We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what we thought it would be (nice suprise)”
Review of Village Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Park
Ranked #31 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Salou
Reviewed 5 July 2008

we stayed in these app in september 07 ,it was our first family holiday abroad so didn't know what to expect , we read some reviews before going and wondered what we had let our selves in for ,but to all our suprise we were very happy with the apps and over all area of saolu ,the app was very nice the air con worked well and the cooker and appliances worked to ,we had a private pool and the childern loved it ,although it is a residental part it was not noise when the school came out or in and all the other residents treated us with the same respect as we had for them , we found our way around with ease and the local transport was as is here in the uk ,the food was some what different in the shops but the cafes and restarants were mostly english food . we found plent to do and didn't spend to much money all in all it was agood holiday and are now looking at booking the same app for may next year ,at the end of the day a holiday is whet you make of it and what you expect ,like i said were now looking to book for may next year, the theam park was the best (but take some walking shoes youll need them )it was with in walking distance ,we went on a jeep safari up in to the mountians to see the old part of spain , we meet some really nice people and got to eat in an old village ,all in all it was a good holiday and i would recomend it to any one weather you want a relaxing hol or a fun packed adverture hol theres some thing for every one

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank natasha16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2008

JUST TO LET EVERYONE KNOW THESE ARE RESIDENTIAL APPARTMENTS SO THEY CAN DO WHAT THEY WANT WHEN THEY WANT ALSO ITS NEXT TO A BUSY SCHOOL



they charge you for everything the kettle, a cot at 5euro a night plus deposit

we had constant drilling from 8.30am - about 6pm for 3 days above our heads from the people who live there they were having work done also we was next to a busy school so when we opened our balcony window we had the nose from the school even on saturday.

reception is down the road and not open all the time the beach is about 15mins away and the gift shops are about 20-30 mins away

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chizzyTintern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2007

we went to village park in july found the appartments basic it was in walking distance of the portaventura park and the main town. we found the appartments was clean, towels were changed every thursday only problem was there were ants on the floor but a quick mop and they disappeared for a while. the pool was very clean there are residents who lived here and they had there certain place to sit on the grass,only problem was u werent any sunbeds or entertainment but we went to the other hotel which was right next door. you had to pay 100 eurs deposit at the euromed which we werent told about til we got there and there is a walking distance of 10 minutes to get to it and picked up at which wasnt good at 8 o'clock in the morning with 2 kids. we stayed here for 2 weeks wouldnt stay here again a week is long enough.

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank boboNireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2007

If you've looked around for revies of this place you'll see that the majority of them are fairly awful so it was with some trepidation that I went on this holiday.

We arrived around 8pm so the Euromed agency down the road (which doubles as a reception) was closed and we had to pick up our keys from the Hotel Europa Park across the road. Once we gt our keys we entered the aprtment and I was really pleasantly surprided. The apartment was big and airy and seemed really clean. It had a cooker, hobs, microwave, washing machine etc.. and plenty of room for 6 people in my eyes. It's approx. a 15 minute walk from the centre of Salou and a 15 min walk to Port Aventura so things are within easy reach but you're not smack in the middle of the crowded parts of Salou.

Like many who have stayed here, we did have to contact Euromed about a repair (in our case the shutters over the front bedroom were broken and this was repaired within 24 hours.

However, during our stay we did become aware of some problems. First of all, the plumbing in the building (or at least Block E which we were in) was awful and one of the bathrooms couldn't be used because of the sewer stench that was coming from it. There was also a problem with ants in the kitchen which surprised us because we hadn't left food out or anything but we quickly found out that they were coming up from the kitchen sink so a good dose of bleach (leija) doen the sinkhole sorted this out .

The maid comes once a week and as far as I could tell leaves clean towels and that's it.The beds were made but the sheets hadn't been changed and please don't count on the maid leaving toilet roll if you've run out - buy your own.

All in all these apartments were ok. They suited our purposes in that we wanted somewhere to lay our head at night and we made our own entertainment during the day and at night. I would not recommend this place for families who want to laze by the pool and then be entertained in the hotel though!

A few last comments that you should know about Village Park and theresort in general.

1. A deposit of 150 Euros or 100 pounds is payable on arrival. You will get this back at the end of your stay.

2. The safety deposit boxes are located in the Euromed office - anuisance as you can only use these during office ours (10-1 then 4-8)

3. If you decide to take a day trip to Barcelona take the train (11.50 Euros) rather than the bus (18.90 Euros) as it is cheaper and faster although be warned the trains can get crowded and you may have to stand.

4. If you want to treat yourself to an amazing meal try the D'Albert which is down by the waterfront on the opposite end of the rambla from the illuinated fountain. The food is amazing although it is quite pricy (65Euros for a 3 course meal for 2 - no wine)

5. Go to one of the many La Ibense ice cream parlours. There are 2 on the main road and 2 more dotted about the resort.It has the best icecream you will ever taste!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AshGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2007

Arrived at the apartment 2am 2adults and3 children over tried and just wanted to get to bed, Found the Hotel staff poor when we arrived, and of course the lift was broken or "out of order" in broken english. wrote on the lift. when we got sign in and the 100 euros given over "deposit" finally got to bed. Got up 3hrs later looked outside great morning! Pool looked great ,shops near buy "on a winner the apartment was very good (2 bed room) bucket load of space + balconoy. Once we all got breakfast over headed for the Pool!(beware the pool which you see from you apartment does not belong to Village park its private,and you can see why 1st class) the one which belongs to the hotel(Duck pond)is around the corner out of sight!!! but ending on a low point, the rest of the holiday was great ,walking distance 5-10minutes to the main beach ,great mini markets ,good food and at night time the portaventure was brill over all Salou is a good family holiday( if you can afford a little extra stay in one of the H10 hotels, which has a LARGER duck pond and cleaner)

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jacksparrowBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2006

Salou Village Park Apartments 27th August 2006
Mary & Family from Tilbury
I read some reviews before i went about these apartments which were very off putting so i went with an open mind not expecting much . My Sister had an apartment in one block i had one in another they were both liveable and basic we were on 5th floor had a lovely view of the theme park from balcony which was very large. we had to clean it our selfs as no maid service, towels were changed once in the week we were there. We did have a washing machine and it did work also a clothes airer. we did have to report about our shower in one of the bathrooms and it was fixed within a couple of hours. It is also very central for supermarket and shops beach is a ten minute walk away so all in all it was not the apartments from hell as some people had quoted we had a very enjoyable week would stay at these apartments again .

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank spainisheyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2006

My husband daughter and myself have just returned from a one week holiday in Salou staying at the Village Park Apartments and were surprised at how self contained they were. There is a washing machine, fridge freezer, ceramic hob and hood, toaster, kettle and loads of cupboard space in the kitchen. The living room has a glass coffee table quite a large unit with T.V. dining table chairs and a settee which doubles as an extra bed. Off the small hallway there is a bedroom with two single beds and a double wardrobe built in. A shower room with toilet and wash hand basin. The double bedroom has a double bed and a double and single built in wardrobe. The en suite bathroom has a bath with overhead shower wash hand basin toilet and bidet. There is also an ironing board and iron in the apartment. The apartments have terraces with table chairs and a clothes horse. The towels were changed once in the week we were there but I just washed the used towels every day so we always had clean ones. The deposit for a two bedroom apartment is 150 euros. There is no reception at the apartments and the keys are collected from the Euromed offices a few minutes down the road near the Europa Hotel. This is also the pick up point for travelling home. Safety deposit boxes are available here also. Any repairs to the apartments seem to be dealt with promptly. We had a broken lock on one of the terrace doors which we reported in the morning and it had been repaired when we got back at night. Security at the apartments is good. You get two keys one opens the gate and the doors into the apartment block and the other one is for your door. There is also a phone entry system one at the gate and the other at the door to the block. The apartments are in quite a quiet part of Salou and are nicely laid out. As for the resort itself it is very British influenced and too commercialised for my taste. If you like British food and drinking in British pubs then this is for you. Fortunately there is quite a good bus service to Tarragona and Reus and also a train to Barcelona. The bus stops are about a 15 minute walk away and the train station is about 30 minutes walk away. You can also get a bus to Portaventura or you can walk there in about 15 minutes from the apartments and you can get a bus to Aquapolis. All in all we enjoyed our holiday by travelling outwith Salou and loved the apartments but we would definitely not holiday here again. Ever!!!

10  Thank threesacrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.2 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#10 of 93 in Salou
1,941 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#24 of 93 in Salou
2,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ventura Park
Ventura Park
#26 of 69 in Salou
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Siesta Dorada Apartments
0.7 mi away
PortAventura Hotel PortAventura
0.7 mi away
Ona Jardines Paraisol
Ona Jardines Paraisol
#44 of 93 in Salou
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Park

Address: C/ Terrer 16, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Salou
Price Range: £39 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Park 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Village Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Park Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing