We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Club San Juan is great. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel Caribe
Ranked #38 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Club San Juan is great. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

1 star missing for the fact that exclusive check in not available when we arrived at 11.00 pm. Check this with them if arriving late. Otherwise it's excellent. From the website, I couldn't really see the value in the extra cost, but we booked it anyway to get the bigger room. However, there was a lot of value... express passes for port aventura (life's too short to Q for a ride for 2 hours). Private pool (kids used this in AM and PM, while we relaxed after breakfast and before dinner), private breakfast buffet, express check in on arrival (you can be queuing for 45 mins or more at check in), free prosecco every night, very large room. Worth the extra, especially if you have pre-teen or early teen kids.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank clarkeswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    758
    465
    179
    136
See reviews for
1,224
439
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

we stayed in end may/beginning june 14 for 2 weeks. it's our fourth visit to the resort and we've stayed at the port aventura hotel and and the el paso so we thought we'd try the caribe this time. the room was pleasant but the bathroom tile grouting and shampoo dispensers were quite dirty and i reported this. the walls are thin but it's not too noisy unless someone next door is actually being noisy, we couldn't hear general things like conversation or people showering.
we loved our stay, food great, staff friendly at reception and in restaurant etc. land train guy to theme park was really lovely. the only downside and it's a bit of a nitpick, is that one afternoon it rained and we went to the indoor pool. at the point where we'd signed in, got our towels, got changed into our swimming costumes and were actually poolside, we were told we needed swimming caps. they cost 4 euros per person. We weren't too happy about that cost but asked if we could buy some and were informed we'd have to get dressed and go up to the main hotel reception area to purchase them and come back. it would have made more sense to have them at the reception desk in the swimming pool building. other than that, no complaints at all and having stayed at all three hotels, we'd book back up for this one. just a tip about the pool too, no inflatables or balls allowed. We love Port Aventura!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lcdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Icdurham. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience at PortAventura was less than what you expected. We understand from your reported that your visit to the park was not as it should have been due to thehappening at the swimmingpool. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions. Best regards, PortAventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here beginning of June for one week. The grounds were absolutely gorgeous and definitely looked Caribbean, even had its own beach by the pool. The rooms are quite basic but adequate, free safe and fridge. The main problem was the paper thin walls, you can hear every single noise even to the extreme of people going to the toilet ! We were on the first floor so were in the middle of the other two floors.when someone had a shower it sounded like the water was coming down the walls. The beds were clean and comfortable. Moving on to the food, we were half board, we had breakfast and dinner. The food was really nice, plenty of choice every day, the only thing is it wasn't very hot unless you happened to pass by when new trays were getting put out. The fresh fruit was superb, so sweet and juicy. Despite our problems would still probably return at some point.

Room Tip: Try and get a top floor room so you aren't totally surrounded by noise !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have never complained about a hotel on trip advisor but felt I needed to let other holiday makers know the problems with the hotel before they paid and arrived. I had read the other complaints but thought the guests were being over the top perhaps = but no.

The problem with this hotel is not the outside - the pools are excellent, the best i have seen, IT IS INSIDE THE HOTEL. The rooms are very small even to move around without bumping into each other - the rooms are very noisy, you can hear every noise all through the night and your sleep will be disrupted.

THE BEDS - the worst beds I have ever encountered in a hotel anywhere - one is a fold up sofa bed with the springs collapsed in the middle!!

the bath tile grouting was covered in dark mould

The sink - on arrival to the room we decided to wash our faces and go for dinner, however the u-bend pipe under the sink burst flooding the bathroom - we were not allowedinto the room for two hours while a technician was trying to fix it!

Reception - When booking tickets to the Waterpark I was OVERCHARGED BY THE RECEPTIONIST BY £19 FOR A 3 YEAR OLD CHILD WHO DID NOT NEED TO PAY - THEY WOULD HAVE KNOWN THIS AS THEY SELL THE TICKETS DIRECTLY TO THEIR GUESTS EVERYDAY.

Based on the amount of money I paid, i will not return to this hotel and will try a different provider.

please note i am not a person who complains very much at all but felt people should read before booking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Delstaceyrory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Delstaceyrory, We truly regret that your stay at Hotel Gold River didn’t meet your expectations. We understand from your reported that your visit to the park was not as it should have been due to the quality of our rooms and the customer service received. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We take your comment in consideration in order to improve our job and be able to offer you a more satisfying service next time. Thank you very much your comments around.Best regards, PortAventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for one week at the end of May with family.

Room was clean, towels changed daily and there was a large balcony, flat screen tv, a free safe and fridge. The only negative is that the walls are so thin that you can hear noise from surrounding rooms - would recommend requesting a top floor room!

The grounds were lovely, there was a lake, fountains and a sandy beach surrounding the pools. There was plenty of sun loungers and lifeguards were present all day. The water was warm and safe for the kids as it gradually got deeper.

We had to choose a time slot for breakfast - this meant that the dining room was never overcrowded, however it was often very noisy as there were large groups of school children staying at the hotel. We ate outside on several occasions. As a party of 7 the female staff were always happy to push 2 tables together for us to eat together outside, however their was one male member of staff who when we asked to eat outside his response was 'no' even though there were other people eating outside and there was plenty of empty tables - he obviously could not be bothered to push 2 tables together for us!! As a fussy eater there was always something to eat and the food was nice, also in the evening water is provided free of charge with your meal (water machine where you can help yourself) which you do not get in many Spanish hotels.

We booked with JET 2 and received free unlimited entry into Portaventura and also the water park. The hotel provided a free road train every 10 mins or so to take u to and from these places.

We had a great holiday and would stay again at this hotel in the future!

Room Tip: Request a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marie2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Ideal location for the water park and theme park and only a 10 minute stroll into Salou. The hotel is set in lovely grounds with a Caribbean feel with two clean and child friendly pools. From the outside the rooms look inviting, but once inside they are certainly not 4*. They are old and out dated, with limited storage space for a family. The walls are paper thin, the floors didn't ever seem to be cleaned and the sofa bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable. However, this was the only downside as the restaurant meals were excellent, with plenty of English and continental choices and the hotel and eating areas are spotlessly clean with a lovely lakeside sitting area outside. Theme park was excellent and not too busy which was an added bonus. Kids also loved the fact that there was free wi fi in the rooms! The staff are friendly and helpful but no-one is ever in a hurry, so be patient. Overall, a great hotel but a lick of paint and a bottle of bleach wouldn't go a miss.

Room Tip: Higher floor - less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kazstott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Kazstott. We truly regret that your experience in Hotel Portaventura wasn’t fully pleasant. We regret that our facilities didn’t meet your expectations as are one of our main priorities. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions. Regards, PortAventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We booked this 6 day holiday via Jet 2 holidays and flew from LBA for the first time into Barcelona airport. I requested a higher floor room via the PortAventura website which was a waste of time as we were allocated a ground floor room. The hotel bedrooms are adequate but loads of scuff marks all over the walls. Cleaning was an issue towards the end of our break and my wife contacted reception and also spoke to the hotel manager twice before it was resolved! This however was the only downside to the trip apart from the weather. The hotel is only a five minute stroll from the park and if the road train is not outside the hotel you could beat it by walking. The hotel is also in a great spot for a stroll into Salou again only 5 minutes. The park and water park were both fantastic attractions and great as the weather wasn't the best. We were on half board and food was great apart from kids meals did consist of burgers, hotdogs and chicken which repeated itself. It's that good we have booked again to return for a week in July 14. There is a bar on the way down to the beach in Salou where you can get paint for 1.50Euros called The Fox and Hounds located opposite Delphin Park Hotel.

Room Tip: I would advise everyone to request a higher floor room due to ant issue and noise from rooms above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAFC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Caribe, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear SAFC69. We truly regret that your experience in Hotel Caribe wasn’t fully pleasant. We regret that our cleaning service didn’t meet your expectations as is one of our main priorities. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions. We look forward to see you again. Regards, PortAventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
0.6 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
0.3 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.9 mi away
Ona Jardines Paraisol
Ona Jardines Paraisol
#42 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel Caribe

Property: PortAventura Hotel Caribe
Address: Rambla del Parc s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, come to an oasis of peace where you do not have to lift a finger for yourself, providing you with the opportunity to recover some of the adrenaline expended in PortAventura Park. Enjoy the serenity, white sands and freshwater of one of Europe's largest man-made beaches, surrounded by palms and exotic gardens that will transport you to a faraway tropical island. Become acquainted with this magnificent 4-star resort, a perfect combination of fun, sun, beach and tranquillity at the heart of the Costa Dorada. Complete the experience with an ample choice of gastronomic delights, unlimited access to the PortAventura theme park with admission included throughout your stay, and an extensive programme of sporting activities with special offers and rates available at associated golf courses. Visit the Wellness Centre & Spa, where you will be looked after and spoiled, making your holiday the ideal opportunity to restore energy and vitality. So what are you waiting for? Grab your sun lounger and dedicate your holidays to peaceful relaxation and enjoyment. Let yourself drift away and take it easy, with direct access to one of the best theme parks in Europe. In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortAventura Hotel Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribe Resort
Caribe Hotel Salou
Hotel Caribe Salou
PortAventura Hotel Caribe Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing