We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really 4 star..........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Ranked #1 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not really 4 star..........”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I stayed with my 14 year old son - like many, it's proximity to the theme parks was key. The organisation at reception was truly awful. Arrived at 11am, I think a couple of flights arrived at the same time. Took an hour to get to the front of the queue only to be told that the room would be ready at 2pm - Bearing in mind the size of the hotel, you would have expected more than 2 (very impolite) staff members.
The room was clean and spacious, but as it's primarily a family hotel you have to expect a degree of noise...it's not a hotel for a quiet break.
The hairdryer was about as effective as a whisper. Take your own. We also took a travel kettle - I need coffee straight away in the morning! I know you don't go on holiday to watch telly, but sometimes its nice to have 10 minutes to yourself before dinner ..all you can get is CNN..we took a laptop and used the free wi-fi and the odd CD/DVD.
Food is a matter of personal choice. We found the breakfasts varied and good, but the evening meals were foul. Acres of stuff swimming in grease. Yes, there was an extensive salad bar, but it was the same every night, as were the sliced potatoes in grease and the cold leathery chips! We found out on the last night that you could exchange an evening meal (if you were half board) for tapas in the bar - much better. If you fancy a trip to Barcelona and don't want to do a package trip you can get the train from Salou or the little station at Port Adventura. The latter has no ticket office, but you can buy one on the train. We didn't bother with the outdoor pool - couldn't get near the indoor one for kids. The hotel initially told us the indoor one was for adults only and it would have been nice to have one quiet area........
Had I gone with smaller children, it would have been perfect, but we just used it as a base to go elsewhere in the end.

Room Tip: Ones facing the front and rear of the hotel are noisy due to traffic and the pool - try and get one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisac5915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,

I believe that at check-in you were told you would be given your room as soon as possible. Check in time at the coast is at 2 pm. However, our staff try to give it to our guests as soon as possible.

The indoor pool is both for adults and children. It’s the jacuzzi and sauna that is only for adults. We always tell the parents to make sure the children don’t disturb the other guests.

Everyone is very happy with our food at the restaurant. However, I do appreciate your point of view as we always try to improve and like to listen to our guests’ feedback.

We do hope to see you again and prove to you that we do want to make sure our guests have a nice holiday at Hotel Vil.la Romana.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,233
    692
    262
    84
    54
See reviews for
1,396
559
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

We went on our honeymoon on 14th June 13 for 2 weeks with our 2 kids,upon arrival are room was not ready,waited an hour,asked if we needed a cot,that's 20 euro please(deposit) that could not even fit in the room,when we got to our room on the 4th floor it was over looking a pit,an eye sore,to make matters worse the balcony could be moved forward and back,as my children discovered ,our rep could not believe the video footage I had,we finally got moved 5 days later,the hotel manager left in our room a 'thank you for your loyalty card' along with a bottle of olive oil,2 fruit kebabs and a box of 3 chocolates????????????????we thought it was a wind up,some other family who had to stay at the belvedere hotel(vil.la Romano sister hotel) for 1 night as there room was taken got an apology from the manager,upgraded to full board,and given free soft drinks and wine with every meal for there stay,we got none of that,not even an apology,the reception staff and restaurant staff are rude,we could never sit outside as it was full,yet there was more empty than taken seats outside!
The lids entertainment is ok but integrates into adult entertainment,expect your kids to see 2 people under a bed sheet in underwear making out,aswell as watching them get shot when the husband comes home,this at a family hotel we visited 4 years ago and I left a 5 star rating on this site,avoid like the plague!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lestaybs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,

I believe you requested a pool view and were given one as promised as soon as possible. As you could have seen, the hotel was fully booked which is why you were not given one the following day. The day we offered you the room change was when we had been informed about the balcony. As you were on your honeymoon, we sent you up a gift from the hotel. We were not trying to be funny. It’s a gift we offer to our guests. The other guests on the other hand were compensated because for unforeseen circumstances they had to stay in a different hotel. It’s a completely different situation.

You also requested for your family to get a room as close as possible to yours and with pool view on the day they arrived (the HALILAJ family) which they did.

Therefore, I believe the reception staff did nothing but help you in any way they could.

As to the deposit for the cot, like you say, it’s a deposit so therefore, you get your money back at the end of your stay.

We offer a variety of shows every night, for every kind of guest. We have children entertainment and adult entertainment. Obviously it is difficult to offer a show that everyone will like.

I believe all we tried to do was to help in solving your issues and making sure you could enjoy your holiday. However, no matter how much we tried it was never enough.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Myself and my cousin arrived at the Hotel Villa Romana about 10am on the 25th of June 2013. First impressions was the hotel looked very clean and well decorated. On book in we was told out room wouldn't be available until 2pm meaning we would have to sit around for 5hrs. We asked as we are half board could we go and have breakfast why we wait but was told until our room was given to us we couldn't have breakfast unless we wanted to pay for it. The reception staff throughout our one week stay was very abrupt, sharp and at times very rude.

Putting this to one side, we did enjoy our stay there, the food was excellent and had every taste you could imagine, only problem was there was no drinks of any kind included in with the half-board main meal. The hotel was very clean. Our hotel room was of a good size and very clean. nice balcony with a limited view but that was ok for us because we requested a quiet room. The swimming pool was excellent. the Hotel had a very good relaxed pace to it. The entertainment staff work very hard to achieve that everyone has a good time.

If you are the type of person who can not live without there use of WiFi then this hotel will not be for you because even though the Villa Romana claim to have free WiFi, in truth the WiFi is dreadful, on the very rare occasion I could connect, it wasn't worth trying to use it because it was so slow. However if you wanted to pay to use there internet then suddenly the connection is strong, how strange!!!!! and convenient.

The Hotel is set in a very good location in Salou. Only a 10min walk to the beach. Bars and Restaurants near by. This Hotel has something for everyone I believe. If you can handle the attitude and rudeness of the reception staff then you will have a good time here.

Room Tip: Rooms to either side of the pool are more quiet, pool side rooms tends to be very nosey due to late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear guest,

We are sorry to hear that you had inconvenience in your arrival date at Vil.la Romana Hotel. I am surprised to hear that you was not informed that our check in is at 2pm no matter which is your arrival time. For this reason we are prepared with a courtesy room where you can change your closing and star to enjoy our pool area, for example. Also if you booked half board the services that we offer are: breakfast in the departure day and dinner in the arrival date this is the reason why you had to pay for the breakfast in the first date. Allow me to doubt about the staff due that they are friendly, kinds and helpfully.

We are very happy that the animation, restaurant and kitchen teams made you enjoy the holiday, but about the Wi-Fi allow me to explain you that is free of charge for all our costumers no matter in which part of the hotel area they are. If from time to time everybody is contacted on the same time the connection is working good, but a little bit slowly. This doesn2 t mean that there is no connection.

I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day and we hope that our answered improve your opinion about us

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katesbridge
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just returned from one week here with husband and 2 boys (10 & 7). What can I say, a brilliant hotel. Hotel is spotless and fresh towels etc daily. Food was out of this world if you went out hungry its your own fault. Entertainment team were great with the kids and us as well, they remembered the kids names especially Fany and Tony. Pepeito was great for the adults especially for the water balloon game. Plenty of sunbeds around the pool. Never had to queue up for breakfast or dinner, went at around 9:15am and 7:30pm. Hotel was well laid out with free Wi-Fi. Will be back again. Just 10mins walk from the beach and shops, we walked this every night and 10 mins walk to PortAdventura, remember to get your readmission into park so that you can go back to hotel for evening meal and then go and see night parade and fireworks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day. I hope you will think of us when booking your next visit to Salou.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Holidayed here in May as a couple. Found the hotel to be in a good location, approx 20 min walk into town, close enough to enjoy the town but far enough away not to be bothered by any youngsters coming back from the nightclubs in the early hours! Hotel well laid out, rooms cleaned daily, bed linen changed once during our stay(week), towels changed daily. Appreciated the fridge in our room, just big enough for a couple of bottles of water. Safe in hotel room ok, but room key activated, so have to access it during daylight or you can't see what you're doing, may be needs tweaking? Plenty of choice at mealtimes, typical continental hotel,if you left hungry your own fault!! Evening entertainment ok, we never really bothered with it though. We feel that an adults only bar would have been great here,as we weren't the only people holidaying without children. Would we recommend this hotel? Yes! Would we return? Yes!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulandbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day. I hope you will think of us when booking your next visit to Salou.
Sincerely,
Raül Chamorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have just returned from 10 nights half board in Salou and stayed at the Vil.la Romana. Whilst it is a nice hotel in a good location and only a 5-10 min walk to the beach there are a few niggles.

breakfast is stated at 8 a.m. till 11 a.m but frequently the restaurant was not open until a good 5 mins after this so you end up queuing and same again for evening meal sometimes for 10 mins before they actually open the doors, however the food was excellent quality and varied and we had something different every night.

The breakfast tea / coffee machine was woefully inadequate for such a large hotel and to wait again in a futher queue for hot water when you have small children with you is not ideal , it would benefit from the waiters bringing hot water to your table to a big urn which is for more mass catering. This is our only real complaint (British eh!)

Overall we had a lovely time and i would recommend the hotel, but if they could iron out the few flaws i would have given 4* not a 3*

The rooms were comfortable and spacious and had a fridge which was great and a hairdryer in the bathroom, always welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zag80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for making some points as we like to hear our guests’ feedback in order to improve ourselves.

We hope you will return to our hotel and hope not to let you down.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

just returned from two weeks here with two children (9 & 4) and had a fantastic time. Hotel is spotless and fresh towels etc daily. entertainment team were great especially Fany my girls loved kids club and mini disco with her. pepito and Tony also really good at keeping you entertained. always something going on for the kids from poolside foam party, spongebob in reception or trampolining. we stayed same week as poor review below and have to say experienced none of those problems, queues to dinner never more than few minutes, I took a beach bag into dinner every day and it was never mentioned, the hotel is a ten minute walk at most to the beach and there is a mini train that stops right outside that runs to the beach if this is too far. The food is good quality and of the 5 different hotels we have stayed at in Salou this is by far the best. a fantastic holiday we will be returning next year would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day. I hope you will think of us when booking your next visit to Salou.
Sincerely,
Raül Chamorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.5 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
0.7 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#11 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#7 of 94 in Salou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Vil.la Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Vil.la Romana

Property: Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Address: Avda Paisos Catalans 9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salou
#6 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohtels Vil.la Romana 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ohtels Vil.la Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vil La Romana
Vil La Romana Hotel
Romana Villa Salou
Ohtels Vil.La Romana Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing