We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in Salou”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of California Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
California Palace
Ranked #45 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Voronezh, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in Salou”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Very good location away from crowdy center with plenty of restaurants and shops. The railway station to get a train to Barcelona (the trip takes 1 hour 15 mins) is 5 min walk, the beach - 10-15 mins. Bus Plana office and a bus stop - 2 mins down the street, but not all directions available. The Bus Plana South desk and bus stop is in the middle of the beach promenade, which is 20-25 mins walk from the hotel. However would recomment the families with kids or elderly people to choose a beach-front hotel to avoid walking. For us it was the best choice. The only drawback I would mention is the room cleaning - it could be better as well as the linen. My blanket had stains and sometimes I was suspicious about the cleanliness of towels. But in general it's a very good hotel, definitely the Spanish 4* level (not the German 4*). The food is excellent, both breakfast and dinner. Had mussels, small octopuses and shrimps, plenty of fish, fruit, including fresh ananas every day.

Room Tip: Street-front rooms are noisy, impossible to sleep with the open door, but absolutely quiet when shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenaLazareva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    219
    108
    44
    23
See reviews for
210
200
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My partner and I have just got back from an eleven night stay in Salou, where we stopped at the California Palace hotel.
The hotel is quite modern and in our opinion, located in an ideal area of Salou. It is about 10 minutes walk from the beach and quite close to plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. The train station is about 5 minutes walk, which is handy, but far enough away not to be a nuisance.
The public areas of the hotel were clean and well maintained. However, there were a lot of hidden charges that have been free in other hotels. Examples are: the indoor spa, WiFi and the fridge in our room.
The pool area is much smaller than it looks on the brochure photo's, but it was okay. However, we found that because of the surrounding trees and buildings, much of the pool area was in shade for a large amount of the day. Having said this, it was September, so the sun wasn't as high in the sky. Another problem was mosquitoes around the pool area. I got 12 bites on the first day and we were only there for a couple of hours. This is probably due to the large number of trees surrounding the pool area. Also, we watched the pool maintenance man clean the pool every morning and check the water quality regularly, but pigeons were always drinking from the pool and often leaving a few droppings on the pool edge, which quickly dispersed into the water.
Our room was clean and reasonably equipped, except for the lack of drawers..., there were none. The maid came daily and the bedding and towels were changed regularly.
The restaurant and food was okay, but nothing special. The breakfasts were fine, with plenty of choice and the evening meals were not bad, apart from the lack of vegetables. I couldn't have done too badly, because I had put 10lbs on when I got back!!! Having said that, it was nothing like the four star food we have had in the past. The waitresses and waiters were a little keen to collect plates while you were still eating your last mouthful. A bit too efficient, but polite and friendly.
Overall a nice hotel and a pleasant stay, but not a four star.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, not a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dangerousb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkie in wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just spent a lovely week at this hotel in the new part of Salou. We really enjoyed our week and the weather was an added bonus. Everyone at the hotel were lovely nothing was too much trouble, my husband was in a wheelchair and so they reserved us a table near to the buffet which we thought was very thoughtful. The hotel itself is very clean and modern and our room on the 5th floor overlooked the side street, it was quite quiet apart from when the bin men came. The choice of food was pretty good considering they have to cater for so many nationalities and there was always plenty of it. Lovely pool with a Jacuzzi and a life guard present and outdoor activities on some mornings if you wanted. The hotel is not far from the beach and promenade which is ideal for anyone who has difficulty in walking as it is on the flat. We have been to Salou before and stayed nearer to La Pineda but we like where this hotel is situated better. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better and we were on the side where the underground garage is, it maybe noisier in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teddy64bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here last week with family. We had previously stayed here 5 years ago and although the cleanliness was still of a good standard, the food variety has diminished, a couple of nights we struggled to find anything to eat. The waiting staff were surly and often reached across the table in front of you to clear plates and expected you to pass your plates to them on several occasions. Room was fine, clean and with a nice powerful shower. Pool area was good, some of the sunbeds could do with replacing and it was a bit of a chore finding 4 decent ones. Triny, the (animacion) was very enthusiastic and managed to get people to join in the games. We went to the harbour area which was lovely but a long walk from the hotel however, we also found several local bars only a few minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentishgirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just returned from a week with thomas cook, last minute deal and stayed at the California Palace hotel. Hotel was clean, staff friendly and helpful. Food was good planty of choice for both breakfast and dinner, we stayed half board. Hotel is in a great location, in the residential end of Salou, away from all the hussle and bustle but only 10 minutes to the beach and promenade. Our room was on the 5th floor on the street side but this suited us as your balcony is then in the shade by 5pm so you can sit out without still being in the hot sun.You can walk to the busier end in anout half an hour. We stayed mainly in our area. A few minor points, did not expect to have to pay for use of the fridge, although it was not alot, 2 euros a day, but in a 4 star hotel expected it for free. My other gripe is the entertainment girl in the afternoons. I would have expected her to be there in the height of the season, but in late september when most people are over the age of 55 and no children there was no need and it was disturbing as all I wanted to do was to chill out and relax. This was difficult as the music was loud and she was too. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Street side are quieter and balconies are in the shade in the late afternoon,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CardiffMeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

After spending a week at this hotel, I can honestly say my friends and I will never be coming back.
The hotel in general is nice, spacious and modern, Until you get a street view room that we did and it looks like your in the middle of loads of run down buildings!. The staff however are quite rude. I don't think I heard a thank you the whole time there when paying for drinks.
The reception staff were nice and very helpful, French guests staying at the hotel were extremely rude to the English!


Food was average... not a great selection and was often cold. The spa was lovely, however it is misleading on the website saying there is an indoor swimming pool.. there isn't one.


There was a good selection of shops and bars on the way to the beach which is just a 10 minute walk from the hotel, and train station is a 5 minute walk.


Overall I wouldn't rate this a 4* hotel. Many improvements are needed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancingpixie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salou hotels

nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed here for 4 days with my partner and another couple, although we requested rooms on the same for when we booked we were located on first floor and friends located on 4th, it wasn't a problem but our request would have been nice. The reception staff were helpful and curtious and we checked in at 11am as we arrived on a morning flight. Our room was nice and spacious with a lovely big bathroom as was our friends room, both over looking the pool. The pool area never seemed to busy and was always plenty of sunbeds at any time of day. There was a daytime activity programme which included darts, pool and table tennis and music was played around the pool. The food was varied, we were half board and enjoyed a nice breakfast with plenty of choice including cereals, omelette, full English, fruit and yogurt, dinner was acceptable with salads, meat, fish, and a pasta dish with a good choice of deserts. The beach is a 10minute walk via a plenty of shops and restaurants and the main night life is approx 20 min walk, it cost us 8-10 euros for a taxi back in the early hours of the morning. I'd definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it if staying in Salou.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swizzletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.9 mi away
California Garden
California Garden
#59 of 94 in Salou
3.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#10 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#20 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
0.4 mi away
Blaumar Hotel
Blaumar Hotel
#23 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Best Da Vinci Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Palace

Property: California Palace
Address: C/ Ciutat de Reus 7-9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#28 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — California Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your California Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Palace Hotel Salou
California Palace Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing