to the airport in the UK, and the flight to Barcelona. This let down the whole holiday.

Travel republic, if your reading this, please make people aware that it could take upto 3hours 30 minutes to do a 50mile transfer in future. For anyone else who is reading this, spend an extra £75 for a private taxi or fly to Reus ( 7 miles from Salou).

Neil
Oxford

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neil201329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Overall my experience at this hotel was great. Since, I was on a business trip and was looking for just a good accommodation, where I can relax after my meetings. The place proved to be an excellent choice for that. It is an elegant hotel, very quiet and cool. The room, which I got was aesthetically appealing and are very clean and well maintained. Food was amazing and services of the staff were - the best. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
1.1 mi away
H.TOP Molinos Park
H.TOP Molinos Park
#72 of 93 in Salou
1,896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaime I Hotel
Jaime I Hotel
#52 of 93 in Salou
1,713 reviews
0.4 mi away
California Garden
California Garden
#67 of 93 in Salou
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Mediterraneo
0.1 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort II
0.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Monica Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Monica Playa

Address: Calle Falset 3, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Price Range: £36 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Monica Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Santa Monica Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Playa Salou, Costa Dorada
Santa Monica Playa Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing