We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel Caribe
Ranked #38 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 28 July 2014

went to this hotel in june and had a fabulous holiday Ive read some of the negative reviews and it does put u off a bit ,but I went with an open mind and was pleasantly surprised.The rooms were lovely and clean with maid service every day .The food was really good and a cut above the food we,ve had in other hotels..We had free park tickets which we used every day and would have worked out pretty expensive if we had to buy them The theme park is amazing as is the water park which you have to pay for but worth a visit.The hotel itself is really lovely however there area few small things like there,s always a queue in reception and they do play the same cd every day but they re such little things that I wouldn't let it spoil my holiday .Another little piece of information if you go to the magic show in the wild west part of the theme park adults have to buy a drink even if its only water so in theory your paying to watch it ,but still worth a look.All things considered if your thinking of going here and have read some bad things about it please give it a try this was one of the best holidays we,ve had in several years, if you like theme parks its a dream come true and even if you don t theres something for everyone

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulawoodford7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 2,435 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Right I will start with the positives - the hotel is in an excellent location, within easy walking distance to the beach and the theme park (although there is a free train to the park regularly). The hotel grounds are beautiful, the rooms are clean and the food really is very good. Most of the staff are very friendly although one or two appear a little abrupt.

The negatives - we are a family of 4 (kids, 15 and 12). Our room has 2 single beds pushed together and a rather small sofa bed. This is not ideal, we have ended up on the sofa bed as it's too small for our kids (if it had been a bit bigger it wouldn't have been a problem). We spoke to another family whose room had 2 double beds, this would have been preferable. There is hardly any storage space in the room - not a single drawer. All our clothes are on shelves in the wardrobe and all the extra stuff (hats, sunglasses, chargers, etc are in a case). We are still here at the moment and had a bar of soap when we arrived - almost 2 weeks later, still the same very small bar and the shampoo and shower gel is almost finished, it has never been topped up. I am sure they will if we ask them, but really we shouldn't need to.

Our balcony has a table and 2 chairs (there is one chair in the room, so a total of 3 for a family of 4). The balcony however has a very nice view of the theme park and the pool.

Pool towels are available from reception for a deposit of a staggering €15 each. Obviously we will get the deposit back but it's still not ideal, and having to get them from the reception is just a hassle. The reception has two areas, one for check-in and further along 'guest services'. They are all very helpful but sometimes the queue is ridiculous! You want to make a dinner reservation elsewhere - go to reception. You want pool towels - go to reception. You want an appointment for the spa - go to reception. You need to hand back pool towels - to to reception (you get the idea??!).

There is a dine around option which is very good - instead of eating at the buffet every night you can get vouchers (from reception!) to use elsewhere (can also be used in various park restaurants). You get €22 per adult and €11 per child and it can be used for drinks as well - we have used these several times and it's really a nice change.

Back to the negatives - the music ..... Aargh!! We are so sick of the same cd!!! They play the same music all day every day, everywhere! Even at breakfast sometimes!! I have never disliked UB40 so much! My hubby mentioned to one of the staff at the Tapas restaurant that it was driving us mad and the next day it had changed! However, the following day - back to the same. Please please change this!!

We bought unlimited fast pass wristbands at a cost of €54 each, although it's quite a lot it is definitely worth it - we have hardly had to queue for anything at the park and some of the rides have a 2 hour wait! These wristbands are only available to hotel guests, the alternative bands for everyone else are only valid for one day (ours can be used for our whole holiday).

We went for a day trip to Barcelona on the train which can be caught at the very close Port Aventura station. It cost €8.80 each way which was much much cheaper that the various trips on offer from the holiday reps (who tried their best to put us off going by train!?). It was fairly simple and we enjoyed doing our own thing there. Timetables are available from reception.

To summarise - this hotel really isn't that bad but it could be so so much better with a few small changes. It is not close to a 4 star but really could be if only they would take notice of these reviews instead of just apologising for things not being up to scratch. Would we stay here again, probably not, but despite all this we are enjoying our holiday. Honest!!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room, the walls are thin and at least there is no one walking around upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank glenngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Glenngal. We truly regret that your experience at Hotel Caribe of our hotels wasn’t fully pleasant. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience was less than what you expected. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We have noted your comments as they will allow us to improve our services and we will make sure you have a nice experience next time. Best regards, PortAventura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed last week at hotel caribe .hotel lovelyan clean rooms clean .food wasnt up to much same stuff every night an always cold .This hotel only has 3 songs an they play them by pool from morning till midnight i neArly threw speakers in pool .If u book here please do not waste your money on the dolphin experienc its a big rip off an awful then the rep in reception lucy promises to look into it but doesnt get bsck to ye .Theme park greAt but expensive .we had free passes for park but spent 250 euros on 5 fast track ones or theres a long wait .Nice holiday but deffo needs a few things looking at .

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Jaymaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This is my 4th visit to Portaventura staying at the Caribe for the second time this year. I have to say a big thank you to Ricard for arranging for us to stay in the sane room as last year. All the staff are very helpful and in particular Katza I think it was who helped me when booking dinner for the different restaurants you can use. The hotel grounds are stunning and kept well. The food at the Buffet is very nice but having the opportunity to use restaurants where you are served helps break the Buffet style approach . Rooms are clean but this would be my only feedback where I think the hotel needs to improve. An overhaul would really bring this hotel up to a much higher rating in my mind. I did get a chance to speak to the hotel manager briefly and gave her positive feedback. Overall another very good experience where Ricard and his team were heats coupled with us again meeting some great people.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ste713g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just got back from a weeks hoilday half board at Hotel craibe. The grounds and pools were beautiful, clean and plenty of sun beds, great location 10 min walk from PortAventura,also 15 min walk to salou beach.
Great choice of food but it was all luke warm. Drinks expensive. Supermarket 10 mins away to get snacks and drinks so much cheaper.
Rooms were clean, bed comfortable, but very very thin walls, you could hear everything, especially people walking around in their shoes.
played reggae music all around the complex from 9am to 11pm, the same tracks over and over again, drove us nuts.

Theme park brilliant, water park very good but small, not allowed to wear goggles or sunglasses in the pool.

Overall a beautiful spacious clean hotel with own sandy beach, staff helpful, great location, only thing that lets this hotel down is the very thin walls. Weather was brilliant - hot and sunny.

Room Tip: Ground floor if got younger kids or high floor for more peace and quiet - no one walking above you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chelsea123401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel claims it's a 4-star resort within the PortAventura amusement park grounds. I traveled with my husband and two young sons for the weekend as we live here in Spain.

I'll state the good first: the level of service from the front desk and bell personnel are outstanding. The lobby, hotel grounds are clean and very family friendly. Our boys loved the large pools and man-made beach. breakfast was included with the cost of the hotel and was decent breakfast buffet food.

One thing that one cannot overlook is where we lay our heads down to sleep. The actual guest rooms are in block buildings of 3 floors in what we call in the US a motel (open air) not a hotel (enclosed). Our room was on the 2 floor. The room is very dated-- Can anyone say "HotTub Time Machine"?? I'm sure this room rocked in the 80s, but now it is in a sad state. The beds were hard and I can feel every spring on my back. The pillows were stained and having a new pillow case over them doesn't cover the fact that it's disgusting. I actually slept with my own beach towel on top in fear of bedbugs. The covering blanket for the pull-out bed was stained with what looked like someone blew their bloody nose in it! The bedspread is old and gray/dingy looking. The grout in the bathroom was moldy, among other issues. basically I would completely remodel the entire room! And did I mention how thin the walls are? I could hear a woman getting ready next door and how many steps it took her from washroom to dressing area... It felt like she was in the room with us!

All the negative notables of the room itself take away all the positives of the place. The room is where we rest, clean-up to enjoy our vacation. I wasn't expecting the Ritz, but was expecting a level of customer service and quality to the guest rooms to equal the high price and star rating of this hotel.

I would not recommend this place unless a major overhaul to remodel the guest rooms.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Oye_Vero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Vcmittino: We are very disappointed to hear that your experience at PortAventura Hotel Caribe was less than what you expected. We understand from your review that your visit to the park was not as it should have been due to the quality/maintenance of our rooms, as well as the cleaning service.
Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions. Best regards, PortAventura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week staying at the Hotel Caribe (4 Star) on the PortAventura complex. We stayed from Friday 11th - Friday 18th July as a couple (21 year olds).

After reading reviews previous to flying out to our destination here on TripAdvisor we were a little worried that the hotel wasn't going to live up to the pictures and description given by Thomson. However, once we arrived we were more than happy with our stay, experience and holiday. There were only minor flaws with the hotel and there was nothing that would affect or ruin your holiday.

To get it out of the way, the main and only real flaw we found with the hotel was that when we arrived at around 11am, we had to wait over 1h 20mins to check in. Was a ridiculous long time to wait considering there were only around 8 families in front of us in the queue. We began getting quite hot a bothered waiting around with luggage to then be told after waiting that long that we had to return at 3pm to collect our room key as our room wasn't ready.

In all honesty, we found that it was where a lot of families were asking questions regarding park tickets and times ect. and from all different nationalities. (Found that the English were speedy through check-in at around 5-10 mins each but other European nationalities took their time and asked a lot of questions at around 20-25 mins each).

However, we left our luggage with the bell-boys and headed down to the pool to sunbathe until around 2:30pm. We returned to check-in and our room was ready.

We stayed in a Ground Floor room next to Club San Juan (804) with little noise and very spacious and clean. Only flaw was that we had two single beds rather than one king size bed which was expected. Wasn't a hassle really as we just pushed them together and from then on the maids made our bed like that. No issued with the room at all.

The pools were both lovely. The larger pool a sand pool and the other a regular pool that flowed under footbridges and around a pool bar. We spent the majority of any time around pools at the sand pool as there was more sun. No fight for sunbeds and lovely
refreshing water.
The grounds are very picturesque covered in Palm trees, lakes and flowers.

Food wise there is a large buffet with a selection if fruits, nuts, salads and puddings each day followed buy a long row of hot food served and changed every 30 mins or when it's empty. Some of the foods are repetitive but only through popular demand.
Breakfast has a great variety and by far the best meal.

PortAventura theme park was excellent. We purchased Fast-Track wristbands for the entire week which was only €54 each. WELL WORTH PAYING FOR! Longest we waited was 10 minutes for 'Sea Odessey' which has no fast-track entrance. Never waited longer than 5 mins for any others and went on the front of every ride a few times.
We went into the park every night as it is open until midnight and enjoyed the fireworks at the end.

Costa Caribe AquaPark - NOT INCLUDED IN YOUR STAY.
Although you get discount and is only €20 each per adult, as we were staying in the Caribe Hotel we expected this included. However, great park, Great lazy river and free fall slide. Be prepared to pay a lot for food and lockers. Take around €40 minimum.

Went to Barcelona Camp Nou & Zoo trip on the Wednesday.
Fantastic Day out with loads to do, great experience and worth every penny. The guide is English to which you will be grateful for!
Very knowledgable guide telling us all about the history of the towns and telling us about landmarks.
Zoo is good but very large. Dolphin show and sea lion shows both good but in Spanish.

Jacuzzi and Saunas' are brilliant, use them...Their FREE!

Salou beach is a little over a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Lots of little souvenirs shops and great beach. Caught the best of our tan here and lots of water sports!

The only thing you will find here is that the Spanish public come across a little rude. For example, pushing in front in queues at parks with all their friends, barging past you when walking around and cutting you up. They don't apologise. Also, when in the theme park the ride operators/ staff can be quite rude when you can't understand them and say you English. One asked us something just before boarding a ride, we politely said we didn't understand and can they speak in English and they ignored us and sent a whole 3 cars worth of people through. When paying money for fast track priority you don't expect to wait in a rude awkward atmosphere and be ignored. They also snatch money from you, don't take offence, they all do it throughout the park.

Other than the few little flaws, a fantastic holiday!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Anna C. We truly regret that your experience at PortaventuraP Park wasn’t fully pleasant. We regret that our customer service didn’t meet your expectations as is one of our main priorities. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions. Regards, PortAventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.6 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
0.1 mi away
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
0.3 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Mansion de Lucy
0.9 mi away
Ona Jardines Paraisol
Ona Jardines Paraisol
#46 of 93 in Salou
266 reviews
1.8 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel Caribe

Address: Rambla del Parc s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £113 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, come to an oasis of peace where you do not have to lift a finger for yourself, providing you with the opportunity to recover some of the adrenaline expended in PortAventura Park. Enjoy the serenity, white sands and freshwater of one of Europe's largest man-made beaches, surrounded by palms and exotic gardens that will transport you to a faraway tropical island. Become acquainted with this magnificent 4-star resort, a perfect combination of fun, sun, beach and tranquillity at the heart of the Costa Dorada. Complete the experience with an ample choice of gastronomic delights, unlimited access to the PortAventura theme park with admission included throughout your stay, and an extensive programme of sporting activities with special offers and rates available at associated golf courses. Visit the Wellness Centre & Spa, where you will be looked after and spoiled, making your holiday the ideal opportunity to restore energy and vitality. So what are you waiting for? Grab your sun lounger and dedicate your holidays to peaceful relaxation and enjoyment. Let yourself drift away and take it easy, with direct access to one of the best theme parks in Europe. In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your PortAventura Hotel Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribe Resort
Caribe Hotel Salou
Hotel Caribe Salou
PortAventura Hotel Caribe Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing