We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe choice for good holiday and hotel”
Review of Las Vegas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Vegas Hotel
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Chard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Safe choice for good holiday and hotel”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Just completed a 10 day holiday – 2 adults plus for ‘older’ children – aged 21, 18, 17, 14. In summary it’s an excellent hotel and Salou suited the needs of the children ideally. To be honest the hotel suits all age groups and as long as you are not looking for a cultural holiday then I would recommend the hotel to anyone. Quite a variety of nationalities, no stag or hen groups, quite a lot of middle to more senior aged couples, not a big number of families with young children. When we’ve been on other holidays we’ve tended to look at hotels we walk past that we are not staying at with envy – this time we felt we were at the one others wanted to be at. To be more detailed the rooms are fine, the cleaning regular, and the food is absolutely fine. We did half board and there was plenty of selection for both breakfast and dinner. I would strongly recommend going for the later sitting for dinner rather than joining the large troop that appear bang on 7pm for when it opens. You are likely to be allocated the 7 pm sitting but speak kindly to the Maitre d’ on the first evening and he’ll change your time. We didn’t do a package – we booked the rooms through Alpha rooms, and the flights direct with Ryanair, and I reckon it worked out a lot cheaper than packages and meant we could choose our dates rather than being stuck with a 7, 10 or 14 day package.

So the downsides of the hotel need to be put in to perspective of it overall being a good place to stay. The biggest downside is the temperature of the pool – as in too cold. We were expecting to have a balance between being poolside and being on the beach, but we ended up abandoning staying by the pool. Haven’t seen many other comments to mention this, but was expecting it to at least be comparable to the sea. The evening entertainment, as long as it’s not raining, is located at the end of the outside balcony area of the bar. It means that only the first few sets of seats can see much of what is going on. For instance for the Flamenco show you ideally need to see the dancers feet – that was not possible for most. And for the more popular shows there is very little seating. The level of helpfulness of the reception staff is very mixed and you end up waiting to make sure you get one of the better ones. Their knowledge of local facilities is very mixed, and the tour operators’ folders are fairly basic. The actual location of the hotel is excellent for the tourist end of the town and the beach, and bus stops for tours, Tarragona, and Barcelona are very nearby. One recommendation on airport transfers – if you have a large group like we had then don’t book in advance as a lot of the taxis seat more than 4 and are a lot cheaper than the online offerings. Takes about 20 minutes. Also from a time point of view it’s well worth doing taxi rather than Plana bus or your organized transfer. For 6 of us was 31euros one way. For return home we just went down to the main taxi rank which is near the hotel a few hours before departing and agreed with one of the taxis to come and pick up at our nominated time.

Can’t see any general entries for the resort so a couple of comments on that….. Live music was quite thin on the ground – but if the Wiley Boys are playing at Christy’s then you should have a great night. It’s ranked No. 1 for nightlife for good reason. Official Tourist office has to be one of the most unhelpful places ever. Do your research before leaving home. If you want a more traditional town then Tarragona is well worth visiting by bus, and much better restaurant selection than Salou. Get lost in the little lanes near the Cathedral, but don’t plan to use the beach. Hire bicycles in Salou and ride to Cambrils on the totally flat cycle path – read the restaurant reviews for Cambrils and choose one for lunch – we did Montserrat and was excellent. Don’t bother with train to Barcelona – buses are as quick. There are lots of Plana offices trying to sell you packages – they aren’t interested in just selling normal Plana bus tickets, but you just need the normal buses to go to Barcelona. The resort is very popular with Russians and a lot of Russians work in places like ticket offices and restaurants and speak little English. It’s not a problem, just an observation. Was amazed at the quality and variety of products in the shops in Salou – really awful. Tarrangona so much better. And some things are hard to find – decent toiletries, and there are no electrical goods like cameras. Most of these negatives are small niggles, and on balance Salou is a really safe choice for a good holiday, and Las Vegas is a good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonprHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    253
    99
    27
    21
See reviews for
205
357
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Good location, service... veeery small pool but hotel is located very close to the sea, to shops)) Perfect place for short vacation. Very close to POrtAventura-) If you are going to Tarragona or another city you can use also bus. Bust station in 30 m from the hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvetlanaSvetlova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed with my wife for 2 weeks, mid August 2013. Very well located, near beaches, bars and shops. Very clean. Staff friendly and efficient. Excellent pool/s. Great rooms and communal areas and good quality evening entertainment. Food was very good, as was service. Deserves its 4 star status. Only slight downside is that the walls seem a bit thin and its easy to be kept awake by neighbours who are noisy. Very much enjoyed trips to Barcelona by coach (about an hour and a half away) and loved Tarragona (half hour away). Best tip I can give is don't bother hiring a car. Public transport is great. It is very hard to park a car in Salou. A lot of them were damaged. We were lucky enough to witness an excellent fireworks display on Salou beach. Memorable!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 87harry1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Yet another fantastic time had by all at this excellent hotel. All the staff at the hotel are so friendly and we have already booked for next year. The only problem you may experience will be getting a lounger if you do not go down early (a very common one!).Go and try it as I am sure you will love it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Las Vegas Hotel from 11-18th August, half board.

On arrival to the hotel around 7pm, we were checked in straight away and the reception staff were very friendly. Unfortunately, I had lost the keys to our suitcases and the receptionist's were very helpful in trying to get our cases open for us. They advised that the maintenance man would be around in about an hour and to go for dinner and come back to the cases when he would be around to help. We went for dinner which was okay, lots of choice and not too many people. Drinks are not included with your meals and you have to pay for them there and then, they cannot be put onto a tab on your room. After our dinner we went back to reception to sort the suitcase, by 8.30pm the maintainance guy still wasnt there so we decided to carry on trying to open the cases ourselves which we managed in the end.

The room was basic, reasonable size. The air conditioning isnt the best, but at least it is included in the price. Our room was overlooking the hotel behind which was quite a rowdy hotel but we didnt mind much. Wifi was not included in the price of the hotel, you could add this on at reception for 5euro per day or 10euro for 3 days I believe. We added it to the last 3 days of our stay for 10euros but this is only for 1 device so be aware if several people wish to use it you do have to share the usage on one device.

Breakfast is okay, with a selection of hot and cold available. Drinks are included with breakfast, both hot and cold drinks from machines.

The hotel has 3 pools, the main one with the snack bar, down the stairs is a baby pool with limited sunbeds and a medium sized pool around the side of the hotel which was a more quieter pool with again limited sunbeds. Although there are many signs around the hotel saying you cannot reserve sunbeds as the towels will be removed, this is incorrect. All guests reserve beds and the hotel do nothing about this, but if you get down to the pool early enough (9am) you are able to get a good enough bed.

No lilos are allowed in the pools which I thought was ridiculous, but balls and goggles etc are, and there is a lifeguard around the main pool between the opening hours (10-8).

The snack bar is okay, serves chips, toasties, burgers etc and your usual drinks at reasonable prices, but in the end we prefered to go out for lunch.

We discovered into the holiday that the hotel decides what time you are to eat your dinner and which table you sit at. We had the time of 7pm on table 58 which we didnt really like as we like to eat later on holiday, but we did go down to the restaurant later and they seated us at a different table.

We cannot comment on the entertainment at the hotel as we never watched it, but we did play the games around the pool a couple of times in the day which was quite fun.

The hotel has a games room which is great if families are staying at the hotel. It had many pool tables, arcade games, computers etc. All for around 1/2 euro.

The location of the hotel is great, around 15-20 mins from the airport, 5 mins from PortAventura and Caribe Waterpark, 1 min walk to the restaurants and shops and a couple mins walk to the beach.

Overall we would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, request not to be put at the back, overlooking the hotel behind, as it d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Myself at my boyfriend are just back from a weeks half board stay at the Las Vegas, we stayed from the 16th until the 23rd.

The transfer was quick, 25 minutes from the airport we were the second drop off BUT on the way back to the airport this morning we are first to be picked up so overall the whole transfer back was an hour and a half.

Check in was quick but we did need to wait 45 minutes before being allowed in our room, which wasn't a problem as we did arrive mid morning during cleaning. The large reception/lounge area was nice to sit in and have a drink, we were offered to leave our bags in the luggage room but as the wait wasn't going to be that long we just kept them with us.

Location was probably the best hotel location in Salou 2 minutes away from the beach and main strip, surrounded by plenty of restaurants, bars and shops and a great ice cream shop farggi just on the down the road from the hotel.

The hotel had 3 pool areas, one large main area at the front which was always busy and 2 smaller pools at either side of the hotel. We always managed to get a sun lounger at the 2 smaller pools without having to get up too early. It does say no reserving of sunbeds but there was towels on sunbeds all day and no one went near them and the hotel staff just left them there.

Food was OK we didn't eat in the hotel much as we had the 7pm sitting for dinner but that was too early for us. We had breakfast each morning which was great and dinner twice which was OK plenty of salad, chips, rice, pasta, veg and meats.

Rooms are lovely, very clean. We were in room 119 at the back of the holiday over looking the small pool and the street facing the santa monica holiday and christys. The first few nights were quiet but due to some noisy people in the surrounding rooms the last 3 nights were a nightmare, with little sleep. I don't mind people having fun on there holiday but music blaring well after midnight and at 6:30 in the morning.

Overall a great holiday the only downside was my partner being accused of stealing a light bulb from hotel reception area and throwing it from the balcony to the back pool. We had a card put under the door to visit reception and when we went to reception that had printed off a CCTV image of a guy carrying the light bulb through reception - myself and my partner were adamant it wasn't him as it clearly wasn't and we were out most of the night it had happened and I had noticed the glass in the pool as soon as we were back in our room that night, reception had told us it was confirmed that it was thrown from room 119 when we denied it again they investigated further and eventually apologized as they had identified the wrong person.

Loved Salou, already pricing up for 2014 might come back to this hotel again if we cant find a good all inclusive deal

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara-Louise88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Agree with cleanliness and food quality of this hotel. However if you like us are unlucky enough to get one of the rooms at the back do not expect to get any sleep for the duration of your trip. We asked to get moved but no rooms were available until more than half way through our holiday and only then at a cost! We asked for a quiet room in a quiet resort when we booked with Thomas cook and were assured this was one. Apparently it is well known that it is like two hotels depending on which room you get but this wasn't communicated to us. If you like to party until six in the morning by all means play Russian roulette as to which room you get and enjoy. If you like to sleep of a night do not go here!

Room Tip: Only book if you can guarantee a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minismum71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.6 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.8 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
1,967 reviews
1.1 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
H10 Salou Princess
H10 Salou Princess
#13 of 93 in Salou
967 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Vintage Salou
H10 Vintage Salou
#10 of 93 in Salou
1,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Delfin
H10 Delfin
#19 of 93 in Salou
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Vegas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Vegas Hotel

Property: Las Vegas Hotel
Address: Calle Alfonso V, No 7, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salou
#10 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#16 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Vegas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Las Vegas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Vegas Salou
Las Vegas Hotel Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing