We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Ranked #1 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and myself stayed at this hotel from 26/10/2013 for 1 week we found it to be very clean and well maintained, the staff were very friendly and greeted us every day, we had not been to Salou for 20 years and it has changed a lot but all for the better, the only complaint with the hotel was the towels were a bit threadbare but it was the last week of the season and they were changed every other day so can,t really complain, the hotel only has 5 floors and has plenty of lifts, our room was on the 5th floor and over looked the pool, the room was very clean and beds made up every day, we found the food very good some people complained about veal been on the menu but if they had looked around the restaurant they would have found a great choice of other meats ready to be carved for you by the chefs on hand such as roast beef,pork and chicken we had plenty to choose from and would recommend this hotel and when we go back to Salou we will be going back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: 4th floor would be better than the 5th as the 5th has a walled balcony and the 4th has a glass balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris8270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear guest.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for making some points as we like to hear our guests’ feedback in order to improve ourselves.

We hope you will return to our hotel and hope not to let you down.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,357
    720
    271
    87
    56
See reviews for
1,506
600
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just back from a lovely week long break in Villa Romana.

Pros
Location
Hotel is in a very good location. It's a ten minute walk to both the beach/main strip and Port Adventura. Because this was very late in the season, a lot of the local hotels are closed and some of the restaurants are closed or only open at the weekend. This affected the atmosphere around the locality but the hotel itself was still buzzing.


Breakfast
A great spread put on for breakfast: continental, fry, and a variety of breads and pastries, it really set us up for the day. I can't comment on any other meals as we were only bed and breakfast. On this point however, if you want a variety of food (as so many people here complain they don't get on full board) go somewhere, support restaurants in the local area, go to a different restaurant every night. Why would you expect a wide variety of high class food from the same mass catering hotel restaurant every night?

Rooms
Rooms were large, as were the balconies. We had a high floor room overlooking the pool which got the sun from 4pm onwards. Our double bed was two single beds made up separately which is typical of Spanish hotels. There was a small fridge which was free to use although I found the safe to be quite expensive at €23 for the week.

Cons
Pool area
Plenty of sunbeds that unfortunately some people insist on reserving early in the morning. Would really love to see this stopped. Would also be great if there was a designated smoking area, the amount of people smoking, especially around the kid pool, was very off-putting.

Staff
Although the majority of staff were helpful, it was towards the end of the season and I guess they were sick of a summer full of pleasantries as I don't think I saw a smile once.



Overall, it was a great stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinDiva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for making some points as we like to hear our guests’ feedback in order to improve ourselves.

We hope you will return to our hotel and hope not to let you down.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have just returned from Vil la Romana, we had a lovely holiday but in our opinion this hotel should not be a 4 star, there are lots of really good points, eg, an indoor and outdoor pool, but also things that were not right, some of them I will write now, towels were awful, grey and thin, some being threadbare, a very limited choice of wine in the dining room and by Thursday there was no Vina sol left, as this wine is available in every Spanish supermarket we thought this was out of order, we could not order just a glass of wine in the dining room, the dining room was so busy it reminded me of a school canteen, the breakfast was good, dinner was pretty repetitive, lots of food wrongly labelled, but there was plenty of it if you liked pork and veal. staff were not unpleasant but were too busy to chat or to be friendly. We didn't see much of the entertainment but what we did see was good, we heard from others that the entertainment was generally ok. reception staff were good but as reception was so busy they needed more staff. It was the last week of the season but we don't think this is a good reason not to have some pretty basic stuff eg hot chocolate. The indoor pool was not regulated, there was diving, ball games etc. however this was mostly children who were generally well behaved, It sounds like it wasn't good but that isn't the overall picture, it was fine, we met lovely people, we liked Salou and cambrills particularly, we did not pay a fortune for this hol, but do feel that the hotel isn't 4 star and is a bit rough around the edges.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for making some points as we like to hear our guests’ feedback in order to improve ourselves. We will do our best working in this points.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bungay
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Just came back from the vil la romana salou ,the second time this year.once again it was great ,checked in with Emma on reception who can't do enough for you ,and the manager roul who is always around making sure everything is ok.the restaurant is clean with plenty of choice for every one to find what they like .with friendly staff great choice of food and champagne for breakfast.entertainment is well good with pepito and tony making sure your stay is a laugh a minute.the rooms are always kept clean and tidy and the hotel is spotless.allways plenty of sun beds around this big pool .great location theme park 10min walk as is the beach and close to the town.what more do you want .will be coming back again. Great hotel

Room Tip: 3or4thfloor over looking the pool great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for making some points as we like to hear our guests’ feedback in order to improve ourselves.

We will be glad having you back son.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meath
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

we arrive at the hotel vil-a romana on the Monday 21st of October .we were welcomed by a friendly woman at the desk and even checking is not till three o clock and we had arrived at one our room was ready to go.overall this hotel was great from the rooms which were clean and spacious and had a balcony to sit out in the evenings.The location of the hotel was brilliant if you like a quiet area of salou.The best thing was the food wow wow wow you can go down for dinner and get all you can eat for 14 euros each and a bottle of wine for 6.50 and the selections of starters,mains sides and desserts(chocolate brownies are to die for)overall recommend this hotel as all facilities were very good and location is prime for that quiet nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annmariedooleykeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day. I hope you will think of us when booking your next visit to Salou.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Antrim
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed from 24 May to 31 May (6th Visit)

Reception:
As this is a large hotel the receptionists are kept busy. Emma is English and she and her colleagues offer an efficient and friendly service. Our check in on Friday 24 May was trouble free. All guests are required to pay the local tourist tax of 1 euro each per day which means that a couple have to pay 14 euro for a week's stay. In my opinion travel firms such as Thomsons etc should include this in the holiday price. The safety deposit box costs 23 euro per week.

Rooms
Our room was ready for our arrival. Both the bedroom and the bathroom reflected the high standard of cleaning which we have come to expect in this hotel. There is a small fridge for which there is no charge and a Samsung flat screen TV. There is a slide robe type wardrobe which offers adequate space for clothes and other items. The bathroom is supplied with the usual toiletries and has a hair drier which is not all that powerful. One of the light bulbs fused one evening after we returned from dinner. It was replaced within ten minutes from the time I reported it. Full marks.

Dining Room
Since this hotel can cater for 1200 guests the dining area is large. There were over 900 people staying during our week and we never experienced overcrowding or had lengthy queues. Antonio who checks guests in for dinner needs to loosen up and smile a bit more. The waitresses are friendly especially if you make an effort to speak to them. As well as setting and clearing tables they take orders for drinks which are paid on exit from the dining room. There is a wide selection of food for and special mention must be made of Henri who makes excellent omelettes and fries the eggs. We always go to dinner after 7.30 pm which means that the young families have finished by the time we go in. My advice is to walk around to see what is on offer. There is an excellent salad bar, a choice of two soups, a hot food self service section and a wide selection of sweets. There is show cooking at the chefs' counter. In addition to a wide variety of fish the week saw duck, beef, pork and chicken. In my opinion I would not give the main course full marks. The chefs would need to learn how to cook vegetables properly. Also Ohtels should review their meat contract. Simply not good enough for a 4 star hotel.

Pool and Public Areas
The pool and public areas are well maintained. It's such a pity about the sad people who creep out to the pool in the early morning to perform the towel ritual and dance. There are always plenty of sun beds. It makes one angry to see sun beds unused for hours booked with sad peoples' towels. And don't blame the continentals as the Brits are the worst offenders.

Thomson Team
Alex gave the welcome presentation which was one of the best I have ever heard. Unlike some garbled offering I've experienced in previous years Alex was clear and concise and displayed good local knowledge. He gave the necessary information about excursions in a manner that would encourage participation. He wasn't pushy. He was ably assisted by Naomi.

Bus Plana
Would recommend the highly efficient local bus service which can take you from Salou to Cambrils, La Pineda, Reus and Tarragona all for 1.90 euro per single journey or 1.14 euro using a 10 journey bus card.

Conclusion
The Vil La Romana is fortunate in having a great staff who take pride in their work. The hotel is well maintained and is in a good location not more than 10 minutes walk from the beach and places of entertainment. As for the hotel entertainment it's simply a matter of what turns you on. The alternative is only a short walk away.

Would I return? Probably.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms get afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traintraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day. I hope you will think of us when booking your next visit to Salou.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a good hotel, only let down was as others have said was the quality of the towels this year, having been only a year ago there was a remarkable difference. Also some of the dining room staff needed a personality transplant.I realise it is the end of the season and people get tierd but a smile costs nothing. The location of the hotel is great and the theme park only a short walk away is a must to visit. We had a small mishap with the wardrope door on arrivel, it fell off!!!! Reported it and was fixed within 3 hours.

Room Tip: the front of the hotel has great views of the theme park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindamcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul C, Gerente at Ohtels Vil.la Romana, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for making some points as we like to hear our guests’ feedback in order to improve ourselves. We will do our best working in this points.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.2 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
1,968 reviews
1.5 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Belvedere
Ohtels Belvedere
#5 of 93 in Salou
1,635 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Vintage Salou
H10 Vintage Salou
#10 of 93 in Salou
1,282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#15 of 93 in Salou
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Vil.la Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Vil.la Romana

Property: Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Address: Avda Paisos Catalans 9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#2 Family Hotel in Salou
#5 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ohtels Vil.la Romana 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ohtels Vil.la Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vil La Romana
Vil La Romana Hotel
Romana Villa Salou
Ohtels Vil.La Romana Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing