We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PortAventura Hotel Caribe
Nearby Hotels
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre(Salou)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sol Costa Daurada(Salou)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace(Salou)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,496)
Filter reviews
2,496 results
Traveller rating
587
913
579
245
172
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
587
913
579
245
172
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstheme parkwater parksandy poolclub san juanartificial beachhalf boardfree trainla piazzadine around optionevery nightunlimited accesstime slotiron horseport aventurael pasothe sofa bedbuffet restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
452 - 457 of 2,496 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is the most relaxing of the Portaventura hotels by far and even though we only had 7 nights here in September 2012, the hotel helped the holiday to be a relaxing one. Staying in the others would have been too close to the action or too themed and this hotel enabled you to enjoy the laid back atmosphere. We stayed by the sandy bottomed pool when we were not in the theme park or water park and it helped our daughter (then 2 and 11 months) to have a non-slippery surface to build up her water confidence. Very close to the park - we walked most days. Food was ok but not sure the quality or variety constituted 4*. Salou was within easy walking distance and we hired bikes to take an hours ride out of Salou to see some other beaches. Relaxing holiday with enough variety provided by Portaventura parks which we thought were very well done. Hotel ok but wouldn't stand alone as a 4* without the park entrances included.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one week in September booked with Thomas Cook (PortAventura and waterpark tickets with unlimited access included for the whole week!)). Asked for a room on the top floor and was given a block in the corner a nice room on the top floor. The room itself is very basic. double bed, bathroom, bathroom and balcony; also has a safe in the cupboard. Very nice and quiet on all days that I stayed there, although the last couple of days we were woken up by suitcases moving outside the room (People leaving and its a tiled floor!).
Room was cleaned daily and never had any problems with the cleaners. Reception staff are very polite and were able to help us with any questions and/or directions.

The pool is lovely - on one side (closest to our block) had a sand (I want to say "coastline Caribbean?") and sand in the water so looked like a small beach! Lovely water that was nice and clean. The other pool similar, but without the sand and went around in a large circle. There is an indoor pool as well for when the outdoor pools are closed, but the indoor pool opening times were limited. There are also two jacuzzi's inside, which were tiny and full whenever we looked - No worries for us though as we spent the evenings relaxing in our room.

Food was OK - We had half board accomodation booked which included breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is the typical continental breakfast which bacon, scrambled egg, toast, croissant, cheese etc and was the same every day. When something ran out it was swiftly replaced with a newly cooked food. (Will advise you to stay away from the coffee machine - Stick to the fruit juice instead!). Passes are given with times for Breakfast which you can choose at check in.

Dinner dishes changed every night. There were the usual food there such as chicken and chips, but they tried to do something new every night. First couple of nights we had a great tasting dinner but for some reason it slowly went downhill during the week (Not sure if this is because it got quieter?). Dinner was adequate and filled us up every night. We brought an average of three drinks at dinner and the cost of drinks was less than 5 euro.

The hotel has transport to the Salou beach completely free. There is a list of times outside of the coach that runs to the beach. Doesn't take very long to get their by bus, and the walk only took 20 minutes. There is also a little train to the PortAventura theme park which is every 10 minutes. The park is literally round the corner anyway so it could be an easy walk! The park has lots of rides and it is like walking around the world! Lots of different themed sections (China, Mexico, Wild West and a few others!) with a big ride in each section with plenty of little rides.

As booking through Thomas Cook we were able to book a Barcelona tour. Coach arrived at 11am and we returned home probably just before midnight. I think the cost of this was 60 Euro PP (Or close to that!). We were given a driven tour around Barcelona and visited the Nou Camp, gaudi cathedral, Olympic stadium, Las Ramblas and the Fountains. Overall a great day well spent and we had a lovely coach tour guide.

Wish we had found out earlier, but there is a Mercadona about 10 minute walk away toward the right of the hotel if you are looking at it from the front (Follow the main road) which made it easier to buy snacks/drinks.

Would definitely love to visit again one day - I hope I've included everything.. but would be happy to answer any questions if anyone has any!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I went to Spain in the year of 2008 for 2 weeks with my family.
The hotel is all family oriented and we chose this hotel because it offered 2 weeks of free entrance to the PortAventura adventure park and also the water park, which is amazing for families with children.
The hotel offered several outside and inside pools, but sadly the beach was quite far away ( not connected to the hotel). They served breakfast, lunch and dinner and had a huge variety of foods ( the drinks had to be paid for seperately). The room was cleaned daily and we never had any problems with the cleaning.

I would definetely recommend this hotel for families only ( not couples ) because in many ways such as the adventure park, children activities on the hotel grounds, it is family oriented and your kids would definetely enjoy the amazing experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Caribe for a week in July, it was me and my 2 boys, of 5 and 14. The hotel is near to the airport, so short transfers, and although we were aware of planes overhead from time to time it wasn't excessive.
The hotel itself is very nice, clean and well done.
The only annoyance was that we had got the 5am flight from Gatwick, arrived at the Hotel at around 10am, and were then told you couldn't get into the rooms until 3pm. We checked in and left our bags in a luggage room and went to explore the theme park. By 2pm I had 2 very hot, tired, and grumpy boys, so we went back a bit early and luckily the room was ready and we were able to get in. Both boys then had a 3 hour siesta before dinner.
A later flight time would have suited us a lot better, as well as the other families we met a check-in who had the same problem.
Our room was comfortable and was perfect for the 3 of us. It overlooked the pool which was a lovely view.
The pool is done up like a Carribean beach, and w as very well done. We spent a couple of full days around the pool and it really made us feel like we`d had a beach holiday, rather than in a theme park. We saw a couple of the other hotels and if we went again I would choose the Caribe again for this reason.
We went half-board and were very impressed with the Caribe`s self-service restaurant. There was loads of choice, with different dishes everyday, lots for the kids, and also a couple of theme nights, too. We had intended to do the Dine-Around and try restaurants in the parks and other hotels but didn't bother as it was so good there and right on our doorstep.
When we checked in we were given passes for breakfast and dinner with allocated time slots. After the first day of setting my alarm to be down for breakfast at 8am we decided that wasn't for us and we went to reception and changed them, and they were fine with us switching to a later time.
There is a free train that goes from outside the Hotel to the theme park and takes 5 minutes. One evening we went to see the fireworks and the train had stopped running so we walked, and it only took 10 minutes, so not bad at all.
The park itself is really good, good variety of rides and something for everyone. The shows are worth watching, we particularly enjoyed Music Generation and the boys liked the cowboys even though they didn't understand the Spanish narration.
The theme of the park is a Mediterranean village, and in the evening when the port is lit up you could be in a little Spanish village, it's very pretty. The parade is a bit rubbish and not worth keeping the kids up for - it's definitely not Disney. The fireworks were good though, as was the show on the lake at the end of the day, where they had huge lit-up inflatables representing the 4 areas of the theme park.
Whilst there we did the Ultimate Barcelona full day trip through Thomas Cook. We were picked up from the Hotel at 11am and returned at about 11pm. It was a really good trip and covered the Camp Nou, Barcelona Olympic Stadium, Sagrada Familia, free time in Las Ramblas, and the fountains at Monjuric. It was a fantastic day and well worth doing while you're so close to Barcelona.
We had a brilliant week at the Caribe and we would definitely return again, it's the perfect mix of family fun and relaxation.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
7  Thank jamesdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Big, cleaned room.
Breakfast and dinner was good.

Cleaned and well maintained outdoor pool and indoor pool.
A free train takes you from the hotel to PortAventura. This train is running every 10 mins which was good. :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alexandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews