We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of California Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
California Palace
Ranked #48 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed for a week and found no major problems. The hotel is kept spotless by the friendly cleaners.
The check in was very efficient, as was checking out. The hire of fridge and safe was a total of Thirtyfive Euros, which I thought a bit steep, but to my mind is always a necessity.If you want wifi it's twentyfive euros for the week, or you can have it for the day or less..
Everyone has their own personal likes/dislikes when it comes to food.I would say that the meals were better than most 4* hotels that I have stayed at in Spanish resorts.The only complaint is I was expecting pancakes and omelettes at breakfast, but was informed they are only served in the high season. I was a couple of weeks too early.
The pool was cleaned every morning, and the pool area , like the whole hotel is well kept.

Room Tip: room 33 on each floor would be the best room to have.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank BillMc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
There are newer reviews for California Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just back from a 9 day break with my family and couldn't fault the place. Food lovely and plentiful, excellent restaurant manager and waiting staff, very helpful reception staff and the kids entertainer was fabulous. Hope to go back again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank cavanking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Lovely hotel, food varied, always fresh and hot food topped up frequently.
10-15 mins walk to the beach , 10 mins to the train station. Good location. Cheap bar across the road at €1.50 per pint and €3.00 for a Magners cider.

Reception staff friendly and Trini who is in charge of entertainment works very hard.

Restaurant manager looks after all your needs.

Fridge and t.v in room and rooms very clean and fresh towels daily.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have small balconies.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

this place is great but it is pricy. We enjoyed staying here the pool is nice the ice machine is pretty far from the rooms we didnt see 1 on our flore. the rooms are sorta thin but long i recomend this place but it is pricy o and we got a good view outside our window

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joseph a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This was the second time my husband and I have stayed at this hotel.it is modern and very clean,there is a good variety of food to suit all tastes.limited entertainment but we didn't mind that because its only a short walk away to the town centre.Lovely long stretch of flat sandy beach.Will go back next year to see all the staff they were great

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tooniNottinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

cannot fault this hotel or the location rooms cleaned and towels changed daily food excellent and such a wide selection to chose from and different every day never left the table hungry . all the staff work really hard and nothing is to much trouble to them. plenty of sunbeds and parasols always available around a nice quite sunny pool . only a short 10 /15 min walk all on the flat to the beach ..first time in salou would come back and deffo will be staying in the same hotel . Thank you all for the great holiday

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank taztaz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

First impression of the hotel was clean and good position. Just 10 min walk into the harbour at Salou.
We travelled as a couple and had 1 veggie and 1 meat eater. The food didn't have lots of variety but what was put out was good and plenty choice for us. The hotel was closing in two weeks and it was quiet as near the end of the season. The English restaurant manager was very helpful and cheerful. The other staff didn't crack a smile. They weren't rude but just didn't acknowledge you existed whist doing their job.
The pool area was kept clean and the pool attendant didn't crack a smile either. Do the hotel drug them? Trinny the entertainer was full of enthusiasm and made the poolside fun with her activities.
The reception staff... now I couldn't work out if they were ignorant or just thick? We asked where the "wifi in public areas" was? We were told the wifi wasn't for us it was only for customers of Booking.com.
As we booked through a tour operator we didn't deserve it! Perhaps they didn't use the correct word in the English Language but said wifi was only free for certain customers. Great Customer Service made me feel very valued. At this a customer walked passed and told me the bar over the road "Rosie's" had quick free wifi and drinks were half the price of the hotel.
Therefore, before and after our evening meal we went to Rosie's and I couldn't tell you what the evening entertainment was like at the hotel as we didn't give it chance. We recognised half the hotel in Rosie's......take note management that if you offer free wifi offer it to all your guests! We should all be valued!
The day we arrived it was 30 degrees which was slightly warmer than normal for that time of year. We couldn't get the aircon working on the first night so slept with the door open to our room. After a collection of bites we asked the staff on reception to look into the air on in our room. They told us that the aircon is turned off and only heating available as it's normally cooler this time of year.
Therefore every night we had to sleep with the door open, no lights on and spray repellant everywhere. The Mosquitos were very hardy ones and with both came home with over a dozen large bites. This wasn't comfortable for us and did affect our overall stay.
The hotel just failed on a few areas for us and the staff were ignorant when they explained things to you.
I'm still giving them a 4star rating as the food was good and the hotel clean which these are the main things you want out of a holiday.

Tips:
Rosie's wifi quick and free. €2 a pint.
Plana office over the road from hotel. We booked an afternoon trip to Barcelona. Picked up at 2pm just 1min down the road. €31 per person. This included aircon bus to Neu Camp and the museum and stadium tour. Then the bus back into Barce town for 2 hours and then watch the Magic Fountains. The bus dropped us back to the hotel at 1030pm. Worth every penny and the tour guides spoke very good English and were informative.
The train station is less than 5mins from the Hotel but we had heard that the pick pockets on the train and in Barce were rife so that's why we went for the Plana guided coach tour.
The weekends are very quiet and we were advised to do the Barce trip on the Saturday not Friday as the city is very busy Monday - Friday. The town of Salou was very quiet on Sunday and lots of the shops were closed as it's the end of the season.
If you were on an excursion and missed a meal you can swap your meal for another ie: we missed Dinner the day we went to Barce so had Lunch on our departure day instead.
Overall a lovely hotel which could do with a customer service course for the staff(or just take note off Trinny and the restaurant manager) and paint a smile on their faces. If wifi is free it should be for all paying guests and sort the air con out!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.9 mi away
California Garden
California Garden
#67 of 93 in Salou
978 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#15 of 93 in Salou
443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eurosalou Hotel
Eurosalou Hotel
#47 of 93 in Salou
1,385 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Best Negresco
Hotel Best Negresco
#39 of 93 in Salou
1,229 reviews
1.4 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Palace

Address: C/ Ciutat de Reus 7-9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#32 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range: £44 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — California Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your California Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Palace Hotel Salou
California Palace Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing