We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be prepared to queue for your meals”
Review of Las Vegas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Vegas Hotel
Ranked #15 of 94 Hotels in Salou
comber
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Be prepared to queue for your meals”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I visited Las vegas hotel on 8th Sept. Hotel was very clean which is one of my top requirements ! Staff all very nice. Safe cost us 17euro for the week but I feel it was worth it to have your drinks cold. We also kept fruit in it which we had a lunch time and saved ourselves some money on eating out. Safe hire was 10Euro. Your are given a time to attend the dinning room for your dinner which I didnt like. It was always very busy, nosiey, and the poor girls who had to clear up the tables had to wheel trollies round and stand scrapping plates right beside you if they were clearing the table next to you. Very annoying when you are having your own food!!! You also had to stand in a queue with your dinner plate like school kids to be severed your dins. Apart from these points we did enjoy the hotel but wouldnt go back. Entertainment was not good .

Room Tip: If you wish to be in bed before midnight and have a good nights sleep dont get a pool or seaview roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binghamComber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    241
    91
    25
    18
See reviews for
194
334
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southwales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have just come back from a week h/b stay at The Las Vegas. We stayed 9th to 16th i e-mailed the Hotel before arriving and requested a room at the front high floor with nice view.And we certainly weren't disappointed.The room was tastefully decorated with a beautiful bathroom flat screen t.v.fixed to the wall, fridge for rent although we also found a key that opened it,so we used it for keeping our water nice & cold. The room was absolutely spotless and our maid was really friendly. The shower was one of the best we've ever had with plenty of hot water that never went hot & cold at peak using time.The checking in was quick,we found the reception staff very pleasant & helpful. Reception was very nice with beautiful mirrored doors to the toilets,& lovely comfortable seating etc; the pool areas were also spotless.We never had any trouble getting a bed no matter what time we went down. We used the main pool at the front mostly. However there was the usual bed reserving but no-one on them for hours. Why do people insist on doing this is unbelieveable,and you all know who you are. I also agree with the pool beds,rock hard & uncomfortable with no parasols for shade,although we always went the shady end where the sun never came around till about three.I bought a lilo to put on mine much more comfortable!! The pool was lovely starts off really shallow then gets deeper good for me being a poor swimmer. Although there was a young lady who dived in the shallow end and hit her face on the bottom resulting having to be taken off to Hospital. Wasn't too badly hurt,but bad enough to mar her holiday. We were given the 7pm sitting for dinner with allocated table 48. Would have been nice to have had a choice of time to eat and table.Sitting in the middle of complete strangers can be very uncomfortable especially if you don't speak their language or them yours.The queuing for main course was absolutely horrendous,it was like being in a school canteen. I skipped main meal a few times because of the queueing. Food was a bit hit & miss for me but salads & soups were wonderful. Clientele were mainly,German,Russian,who were the most ignorant people on the universe,Dutch & others whose accents i couldn't make out. We met some lovely Dutch people though. It was lovely to speak to some Irish ladies & a welsh couple who have been going there for the last 16yrs Joan & Eric. Not forgetting Sean the line dancing teacher lol.We were in room 510 top floor end of corridor with no-one to the left of us or above.But the people in 509 made up for that......The noise they made in the mornings early evenings & at night was unbelieveable they allowed the kids to run up & down the corridor screaming & shouting.And would then have the cheek to put the do not disturb sign on the door,so inconsiderate honestly.The walls are rather thin but we couldn't hear anyone else just them,nearly phoned down to reception a couple of times but decided on earplugs instead. Anyway apart from those few downs it was the most comfortable stay in a perfect location we would definitely go back to this Hotel. Thank you all for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: At the front high floor end of corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welshlady68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We booked our hotel and flights independently. On arrival the hotel had no record of our booking, resulting in 15 minutes of the staff looking at our paperwork and ringing the booking agent, but offering us no information or reassurance. We spent this whole period worrying about whether there was even a room for us. We found the reception staff pretty rude, they never looked you in the eye. Not a good first impression. Then we were asked to pay extra for nternet connection, not what we expect from a 4* hotel! Luckily there was a room for us, but we didn't get our requested preference of a Room on a high floor and pool view, presumably as they never had our booking. Unfortunately for us we were at the back of the hotel, overlooking an ugly hotel with wads of toilet paper stuck all over it!

The room is pretty basic, the beds are hard, and the Walls are thin, so you can only pray you dont have noisy neighbours.

The reason I titled this style over substance is because the communal areas of the hotel look really nice, but the sun loungers are rock hard and totally uncomfortable. I saw a lady on a Lilo on the lounger, a good idea! Or like us, choose to sit on the terrace chairs which have cushions. Or go down to the beach which is so close and the sea was warmer than the freezing swimming pool anyway!

We stayed half board but only ate in the hotel 2 evenings, we didn't like the canteen feel. It isn't a pleasurable eating experience and the food options were hit and miss, it had a good salad bar though. They have an early and late dinner slot, we were given 8.30. But i dont know how strict it is as we didn't go bang on the time and were usually a little earlier, which was never a problem. However, the restaurant staff like the reception staff were rude. The main man took our room key and just threw it down on a table. The breakfast selection was ok. I imagine the restaurant and pool areas get very busy in peak season but weren't too bad in September.

The bar was pretty expensive. We did bring some food and drinks in with us from nearby shops and no one noticed. We just kept them in our bag and weren't obvious about it. The location of this hotel is really good and it does look a lot nicer than many others in the area.

The entertainment staff were friendly, but we didn't take part in any of it so I can't comment on that.

On checkout day we used the luggage room and shower room, which was great for us. However, as with everything at this hotel there was an extra charge for towels for the shower room. The service and extra charges at this hotel are not fitting of a 4*.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MidgetGem1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Had the best holiday but unfortunately that was nothing to do with this hotel. We had an AWFUL stay in June. We got a room with a view of a tree with the dirty street behind it. We are a couple in our mid twenties the hotel was full of 60+ year olds and people that go to the same hotel every year. We felt intimidated by these people walking around like the hotel was theirs, pushing past and being generally rude. Treated us like dirt. The amount of rules in the hotel spoiled any kind of fun you might have. No inflatables in the pool, I can't swim so I couldn't go in. No swimwear in the hotel, so if youre sunbathing and need to loo you need to get fully dressed each time. Dinner is at an exact time you can't be late, assigned seating so you can't sit where u want. We are the least fussiest people we've stayed in hostels and not complained but this hotel was dreadful. It was stunning to look at but everyone in it were just horrible. Will never go back. You know it's not good when you're planning your review whilst still on your holiday!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannahmclarnon2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Just back from here after a weeks stay half board. hotel is in a great location. close to beach, pubs, restaurants, shops etc. we were at the back of the hotel which was quite noisy and didn't get much sun but for all the time we were in the room, and by the time we get back at night the noise didn't bother us.
when we walked in it was really nice. rooms very clean, quiet hotel. 3 pools to choose from, one round the side is nice and quiet.
food at restaurant was average. eat in 2 nights but eat out every other night. I would recommend the Guinness tavern just up the road for food it was great. Also Christys Irish Bar just up round the corner was great at night. went here every night.
would definitely come back here again. great for the price we paid and very central.

Room Tip: preferably if your looking for not much noise, ask for a front room. main pool during day has games...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joj_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very clean and close to everything. Food was excellent very friendly staff can't wait to go back.only 15 minutes from airport. Went to Barcelona for a day only €15 return this was a great holiday and would recommend it to young and old brilliant for family's loads to do and not expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Just completed a 10 day holiday – 2 adults plus for ‘older’ children – aged 21, 18, 17, 14. In summary it’s an excellent hotel and Salou suited the needs of the children ideally. To be honest the hotel suits all age groups and as long as you are not looking for a cultural holiday then I would recommend the hotel to anyone. Quite a variety of nationalities, no stag or hen groups, quite a lot of middle to more senior aged couples, not a big number of families with young children. When we’ve been on other holidays we’ve tended to look at hotels we walk past that we are not staying at with envy – this time we felt we were at the one others wanted to be at. To be more detailed the rooms are fine, the cleaning regular, and the food is absolutely fine. We did half board and there was plenty of selection for both breakfast and dinner. I would strongly recommend going for the later sitting for dinner rather than joining the large troop that appear bang on 7pm for when it opens. You are likely to be allocated the 7 pm sitting but speak kindly to the Maitre d’ on the first evening and he’ll change your time. We didn’t do a package – we booked the rooms through Alpha rooms, and the flights direct with Ryanair, and I reckon it worked out a lot cheaper than packages and meant we could choose our dates rather than being stuck with a 7, 10 or 14 day package.

So the downsides of the hotel need to be put in to perspective of it overall being a good place to stay. The biggest downside is the temperature of the pool – as in too cold. We were expecting to have a balance between being poolside and being on the beach, but we ended up abandoning staying by the pool. Haven’t seen many other comments to mention this, but was expecting it to at least be comparable to the sea. The evening entertainment, as long as it’s not raining, is located at the end of the outside balcony area of the bar. It means that only the first few sets of seats can see much of what is going on. For instance for the Flamenco show you ideally need to see the dancers feet – that was not possible for most. And for the more popular shows there is very little seating. The level of helpfulness of the reception staff is very mixed and you end up waiting to make sure you get one of the better ones. Their knowledge of local facilities is very mixed, and the tour operators’ folders are fairly basic. The actual location of the hotel is excellent for the tourist end of the town and the beach, and bus stops for tours, Tarragona, and Barcelona are very nearby. One recommendation on airport transfers – if you have a large group like we had then don’t book in advance as a lot of the taxis seat more than 4 and are a lot cheaper than the online offerings. Takes about 20 minutes. Also from a time point of view it’s well worth doing taxi rather than Plana bus or your organized transfer. For 6 of us was 31euros one way. For return home we just went down to the main taxi rank which is near the hotel a few hours before departing and agreed with one of the taxis to come and pick up at our nominated time.

Can’t see any general entries for the resort so a couple of comments on that….. Live music was quite thin on the ground – but if the Wiley Boys are playing at Christy’s then you should have a great night. It’s ranked No. 1 for nightlife for good reason. Official Tourist office has to be one of the most unhelpful places ever. Do your research before leaving home. If you want a more traditional town then Tarragona is well worth visiting by bus, and much better restaurant selection than Salou. Get lost in the little lanes near the Cathedral, but don’t plan to use the beach. Hire bicycles in Salou and ride to Cambrils on the totally flat cycle path – read the restaurant reviews for Cambrils and choose one for lunch – we did Montserrat and was excellent. Don’t bother with train to Barcelona – buses are as quick. There are lots of Plana offices trying to sell you packages – they aren’t interested in just selling normal Plana bus tickets, but you just need the normal buses to go to Barcelona. The resort is very popular with Russians and a lot of Russians work in places like ticket offices and restaurants and speak little English. It’s not a problem, just an observation. Was amazed at the quality and variety of products in the shops in Salou – really awful. Tarrangona so much better. And some things are hard to find – decent toiletries, and there are no electrical goods like cameras. Most of these negatives are small niggles, and on balance Salou is a really safe choice for a good holiday, and Las Vegas is a good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonprHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.6 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.1 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.3 mi away
H10 Salou Princess
H10 Salou Princess
#14 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
4R Playa Park
4R Playa Park
#12 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Delfin
H10 Delfin
#18 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Vegas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Vegas Hotel

Property: Las Vegas Hotel
Address: Calle Alfonso V, No 7, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salou
#9 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#16 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Vegas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Las Vegas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Vegas Salou
Las Vegas Hotel Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing